News Brad Crouch to Saints (STK make offer; Band 3, ADL to match?)

I mentioned this on the Saints board

I’m not sure if this has been covered by someone else, but the ‘leaked’ email seemed to indicate that regardless of what sort of contract Crouch might be offered, if he’s not deemed to ‘belong’ in that upper echelon of 5% earners, by this mysterious compensation committee, then he might not have a chance of gaining Band 1

What I’m saying is that Saints simply tacking on a bit more to Crouch’s contract and us taking on a player as a salary dump might not work if the committee deem it to be ‘artificially’ trying to generate Band 1 compensation.

Absolutely woeful PR exercise by the AFL today, and we should explore any avenue available to us if the Saints offer should be high enough for Band 1, but we don’t get it. I do believe we can appeal the decision.

Saints also not really doing us any favours with their offer.

Despite Brad saying he’s looking for a new change of scenery, he also said he still loves the club and wants us to receive adequate compensation for him. Will be very interesting to see how this all plays out

Why the **** would St Kilda want to do us favors? You realize this is a competition right?

Our gain is their loss.

Why the fu** would St Kilda want to do us favors? You realize this is a competition right?

Our gain is their loss.
because "doing us a favour" nets us pick 2 instead of 15 (maybe more) in a trade and them getting to keep pick 15 (maybe more) instead of giving it up to us.

its not us a favour, its making sure we don't match, so they can keep their picks

He was a free agent, and we got better than band one compo. That's better than the highest compo possible.

If you want what a free agent is "worth", why aren't you happy with 14 or so for Crouch? He's a free agent, and that's what he's worth.

You're all over the place.
we traded with geelong man. we got geelongs first rounder and dean gore.

danger was worth much more than that.

we traded with geelong man. we got geelongs first rounder and dean gore. it wasnt a compensation pick.

+ a second rounder (which we on-traded for Menzel).

You know what this thread, really needs.

A Poll.

Those in the camp that think we get Pick 2, those that think we will get worse. Optimists vs Realists

I need names.
Optimist v pessimist is the poll.

Being pessimist doesn't equal being realist

Unless there are three options of course

because "doing us a favour" nets us pick 2 instead of 15 (maybe more) in a trade and them getting to keep pick 15 (maybe more) instead of giving it up to us.

its not us a favour, its making sure we don't match, so they can keep their picks
Or another way to look at it is..if they pay up enough for band 1, they get B Crouch AND maybe O'Driscoll or Ford or McRae and we get our extra high pick. If they do the wrong thing by us and force us to trade, then they get B Crouch (maybe) and lose out on that extra 1st round mid and likely a 2020 2nd round rated player too..all for what, maybe $400-$500K over 4 years more

Probably a discussion for another thread but in general how is next year's draft rated?

is it possible the Saints second round pick next year (say they finish 5 - 8) worth more than their first pick this year?

Their 1st pick this year will probably drop to pick 20 by the time compensation picks and FS/NGA bids come in on Draft night.

Bit of a lottery with so many players moving around via FA

They know how soft we are as a club, they might be calling our bluff and knowing we won't match.

you've got some people here saying "but, but, but what if its 700k and we need 702k for band 1".

its like come on man, really?

They know how soft we are as a club, they might be calling our bluff and knowing we won't match.

That is the wild card in all of this.

The Crows might just well be soft enough to just take the band 2 and try to sell it like a good outcome, and other clubs might be prepared to bet on that.

Mate, I know you're having another dig at the club, but it is very unlikely we won't be matching. I'd almost put my house car on it. :)

That is the wild card in all of this.

The Crows might just well be soft enough to just take the band 2 and try to sell it like a good outcome, and other clubs might be prepared to bet on that.
Man, this place will ****ing explode if that happened. I just can't see that happening. We pushed for a trade with Danger, and we will push again with Brad.

you've got some people here saying "but, but, but what if its 700k and we need 702k for band 1".

I think the point is the AFL may have predetermined Crouch isnt worth band 1 so it doesnt really matter what his contract value is whether its 600, 750 or whatever.

These comments relate to the fact that band 1 is top 10% of players.

If the top 10% average 750k, and Brad gets 740k, are they AFL likely to say "close enough, pick 2 for you crows" or "Brad Crouch didn't quite meet the requirements for band 1 compensation, and as such the crows will receive an end of first round pick as per band 2".

I'll leave it to individuals to decide which route the "A"FL would take.

I’m not sure if this has been covered by someone else, but the ‘leaked’ email seemed to indicate that regardless of what sort of contract Crouch might be offered, if he’s not deemed to ‘belong’ in that upper echelon of 5% earners, by this mysterious compensation committee, then he might not have a chance of gaining Band 1

Yep, exactly:

Saints could offer a $1m per year contract over 8 years and the AFL would still think twice about giving us pick 2

we traded with geelong man. we got geelongs first rounder and dean gore.

danger was worth much more than that.
You couldn't trade future picks when that deal was done or it would have been two firsts. Don't hang on to flawed ancient history like Danger or Frawley compo, irrelevent now. AFL will do what AFL does, please themselves. You don't reckon there's heavy lobbying from the other low ranked clubs on this?

Actually you could. They needed their future first for Lachie Henderson.

Mate, I know you're having another dig at the club, but it is very unlikely we won't be matching. I'd almost put my house car on it. :)
To match you’ve got to be prepared to take on the contract, if we’ve told Crouch he’s out, then why would the Saints think we would?

Rowey said this arvo Sydney was ruled out because of Pyke, Brad obviously didn’t want anything to do with him.

They might, they have the power to adjust any compo pick they think is anomalous, pick 2 for Brad is anomalous. His worth on the open market is pick 12 to 15 IMO for a 26yo, injury prone, midfield accumulator
Whole point is if your team is sh*t and finish bottom 4 and you loss a player to FA for $750K+ which mean he is consider one of your best player then you get a 1st rounder compensation which is pick 2 because we are sh*t.

and we were soft enough to accept that as a reason "Oh sorry, if you need that pick for something else we obviously wouldn't be rude enough to ask for it.."

"Organic growth" - that was some solid AFC spin right there.