Rumour Beams coming on heavy, hot and strong (Beams & picks 41 & 44 for 18, 56, COL's 2019 1st rd)

Gee willikers thank you Mr Forrest for your contribution.

The top 20% of households holding 62% of the wealth; 5 times as much wealth as the middle 20% and yet the top 10% of income earners are only paying 50% of the tax. How generous.

Oh pardon me. I got confused between white collar idiot income earners like me who work in hospitals and have to pay the 37-45% tax rates after a decade of study and people like old mate Twiggy who does not earn a cent personally and instead has his wealth stored through various companies and tax advantaged structures.

Thank goodness for Twiggy donating 70m AUD to his own thinktank instead of paying taxes. Someone as benevolent as Twiggy should decide what happens to that money instead of the Australian people and their government.

I respect Clive Palmer somewhat (but not very much) for not hiding his political lobbying in clandestine think tank/lobbying groups masquerading as charities like old mate Twiggy and Gina do. Palmer outright declares himself a political party. The biggest dog s**t billionaire would have to be Rupert though. He disguises his politics as news media.

So at most he has paid a 29.5% rate.
Way to be bitter buddy. You studied and entered a particular field of employment knowing what you’d earn so I’m so sorry that you’re struggling with your tax burden.

I’m curious how you know what Forrest pays in tax each year? I’m guessing you’ve got access to his personal tax returns along with those of his myriad of companies and trusts.

My friend lost his property in the King Lake fires (Black Saturday) & many of his friends did too. He doesn't know anyone that that received money from funds raised last time. Went into some community betterment fund or something like that & they couldn't agree on how to spend it (thats the general gist of the story I was told anyhoo) When he donates now, he just does it direct to his local CFA.

I live in Kinglake and was there that terrible night. I was only 17 or 18 at the time so not to sure about the intricate details but the whole community was pissed about how the funds were used. Pretty sure you had to apply for grants and needed to meet a criterea. The problem was, tradies got rich quick. If you needed trees cut down the council might supply you with "up to $10,000" and the tree looper would quote the full $10,000 even if it was 1 or 2 trees that would usually cost $1,200 each. Judt an example, I heard a electrician made hundreds of thousands in a couple of months ripping off the system. This is of course all hearsay. Additionally, there were time limits and many families were to distraught to claim and missed the window (huge administrative requirements to apply). Hopefully they have employed a better and more equitable system this time. We were lucky and our house didn't burn down but the roof caved in from extreme weather conditions and the insurance company refused to pay & my mum didnt apply for the grant because she wanted to "leave it for people worse off". Pretty piss poor and still leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

Any insurance companies that deny legitimate claims should be named and shamed

Way to be bitter buddy. You studied and entered a particular field of employment knowing what you’d earn so I’m so sorry that you’re struggling with your tax burden.

I’m curious how you know what Forrest pays in tax each year? I’m guessing you’ve got access to his personal tax returns along with those of his myriad of companies and trusts.

Im not bitter. I dont mind paying my tax burden as I love Australia and its egalitarian society. I just find it funny that you need to personally defend Twiggy here. You should at least sign up to whatever the latest iteration of Cambridge Analytica so at least you would get paid for your service.

You'd think a footy chat blog would be mercifully free of political crap. Obviously not -seemingly many seem to feel free to deliver us of their total woke-dom.

Advisory- keep it for The Guordian blogs or Their ABC.

OK, boomer guy who rants often about lefties and the Greens on here.

Advisory- keep it for Uncle Rupe’s Minitrue outlets.

Im not bitter. I dont mind paying my tax burden as I love Australia and its egalitarian society. I just find it funny that you need to personally defend Twiggy here. You should at least sign up to whatever the latest iteration of Cambridge Analytica so at least you would get paid for your service.
Replying to comments from others is kinda what big footys all about 🥱.

keep enjoying the guardian and abc to let you know what to be upset by

Anyhoo... How good a time was it to trade Beams.

I watched a couple of the 2018 games that were mentioned in the top 10 wins thread here, and while beams was good I was struck by how much of an upgrade lach has been. Between bringing in lach to cover his performance and his off field challenges and we couldn't have cashed out any more perfectly

I watched a couple of the 2018 games that were mentioned in the top 10 thread here, and while beams was good I was struck by how much of an upgrade lach has been. Between bringing in lach to cover his performance and his off field challenges and we couldn't have cashed out any more perfectly

We did so good, if it was a casino, we'd be banned from returning. :D

I don't know if Collingwood is the casino in this story or trading in general is the casino, but you get my drift.

We did so good, if it was a casino, we'd be banned from returning. :D

I don't know if Collingwood is the casino in this story or trading in general is the casino, but you get my drift.

Maybe Collingwood is the rich idiot at the local high stakes poker game and we sauntered in and took them for all they're worth? A classic sting perhaps. I'd be 'lion' (heh) if I said that didn't sound like a fun movie idea

Imagine if we had nationalised our resources for the betterment and long-term security of all Australians instead of selling the rights for a quick buck.

*looks enviously at Norway’s sovereign wealth fund and cries softly*
We tried, we failed. The paradox of plenty has contributed to our backwards short term "me-me-me" thinking and has us losing out on potentially trillions in sovereign wealth funds. Imagine what we could be doing now... just scraping off the interest every year to fund all of our national projects. We still have a chance... QLD tried under Bligh to set up a sovereign fund after the LNG boom but it went no where as well. This could be a contentious statement but the the public (namely the boomers) are so self interested it is costing our future. What's in it for ME?!?!?! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Collingwood played a risky hand and now with the retrospectoscope it looks like a poor move. Realistically though they got their 2018 first round selection (Quaynor) anyway thanks to points bidding so they only really gave up their 2019 first rounder for Beams. Collingwood were one kick away from a 2018 premiership. Beams is a huge upgrade on Rupert Willis or whoever else Collingwood had on the bench. If they made the grand final with a fit Beams the move would be lauded just like the Lynch to Richmond move. Unfortunately Beams has not been able to get himself sorted. Cant blame Eddy for taking the risk with Beams. Its just their bad luck that it didnt work out.

That's true, and I think it's also fair to say we wouldn't have parted with him if he hadn't asked for the trade. Really we just had all the stars align and it ended up working out better than anyone could reasonably have expected. Still, we were due a good bit of luck after the preceding decade

Good luck or good management?

I find this sort of post very concerning and it always disturbs me to see posters I generally respect engaging in it. As a result of bioaccumulation and their dietary preferencess, the rich will build up heavy metals in their fat tissue and consequently eating them could be dangerous bordering on toxic. Better to compost the rich, as plants will avoid taking up the heavy metals and just leave you with the healthful nutrients.

I’d be interested in a detailed experimental study to investigate whether guillotining prior to consumption reduces these heavy metals.

OK, boomer guy who rants often about lefties and the Greens on here.

Advisory- keep it for Uncle Rupe’s Minitrue outlets.
You are correct. I am a boomer, having been born not too many years after my father returned from around 5 years in Stalag 17b. Not having seen his daughter who was on his demob nearly 6 yo, born while serving at the pleasure of the Nazis.

I'd like to think he gave the best years of his life in part to allow all sorts of nutters the opportunity to rant about nothing in particular and display their ignorance for all to see.

NZ and Canada must loom large I'd guess. Start a Gofundme. I'd contribute from my meager pension.

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk