Hawks bog ordinary

• Thread starter Thread starter dutchman

Killed in the middle and shown up for pace.

Ordinary skills going forward also.

Doesn't make for pretty footy from a HFC fans' perspective.

Kudos to the DOn's, very very well played!

Gotta love Hawks supporters clutching at excuses in this thread... such as injuries:thumbsu:

Have a stop and think who essendon were missing.

Fletcher, Lucas, Mcveigh, Daniher, Hurley, Reimers, Prismall, Welsh, Skipworth, Hille. Just to name a few:)

cant really use that as an excuse... bombers had fletcher, hille, mcveigh, welsh, hurley just to name a few :eek:

Too bloody right.

Injuries are no excuse for the Hawks performance tonight.

Essendon played to their strengths and played well, an excellent effort from them and they deserved the win.

I still think Hawthorn have an enormous amount of improvement in them, but we do not look anything like a top 4 team on the form displayed this year.

Your kidding me. Im sick of hearing injury excuses! Suck it up and admit you lost fair and square. If your team is good enough they can cover for injured players. Flogs
Yeah and because when we didn't have injuries, look what happened in the Grand Final? We've got the youngest team in the competition, of course we're going to struggle when we're missing several players. Particullary when we're putting our best ruckman in as FB, so we're down in 2 departments. Deadset, some people can be incredibly stupid.

We were so much at our best that we made four changes to our side and could have made more. We then had an article about how poor our bottom 6 players were. Don't be mistaken, a few of our players went missing when we needed them most.
Yeah, and had they played and our full backline played then the result wouldn't been different, probably would've won by a few more goals and Fev would've been restricted to a 3 goal game.

What a load of sh*t.

Essendon's fullback is out injured, their CHB is playing in the ruck and their number 1 ruckmen is gone for the year. You blokes can't keep using injuries as an excuse all year.
Nonsense post. We have the youngest squad in the competition. Of course, we're going to struggle with the majority of our backline missing and our best ruckman having to play as a key defender.

The Hawks lost: wheel out the haters for more of the same.

Pathetic effort but it is the wake-up call that is needed.

Its round 7 people.

Get Guerra, Birchall, Osborne, Hodge, Bateman, Gilham, Croad, Ellis, Mitchell and Young match-fit and clicking and Hawthorn should return to the team you all know and hate.

Easier said than done though....

I just had a feeling that hawks supporters would use injuries as an excuse...
Hawks injuries: croad, gilham, young, ellis, guerra
Bombers injuries: Hille, welsh, mcveigh, prismall, fletcher, gumbleton etc etc
Who's to say essendon wouldn't have done well with those players in their side tonight????
Every team has injuries mate and the reason we are all shocked is because of Hawthorn's apparent inability to deal with them. BTW, hawks have always had a weak backline, croad and brown are the only half-decent stoppers in there. The rest (Guerra, hodge, birchall) are your rebounding types.

Essendon tonight where superb. Played the game to their own strengths, which is something they have not done against Hawks recently. Hawks where second to the ball and put no pressure on the ball carrier meaning Essendon could use there superior pace to hurt Hawks.

As for the why is Hodge playing injured business. Well who else plays that role for Hawks... Ellis, oh no he is also injured.... Goo, no he is also injured. Hawks are being forced to use Mitchel down there which is hurting us around stoppages. Hopefully Ellis in next week and give Hodge a rest.

Oh yea and Dew WTF had NO influence on the game CONTRIBUTE OR GET OUT.

Last thought Dowler = superstar tonight and Rioli was only shining lights for Hawks.

Depleted backline, missing Gilham & Croad. Have no key backmen so we're shoving Campbell down there to do a job and his getting murdered. Fev killed us last week and Llyod & Neagle tonight.

What garbage. Take a look at the team you were playing, they also had their injuries.

I said this last week. You can't switch on great form just like that. Look at the cats, they also played in the gf last & have injuries, but have won all their games and look impressive. You have to have a consistent high level of performance, week in week out.

The injury excuse is wearing thin.... All your other players are not playing well, and they are not injured. And don't think that you can easily switch it on and play great football when the finals come....if you make it....

Yeah and because when we didn't have injuries, look what happened in the Grand Final? We've got the youngest team in the competition, of course we're going to struggle when we're missing several players. Particullary when we're putting our best ruckman in as FB, so we're down in 2 departments. Deadset, some people can be incredibly stupid.

Yeah, and had they played and our full backline played then the result wouldn't been different, probably would've won by a few more goals and Fev would've been restricted to a 3 goal game.

Nonsense post. We have the youngest squad in the competition. Of course, we're going to struggle with the majority of our backline missing and our best ruckman having to play as a key defender.

Even your own supporters say you can't use it as an excuse yet delusional blokes like you continue you sook about how hard done by you are.
Going into this game you guys thought you were going to "obliterate" Essendon and were estimating margins in excess of 40 points, but as soon as you lose it is all the injuries and blokes having to play out of position.

You saw your team sheet before you played and you blokes were screaming from the hills how much you would dominate by, why is it any different now the game has ended?

And for what it is worth I would take Hawthorn's injury every day over the Bombers list. It isn't everyone else's fault you have no depth.

The Hawks are suffering from the greatest injury of all - their fan's injured pride.

don't get me wrong I love seeing the hawks losing and playing pretty ordinary but I still think they will make the top 8 comfortably. I think they will be top 5 still.

Really?? they are lazy very lazy. You cant be lazy and pull off zone footy.

Wont make the 8 in a very cliche hangover. whoch is great for the cats as they only have to worry about the saints now ;)

Hawks injured and lazy and nearly gone for 2009.

essendon will come back down to earth very soon, but they should enjoy it they were good for a young team. But if they think they are going to be top 4 they are kidding themselves.

They dn't think they are top 4 material. They are hoping to be top 8 and may well do it. They are going well.

I agree the average age of your squad may be lowest in the league but last night what was the average age of your 22 players compared to the average age of Essendon's 22 players.

It was Geelong losing last years flag rather than Hawks winning it. Hawthorn have a number of weaknesses and teams have exploited them.

They have had a reasonable draw remaining and all things being equal will still make the 8.

Not enough credit is being given to Essendon, they looked fantastic.
I had them bottom 4 this year and I also thought my side was in for an ordinary season...what do I know:o
I think the Bombers are doing nicely under Knights and will start tightening up in the betting,they have a good balance of speed and skills, their handball was especially impressive. Were beaten in the ruck but still managed to get it out of the middle an many occasions. good game last night.
Hawthorn........hangover.

What makes you so sure?

We were winning in the midfield and the inside 50s, and Fev loves playing on Croad. Still would've gone down to the wire IMO.

Enjoy it while it lasts, Hawk bashers.

Sure, the Hawks were awful last night and have been at various times this year. If that's the price we have to play for winning the 2008 flag then so be it. I'll take the premiership any day.

We have the youngest team in the comp as we'll be back to our best sooner or later, ready to terrorise you all again for years to come.

In the meantime, lap it up and tell yourselves how good you are.

Enjoy it while it lasts, Hawk bashers.

Sure, the Hawks were awful last night and have been at various times this year. If that's the price we have to play for winning the 2008 flag then so be it. I'll take the premiership any day.

We have the youngest team in the comp as we'll be back to our best sooner or later, ready to terrorise you all again for years to come.

In the meantime, lap it up and tell yourselves how good you are.
Well you just got beaten by one of the youngest teams.

And it seems we can enjoy it until you get over your injuries.