Mega Thread 2012 AFL Fixture - all comments re the fixture in this thread pls

Not all WC supporters live in WA, read my details!!! Just like not all Collingwood supporters live in Vic.

As I said, this is the AFL and there are supporters of all clubs all round the country and those supporters have the right to see their team play for free just as much as a Collingwood supporter living in Melbourne.

Oh and by the way, WC games will nearly always be delayed in their home state even though Subi is always a sell out.

All clubs get less FTA coverage in other states than their home state. For example Collingwood wont get 15 FTA games into perth next year as games that clash with Freo and WCE will be blacked out and only shown on Foxtel. WCE(and freo, port and adelaide) getting all their games on FTA in their home state is more than any victorian supporter can say. It is a fact of life that you will have to get Foxtel or go to a pub to see your club.

Most games are only delayed by 30mins -1 hour anyway, so its hardly anything to complain about.

This gets to me so much I am really struggling not to leap into a foray of swear words that might get me booted!!

WTF???? It is the AFL FFS and as such teams that AREN'T in Vic also have supporters who don't have Foxtel.

I understand not have FTA coverage in QLD or NSW as it will get delayed anyway but WC, Freo, Port and Adel have an average of 5 FTS games while Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Geelong have an average of 16 FTS games each!!!!

Basically if you are an supporter on an AFL side that is not Victorian then the AFL is giving you no choice but to get Foxtel.

You start a TV station and start playing West Coast games every week in Victoria or North Melbourne games in WA.

I'm sure it'll be sooper dooper popular, guy :eek:

surely as a paid up member of my club I have trhe right to watch as many games FREE as any other supporter??

Er, no...

As a paid up member of Foxtel you get to watch as many of the less popular games as you like though.

Just typical, :thumbsdown:

Richmond get 8 finalists in the first 10 rounds and then only 2 after round 11.........people are gonna be saying we win the ones that don't matter again:mad:

Basically if you are an supporter on an AFL side that is not Victorian then the AFL is giving you no choice but to get Foxtel.

Not all WC supporters live in WA, read my details!!!

As I said, this is the AFL and there are supporters of all clubs all round the country and those supporters have the right to see their team play for free just as much as a Collingwood supporter living in Melbourne.

Not sure whether to commiserate or not. I totally understand the frustration; but in reverse. As a North Melbourne supporter living in WA I wouldn't have seen my team play over the past half a dozen years unless I had Foxtel. (Come to think of it, it is increasingly like that for my brethren in Victoria!)

Anyways, the part of me that doesn't commiserate says "Welcome to my nightmare" and be thankful you haven't had to do this until now.

Edit: Just wanted to add a thank you to those opposition supporters who've acknowledged our 2012 is 'balanced out' by the 2011 one (and others). We take our blessings where we can! :)

15. North vs Eagles (win)*
* we didn't play Eagles at home in 2011.

Really? You also played us in Round 1 before we really got going so assuming you'd "just win" if we'd played you in Melbourne is a bit rich. I don't mind if you want to call it a 50/50...we're often not great against the Kangaroos on the road, but to think you'd have it in the bag is a step to far.

As to the draw, I'm happy with ours, outside of the number of Sunday afternoon games, but we always have to play heaps of those because we sell out every game we have even if its Port or North on a Sunday arvo, so no real incentive for the attendance focused administrators to give us more attractive game times. Once the bigger stadium arrives, fingers crossed that the situation changes.

Really? You also played us in Round 1 before we really got going so assuming you'd "just win" if we'd played you in Melbourne is a bit rich. I don't mind if you want to call it a 50/50...we're often not great against the Kangaroos on the road, but to think you'd have it in the bag is a step to far.

For the record, we were without Goldstein, McIntosh and Petrie in that game so it's fair to say we hadn't got going yet either.

Having said that, when we play next year I expect West Coast to go in as favourites (both home and away).

It is an outrage that Hawthorn only play 3 games away interstate. A gross unfairness which really goes to the heart of the inappropriate manipulation of fixtures by the AFL.

It is so simple to fix it so there is broad parity in fixturing (it will never be perfect) by having simple rules. Seeding the teams is a start. Also is a mimimum number of home and away premium time slots.

Premiers: Hawthorn

Top 8 for 2012

Cats
Hawks
Eagles

Saints
North
Dogs
Crows
Dees
Tigers
Lions
Suns
Port
Giants

The fixtures on one AFL site had Essendon in round 6 playing Essendon :eek: ( it should have been the Lions we play , the AFL have since changed it )

North have a tough draw again.

Essendon v Hawks at Etihad should have been at the MCG.
Giants wont win a game in 2012 .

Different teams should play in Tassie.

Darwin should receive more games.

I hope the umpires learn from their 2012 mistakes as should the MRP :rolleyes:

Tough draw? Wow the only way it could get any easier if that let us play Essendon 3 times instead of 2...

Are you sure? Wow I think you guys are getting a bit too arrogant, although with that draw, anything less than finals would be a fail. We always find a way to lose to you guys (like kicking 8 behinds in a row before our first goal). So I think things will hopefully change. Remember the last time we played you guys round 1 in 2008. We smashed you guys.

You would think with 2 teams in NSW next year that CARLTON would play 1 game in NSW especially after drawing a very decent crowd in the lashing rain at the SCG this year, but no somehow the AFL have managed to ensure CARLTON don't come to NSW.

