Review Round 1 2019 vs Melbourne

Who was your BOG?

Our attempts at rapid ball movement through handball last season often looked haphazard. Too many players around the ball, handballs flying everywhere, players under the pump from an opponent. The end result was often a turnover.

It looked much better yesterday. Smart close-in ball movement that often saw the ball in the hands of an outside ball carrier in space. You can see that Bonner and Burton are under instructions to play the outside carrier role. Bonner delivered some nice passes into the forward 50 yesterday. His one-on-one work still looks dodgy but that left foot is a weapon.

And we beat the umpires too. Free kicks 28 to Melb 20 to us. Umpiring was terrible and inconsistent today.
Loved our style of play, was so good to watch and I hope it continues.
the first 2 quarters it was 4 v 9 in each one so that means second half we won 12 v 8. Traditional post half time attempted square up by the umps.

Heaps of people on here have known this. It is incredibly frustrating to me that we have wasted so many years figuring it out. Ken is a players coach and defensive in nature, but is at his best when he attacks. Anyone who saw him play knows this.

The vindication is bitter sweet. Wasting years of the careers of generational talents like Gray and Wingard playing that contrived, overly manipulated, defensive garbage is not funny. How the penny didn't drop sooner I'll never know. I wonder if the coaches realised last year that they were onto a loser but continued down the same path because they were just so committed to it by that stage. Those scoreless quarters against Carlton and Fremantle were mind boggling at the time but are even more mind boggling now. The team we put out yesterday was inferior on talent to the teams we put out most weeks last year, but yesterday's team was actually allowed to play football.

YES

I guarantee you, they got told. Ken will get the chance this year to do it his way.

Our attempts at rapid ball movement through handball last season often looked haphazard. Too many players around the ball, handballs flying everywhere, players under the pump from an opponent. The end result was often a turnover.

It looked much better yesterday. Smart close-in ball movement that often saw the ball in the hands of an outside ball carrier in space. You can see that Bonner and Burton are under instructions to play the outside carrier role. Bonner delivered some nice passes into the forward 50 yesterday. His one-on-one work still looks dodgy but that left foot is a weapon.

That's what happens when you have players running forward on the offence and players positioned ahead of the ball ready to be used as forward targets. Last year's ball movement looked haphazard because it was never by design, always by accident. Moving the ball quickly was not part of any plan. If a player found themselves in space and with space to move into, it was by accident not design. Our plan was to create a slow rolling maul and scrap scores from stoppages, all an accidental by product of the main goal of not allowing the opposition scoring opportunities.

And it’s what happens when the message is always about defensive accountability. You introduce fear and thought and delay.

Attack. Run off and be congratulated for attempting to create attacking opportunities, if you screw up, turn around and run, run, run.

Houston makes up for his lack speed via disposal efficiency of 94%. That’s a high distinction in my book!

That is the first game I’ve ever seen Watts ‘potential’ on display, I thought he was BOG for us.

Willem Drew will be a very good footballer for us. Big body and yet some bounce on his feet.

Let’s not undo the good work against Carlton.

This is the game.

We covered more ground overall as a team but they had more players who were in the top for ground covered. So we were more balanced and spread the load.

Additionally, we absolutely murdered them at distance covered at high speed. We genuinely ran hardery for longery.

20190324_141916.jpg
20190324_141932.jpg

We played proper footy, for the first time since 2014 we actually played proper aggressive attacking footy.

What those stats show is exactly what we trained for in the off-season. At the inside port day they said they specifically trained more high speed work to adjust for the rule changes and a more attacking gameplan. I think they said something around 20% more high speed work. It showed. We led our opponents to the ball and smashed them on the outside.

We also had an average speed in defence that was a fair way higher than most other teams this year. We've built that defence for speed.

What those stats show is exactly what we trained for in the off-season. At the inside port day they said they specifically trained more high speed work to adjust for the rule changes and a more attacking gameplan. I think they said something around 20% more high speed work. It showed. We led our opponents to the ball and smashed them on the outside.
There is every chance that the Dees came in with a high training load looking at September. I’m not sure that we can take too much out of one week.

My opinion is that Ken got Harted. A committee of idiots stepped in and shut him down. Have no doubt that they monitor opinion and have been told by thousands of people that our defensive style was exactly wrong.

If Ken has finally had the balls to reassert himself as an attacking coach then perhaps he might survive.
I'm really happy about yesterday and soon hope to be able to watch the second half on Kayo.

But I can't let the above pass.

I believe the opposite, that Ken was not brave enough to attack and, fully supported by Bass and Nicks, conjured up a game plan to "not lose". The frequent refrain "take care of defence and attack would take care of itself" led to a game plan so bad that a number of people near me got so uptight during games that they had to stay away. Even I, a rusted on ancient, couldn't be bothered going to one game. Yesterday's game, heavily influenced by Schofield and Montgomery, was exciting and will hopefully draw the crowds in.

