Player Watch Pick #5 (2006) - Travis Boak

158 weeks ago

153 weeks ago - 3rd visit to Apiros

But went back to Red Bull first, 154 weeks ago

Charles in 2019 at Apiros with Trav - see under Santa Cruz link

Advertiser story re 6 second video from that camp link here by Ford. Said he looks like he has recovered from ankle injury. He did and was selected Al Oz CHF.

Doesn't come across as a guy who thinks next year is his last. Still dedicated, still rock hard fit, mostly injury free, can still footy pretty good.

He's got years left. Next year is his 17th season and I reckon he could easily make it to a 20th.

Doesn't come across as a guy who thinks next year is his last. Still dedicated, still rock hard fit, mostly injury free, can still footy pretty good.
Needs to play as an outside mid these days.
Lost a yard of pace and doesn't seem to tackle as much either.

Playing wing or outside receiver bursting from the stoppages may give him another two years of AFL still.

Ok went back thru Apiros' Instagram and there are a lot more posts in the 2017-19 training camps than the players posted and some of us posted in here and on the last page I only put up their stuff.

Boak went to Apiros in Santa Cruz October 2017 on the recommendation of Ian McKeown, who had just taken over from Burgo a few months earlier, he was supposed to stay a few days but ended up staying a few more days he was impressed by Austin Einhorn and Austin was impressed with him. He then went to Phoenix to work with ALTIS who Austin had a relationship with and they are a lot bigger set up and I put up a couple of Instagram posts of Trav doing running exercises.

The guy Trav worked with at ALTIS in 2017, Jason Hettler, 2 years ago went and worked with the IMG Academy in Florida andis their Assistant Head of Strength & Conditioning.

IMG Academy started off as the Nick Bollettieri Tennis Academy, and in 1987 Mark McCormack took it over deciding to expand IMG past golf management, so then a few years latter added David Leadbetter's junior golf academy, then added - soccer, baseball, hockey, basketball, gridiron football and eventually track and field to the Academy. Its a specialised school for young talented kids, has boarding and non boarding students over 1,000 attend these days, years 6 to 12, some on scholarships, most pay a s**t load for tuition fees. Think boarding fees are close to $100k USD per year. You gotta be good to get a gig coaching there.

October 2017 Boak goes to Apiros for the first time ( previous year went to Nike HQ in Portland and Red Bull in Santa Monica) after his first season playing the BS high half forward position.

In 2017 he played 22 games for 495 disposals, kicked 19 goals, kicked it inside 50 x 70 times, collected 176 contested disposals and had 63 clearances. 10 brownlow votes,

The previous year 2016, it was 22 games 526 disposals, 17 goals, 88 inside 50's, 213 contested possession, 98 clearances and 7 brownlow votes

In 2014 his best year it was 24 games 644 disposals, 19 goals, 116 inside 50's, 301 contested possession, 133 clearances and 21 brownlow votes =5th and an All Oz year

Trav in 2018 achieved 22 games 481 disposals, 19 goals, 76 inside 50's, 207 contested possession, only 56 clearances and 2 brownlow votes as he was wasted at high half forward again and struggled with the role.

He went back to Santa Cruz in November 2018 after he told Hinkley and Voss he wanted to play in the middle again.

Apiros | Austin Einhorn on Instagram: "One of the games we played during @travisboak10 stay - small confines then he and @t8kol go first to five tags of the knee. #apiros @pafc @ad_academy @drcraigharrison"

So after 2 trips to Apiros Trav went back into the middle and his stats were way up;
21 games 637 disposals, 10 goals, 97 inside 50's, 308 contested possession, a career high 146 clearances and 16 brownlow votes, won the Jack Cahill medal and he also made the AA 40 squad for the first time since he was an All Oz in 2014. So averaged a career high 30.3 disposals

His 3rd trip to Apiros was November 2019 and he took Charlie and also from his manager's - TLA management group, The Bont and Cale Hooker

2020 the numbers are hard to compare to the previous season as Covid effected season with only 17 minor round games, the footy frenzy squeeze with 4 and 5 day breaks over 4 games, and quarter lasting 16 minutes not 20 but Trav records;
19 games 436 disposals, 8 goals, 79 inside 50's, 191 contested possession, 96 clearances and 21 brownlow votes and was 2nd behind Lachie Neale, finished 2nd in the Jack Cahill medal, but I have no idea why he didn't win instead of DBJ, and made the ALL Oz team first time since 2014.

