Autopsy Roast & Toast v North & Changes For Geelong

Top 5 v North

C'mon.
Are you saying we weren't primed for a big game and this wasn't a big game for us??
I don't care who won what games in what year of a rebuild, I want effort.
They were insipid today and efforts like that set your rebuild back.
Kids - I don't mind - but those senior players around them .. you know, the ones we kid ourselves with by saying they are in there to take the heat off the kids ... weren't worth a pinch of s**t.
I have no doubt that we went down to Tasmania with every intention of playing much better than we did, but the fact of the matter is that we have an injury list of 16 players with a few more players no doubt carrying niggles that are impacting their performances. It would have been great to win and it is disappointing that we didn't play as well as we'd have liked, but again, this is the start of the journey and we've outperformed expectation this year with 5 wins, with a host of kids getting their chances either as first year players or young kids who forced their way into the 23, we'll add 2 top 3-4 rated kids in the draft and will see the team evolve again in 2026.

But hey if people want to throw tantrums because we swapped places on the ladder with 17th then go nuts if it helps you feel better about it.

It's not about developing them as full time midfielders, it's about offering something different for 10 minutes and also seeing if that's a string they can add to their bow to the benefit of the team. Why do you think Collingwood put McReery in there? He's not a full time mid so why bother making him "uncomfortable" right?

Campbell literally put himself in there earlier in the year to provide something and Yze praised it. He's not going to forget how to play as forward by trying to develop something else for a handful of minutes each week.

Perhaps MRJ can't find consistency because he's not around the ball enough and his role is changed from VFL to AFL? Why send him back to the VFL to play in the midfield if you're not going to give him a go there in the seniors? No one is expecting a full game but throwing him in for 5 CBAs a game and running around for 20 minutes isn't going to kill him or the team. We might find that his pressure is a real weapon around the ball.. so in other words his game is "developed".
Different teams, different development timelines, different goals.

Cambell is a second year player, McReery is a 5th year player. As I said, we're trying to just get Campbell comfortable in his position. If we're getting him to work on specific things to get better at in this role to help him stay consistent through games, then we might not want to throw something new at him playing an entirely new position.

You also don't need to be at the center bounce to play midfield time. Especially some of our games are so low scoring that there not even many of them. He can still play higher up the ground and around contests without being in the CBA.

i realise that, i played sport at high enough level to understand. but they spud it up with nearly every disposal that counts.

HOW come brown, miller and hotton are creative players, dont see them spudding up the football like the others i mentioned. How about Lalor, first year player and makes them look like glorified vfl players.
Come on mate, be real here.
I've seen Brown and Miller spud up plenty of possessions lol. Do you watch the games or?

Lalor and Hotton are highly talented skilled players and they also get way less disposals in positions with much less pressure around them. They are not playing mostly in the contests. I hope those guys are better disposals than Taranto and Hopper as thats never been those guys biggest strength. Is it a negative that Taj and Lalor aren't as good clearance planers as the other guys? Different players, different strengths

The "woke" bs like mindfulness that brought us 3 flags?

Anyone that uses 'woke' like that instantly becomes not worth listening to. Means you've been so easily manipulated by right wing media bullshit so you really can't be trusted to have any opinion of your own.
Don't confuse woke and culture. It was the culture + Dusty that won us 3 premierships. It's the wokeness minus Dusty that has seen a faster demise from a dominant era than ever seen before.

OK, terrible game by us.

Midfield was annihilated. Guy watching behind me said the whole team sucked. Wrong I reckon. Our older midfielders, Nank, TT, Hopps and Meatball just were off - like rancid milk off.

Doesn't make a difference to our end of season. But feels bad after some nice feels recently.

Lynch is super important, and either straight through the middle or nowhere near it, mostly nowhere near it.

Balta almost played an intelligent forwards game o_O

Umps were inconsistent - again. No idea why they play over the should HTDB etc. And things like when the North player bounced off the behind post and was tackled to the ground - either point or HTB. Easy peasy. No! Ball up - WTF!!

Basically we need speed in the midfield. But today was Nank getting smashed, and our inside mids just not being impactful.

Campbell and MRJ did OK given the poor supply. Backs OK. Such a pity losing Vlas, we lost a lot of drive and intercepting immediately.

