Willie Rioli "on leave" from Port Adelaide after social media post

There seems to be a lot of excuses relating to either his intelligible or lack there of, or his lack of education. I just don’t buy it. It’s a cop out IMO. He’s clearly not the sharpest tool in the shed but some of the people using those things as excises are acting like he is Forrest Gump.

Why do people always go to such extremes?

Having the mental age of a young teenager doesn’t mean he’s a loveable simpleton with a box of chocolates.

It’s a real thing that some people live with.

Whether that excuses his continually stupid behaviour or allows him to be assessed differently by the league in terms of punishment is the issue at hand here.

AFL officials were not aware of allegations that Willie Rioli had made previous threats to opposition players when they declined to punish the Port Adelaide forward for his hostile warning to Bulldog Bailey Dale.

Why do people always go to such extremes?

Having the mental age of a young teenager doesn’t mean he’s a loveable simpleton with a box of chocolates.

It’s a real thing that some people live with.

Whether that excuses his continually stupid behaviour or allows him to be assessed differently by the league in terms of punishment is the issue at hand here.
If he has the mental age of a young teenager how can the AFL allow him to consent to the rigours of professional sports knowing that he is unable to comprehend the dangers that are involved with playing contact sports?
If he is unable to understand why threatening violence towards other players either on or off the field is wrong then how can he consent to playing AFL?

If he has the mental age of a young teenage how is he able to not only function but thrive in team systems where everyone is relied upon to be in the right position at the right moment etc.

Maybe he only has the education of a young teenager but he absolutely does not have the mental age of a young teenager.

Geez, players cant have a bit of banter any more. Just a bit of big noting in my opinion. Gamesmanship some might say.

Im glad the AFL didn't take any action. Enough is enough already.
If it was on the field sure. DM insinuating violence after WR has had time to think about it, don't think so

Someone calling your dad overweight- Not on at all, hurt feelings and sooky la la while taking the moral high ground

Threatening players and their partners (if you believe Reddit) - Jog on nothing to see here.

Bloke obviously a few sandwiches short of a picnic

I think it was indigenous round vs Geelong so probably why they swept it under the rug to save face.

Geez, players cant have a bit of banter any more. Just a bit of big noting in my opinion. Gamesmanship some might say.

Oh, ok then.

So If your son or daughter played footy and were threatened by text message after the game finished, then you’d be 100% okay with it?

Of course you wouldn’t.

If it was on the field sure. DM insinuating violence after WR has had time to think about it, don't think so
It depends what was said on the field. There is a line and it sounds like he has crossed it multiple times. If Rioli was racially abused by another player on the field, it being in the heat of the moment and on the field wouldn’t, couldn’t and shouldn’t be used as a defence. If Rioli has a crossed a line as I have read (who knows how true it is) that it was not a physical threat against a player but their partner, then it doesn’t matter where it is said. It has crossed the line.

Someone calling your dad overweight- Not on at all, hurt feelings and sooky la la while taking the moral high ground

Threatening players and their partners (if you believe Reddit) - Jog on nothing to see here.

Bloke obviously a few sandwiches short of a picnic

I think it was indigenous round vs Geelong so probably why they swept it under the rug to save face.
If the threat was against a players partner as I also read on reddit, indigenous round has nothing to do with them sweeping it under the rug. If it comes out, it is just about the worst PR there could be for the AFL. Remember how quickly the AFL swept the Headland/Selwood incident under the rug?

If he has the mental age of a young teenager how can the AFL allow him to consent to the rigours of professional sports knowing that he is unable to comprehend the dangers that are involved with playing contact sports?
If he is unable to understand why threatening violence towards other players either on or off the field is wrong then how can he consent to playing AFL?

If he has the mental age of a young teenage how is he able to not only function but thrive in team systems where everyone is relied upon to be in the right position at the right moment etc.

Maybe he only has the education of a young teenager but he absolutely does not have the mental age of a young teenager.

Mate…things like this aren’t cut and dry.

In terms of football he gets by on his talent and you are probably over estimating the brain power required to play sport professionally.

Think about his track record of dumb founded decision making.

He legitimately replaced a urine sample with Gatorade - TWICE!

