Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2016 Draft Almanac

Surprised you don't have Hayden McLean as one of your top 20 prospects KM. 199cm KPP forward/ruck in a premiership team. They don't grow on trees like these 6 foot 1 inch mid/flank/wingers!

Still given the opening by line said "who will be the next Andrew McGrath or Tim Taranto?" it kinda makes sense. Both those guys weren't rated top 20 this time last year either...

Look what happened to those two.

Surprised you don't have Hayden McLean as one of your top 20 prospects KM. 199cm KPP forward/ruck in a premiership team. They don't grow on trees like these 6 foot 1 inch mid/flank/wingers!

Still given the opening by line said "who will be the next Andrew McGrath or Tim Taranto?" it kinda makes sense. Both those guys weren't rated top 20 this time last year either...

Look what happened to those two.

The "opening line" was just ESPN providing an generic introduction, on the basis of both being top two choices I'd imagine.

McLean I was strongly considering for the top 20, but favoured a few others. He's top 30 for me at this stage. Morrisby is another good key forward from Sandy who also is for me in that next group.

Lienert is a mature age key defender from the SANFL. Strong 1v1, mostly winning 1v1 contests and sometimes taking 1v1 marks. Very strong bodied at 195cm, 98kg. Can also to some extent play forward. Weaknesses are relatively he is not super athletic or much of an endurance runner.

Ladhams is a decent ruckman through the u18s. Capable enough forward and can take some marks. Mobile enough and finds some ball around the ground. Ok tap ruckman though not as advanced here as some of his peers. Overall solid in each of these areas though overall not exceptional in any of them which is one of the queries.

Allsop is one I really strongly hope continues his footy. He is so talented at ground level. He just needs more time developing.

Would love to see Dandenong have him back as a top ager and for Allsop to have a big preseason. He's a real talent who could make a lot of clubs regret passing on him.

Aish was solid in his draft year, but was throughout his whole junior career really.

The major different is Aish played a lot of senior state league footy at SANFL League level. McCluggage by contrasted played U18s only (TAC Cup). As a result, McCluggage's numbers are much higher and on another level.

McCluggage is for me the better talent. Other than light frames I don't see the similarities. McCluggage is the more skilled, better ball winner inside/outside, better runner, more damaging player who does more damage forward of centre.

Stengle I feel was worth the rookie choice. Good pressure player who is good at ground level. Potentially developable and the type you look at in that range.

Zurhaar provides run and can play fwd/back.

Junker can also play anywhere and is a very strong mark overhead.

Taylor is a pretty good user and runner from the back half.

All have about the production you'd look for in the rookie draft behind them.

All potentially developable players and North probably had in my view one of the better rookie drafts.

Taylor relatively is fairly one way as an offensive player - not a lock down type down back or super strong 1v1 or overly accountable, fairly outside and not much of a contested ball winner. But has some attributes and the numbers on the board, good disposal efficiency and drive he creates are all pretty good.

As per my final power rankings I had Clarke at 20 (see page one).

Kicking, agility and pace are questionmarks, but with production on the board, contested ball winning capabilities and endurance. I think he'll be fine. Not a star, but can be a component to a midfield as a ball winner is my though.

My 2017 draft preview (top 20) with brief profiles will be up either tonight or tomorrow on ESPN.

Edwards is one of that 20 I make mention of.

In my 10 burning questions piece and through my various weekly wraps I make mention of the 2017 draft prospects.
Of the weekly wraps the Shai Bolton piece and the Ben Ainsworth piece are also good pieces if you want more of the 2017 draft prospects with the U17 Exhibition Match and Vic Metro Futures v Vic Country Futures matches respectively spoken about at length.

2017 draft preview (my top 20+profiles) coming either late tonight or tomorrow to ESPN.

KM where is young James Langford (Son of Chris brother of Will) placed in the 2017 draft is he highly rated.

The "opening line" was just ESPN providing an generic introduction, on the basis of both being top two choices I'd imagine.

McLean I was strongly considering for the top 20, but favoured a few others. He's top 30 for me at this stage. Morrisby is another good key forward from Sandy who also is for me in that next group.
Hey Km,don't be surprised to see big man Jordon Sweet come back fighting next year after being overlooked, same with a few of others I'm sure.

KM where is young James Langford (Son of Chris brother of Will) placed in the 2017 draft is he highly rated.

Haven't sighted.

I imagine he would be quite a way back. Unsure whether he would attract interest.

Need to see him play first next year before making any judgement.

Hey Km,don't be surprised to see big man Jordon Sweet come back fighting next year after being overlooked, same with a few of others I'm sure.

I like Sweet's game. He's of similar ability/type to Sean Darcy who Fremantle took mid-draft and in my view better than Peter Ladhams who Port took.

There are quite a number I hope to see going around again next year and push hard for AFL selection.

Brodie Romensky, Lachlan Walker, Jonty Scharenberg, Jye Bolton, Jake Pitman, Luke Bunker and Dan Allsop are a small few others I really liked this year and felt deserved a shot. I hope each of them go around again as they've each got AFL capabilities in my view. Sweet is another.

Haven't sighted.

I imagine he would be quite a way back. Unsure whether he would attract interest.

Need to see him play first next year before making any judgement.

I like Sweet's game. He's of similar ability/type to Sean Darcy who Fremantle took mid-draft and in my view better than Peter Ladhams who Port took.

There are quite a number I hope to see going around again next year and push hard for AFL selection.

