Preview Changes for the Prelim v Port Adelaide - Sat @7:40

We could play Bont in the ruck, after he took a couple inside 50 in our recent games he showed that he’s easily our no 1 ruck. No joke. He could ruck to himself and win the clearance.

Without taking away from the other discussions about injury replacements and possible ruck replacement, ideally I'd think we look at alternatives for Hannan and/or Schache.

Didn't think either was a 'threat' at all last night and when the lions worked this out they had more options themselves.
I just rewatched the game and have to disagree that Schache wasn't a threat there was a couple of instances in the last quarter that he put himself in good positions. It was just that we didn't manage to put the ball to his advantage, if we had he would have put the game to bed.

If he had held that F50 mark and converted it would’ve been a solid game for him. He becomes an important player next week with Weightman out, given he’s one of the few natural forwards left who can kick multiple goals.

He played a great game against Port away a couple of years ago so I hope he goes into the game with great confidence.

Young's playing time was reduced when the big lion's defender copped a big head knock and was replaced by a fresh smaller player. It semed to be an in game decision.

With Timmy fresh from resting up fwd from Lewy running the Big O all over the park, this allowed Timmy to run over Oscar at the end.
Another great decision i thought.

The hit outs to advantage was even for both teams despite the Big O being the dominate ruck.

The shift had already been made putting english into the ruck in the 2nd quarter before payne was subbed out. Payne was not subbed out late in the game.

They tried Young again at the start of the third, and when he was ineffective again, they brought english back. English rucked almost the whole second half.

Basically, lewy young was largely unplayable last night. Shows in his TOG numbers.

If we have a 60% bont, and a weightman replacement, we simply cannot carry an ineffective ruck who plays 50% TOG. This doesnt even take into account others that are struggling in that game.

If we looked gassed at the end of the round 23 game against port, we will be comatose on sat night.

You do realise our hit out to advantage were the same as Brisbane's despite the Big O being the dominate ruck.

Young did a job, competed in the ruck and the proceeded to drag the Big O around the ground to wear him out. It looked designed.

Lewy was then taken off at the end of the game when the lions big defender got subbed off for a nasty head knock, when a smaller player for the lions got subbed on.
We then got JJ to play 90% of the 4th being fresh.
We just won by 1 point in brissie coming from behind, and yet we are still taking pot shots at Lewy.
How are these pot shots? We’ve got nothing against the kid. He seems like a great young man who is doing his best.

I won’t go into the hit outs discussion again. Completely irrelevant stat for our team. Bevo and the players say it publicly all the time.

All we are saying is that he is not trained as a ruck, has not played the position before and because he is not physically strong enough gets dominated in a way that exposes us to really bad centre clearances. Over the previous three weeks it has directly resulted in a lot of scores.

This is not his fault, he shouldn’t be asked to do something he is not physically or skillfully prepared for.

No pots shots, simply saying we have two other players on our list, who are specifically trained to do this role. As you say, all it is….is a role. Choose the person who knows how to do it and has the strength to do it.

I reckon Bont will be fine. But if he’s limited he could well play the Bruce role. His physicality and aerial representation have become a huge strength. We can come close to covering him in the midfield.

so JJ for Weightman and other than that, no change. I liked Garcia a lot so I wouldn’t mind giving him a look.

love that we have an aggressive coach that will fight to keep port guessing.

they have the form but we have enough mature talent to make this tough for them.

go dogs!

How are these pot shots? We’ve got nothing against the kid. He seems like a great young man who is doing his best.

I won’t go into the hit outs discussion again. Completely irrelevant stat for our team. Bevo and the players say it publicly all the time.

All we are saying is that he is not trained as a ruck, has not played the position before and because he is not physically strong enough gets dominated in a way that exposes us to really bad centre clearances. Over the previous three weeks it has directly resulted in a lot of scores.

This is not his fault, he shouldn’t be asked to do something he is not physically or skillfully prepared for.

No pots shots, simply saying we have two other players on our list, who are specifically trained to do this role. As you say, all it is….is a role. Choose the person who knows how to do it and has the strength to do it.
Sometimes there isn't a great choice to be made. Sometimes it has to just be the least worst option, which i think the majority of us concede.
There is just no universe I see Bevo bringing in an under done Ruck. We just go with Young and English to be an effective as possible duo.
Not an ideal solution but the best we have at the minute

The shift had already been made putting english into the ruck in the 2nd quarter before payne was subbed out. Payne was not subbed out late in the game.

They tried Young again at the start of the third, and when he was ineffective again, they brought english back. English rucked almost the whole second half.

Basically, lewy young was largely unplayable last night. Shows in his TOG numbers.

If we have a 60% bont, and a weightman replacement, we simply cannot carry an ineffective ruck who plays 50% TOG. This doesnt even take into account others that are struggling in that game.

If we looked gassed at the end of the round 23 game against port, we will be comatose on sat night.

Yep seems very unlikely that Young will stay in the team. Beveridge basically gave up on him being a ruck last night because it was getting too damaging, and then didn't have another role for him to play.

I think Beveridge sort of hinted at multiple changes in the press conference when talking about needing to replace Weightman- he was talking in the plural about new guys coming in to play roles next week. My immediate thought was Young and Treloar.

if we could I’d probably go in unchanged. Let’s hope Bont and Flea get up.

Perhaps Sweet for Young. But it’s hard to know how he is travelling.

Roarke Smith has some serious limitations but he is hard as a cats head and against Port we will need some of that.

I’ve got concerns about Treloar- is giving us very little and way too soft. I don’t think against Port’s big bodies we can play both him and JJ.