He smuggled a big bag of weed through an airport while serving a drugs ban - when he had almost completely served his ban mind you. Why on earth would he do that?

Not to mention the most recent crap.

The guy is not the full quid.

Why else do you think he gets the kid gloves from the league?

It depends what was said on the field. There is a line and it sounds like he has crossed it multiple times. If Rioli was racially abused by another player on the field, it being in the heat of the moment and on the field wouldn’t, couldn’t and shouldn’t be used as a defence. If Rioli has a crossed a line as I have read (who knows how true it is) that it was not a physical threat against a player but their partner, then it doesn’t matter where it is said. It has crossed the line.
I know against Geelong he threatened Zuthrie that he would be "swimming with the fishes".

The AFL didn't punish him because it was later clarified that Rioli's cousin runs a first class scuba diving course, and Willie would be able to get Zach in for free.

When the siren goes thats it and leave it until next time. There are strict Commonwealth laws about this and a reasonable person could infer harassment by a carriage service (474.17 of the criminal code act 1995 (CTH)) - he needs weeks, pure and simple to focus him and others. There is banter and there are not so veiled threats to harm.

Will Minson copped a week suspension for saying he ****ed another players mother.

Willie Rioli threatens physical violence, nothing to see here.

Why the different treatment? Rioli doesn’t exactly have a spotless record to begin with

When the siren goes thats it and leave it until next time. There are strict Commonwealth laws about this and a reasonable person could infer harassment by a carriage service (474.17 of the criminal code act 1995 (CTH)) - he needs weeks, pure and simple to focus him and others. There is banter and there are not so veiled threats to harm.
Ok but apparently there isn’t?

Will Minson copped a week suspension for saying he ****ed another players mother.

Willie Rioli threatens physical violence, nothing to see here.

Why the different treatment? Rioli doesn’t exactly have a spotless record to begin with
Well they reckon he threatened non-consensual love, not just physical violence.

Bloke is a grub, probably a reaction to a Gatorade joke. Feckin idiot he is.

In terms of football he gets by on his talent and you are probably over estimating the brain power required to play sport professionally.

He smuggled a big bag of weed through an airport while serving a drugs ban - when he had almost completely served his ban mind you. Why on earth would he do that?

You’re sort of saying he is a savant of some sort and I just don’t know if someone like that survives in modern footy.

Obviously you can’t compare him to the guys with mental impairment that play in the paralympics, but the biggest give away to teams cheating (and they have believe it or not) with mentally average people is their ability to stick to a game plan, make correct and quick decisions in game and understand tactics on a deeper level. Willie plays instinctually no doubt, but I don’t believe that someone with the mental age of a teenager (so developmentally delayed) could make the decisions he does, at the speed he does, while processing changing information at the speed he does while playing.

In my job I deal with a lot of mentally disabled people, so that could be clouding my opinion on what I believe someone with the mental age of a teenager could be capable of but making impulsive decisions and threatening violence as well as the dumb shit he has done that you mentioned might coincide with mental impairment but most of his deck on making on field does not.

He did the drugs thing for the same reason most people do, he didn’t think he was going to get caught. I have friends and family that got caught for doing insanely stupid things that got them worse sanctions than Willie has ever gotten. Most of them might not be the sharpest tools in the shed but they all took the risk because they didn’t think they would get caught.

IIRC about the Gatorade thing, that was something one of the higher ups at the Eagles came out and said that to then blame his decision on his lack of education. He clearly did something dumb but I’m also not taking what was said by the Eagles official who’s job it is to protect Willie and the club as being gospel.

We have to make sure that we are not mixing up lack of education, with lack of intelligence. The lack of education could have been an issue in the Gatorade saga, but you can’t use that as an excuse for the most recent things.

Well, he (Rioli) as a result of the mishandling of this by the administration, has found himself answerable to the court of public opinion. And he is about to realise if he hasn’t already, that the court of public opinion is more severe than the AFL judiciary by an order of magnitude. That this was not predicted as a consequence of their (the AFL’s) actions, makes Andrew Dillon look like he’s out of his depth.

Willie Rioli "on leave" from Port Adelaide after social media post