Oakland Raiders
With 5 days to go until draft night most of the potential draftees have reached maximum exposure levels. Therefore I thought it an opportune time to gauge the thoughts of the board as to what your ultimate Collingwood draft would look like. We all have our favourites so here's your chance to spruik them!

Pick 6: Matt Scharanberg.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/matthew-scharenberg

We've just lost Heater and Maxwell is on the way out so now I look at our defence and think to myself who's the man to marshal the troops when things get tough. Williams looks capable, but the rest in Toovey, Keeffe, Brown and any of Sinclair, Seedsman or Sidebottom just don't shout leader to me whereas Scharanberg just has "I'm the f*****g man" written all over him.

He reads it well off the boot so will win his share of intercept possessions, is strong defensively and has good skills. He may not make it into the midfield, but who cares he's going to be our back line general for the next 10 years.

Back to back AA and runner up in the Larke medal this year if available at 6 I imagine that Hine (like 2012 with Grundy) will not be able to get this man's name out quick enough, foot concerns or otherwise.

Pick 10: Patrick Cripps.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/patrick-cripps

Here is where I diverge from the traditional BF think tank and go a little left field. This guy doesn't have the hype of some of the other potential first rounders (Lennon and Bontempelli I'm looking at you lol) in fact he seems to have no hype whatsoever, but what he does he does at an elite level and it will certainly translate to AFL.

Across the carnival he averaged 12 contested possessions, 6 clearances and 3 tackles against his peers. There are blokes that will go in the top 10 that can't even put up those sorts of numbers in the relatively weak 2013 TAC cup season (by normal standards). A 20cm growth spurt over the past 2 years means that athletically he isn't brilliant, but get him into an AFL environment and he no doubt increases his endurance which makes him an around the ground threat with that size.

I look at all the top 10 and go yeah they'll be solid, but I look at this guy and go he'll be big time like JPK and Mundy. Drafting him means we have a legitimate Ball replacement that we can groom for 2 years in the two's while we get the immediate impact from Scharanberg.

I doubt Hine will go this way on draft day, but I'll have my fingers and toes crossed that he does.

Pick 67: Richard Bourne.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/richard-bourne

He's as light as a summers breeze this kid, but boy can he run!

We need to find a way to inject some speed and skill into our front half and this kid will do just the trick. He is probably more of a rookie option, however I have no confidence in going tall at this stage of the draft and clubs will pick the eyes out of the the available mids.

I would be looking at him to develop in a similar way to Brad Dick and he does hit the scoreboard (27 goals at Colt level in 2013) which is a plus for mine.

Overall those three would give us a good mix going forward and compliment the ingredients we already have IMO. I have no doubt we'll all see things differently so I look forward to seeing the wish lists of others.

Pick 10: Patrick Cripps.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/patrick-cripps

Here is where I diverge from the traditional BF think tank and go a little left field. This guy doesn't have the hype of some of the other potential first rounders (Lennon and Bontempelli I'm looking at you lol) in fact he seems to have no hype whatsoever, but what he does he does at an elite level and it will certainly translate to AFL.

Across the carnival he averaged 12 contested possessions, 6 clearances and 3 tackles against his peers. There are blokes that will go in the top 10 that can't even put up those sorts of numbers in the relatively weak 2013 TAC cup season (by normal standards). A 20cm growth spurt over the past 2 years means that athletically he isn't brilliant, but get him into an AFL environment and he no doubt increases his endurance which makes him an around the ground threat with that size.

I look at all the top 10 and go yeah they'll be solid, but I look at this guy and go he'll be big time like JPK and Mundy. Drafting him means we have a legitimate Ball replacement that we can groom for 2 years in the two's while we get the immediate impact from Scharanberg.

I doubt Hine will go this way on draft day, but I'll have my fingers and toes crossed that he does.
Thanks for posting this and especially the Cripps pick.

Interested in why Cripps hasn't been mentioned as a higher selection? Looks like good numbers, good size but there must be something holding clubs back or surely he'd be right up there.

Pick 6: Scharenberg
Pick 10: Aish
Pick 67: Sokol

From Knightmare:

Ben Sokol (WA – Fwd/Mid)
Height: 183cm, Weight: 87kg, DOB: 28/10/1995
Recruited from: South Fremantle
Style: Dane Swan (early career)
Range: 45-rookie
Profile: Sokol is a strong marking forward who can really put his stamp on games. Sokol’s point of difference is his marking ability 1v1 up forward for a midfielder. He has Dane Swan type strength 1v1 where no guy can go with him as his strength is just so strong but then also has those strong hands to really take those grabs. He his age he has incredible size and strength. He’s also a very effective leadup marking target. Sokol’s endurance is also excellent for someone with such a strong body making him a hard player to go with and just seems to be one of those players who just knows how to find the footy easier than the next guy. He’s also an excellent finisher around goal. He seems to improve with every game and is a player as a midfield rotation type who can play up forward could be better than most think.

Bontempelli and Acres is the draft I want with a slider at 67.

I get the sense Collingwood want the two South Australians early. James Aish and Matt Scharenberg. They'd probably be ok with Mitch Harvey at 67 also if there to make it another trio of South Australians.

Either way I'd be happy with either outcome.

Thanks for posting this and especially the Cripps pick.

Interested in why Cripps hasn't been mentioned as a higher selection? Looks like good numbers, good size but there must be something holding clubs back or surely he'd be right up there.

There's a few things that may be holding him back from being spoken about in those circles.

My take is that it's because he's so raw. People bang on about McCarthy, but for mine this guys coming from just as far back if not further. It could be his skills, but I don't see them being any worse than say Freeman's. Maybe it's just because he's West Australian. I get the feeling that the media this year round are very Vic metro centric. There's no concerns on him being a flight risk IMO being from country WA he'd have boarded for the past two years, but you'd have to have interviewed him to know the true answer to that.

At the end of the day it's probably a sum of all those parts which has ultimately just pushed him down the order a little. It's still all speculation though because he may just vault up the order late because the recruiters keep their cards so close to their chest.

Bontempelli and Acres is the draft I want with a slider at 67.

I get the sense Collingwood want the two South Australians early. James Aish and Matt Scharenberg. They'd probably be ok with Mitch Harvey at 67 also if there to make it another trio of South Australians.

Either way I'd be happy with either outcome.

Cold on Crouch?

6. Aish
10. Scharenberg
65. Alex Pearce (key forward from Tassie)

And that's being slightly realistic.

If Aish is still available at 6 Derek Hine will trip over himself once again trying to get his name out, he's my number 1 want out of this draft.

Cold on Crouch?

I'm still very strong on Crouch as someone who will become one of the best in this draft.

If Boyd/Aish/Billings/Bontempelli and Acres are not available he'd be my selection as that next in my power rankings.

6. Aish
10. Scharenberg
65. Alex Pearce (key forward from Tassie)

And that's being slightly realistic.

If Aish is still available at 6 Derek Hine will trip over himself once again trying to get his name out, he's my number 1 want out of this draft.

So no concerns about Aish at all, Matty?

None, he's exactly the type of midfielder we need going forward, is so clean by foot and has years of experience at senior level already.

I reckon the Dogs will take him at 4, though I hope they don't.