Sometimes there isn't a great choice to be made. Sometimes it has to just be the least worst option, which i think the majority of us concede.
There is just no universe I see Bevo bringing in an under done Ruck. We just go with Young and English to be an effective as possible duo.
Not an ideal solution but the best we have at the minute
I’m not here to debate whether Bevo will do it or not. This is the selection thread it’s about who we think should be selected. I totally agree that Bevo is unwilling to put his ego and bias against the ruck aside and will not pick Sweet or Martin.

But I have not heard a shred of evidence that proves Young is the best of the bad options. Unless Sweet and Martin are literally too injured to play than they are the best options. Bevo won’t even say the word Sweet. At least give us a legitimate explanation not total contradiction about being a liability.

Mumford has literally retired on numerous occasions because he is physically unable to run. His body is in way worse shape than either of Sweet or Martin’s but he plays because he can half the ruck. Young cannot.

I received a message from someone inside (that I trust and who would know) who says that the Bont has an impact injury that will not prevent him from playing next week.

It looked like that. It looked like a corky from a knee or something in the back of his knee not a hard or awkward landing type incident. 🤞

Weightman not ruled out per Tom Morris.

He was technically out with a "head knock" which is a different categorisation to "concussion". Twice this year "head knock" cases were eligible to play the following week
Is that right? Morris was pretty adamant the precedent had been set with a couple of Collingwood players earlier this year.
I'm no medico but I've had mild concussion (not even knocked down) and you don't really know where you are. Later on you're still not quite with it. Weightman knew exactly what was going on, didn't miss a beat from the sidelines. That ain't someone with concussion - or if it is it's not of a level that you should have to miss the next game.

Treloar needs to get his sh*t together and fix his body language. Seemed very sulky even after the game. He's been carried to a prelim - time to repay the faith or step out of the way so someone who wants to be there can come in.
has known mental health problems and has openly spoken about how that became a problem for him after he got injured this year. This isnt a great take by you at all

I don't know what Bevo's game plan is and most of us BF posters don't either?
But is there a chance the 50% TOG you stated is due to a drawn up design or was it he was gassed? Have we asked this question or is this an assumption.
Just spit ballin and looking at all options instead of focussing in on 1 player.

Also when you say unplayable, were you at the ground and seen what Lewy was doing off camera, just running the Big O around.
Was this another bevo design to wear a dominate ruck out? Cause it looked liked it worked.
I won't say anyone on this current team is unplayable (certaintly some can lift) after the last 2 historic finals games in lockdown conditions and most of this team only lost to Port by 2.

The last 3 weeks We've travelled to Adelaide for Port, Tassie for the Bombers, Brissie for the Lion's, now off to WA for quaratine then Adelaide for Port again.
This whole team is amazing and I'm super proud of them.

has known mental health problems and has openly spoken about how that became a problem for him after he got injured this year. This isnt a great take by you at all

I'm aware of that but it has no bearing on my opinion of how he should conduct himself on field. If you choose to take the field then the bare minimum is that you provide effort and good body language. The sulking affects his team mates in a bad way. I can forgive his poor form but I can't forgive giving up on chasing opponents and walking away from a contest out of frustration. I'm not the only one who noticed and it's inexcusable.

If you put your hand up for selection then you’re fit. If you’re not fit, including your mental health, then you don’t put your hand up to play. Sounds harsh I know but this is finals and we can’t afford to play players who don’t want to be out there or who are not mentally fit to be out there. He was a passenger. Looked disinterested (which obviously may be a mental health issue) and he didn’t attack or look as if he wanted the ball.

He only played 50% time on ground. That tells me the coaches lost faith. I don’t know if we will make a change but I have been saying for weeks that we should. If Bevo keeps telling press conferences that we can’t choose liabilities than how can he choose someone he wont play for half a game?

On your other point, I just think jumping is irrelevant. Macnerney can’t jump, Lycett can’t jump, Mumford can’t jump. They are dominant ruckman.

He needs to be able to Ruck. And he can’t.

We saw what happened when he played against Lycett two weeks ago. He was utterly destroyed, not competitive.

Just praying we bring in Sweet or Martin.
Martin isn’t fit though.

There’s two sides of the coin here. Everyone is aware of his issues, understands them and the very real effect they have on him and everyone else that experiences them. He deserves all the support in the world to ensure he can overcome them.

On the other side is the more brutal side of the coin. I can cop people having poor games, whether it’s skill errors or not being able to find the ball as sometimes it happens etc. What I can’t cop is a complete lack of effort or desire. Ads visibly looked like he did not what to be playing last night. This is a cut throat final where every other player left it out on the field whereas he looked like he never entered the field in the first place. It was quite bizarre to watch to be honest. No one knows what’s going on unless you’re directly involved with the situation so it’s all speculation, but if he is struggling outside football and it caused last nights performance, then he simply shouldn’t be playing.

Treloar needs to get his sh*t together and fix his body language. Seemed very sulky even after the game. He's been carried to a prelim - time to repay the faith or step out of the way so someone who wants to be there can come in.
Try to look at it from another angle, Adzy most likely can't see his wife and kid the day before his 1st or 2nd father's day while being in the same city as them due to WA's strict quarantine rules.
Now im not a father but i recon this potentally could upset a few father's around the land if they had to go through this. These dudes aren't robots, they are people with feelings.

unless changes are a must etc Bont, Cody i reckon go as unchanged as possible its a prelim final and not the time to be playing players that havent played for 12 weeks

Preview Changes for the Prelim v Port Adelaide - Sat @7:40