Yer, the midfield was shocking today, really SHocking.

It wasn't even though, look at the stats. We should have been 10 goals down half time. Then kicked some late goals to make the margain better. North kept us in the game for as long as they could.
north kicked 18.8 after 1/4 time due to a few arsy ones and our woeful midfield pressure. happy we wound it back.... and agree it could've been an 80p demolition.

I'm always a glass half full and go to our home games no matter what. Was planning to go next week before today but geez I'm having 2nd thoughts. Not because the Cats will flog us but more about our total lack of effort and pride in the jumper today. That's why I'm not going next week, will watch on Kayo at home. Go Tiges.
Ah stuff it. Now decided to go next week. I'm a sucker for punishment. 😜 Hoping every one of our kids who aren't injured are picked to play, just play em all FFS. Give the Richmond faithfull a glimpse into next year and beyond. Up the Tiges.

IMO this understates just how bad things are because a lot of our younger players are low-ceiling role-players like Green and Trezise, meanwhile their young players are already carrying them while they have a bunch of dud old-players who provide nothing (like Darling).

E.g. our best player was Lynch (32yo) and theirs was Sheezel (20 yo). Pretty clear they're on the way up and we're still on the way down.

I've seen Brown and Miller spud up plenty of possessions lol. Do you watch the games or?

Lalor and Hotton are highly talented skilled players and they also get way less disposals in positions with much less pressure around them. They are not playing mostly in the contests. I hope those guys are better disposals than Taranto and Hopper as thats never been those guys biggest strength. Is it a negative that Taj and Lalor aren't as good clearance planers as the other guys? Different players, different strengths
Yes I watch the games, and study them, I dont blindly gloat on stats to make our players look good.

If youre a clearance player, it crucial that your disposals are creative and put your team in a better position, racking up numbers dosent make you win a game of footy or a make you a better footballer.

NOT only that but theyre all bog slow.

I have no doubt that we went down to Tasmania with every intention of playing much better than we did, but the fact of the matter is that we have an injury list of 16 players with a few more players no doubt carrying niggles that are impacting their performances. It would have been great to win and it is disappointing that we didn't play as well as we'd have liked, but again, this is the start of the journey and we've outperformed expectation this year with 5 wins, with a host of kids getting their chances either as first year players or young kids who forced their way into the 23, we'll add 2 top 3-4 rated kids in the draft and will see the team evolve again in 2026.

But hey if people want to throw tantrums because we swapped places on the ladder with 17th then go nuts if it helps you feel better about it.
I'm blinded, can't have that type of post here. especially after a big loss. :p

IMO this understates just how bad things are because a lot of our younger players are low-ceiling role-players like Green and Trezise, meanwhile their young players are already carrying them while they have a bunch of dud old-players who provide nothing (like Darling).

E.g. our best player was Lynch (32yo) and theirs was Sheezel (20 yo). Pretty clear they're on the way up and we're still on the way down.
i agree it's bad, the only "saving grace" is that our "better" younger players (those with more potential) were injured which hurts us

if we have a full season from kmac2, smillie & lalor, maybe we don't have as much midfield trouble, or at least, maybe we have initial midfield pains but end up better off for next year because of it. but we waste a year of development of a lot of players with hamstring injuries

i reckon we'll "improve" the contributions from the youngsters in the next 1-2 years (while maybe even regressing in win total), but once broad, nank, vlastuin & lynch are either gone or on their very last legs, we might go backwards or stagnate for another year or so

hopefully that doesn't end up being the case. i think it'll comes down to how well yze and the coaches are able to utilise our young mids and fix up our midfield. unfortunately had a year of little development there

Do people seriously still expect players to be locked in giving 110% in the 2nd last game when were bottom 3?
Yes! We played a team that are also bottom 3 and made them look like Brisbane.

I didn't realise that our players and coaches are immune from criticism.

With respect, I think it's Richmond fans pushing the ' no one thought we'd win a game' narrative.
At the end of the day, we've had two good wins. Carlton and Gold Coast, which I applaud.
Beat West Coast twice, who are a rabble, and beat Essendon whose injury list is longer than Mt Alexander Road and worse than ours.
We made good progress - but that doesn't excuse today's insipid effort.

Autopsy Roast & Toast v North & Changes For Geelong