Anyway, enough negativity. Let's enjoy the win for a week then everyone get to the match next Saturday. So looking forward to it after the borefest of the last two years.

I'm really happy about yesterday and soon hope to be able to watch the second half on Kayo.

But I can't let the above pass.

I believe the opposite, that Ken was not brave enough to attack and, fully supported by Bass and Nicks, conjured up a game plan to "not lose". The frequent refrain "take care of defence and attack would take care of itself" led to a game plan so bad that a number of people near me got so uptight during games that they had to stay away. Even I, a rusted on ancient, couldn't be bothered going to one game. Yesterday's game, heavily influenced by Schofield and Montgomery, was exciting and will hopefully draw the crowds in.

Anyway, enough negativity. Let's enjoy the win for a week then everyone get to the match next Saturday. So looking forward to it after the borefest of the last two years.
You and I are most likely of a similar generation. I am very, very confident that Ken was shut down internally.

Rule changes or no rule changes, we have spent too much time on endurance work rather than SpeedEndurance work the last 3 or 4 years. Didn't start getting our shit together until 2017 when dropped the BS 3km time trial for 3 x 1km stuff and started working on 300m sprints.

Quarter 3

Byrne-Jones' place in the side is dependant on him pushing up and creating the overlap rather than being the one delivering the ball - he got into the centre of the ground after the opening bounce and looked much more composed delivering the ball.

I reckon Boak chipping to Ebert instead of going long to Ryder after his forward intercept was a symptom of Ryder telling players not to kick it on top of his head because he wouldn't be able to mark it - Paddy was one out against a defender and would normally gobble that up with Ebert doing the crumbing.

Sloppy handballs still that hit the ground - I put it down to R1 nerves. Need to tidy it up.

Another shit decision by Byrne-Jones in defence:

giphy.gif

The man he leaves is Melksham...the man who creates the spare in the goal square. He does absolutely nothing to affect the contest, but would record a pressure act for the fact he got a hand on Brayshaw. The thing is...he's getting to the right spots, but he's just not going. Remember how Monty said he was a 7/10 defender, and some games he'd be a 6, and others he'd be an 8? This was worse than that. This was a "I want to boost my stats sheet" 5/10 performance. You cost me $1000+, Darcy.

Just a great tap from Gawn against Ryder and a lovely centre clearance from Melbourne to Weideman. Nothing you can do about that sort of thing, and this is what I'm expecting from Melbourne most of the time this year.

First bit of good play from Byrne-Jones getting in front of Spargo to take the intercept. I get the feeling that Darcy doesn't fully understand what pressure is and is more suited to situations where he knows what needs to be done one on one instead of being the supplementary defender who is the outnumber. And because he got the ball out in the open and had time to consider his options, it led to a goal to Westhoff with some good link up play down the ground with Bonner running through midfield.

Amon should have got a free kick for over the shoulder - he was bending over to pick up the ball, not ducking into contact. But unlike our old mate Wingard who would have thrown his head back and played for the free, Amon just brushed it off and got the ball out. He keeps playing like this, he's a lock every week for the 22.

Drew should have just held the ball and gone to ground rather than try to dispose of the ball - it probably would have been holding the ball because the umpires are campaigners but don't make their decision for them by throwing the ball away in the tackle.

Burton's spin through traffic was Gray-esque...pity the delivery inside 50 wasn't. He's second go at it 20 seconds later was much better to Ebert.

Butters went inside with a handball to Boak with two players up his ass when Rockliff was on the outside in clear space. Sometimes just because it's the safe option doesn't mean it's a bad one, Zak.

Watts' decision making and kicking is next level - Boak pointed to where he wanted it and Watts put it straight where Trav asked for it, making sure it was weighted just enough so it was to Boak's advantage. When Howard comes back in after gaining some confidence I'm expecting him to move back to a wing position, but he's doing just fine off of half back. How the **** Gray missed the subsequent goal from 10 meters out does my head in - another player to cost me $1000.

I like Clurey when he's defending up the ground - that's why he's in the side, because he's got the closing speed to get to a contest he shouldn't. Also liked his second efforts and the fact he didn't just think 'I've done my job by spoiling, someone else should be here to help.'

Here's why you focus on defensive pressure after a turnover:

giphy.gif

There's a lot going on here, so let's break it down. Notice that initially, Ebert is on the outside of the contest as the outlet. Motlop pressures, then Powell-Pepper and Ebert...this is the primary contest. But because Ebert has kept on the outside, when Melbourne gets the ball to Melksham in the secondary contest, Ebert is ready to cover and forces Melksham to duck in order to try and draw a free kick because of the implied pressure. Then Boak is all over him and it's holding the ball. 20 seconds later...Ebert is contesting a ball 50 meters away on the half forward flank.