Brodie Romensky, Lachlan Walker, Jonty Scharenberg, Jye Bolton, Jake Pitman, Luke Bunker and Dan Allsop are a small few others I really liked this year and felt deserved a shot. I hope each of them go around again as they've each got AFL capabilities in my view. Sweet is another.
Reece Piper, Dan Alsop, Sam Fowler to the Northern Blues, Bailey Morrish to the Casey Scorpions.

KM, if you have the time I'd appreciate your opinion on those draftees you think have the highest SuperCoach potential from this draft. I'm in a Keeper League with a draft starting early next year so would be interested in hearing your thoughts on those who will have the highest impact over their career.

Will be doing that as my first article in 2017 around the week before the NAB Cup might be the time for it.

As ESPN don't run a fantasy competition I won't be talking specifically in terms of fantasy output (SC/DT points etc).
- Always happy to talk in those terms after the article if anyone has further questions on it.

But with rookies it's about who will play and who can find the ball, and I'll be talking in terms that will make it very clear which prospects in 2017 will be fantasy relevant.

--

In thinking about it now, while I have yet to discuss it with ESPN. I may also if there is strong demand for it and if the first article pulls a crowd, I may produce something on those 2nd year onwards type I feel may break through (with a similar tone) talking projected increase in games and numbers - which again will make it very easy for fantasy football coaches to figure who they should be considering for their 2017 teams.

With teams seemingly shy of taking rucks early the last few drafts it will be interesting to see what happens when there is several 200+cm guys available and rated as top prospects.
Jeremy Goddard was rated as a top 10 prospect this time last year. Only one or two of these ruck prospects will be top 30 calculations November next year. They always drop off

KM would you expect SPS to start round 1 and is he a player that could start his career as forward or is he ready to start in the guts from the get go.

SPS could play anywhere. He hasn't played much forward. He has been more a mid mostly who can also run off a back flank.

If used forward he probably plays half-forward, pushing high up the field rather than closer to goal.

I'm not expecting he plays round one. But when he pushes into Carlton's senior team he is most likely used through the midfield - either inside/outside depending on Carlton's vision.

Is there a cricket almanac on the site ?

Outside the AFL I know my NBA.

Cricket though is not a sport I follow.

The cricket board is the most likely place to find anything on cricket: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forums/cricket.21/

Hey KM,
Do you know much about James Langford? I've heard he's the better one of the three Langford brothers but I can't find any details on him.

Have yet to see James play.

When he is playing in a more recognised competition he'll be spoken about more.

Outside the AFL I know my NBA.

Cricket though is not a sport I follow.

The cricket board is the most likely place to find anything on cricket: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forums/cricket.21/

Have yet to see James play.

When he is playing in a more recognised competition he'll be spoken about more.

Does he have to play in the TAC to get drafted could Hawthorn just leave him there to keep his value real low

Sometimes Victorians outside the TAC Cup get drafted.

In Victoria if playing TAC Cup or school footy. You'll get noticed if you're good enough.

Hey knightmare,
Lots of interest in James Langford, but I'm more excited in the prospect of Dean Andersons son, Noah. I believe Finn Maginess is also available as a father/son this year. have you heard or seen much of either boys?
Thanks in advance
Ando didn't play enough games at either Hawthorn or St Kilda for Noah to be available to either team under the F/S rule as it currently stands.

Hey knightmare,
Lots of interest in James Langford, but I'm more excited in the prospect of Dean Andersons son, Noah. I believe Finn Maginess is also available as a father/son this year. have you heard or seen much of either boys?
Thanks in advance

Don't believe I've seen either of them play.

If on TAC Cup lists this year and playing I'm happy to provide updates as I see them/if they impress.

G'day KM. Just interested in your thoughts on us taking Parfitt in the 20's. I've been hearing some good things out of the club and I'm hoping that we've found ourselves a good one. What do you think?

Felt early for me. He's someone I personally would only have considered late/rookie.

He's lively as anything. Very quick. Hard. Tackles with great intensity. He has a relatively advanced game and can find the footy. He's just not a big guy and his kicking while reports keep coming through various media sources that he's good by foot, I couldn't disagree more. His kicking during every viewing last year consistently felt rushed and he regularly missed targets in game that you'd expect him to hit even at the lower levels.

I hope he proves me wrong, but my view is he has limited scope to develop long term beyond being a possible specialist/role player if things go right.

Felt early for me. He's someone I personally would only have considered late/rookie.

He's lively as anything. Very quick. Hard. Tackles with great intensity. He has a relatively advanced game and can find the footy. He's just not a big guy and his kicking while reports keep coming through various media sources that he's good by foot, I couldn't disagree more. His kicking during every viewing last year consistently felt rushed and he regularly missed targets in game that you'd expect him to hit even at the lower levels.

I hope he proves me wrong, but my view is he has limited scope to develop long term beyond being a possible specialist/role player if things go right.
Cheers mate. I appreciate your feedback.

I haven't seen him play other than a couple of highlight videos so I'll reserve judgement until I see him play at least a few games. As far as his kicking goes, it's the only thing that concerns me to be honest. Technically his kicking action looks fine but he does seem to miss targets that are quite simple and this is a concern. What gives me hope is that apparently last season he was struggling with hip and groin injuries which as I'm sure that you would know can effect a players kicking ability. Time will tell on this one though...

Don't believe I've seen either of them play.

If on TAC Cup lists this year and playing I'm happy to provide updates as I see them/if they impress.

Might find this of interest..

Teams for the SA U18 trial game..

http://sanfl.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/2017-SA-U18-Trial-game-team-sheet.pdf