Who Cant you watch and where

I hate games at Hobart, Aami, Perth and Sydney, Manaka and Skilled Stadium
I love watching games at Skilled Stadium (on TV). It gives a real sense of suburban footy and I actually like the one sidedness of the crowd especially when the opposition are threatening to win at fortress Geelong.

Any game involving Essendon playing in Adelaide or Perth against any opponent.

Generally always game over at Half Time and we play our worst football by far in both cities. Cringeworthy. A guarenteed 4 premiership points to either of the sides fixtured to play us in recent seasons.

I find games between any teams played in Launceston, Canberra, Darwin or the Gold Coast as unappealing. There just appears to be a distinct lack of football atmosphere at any of these grounds. I'm sure those who have been there live to watch a game disagree but television really doesn't capture the 'energy' from any of these grounds.

Thankfully football is a game that can always provide a good, close contest even if both teams are struggling or just generally not very good - they often provide the best games as both teams are even more desperate/hungrier than usual for the win. It's also nearly always interesting when top sides are on the road playing a less fancied opponent - you can always bet on at least a few upsets every season.

Sydney v St. Kilda
Fremantle v Port Adelaide.
North Melbourne V Port Adelaide

All three are complete snorefests.:thumbsdown:

End thread. Couldn't agree more.

I love watching Freo, they play exciting footy and Hill/Morabito are complete Jets.

I got bored watching Geelong beat up on interstate sides at Kardinia when they were at their peak, they were so much better it was a training run, and it was always made worse by the home ground free kicks they would get.

I simply cannot watch the Saints, unless they are playing another Top 4 side and its a close one, it is just horrible horrible boring football

So it's a Sunday afternoon and you're dieing to watch some footy...

Wondering what teams you can't watch where you would rather not have the TV on at all

Teams i dont fuss about watching: Freo, Sydney, North, Port

I hate games at Hobart, Aami, Perth and Sydney, Manaka and Skilled Stadium

Really? I think the SCG is one of the best stadiums to watch games at, the atmosphere that can be built up in the place is amazing. Clearly didn't tune in to the 09 Swans-Saints meeting at the place where we went down by a point, the place was alive.

I went to a couple of games at the SCG a few years ago, 06 and 07 i think. Sorry mate but the crowd was like it was watching a game of golf, there was light clapping for a ripper contested mark by Goodes. Come to the G and hear the roar when a player breaks the lines and slots one from 45.... unbeatable

Saints games at Etihad - flood city on small ground is unbearable to watch

Geelong Skilled Stadium games, one sided affairs against weak teams

Tassie games always crap due to the weather

Port/Melbourne/North games Vs interstate opposition - no atmosphere

Last year I just didn't really care about matches between Vic clubs I'm 'meh' about. I've been Victorian for most of my life but I guess that QLD/WA bias still carries over. These teams are mostly teams like the Doggies, Essendon, Carlton and Geelong. Some great stuff from these teams I know but I find trouble getting enthusiastic about it. Geelong vs Doggies late last year was a real guilty pleasure though.

I also love rainy games, for whoever brought that up earlier. Doesn't happen enough nowadays. Same with day games at the Gabba.

Teams i dont fuss about watching: Freo, Sydney, North, Port

Worst case scenario: Port V Freo at Aami- Meh, dont watch it
quote]

Thats funny coming from a saints supporter, they create the worst games possible to watch and fremantle are one of the best to watch.
St Kilda would be the worst V most teams. :eek:

Thats funny coming from a saints supporter, they create the worst games possible to watch and fremantle are one of the best to watch.
St Kilda would be the worst V most teams. :eek:

What's so funny about it? He follows St Kilda so why would he find their games boring? Think about what you are saying.

If you're watching it from home, does it really matter where it's being played? What is upsetting? The look of the venue? I don't understand this at all.

It's 2 things. First is the lack of atmosphere at games where most of the ground is empty seats. Watching a neutral match like North v Melbourne with 18,000 in the ground can be pretty depressing. As well as that, there are some grounds where shit footy is pretty much the norm. Launceston being the main culprit. Geelong on a bad day is a magnet for shit footy as well. Scrappy play isn't the best to watch.

I used to hate playing St. Kilda at Waverley Park, it wasn't because it was cold, wet, muddy and windy but more that we would never beat them there, and it was nice soggy trip back home :eek:

This thread was inventyed to bag us stat, Dont bother trying, if you dont things exactly like they do in Melbourne you have no placing watching football :rolleyes:

It's such a shame that the powers that be would rather have 55,000 at Homebush with moderate atmosphere than have the SCG jam packed and have the best atmosphere in the AFL after the MCG of course.

I actually struggle to get excited about Sunday twilight games. It reminds me that the weekend is nearly over and depresses the shit out of me.

I went to a couple of games at the SCG a few years ago, 06 and 07 i think. Sorry mate but the crowd was like it was watching a game of golf, there was light clapping for a ripper contested mark by Goodes. Come to the G and hear the roar when a player breaks the lines and slots one from 45.... unbeatable

Obviously night games are better, but all the same.. don't know what matches you were at, especially in those years when we were producing constant sell-out crowds.

Thats the beauty of DT! Gives you a reason to watch even the most boring games.. :D But then again only having free TV Im happy to watch any game they show, even if they show way too much Eagles for my liking..

Dont mind what ground they play in if watching on TV, but not a big fan of going to Subi, cant wait to watch a proper game in MCG or Etihad with the roof closed one day! Will still go to watch the Dons play everytime they come over here tho, even if it does always turn out ugly for us.. (not this year tho! I hope :p)

Another way of making games exciting is by putting a few dollars on the game! I still remember staying up late last year (stupid FTA showing a twilight game replay at 12midnight) watching what would normally be a boring Port v WCE game but had a tenner on it and actually turn out to be quite a nail biter! (Port won by 1?)

I wonder if people arent interested in Port games, because we play a boring style of football, too frustrating or they just dont give a flip about us.

Maybe a bit of all? haha.

Will watch any team, just love Football.

Who Cant you watch and where