Autopsy Roast & Toast v Fremantle & Changes For Gold Coast

Top 5 v Fremantle

Good first half , ultimately we playing a side that has min 5 A graders , I’d suggest we have none , so 10ggap is about right , would have been nice to kick a few late , our f50 remains a problem tho we will do better v lesser oppo
A core problem is our ultra low pressure rating ,
160 most of the time is like VFLW std , a few of our younger players don’t like laying a glove on , and don’t look at hopp and TT they had 13 tackles bw them , that’s about 33% of the total .needs to be a big focus if we want to improve

Good first half. Poor second. It's expected for such inexperienced side. Still not sold on YZE but he's making us somewhat competitive for a half of football every week.
That will happen with inexperience. How many players play less than 50 games today?

Out- vlaustin (inj).
Nank (.suspended). Dow. Tarranto Hopper - Bauer
In - gray-- alger- Ryan- Fawcett- smith- lalor -

B- gray--- miller--- broad
Hb-smith- brown- trainor
C- banks- Ross-- ralphsmith .
Hf- Campbell- Fawcett- rioli
Ff- green- Lynch--- alger
R- Ryan -- sonsie-- lalor
Int- blight- faull- kmac- tresize
Short is sub
so you want Hopper and Taranto out
but Short stays in the team.
crazy talk

We've had about 15 worse losses than this when we were playing finals let alone in year one of a rebuild. Judging by some of the melting I think people need to wake up realise where we are at.

Yes Hopper and Taranto aren't clean but look what happened to the Eagles yesterday when they went all young. Lowest contested possession count in history. That's not helping anyone. These two are battering rams and allow us to rotate some other guys through without smashing them. Anyone can see they're not part of our future but unfortunately it's all we've got right now until the Lalors, Smillies and whoever else are ready to shoulder the load. That's how rebuilds work - you're shit until you're not.

Having said that, I would like us to change up the mix there more often in games. Give Rioli a go or throw a Steely or Campbell in there for a bit of pace. Bolton was our best centre bounce player and he would've been our lightest player on the list almost. We're too flat footed in there a lot of the time.

A few positives from me:
  • Brown with 24 touches and thwarted multiple attacks. Getting his hands on it a lot more now and makes good decisions although made a couple of errors today.
  • Trainor looks a natural. And tough. Think his kicking will grow as we become better. He's probably trying to pull off a bit much at times but to me that's a sign of great confidence.
  • Hugo nice return.
  • Miller actually fought back well against Treacy. He was probably genuinely beaten in about 3 contests. He beat him in a few himself. A couple of Treacy's goals came from zero upfield pressure or a turnover and Hopper gave away a high free on one. I think he does give too much room sometimes though.
  • A few bemoaning the lack of effort makes me wonder if we're watching the same game. You can clearly see the effort is there right up until the bell but we're regularly outclassed and today in particular were out of gas.

Ugly:
  • Short. Too many errors today.
  • I've been saying give Sonsie a run in the middle but it's not worth it. Too many weak efforts today. I don't think he'll make it.
  • Ross is too up and down. I don't think his role suits him though.
  • Tresize. Just don't see it. Fumbles too much and a meh kick.
  • The *ing umpiring. I don't normally whinge but * me. The Rioli trip was diabolical.
  • All the forwards had shockers really but tough to do much with the supply.
This is a really good post. Even made me change my mind about a couple of things

Thought his disposal efficiency was horrible, seemed to butcher it more often than he usually does.

Also feel like he was beaten one on one numerous times.

Have since gone and looked to see his disposal efficiency was at 79%, so clearly I was watching a different game ha
Did notice a few turn overs but think some of that was just better positioning by the Freo team who obviously had more experience in that department and were very well drilled as a defensive group

Think Brown has been given some licence to go for some more risky kicks as well, we saw some of them come off really well especially in the 1st half that really opened up some corridor attacking chains but when they don’t come off it generally ends up as a scoring shot for the other side instead of kicking down the line that is safer but we don’t notice as much if it doesn’t work out kinda thing

Think his contest work is improving quite well overall

Sorry I'm sure you rightly don't give a **** what I say but a lot of you are absurdly harsh on your team. How did you think gutting the talent for picks would go in the short term?

Rebuilds take a long time and It gets harder as the current experienced mob over 30 and playing OK move on as well but compare your club to the absolute rabble up the road from us who are half arseing their rebuild. Yze has them playing with heart and doing the right things while the talent builds and gets used to AFL.

Sorry I'm sure you rightly don't give a **** what I say but a lot of you are absurdly harsh on your team. How did you think gutting the talent for picks would go in the short term?

Rebuilds take a long time and It gets harder as the current experienced mob over 30 and playing OK move on as well but compare your club to the absolute rabble up the road from us who are half arseing their rebuild. Yze has them playing with heart and doing the right things while the talent builds and gets used to AFL.
Well said mate
Can see that with todays game with the tale of two halves

Played some good competitive footy when the contest was hot but ultimately the senior experience structured up and dictated the 2nd half

Hope you guys are enjoying Mr showtime Bolton and the roller coaster of emotions he gives you every game!

Pretty much how I see it.

Our midfield structure is all wrong. But I can't see who we bring in to fix it. Pretty much sums up the drafting and development from 5 years ago.

this year will be long and tough, but green shoots is what i want to see.

BTW I hope Freo go all the way. I reckon you've built a team to win the whole shebang. And of the contenders you're the least worst.

Someone has to tell Trainor to stop biting off more than he can chew by foot. Loved what he’s done so far but he’s just too ambitious by foot.
I wouldn't. Much rather Trainor make those mistakes at being ambitious with his kicking so he learns his limits through experience rather than immediately limiting what he can do by telling him not to be ambitious, cause then it becomes mixed messages.

"Take on those kicks, but learn when you mess up"

vs

"Don't be too ambitious with your kicks, but we still want you to be dangerous by foot"

Well said mate
Can see that with todays game with the tale of two halves

Played some good competitive footy when the contest was hot but ultimately the senior experience structured up and dictated the 2nd half

Hope you guys are enjoying Mr showtime Bolton and the roller coaster of emotions he gives you every game!
Every week so far: It was the best of Bolton, it was the worst of Bolton.

But yeah, he's building nicely.

Anyone upset really needs to watch the Carlton/ WC game to see what an actual bad team looks like. Carlton were shit and won by 71 points...

One thing I will say is we have to stop this outside 5m bullshit. Man the bloody mark and push them back.

How many times do we let them mark and just continue to stroll forward with no pressure? Not just today but every round.

It reminds me of 2016 where we were obsessed with corralling and guarding space rather than just hunting the campaigner with the ball and forcing them to make a decision (2017).

Drives me insane.

Problem for the Tigers is we have too many placeholders and duct tape players in the side and not enough fit available players to move them out.

The only positive is that by playing these guys we will finish bottom 2 and be able to bring in 2 more-gun kids to move another 2 of these spak fillers out.

McAuliffe and Smillie can't get back fast enough farken.

Every week so far: It was the best of Bolton, it was the worst of Bolton.

But yeah, he's building nicely.

Anyone upset really needs to watch the Carlton/ WC game to see what an actual bad team looks like. Carlton were shit and won by 71 points...
Absolutely
Talent wise Bolton would probably be top 5 in the comp with his insane skill set but one moment he will be weaving his way through a pack to kick a cheek side goal out of nothing and next moment he will spray a soda from 15m in front

And it’s a similar ride every single week
But bloody hell he can turn a game when it goes right and really could be the difference for you in September

Some of us understand this, others just like to complain lol.

Autopsy Roast & Toast v Fremantle & Changes For Gold Coast