Movie What's the last movie you saw? (7)

Continued from Part 6:

I've retained Asgardian as the OP. Rest in peace, mate.

================

Starting this up for the mods.

Watched Judgment in Berlin, a simple tale of a hijacking from Poland to West Berlin, to escape the Communists.

Not bad, but nothing great either

Last edited by a moderator:

I'd go to a cinema to watch a dog do a turd if I could.

Young kids with a very limited support network (ie, no babysitters) means the last time I went to the cinema was for Joker.

My loungeroom is not competition for that.
Would you go to the movies by yourself? We have limited support too so sometimes take it in turns to go to the movies.

I'd feel guilty.

I'd feel less guilty going with mates of my partner was ok to stay home, but going by myself feels too selfish.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

This is exactly what I do and have for years. Saw Mission Impossible by myself last night (the wife hates Tom Cruise anyway). You're supposed to be quiet in a cinema anyway, doesn't lend itself to socialisation.

Watched the new Insidious movie today. Had no idea this was the fifth one. Jesus, when did this become a franchise?

There's something so generic about these demon possession type movies. I guess I'm part of the problem giving them my money today! Remember thinking the first was decent enough but didn't think it would spawn any sequels.

The one today? It was remarkably unremarkable. That's about it. Nothing wrong with it. Some decent ideas for set pieces. But nothing we haven't seen before.

This is exactly what I do and have for years. Saw Mission Impossible by myself last night (the wife hates Tom Cruise anyway). You're supposed to be quiet in a cinema anyway, doesn't lend itself to socialisation.
Yeh I’ve done a few sessions on my own. Usually easiest for my wife with the baby too, if he’s asleep it’s no work at all.

Nothing better than a session with a bunch of single people. You know there going to be quiet.

I'd feel guilty.

I'd feel less guilty going with mates of my partner was ok to stay home, but going by myself feels too selfish.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk
I don’t think it’s selfish as long as it’s swings and roundabouts. If only one of the couple gets time out then it’s not fair.
I actually quite enjoy going solo. We have very different tastes in movies so if I didn’t go on my own I would miss out on some real gems.

NO HARD FEELINGS

Saw this in Baltimore this afternoon.

Lovely coming of age dramedy very poignant in today's times of socially inadequate and protected teens.

Jennifer Lawrence is still smokin' hot and yes please marry me!
Don't know why but looks annoying on the previews

Maybe the Gen X in me

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I don’t think it’s selfish as long as it’s swings and roundabouts. If only one of the couple gets time out then it’s not fair.

I actually quite enjoy going solo. We have very different tastes in movies so if I didn’t go on my own I would miss out on some real gems.

I enjoy going solo as well, but it's the guilt factor. Doing something that's completely individualistic when we battle through parenthood. If I were with friends, or it was a work or footy event, etc, then it feels different, less individualistic, and from a narcissistic POV, the connections I make with other people can help us in the future.

Ok this will be unpopular but as I was in the mood for something funny and familiar on Sunday night so I settled in and watched one of my favourites:

Army of Darkness (Evil Dead 3): ******* brilliant. This is about as far away as you can get from an Oscar winning movie, its not a horror flick, its not tense, it doesnt take itself seriously at all. I've always loved it but no one who knows me knows why, I reckon I am one of the very few who thoroughly enjoy it. Bruce Campbell just owns the character of Ash, if anyone else did his lines I really don't think they would be that funny but the method and tone he delivers his shots is just superb. Full on fish out of water movie where Ash is transported back in time (place really not specified) to help the less technically gifted fight off an army of the dead, they have swords and catapults, Ash has his shotgun, chainsaw and car and goes to town!! 10/10 yep I love it that much.

Memorable quotes:

Ash after seeing off a challenger for a dual by shooting his sword apart

"Alright you Primitive Screwheads, listen up! You see this? This... is my BOOMSTICK! The twelve-gauge double-barrelled Remington. S-Mart's top of the line. You can find this in the sporting goods department. That's right, this sweet baby was made in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Retails for about a hundred and nine, ninety five. It's got a walnut stock, cobalt blue steel, and a hair trigger. That's right. Shop smart. Shop S-Mart. You got that!!??"

From the original ending

Ash: Lady, I'm afraid I'm gonna have to ask you to leave the store.
Possessed woman: Who the hell are you?
Ash: Name's Ash (readies rifle) Housewares (completely deadpan)

That movie was so quotable.

Bruce Campbell Hello GIF

Only started going to movies by myself the past 8 months or so, love it personally. A sense of freedom, and as others have said, it's not a social thing while you're watching a movie anyway. That's why I've never wanted to go on an early date to the movies, would feel more awkward sitting next to someone in silence for 2 hrs you barely know.

It's funny though you do get a few looks from people walking in with their partners. Even one mate said to me 'that is so sad', but I honestly don't see it like that at all, I love it.