It's been seen before, but it needs to be seen again...Jack Watts, you star!

giphy.gif

Goes for the mark, keeps his feet so he's not taken out of the contest, and uses his agility to spin out of trouble and fire off the handball. Smooth. If Butters hadn't ****ed up a standard handball receive in the middle of the ground, it would have ended up as an intercept possession goal out of defence.

Rozee showing Polec what a kick back into defence is supposed to do - instead of holding the ball for ages and waiting for the umpire to call play on, he takes the intercept, and since he is facing towards defence, simply kicks back to Watts who he knows will make a great decision and we get to the outer side before Melbourne are able to shift across and cover the switch. Ends up as a 50m penalty and goal to Gray. Don't listen Roos about Nathan Jones coming forward - if he didn't do that and went with Westhoff, Watts would have simply ran forward and kicked to Ebert on the wing himself...it's not like he's not capable.

Summary

More of the same from the second quarter, really. Some really good passages of play but also the types of **** ups that you actually want at this time of the year because it means you're not at your best yet. We do better on the scramble defensively at the moment - I'm still thinking that Hartlett and Broadbent have the experience to do what Bonner and Byrne-Jones are doing PLUS defend really well...but they'll probably be introduced more in the later months when it's a slog and that's more important.

Just finished watching the replay. Gees Butters is tough. He took two hard hits in a short space of time but got up both times without any help. And he was the slightest player on the ground.

Skilful and tough. A handy combo

Having now watched the R1 game it seems that JLT2 was not your standard pre-season experimental game but rather our fully-formed 2019 team in action. Not everyone had a great R1 game but even those I'm a bit less +ve about below I'm happy enough with to not melt if they're selected next week.

Match statistics

Karl Amon can now play. A player who for years now has meant nothing to me but annoyance as a wasted selection pick has become hard working and effective. Colour me :drunk:

Scott Lycett is the most effective buy-in I can remember for us. His game stats surprise me as they don't show too much impact besides his 16 hit-outs yet I thought he was involved in a fair bit of general play.

Tom Rockliff well 44 disposals and 8 tackles is crazy good. Would have been nice for him to have slotted one or two but of course the consequence of his work was to stop Melbourne from ever getting properly back into the game. A few more clangers than necessary.

Travis Boak 34 disposals and 8 tackles meant he played a powerful variant of Rockliffe's game. Three shots on goal, with his only major being the one that settled us early. Looked like the Boaky of a few years back, a powerful footballer who seemed to be enjoying himself. Again a few too many clangers.

Ryan Burton is putting in. I need to look at his stats to help me see it, I'll warm to him when he does more exciting stuff.

Robbie Gray not a very good game by his standards. Yes, come at me. Worked hard and created opportunities for himself and others but a fair few wasted shots on goal.

Brad Ebert this FF role will have to be rethought if he keeps dropping contested marks. Put 3 down I think. But yeah active and effective in general play further from goal.

Jack Watts a pretty memorable game. Played better and better as the game went on and to some extent helped to take the game away from Melbourne late with formidable defensive work. And wow, that post-match interview ....

Willem Drew a tribute to our drafting and player development. Nice clearance work.

Sam Powell-Pepper worked his butt off, especially noticeable early. But could not kick a goal if he'd had a giant funnel. 20 disposals with 7 clangers. IMO not as big an indictment on his game as that might seem but more a reflection on the pressure situations he found himself in.

Steven Motlop active, useful. Nothing memorable.

Darcy Byrne-Jones I though he was excellent as a defender in some high pressure situations but the stats don't show anything exciting. I remember one centre clearance where Rozee won it and DBJ was about a metre away to carry it out and I thought this really is a different team.

Justin Westhoff old gold

Riley Bonner active, useful. Nothing memorable and look I know he and Houston are getting a lot of good feedback here.

Connor Rozee 1st of the 3 amigos as I'm going to annoyingly call Rozee, Duursma and Butters. Utterly at home at AFL level as all 3 were. Loved his 'in and under' clearance work, what a bonus for us.

Dan Houston active, useful. Nothing memorable.

Xavier Duursma 2nd of the 3 amigos. Great ball carrying, so confident in traffic. Plus a goal on top.

Tom Clurey great intercept work.

Zak Butters 3rd of the 3 amigos. I think the commentators were paid to pump his tyres up a bit but 2 nice cheeky goals

Tom Jonas fine but always 5cm from suspension. Went a bump quite early in the 1st quarter (can't remember who on) that did nothing and caused no commentary but had me face-palming.

Todd Marshall the weakest performance of the team but I accept he's a development player and I have seen his top-notch skills kick in during games like the recent family day game. One decent goal.

Patrick Ryder a little bit of just playing his role. Nothing memorable except a sub-par shot on goal. But always active, always a looming threat.