Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 12 - Pies v Hawks - Fri May 30th 7:40pm AEST (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Pies by a goal or less

Votes: 8 8.8%
  • Pies by 7 - 20

Votes: 32 35.2%
  • Pies by a lot

Votes: 19 20.9%
  • Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 3 3.3%
  • Hawks by7 - 20

Votes: 19 20.9%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 6 6.6%
  • Draw

Votes: 4 4.4%

Ned Long 11 tackles

Newcombe, Worpel, Nash, Ward 13 tackles.
Do we expect those 4 to tackle though? Hawks plan isnt about tackling from the midfield. Its more around defensive pressure on the kicker to cause a turnover so they can slingshot it the other way. In that midfield its very much about pressuring the ball carrier not tackling

The place they need to tackle is 100% in the forward line and thats where the lack of defensive pressure is truly hurting. In a slingshot style game plan you ideally want to trap the ball up forward if it doesnt come off. At present if it doesnt come off the opposition just walk it out and Hawthorns half back line are caught out somewhat.

Next off season I think Hawks hit the trade market again because thats where they are heading and look to go for a clearance midfielder to be a backup to Will Day/replacement for Connor Nash. Wouldnt shock me if that is Marcus Windhager as someone is in his ear about a midfield role. Id also expect them to target a defensive half forward of some sort too as basically your replacement for Blake Hardwick who shouldnt be doing that role to begin with (maybe Sam Switkowski on a cheap deal? )

Either way this is the path they have chosen so best to keep going down it. Given the depth they have at present in the VFL its probably worth going with

Pundits also wrote the pies off after 1 game. Year after year everyone forgets how long the season is.
Complete joke.
Not spoken about enough. In 2025 these guys have been so far off being correct in anything its ridiculous. Outrageous nonsencial clickbait headlines with overly ambitious predictions seems the go nowadays and just makes them look like they got no idea what they are talking about

Its one of those things where I suppose they are getting the results with more clicks so who cares what is being written. We are somewhat causing this problem too

Pundits also wrote the pies off after 1 game. Year after year everyone forgets how long the season is.
Complete joke.
bbc one fish GIF by BBC

Not spoken about enough. In 2025 these guys have been so far off being correct in anything its ridiculous. Outrageous nonsencial clickbait headlines with overly ambitious predictions seems the go nowadays and just makes them look like they got no idea what they are talking about

Its one of those things where I suppose they are getting the results with more clicks so who cares what is being written. We are somewhat causing this problem too
Over-saturation of media that requires commentators to vie for attention and relevance, throw enough darts and their bound to land a few.
Even if they miss the majority it only lends itself to more consumer engagement, shock jock 101.

I think it's time we can all agree

Sam Mitchell is an over rated media inspired bog average coach
No I just think he doesn’t have the cattle.
, id take him at freo
He might need good tactical support like leppa
McRae and Hardwick get the kudos but it’s no coincidence leppa was at tigers
2017-2021 and has been at pies 2022-2025
He gives me the shits since his kneeing days but Sam is a winner
Won at box hill
Won at hawks
Won as an assistant at eagles.

I'm more inclined to agree with Sam Mitchell's overhyped media criticisms of the hawks he made in the lead to the game. To be clear, at the time I thought they were overhyped, now I tend to think they were accurate.

sam mitchell joining the ABC AFL team this arvo. hoping mick malthouse goes boom
he didn't :sadv1: just interviewed him properly.

if only scoops got the same level of access.

Will Day if he is healthy enough imo.
A oxymoron that. Let him get healthy first and foremost. He is the type of player who needs a individual training regime in the off season, time spent with the best doctors money can buy. Not the guy to captain

I suspect they gotta give Sicily another year at it. Day aint ready and no one else makes sense

Except for 2023 🤭

So everyone keeps kindly informing me :p

Since 2000 - the following years have seen the premiership won by a team NOT on top of the ladder.

2012 :( :p

2008 :D :D :D

Happens far more often than the top of the ladder side would like!
It's a statistical fact, much like the current US Government taking the Australian government for a ride.

you got smacked give us our dues mate Sicily looks toast

Prelims can be dicey at the best of times but barring a bad run of injuries leading into finals I'd be very surprised if the 'ultra experienced and consistent' Pies don't play-off in the Granny with Cats, Doggies and The Lions in that order the main dangers, don't fancy anyone else. Collingwood should not bring back Jordan De Goey until he's 100%, treat him like Dangerfield in 2022 even if it means extra weeks on the sidelines before you bring him back, just make sure you've got him 100%. Then you've also got Brayden Maynard to come back shortly as well.... so currently all is good down in Magpie land with exciting times ahead.

Prelims can be dicey at the best of times but barring a bad run of injuries leading into finals I'd be very surprised if the 'ultra experienced and consistent' Pies don't play-off in the Granny with Cats, Doggies and The Lions the main dangers, don't fancy anyone else. Collingwood should not bring back Jordan De Goey until he's 100%, treat him like Dangerfield in 2022 even if it means extra weeks on the sidelines before you bring him back, just make sure you've got him 100%. Then you've also got Brayden Maynard to come back shortly as well.... so currently all is good down in Magpie land with exciting times ahead.
i like you guys i hope we meet in a qualifying final like 2022 what an awesome game that was

no Swans to make it a snoozefest

Gotta feel for the Swan supporters, bloody hell that must have been hard to stomach, not once but twice..... but the thing was that they were so much a better side than that in both years yet they played their worst game of the year in both grand finals. Talk about nightmares of the worst kind, reckon a few swanny supporters are still having them, poor bastards.

2016 wasn't all their fault to be fair Hannebery and Buddy got injured early on

Not referring 2016 but 2022 against Cats, the last year against The Lions.

View attachment 2330136

Geelong 20.13 (133) defeated Sydney Swans 8.4 (52)
Brisbane Lions 18.12 (120) defeated Sydney Swans 9.6 (60)
i remember saying Buddy should have retired during that Grand Final he had a horrible finals series except for a couple of cheapies against us

Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 12 - Pies v Hawks - Fri May 30th 7:40pm AEST (MCG)