We get those big pulling clubs like North, Adelaide, Melbourne & Footscray twice along with Collingwood.

I don't get it, I know they stopped CARLTON playing up here for a bit in the early 90's when the Swans were at their worst as the Blue boys out numbered Swans fans but why they wouldn't have them play up here next year is bizare.

I haven't read the thread, but I hope there's not too much whinging from Pies' fans...A tough draw, but you've probably got the best list, and you've finished first and second the last two years, and will probably play off in the GF in 2012. Plus you only travel interstate five times.

On a more cheerful note, I am pleased with our draw, especially the first half of the year. A tough run home, but we're used to that nowadays.

Round 13 onwards is the softest Melbourne draw I've ever seen. North v Melbourne at Etihad might be a game for the 8, as our draw is just ridiculous in the second half of the season.

That said, we'll probably find a way to f*** it up.

I haven't read the thread, but I hope there's not too much whinging from Pies' fans...A tough draw, but you've probably got the best list, and you've finished first and second the last two years, and will probably play off in the GF in 2012. Plus you only travel interstate five times.

On a more cheerful note, I am pleased with our draw, especially the first half of the year. A tough run home, but we're used to that nowadays.

Nope you will not get any whinging from me...I think draw for us is pretty good. Yeah tough but if win enough games for Top 2 then we well and truly will deserve it...much like in 2010.

The 4 day break prior to ANZAC day is a tough ask, but we want to play ANZAC day so in effect we can't complain. Back end of draw is a little hard but with 3 trips interstate in 5 weeks but 2 are to Sydney and it is only 90 mins plane trip up there anyway.

However you compare our draw to that of Geelong and Hawks we certainly have dealt a much harder draw, with Hawks just 3 interstate trips (excluding the tassie trips which they signed up for) and 13 games at MCG. Geelong get 2 very cushy doubled up games against WB & Adel but do travel 6 times and 2x to Perth, so that offsets it that in some way.

That said I think we have great list and should win 15-17 games at least maybe even up to 20, which should be enough for Top 4 which should be first goal once season gets under.

Mate I think you'll find the "we" was NSW based supporters get to see your mob & the other "big" drawing teams twice, not who the Blues get twice.

Sorry for the confusion

Ahh sorry for the confusion mate. :thumbsu: You'll be happy to know we play once in Sydney and once in Canberra (v GWS) I don't know if that's a good or bad thing for you.

The 4 day break prior to ANZAC day is a tough ask, but we want to play ANZAC day so in effect we can't complain .

Why is that a tough ask? Your opponents on Anzac Day also have a 4 day break.

So, really, it is advantageous for BOTH sides, because both play each other off a 4 day break, but both teams get either 9 or 10 days to prepare for their round 6 match, against opponents with shorter preparation times.

So, in effect, neither side is disadvantaged relative to the other on Anzac Day, but both Collingwood and Essendon have an advantage on their opponents for the following round.

Are you sure? Wow I think you guys are getting a bit too arrogant, although with that draw, anything less than finals would be a fail. We always find a way to lose to you guys (like kicking 8 behinds in a row before our first goal). So I think things will hopefully change. Remember the last time we played you guys round 1 in 2008. We smashed you guys.

We have had more scoring shots than North Melbourne in the last 5 games we have played against them.

We have won 2, lost three, but should have won all 5.

The last time North Melbourne had more scoring shots in a match versus Essendon was in 2006 - which will be six years ago.

We'll beat North easily. We've had the wood on them for 5 years without being able to get the results that our dominaiton has warranted.

Round 13 onwards is the softest Melbourne draw I've ever seen. North v Melbourne at Etihad might be a game for the 8, as our draw is just ridiculous in the second half of the season.

That said, we'll probably find a way to f*** it up.

I reckon you'll be 3-8 after 11 rounds, still might squeeze into the 8 with the run home

We'll beat North easily. We've had the wood on them for 5 years without being able to get the results that our dominaiton has warranted.

This is literally nonsensical.

It's not nonsensical at all. We've had the wood on North Melbourne in general play, but havn't ben able to convert that onto the scoreboard. We should have won all of the last 5 games.

2011 - Ess 30 shots to 26
2010 - Ess 32 shots to 29
2009 - Ess 22 shots to 19
2008 - Ess 27 shots to 22
2007 - Ess 30 shots to 27

We've won 2 of those. But should have won all 5.

Think back - Can you remember the last time North actually outplayed Essendon comprehensively? You know, a standard 5 goal win where the 'Roos won all the key stats and were clearly the better team, with no dispute? You can't think of one can you? That's because it was so long ago. Hell, it was so long ago, even I had to do a bit of research, before I recalled the last time it happened - 2005.

In that 2005 match, you won by 42 and had 12 more scoring shots.

Since then, we have either won, or had the better of the game and lost.

As fascinating as this debate is, back on topic:

Who reckons the division of free-to-air games is reasonable? I'd be peeved if I was a Norf supporter, seems to me that they've been given a reasonable draw on-field and an awful one off-field regarding things like TV rights and timeslots.

Dogs get a reasonable number of games on 7, but the timeslots... could be worse, at least we get a few big night games, but not brilliant.

Mega Thread 2012 AFL Fixture - all comments re the fixture in this thread pls