Charlie had a great year and made the All Oz team and between them almost got us to a GF.

Boak always talks about working on his craft so even though he didn't go to Santa Cruz in 2020, he would have continued working on the things he learnt with Austin at Apiros and his 2021 season statistically is almost identical to 2019.

2021 23 games 640 disposals, 8 goals, 97 inside 50's, 298 contested possession, 143 clearances and 25 brownlow votes,

2019 21 games 637 disposals, 10 goals, 97 inside 50's, 308 contested possession, a career high 146 clearances and 16 brownlow votes,

Touk Miller discovered Austin and Apiros and rocked up on his own 5 weeks before Trav and Charlie.

Like Trav, Touk's numbers didn't take a huge improvement after his first preseason with Apiros as he was affected by the covid reduced season and the shorter quarters, can't travel back to Santa Cruz, might have done stuff over zoom with Austin but 2021 and 2022 he takes a huge leap and becomes an All Oz player in both years.

So the other 4 younger players might do a Charlie and have a big improvement after one year working with Austin, or it might be after a 2nd year that we see the huge improvement like Boaky and Touk Miller.

Remember late in the 2020 prelim against Richmond, straight in front and all he had to do was score to put us in front?
C'mon mate, one kick doesnt define a career. How many other matches did he carry us to victory? I remember Wines' miss kick costing us more - On multiple occasions. Every player, even the greats, have games or kicks they would like to take back.

Remember late in the 2020 prelim against Richmond, straight in front and all he had to do was score to put us in front?
I want to preface this by saying that I like Boak a lot and hope he reaches 400 games and I don't know if I consider him a great player just a very good player who is ultra consistent. That is up for debate.

IIRC, I was listening to the Port Adelaide versus Melbourne game on AFL radio. I think it was the one we played in Alice Springs in which Kosi Pickett kicked 6 goals and won the game off his boot and there didn't seem to be any accountability of whose man he was. It seemed to be an overall defensive failure and so no one gets blamed.

Anyway, on the AFL radio, Fantasia was giving special comments and he said that Boak had a nickname for himself in front of goals. It was "Automatic". I was dumbfounded, not only that Fantasia made it up to Alice without doing a hammy but that Boak has such a lack of self-awareness that over his career he has missed some crucial goals for us, especially that one against Richmond in 2020.

C'mon mate, one kick doesnt define a career. How many other matches did he carry us to victory? I remember Wines' miss kick costing us more - On multiple occasions. Every player, even the greats, have games or kicks they would like to take back.
It defined Russel Ebert’s career!

I want to preface this by saying that I like Boak a lot and hope he reaches 400 games and I don't know if I consider him a great player just a very good player who is ultra consistent. That is up for debate.

IIRC, I was listening to the Port Adelaide versus Melbourne game on AFL radio. I think it was the one we played in Alice Springs in which Kosi Pickett kicked 6 goals and won the game off his boot and there didn't seem to be any accountability of whose man he was. It seemed to be an overall defensive failure and so no one gets blamed.

Anyway, on the AFL radio, Fantasia was giving special comments and he said that Boak had a nickname for himself in front of goals. It was "Automatic". I was dumbfounded, not only that Fantasia made it up to Alice without doing a hammy but that Boak has such a lack of self-awareness that over his career he has missed some crucial goals for us, especially that one against Richmond in 2020.
Automatically misses??

He's got years left. Next year is his 17th season and I reckon he could easily make it to a 20th.
Yeah I don't think he's even remotely close to retiring.

The hate Boak cops here is disgraceful.

Thinks to this quote... After his longevity.
“You Either Die A Hero, Or You Live Long Enough To See Yourself Become The Villain” — Harvey Dent in The Dark Knight (2008).

Lost respect for him after his Red Bull propaganda piece doco. There was a lot of “winning isnt everything” blah blah blah in that. Not hard to see why the club is in the state it’s in.
What a ridiculous post. Seriously, Trav is responsible for all that ails the club? Fancy positing that a part of a documentary defines the character of a man whose career with PAFC began in 2007, who captained us from 2013 to 2018, who has played 327 games, 3 time AA, 2 John Cahills and 3 Showdown medals. And he has lost your respect! Wow! Go away you pathetic numpty.

I’m not saying that I don’t love Trav and appreciate everything that he’s done while here. My point was more that even someone with his level of dedication can been infected with “loser” while being here. More an indictment on the club than him.