Autopsy AFL 2025 Opening Round - Swans v Hawks Fri March 7th 7:40PM AEDT (SCG)

• Thread starter Thread starter Wosh

Who will win and by how much?

• Swans by a goal or less

Votes: 4 4.3%
  • Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 10 10.9%
  • Swans by 7 - 20

Votes: 22 23.9%
  • Hawks by 7 - 20

Votes: 31 33.7%
  • Swans by a lot

Votes: 13 14.1%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 11 12.0%
  • Draw

Votes: 1 1.1%

They were OTT inside 50 early both ways, not 15 was a joke and we didn’t adapt, thought they settled as it went . No impact on the results though
They were, a few little sticklers here and there for both teams but they went full circle. The 15 metre calls need to be adjusted to actually be 15 not calling 10m ones and not 20m.

Nothing worth a discussion the next day beyond the rules of the game sometimes being annoying

Whats considered good. 2018 top 4 despite a dual loss exit, Mitchell as the best player that year. Say 6/7 years between finals appearances after a decent stint of 4 flags.
Straight sets exits are terrible. I remember 2014, and even 1997 under the old format.

I'd rate Hawthorn's 2024 above 2016 and 2018.

What preceded 2016 was incredible, of course. Getting back to prelims and beyond is the actual contending path, and where I expect Hawthorn will be this year or next.

Where were the wizard hats last night? The cringiest thing I’ve ever seen in football

Embarrassing supporters
I thought those dressed up as Lizards were even worse. At least the wizards are only a hat and not adults having their face painted

For all the praise they got, Barrass and particularly Battle didn't even play good games..

Absolute breakout, elite game for Will Day though
Thought Barrass played really well except for some classic Barrass moments (spoiling an OOF kick, giving away silly frees in contests he would’ve won)

And he allowed Sicily to go forward

I think Sicily could be the best forward in the competition

the season has started
a player of his years and experience should be ready to go..
very underwhelming performance
Shattering news..tigehrs aren't top dod
Played him constantly into the ground? He does look thin though
A few Maccas weeds ..do they exist?

I thought those dressed up as Lizards were even worse. At least the wizards are only a hat and not adults having their face painted
Hey, you've got to support the team.
images

To be fair, I love people wearing wizards hats or getting dressed as lizards or whatever. People are pretty miserable if they are offended by people having fun at the footy.

It did actually read like a Geelong gameday thread at times.

Welcome back!
Yeah but we have reason to with Geelong as every week the umpires are giving them a free ride. That of course has nothing to do with I can't stand the club

Where were the wizard hats last night? The cringiest thing I’ve ever seen in football

Embarrassing supporters
Do you really want to talk embarrasing?

Lets discuss your grand final efforts for a little over the last decade

Imagine having an average losing margin of 56 points in your last 4 grand final appearances 😬😂

Thought Barrass played really well except for some classic Barrass moments (spoiling an OOF kick, giving away silly frees in contests he would’ve won)

And he allowed Sicily to go forward

I think Sicily could be the best forward in the competition
Already annoys me one game into the season but wow if Barrass played 'really well' this game then the bar of expectations for tall defenders to play a really good game is at an all time low.

WC fans sooking
Dogs fans sooking
Sydney fans sooking (imagine being that chirpy after getting smoked that easily in GFs consistently)

We really do get to teams easily
It’s so amusing seeing and hearing opposition supporters losing their minds over Hawthorn. It’s the gift that keeps giving! Please keep it up, we absolutely love it!

The Swans look to be in trouble early on, they will miss Gulden more than they know. A good win to the Hawks, but that has to be the worst guernsey i have ever seen worn in a game for Premiership points!

Genuinely. Didn’t think the game was poorly umpired either way. Some calls that were a little iffy either way but at the end of the day they got called both ways, the only thing that pissed me off is 20 metre kicks being paid not 15.

I thought the umps were horrible to be honest. Made some absolute shocking calls. Pure guesswork.

It went both ways though at least.

The Swans look to be in trouble early on, they will miss Gulden more than they know. A good win to the Hawks, but that has to be the worst guernsey i have ever seen worn in a game for Premiership points!

Keep wearing it until they lose a match now

I actually like it except for the while panel at the back

Hawks looked goodish.
Swans looked lacklustre with no match winners… maybe Warner? Looks to have regressed in the post Longmire era.

Embarrassing supporters
Having fun is so embarrassing 😭😭😭😭

It isn’t that serious my guy