Traded Jack Ginnivan [Traded with #39, F2 & F4 to Hawthorn for #33, F2 & F3]

Who can predict the future including injuries, but jack is definitely a top 30 player (and possibly higher) at our club even if Schultz comes. You need more than a top 22 over a season.

My prediction is ginnivan plays at least 20 games, including as sub

It may sound strange but in a round about way shultz will be replacing adams.

You cant be playing 20 games unless you are top 25, not to 30. Even then, what is your forwardline?

Even if he starts on the bench you probably have Hill starting there with Cox and McCreery and we havent even got to the midfielders and defenders who start on the bench.

Maybe the easier way would be to show your 23 players. Because I just dont see how he makes it, given he really is the 24th or 25th player at best.

honestly, what's he got in his game that is afl standard? not fast. skills are ok, not spectacular and after his granny we can't call him a big game player. And the staging for frees is still a disappointing feature of his game that craig McRae chose not to stamp out of his game.

A future 3 was a little facetious but I don't think Ginnivan would attract a top 35 draft pick
I have read some silly things on big footy but not worth a top 35 pick for a 20 yr old that has proven he can play a role as a small forward (acknowledged as one of the toughest positions) in the afl.

Get off the crack mate.

You cant be playing 20 games unless you are top 25, not to 30. Even then, what is your forwardline?

Even if he starts on the bench you probably have Hill starting there with Cox and McCreery and we havent even got to the midfielders and defenders who start on the bench.

Maybe the easier way would be to show your 23 players. Because I just dont see how he makes it, given he really is the 24th or 25th player at best.
Ok let’s take our gf side which ginnivan obviously played and lipinski sub.

Missing was Mcstay and adams and you could say ash Johnson. Adams is gone so maybe lipinski replaces him. Frampton goes out for mcstay. Then if we get Schultz he comes in prob for ginnivan. Means ginnivan or john noble sub. However injuries happen.

he's literally a vfl player. since the anti ducking rules came in he's been completely irrelevant.

by the way, he's better than Fritsch? 😆 🤣

He's also behind Van Rooyen, Melksham, Joel Smith, Spargo and Neale-Bullen. Joel Smith and Spargo actually performed in a final. What did Ginnivan do? 😳 worst in ground in a granny...
He is a PREMIERSHIP player 🏆, thank you.

honestly, what's he got in his game that is afl standard? not fast. skills are ok, not spectacular and after his granny we can't call him a big game player. And the staging for frees is still a disappointing feature of his game that craig McRae chose not to stamp out of his game.

A future 3 was a little facetious but I don't think Ginnivan would attract a top 35 draft pick

He has elite game sense.

He consistently finds himself on the right side of the play during a game. It happens way too often for it to be a fluke.

You can’t kick 40 goals at 19 years of age if you have no AFL standard qualities

It's a good effort but it's no coincidence that his form has dropped considerably since the anti-ducking rules came in. He was amazing at drawing free kicks in 2022 but it became his sole focus almost every time he went near the ball. Craig McRae celebrated it at the time but McRae is largely to blame for his drop in form.

Agree he has some real talent. But then again so does Jaidyn Stephenson.

Hard work is the thing that will make or break these two. Jack at least seems to have it.

I think he realised this year you can’t rely on talent alone.

It's a good effort but it's no coincidence that his form has dropped considerably since the anti-ducking rules came in. He was amazing at drawing free kicks in 2022 but it became his sole focus almost every time he went near the ball. Craig McRae celebrated it at the time but McRae is largely to blame for his drop in form.
I blame McRae for this too
b47ad7e96c2d53e09b8e074053bc7d663bbdbd85-16x9-x0y260w4984h2804.jpg

Reading through this with interest. Ginnivan being severely under rated IMO. He’s got ridic game sense that not a lot have. His vision in traffic is terrific, little tap ons into space, beautiful user, tough little bugger too. Think people are obsessed with the head high stuff.
Be amazed if pies let him go.

Reading through this with interest. Ginnivan being severely under rated IMO. He’s got ridic game sense that not a lot have. His vision in traffic is terrific, little tap ons into space, beautiful user, tough little bugger too. Think people are obsessed with the head high stuff.
Be amazed if pies let him go.
Yeah, he isn't on the trade table. amd he isn't exploring anything from what I know.. and unless something dramatic happens this weekend, it's very unlikely. From all reports, he is intent on staying. But I'll be less anxious until end of wed when thats official.
Reckon clubs have too much other stuff going on to be worrying about Jack.

Agree he has some real talent. But then again so does Jaidyn Stephenson.
I see his attitude 'stuff' as more Rhys Mathieson than Jaidyn Stephenson. I reckon Stephenson has more natural talent in one finger than Ginnivan.

With Ginnivan, it's a question of whether a fringe player should be carrying himself like Akermanis, but that's the sort of thing that puts you offside with opposition players and supporters, not your own team. If he can put up with the crap he cops from that (especially in the social media age), it's pretty much play on. From afar, he seems to be popular with his teammates and a good soldier.

I see his attitude 'stuff' as more Rhys Mathieson than Jaidyn Stephenson. I reckon Stephenson has more natural talent in one finger than Ginnivan.

With Ginnivan, it's a question of whether a fringe player should be carrying himself like Akermanis, but that's the sort of thing that puts you offside with opposition players and supporters, not your own team. If he can put up with the crap he cops from that (especially in the social media age), it's pretty much play on. From afar, he seems to be popular with his teammates and a good soldier.
Stephenson sleeps with the front porch and back yard lights on though.

Melbourne have lost four finals in a row. None of their players are big game players.
Let’s offer a Future 3rd for the lot of them.

Melbourne have lost four finals in a row. None of their players are big game players.
Let’s offer a Future 3rd for the lot of them.
Seemed pretty big in 2021. Cool. you beat us by 7 points...despite us having injuries and missing goals we'd usually kick. Smashed your midfield and our smashed your forwards. In tennis terms, we lost on our racquet.

True but it is not going to amount to anything much now.