5 players already signed by GWS

Everyone is forgetting North Melbourne's list. Its full of champions & potential superstars (all 40 of them) according to NM posters. How can they possibly keep them all under the salary cap.:D

If a Collingwood player has chosen to leave, it will be more than likely Thomas. He'll be good for brand awareness there & his contract will increase more than Swan & Pendlebury.

I've heard that Bartel is playing hardball with Geelong bigtime over GWS.

I heard a whisper after Varcoe re-signed that Bartel was close to doing likewise.

GWS will struggle IMO.

I don't think they will secure "top tier" talent. All this talk of Bartel, Murphy and the Collingwood trio won't eventuate. These are players playing at very established clubs with strong possibilities of success.

It will very much be young "up and coming" talent. Basically next level down.

Players such as Daniel Rich/Mitch Clark will be on high alert- particularly if Lions struggle again in 2011.

Also, if the rumours are true about GWS offering Scully a contract in the region of 1.5m it is simply because the top tier players have already rejected them.

Everyone is forgetting North Melbourne's list. Its full of champions & potential superstars (all 40 of them) according to NM posters. How can they possibly keep them all under the salary cap.:D

your'e forgetting the Rookie List, that's another 6 brownlow medal winners your forgetting about...

but nah, we've already signed up Andrew Swallow (GWS targeted him heavily in November) and Grima as well as many others like Liam Anthony..... Really Glad that our boys are the types to do this, Probably biased but we've probably got one of the better cultures atm

Love how everyone can definitively state it's not a player from their club who's going
I'm pretty much resigned to losing one of Pendlebury, Swan or Thomas.

Just gotta look at the positives in cap relief and good draft picks, and hope to sustain continual shots at the Cup.

Might be a bit cold hearted, but the dollars being thrown around are stupid. Would rather us avoid an Essendon circa 2002 fire sale.

wondering if the murphy rumor still stems from the video and not much else.

would be pretty lucky to have two new clubs come in and lose no-one to them, so would not be surprised if we lost someone.

offer grigg some game-time and he'll move to any old hole ;)

I'm pretty much resigned to losing one of Pendlebury, Swan or Thomas.

Just gotta look at the positives in cap relief and good draft picks, and hope to sustain continual shots at the Cup.

Might be a bit cold hearted, but the dollars being thrown around are stupid. Would rather us avoid an Essendon circa 2002 fire sale.

if you can take some short term pain to avoid that, then it's really a positive isn't it?

Needless to say, said fire sale ripped the heart out of our team

My guess:

1st point is Sheedy will have very little input into the recruiting. He is a short term figurehead for this franchise not a decision maker for the future.

Bartel,Murphy,Thomas and Pendelbury aren't going anywhere. There is zero reason for any of them to go and zero reason for their clubs allowing them to go.

Swan is a chance as he seems the type to need to absolutely max his earnings while he can. He can have a year back together with his great mate Taz, have a crack at another flag and then max a huge final contract with GWS. His Club could well use the cap space and draft compo after 2011 too.

Anyway i believe GWS will have heads of agreement with about 5 players already. If i had to guess the possibilities:

Dane Swan
Tom Scully
Alipaty Carlisle
Taylor Walker
Andrew Walker
Beau Waters

seem the likely candidates to me.

I dont reckon Swan will go. He will be kindly reminded that he owes the Collingwood Football Club. Thomas could go but has great ties with the Gippsland area so may not wish to move too far from that. Pendlebury (also a Gippslander) may be the one but in the case of all three, its hard to see them want to leave a team that still has improvement in them and an upside for possibly the next 3 seasons.

On the other hand, its a once in a career/lifetime opportunity and you need to make hay whilst the sun shines.

Rich and Murphy wont be leaving either.

I agree with a couple of the other posters, Gold Coast only got Gaz due to the fact he had fallen out with Bomber, and he could probably see that the cats were probably on the wrong side of the scale, age-wise.

To attempt to poach Scully or Cotchin or players in their situation would reek more than Carlton's tainted Premiership.

I dont think they will get anyone of any significance.

My guess:

1st point is Sheedy will have very little input into the recruiting. He is a short term figurehead for this franchise not a decision maker for the future.

Bartel,Murphy,Thomas and Pendelbury aren't going anywhere. There is zero reason for any of them to go and zero reason for their clubs allowing them to go.

Swan is a chance as he seems the type to need to absolutely max his earnings while he can. He can have a year back together with his great mate Taz, have a crack at another flag and then max a huge final contract with GWS. His Club could well use the cap space and draft compo after 2011 too.

Anyway i believe GWS will have heads of agreement with about 5 players already. If i had to guess the possibilities:

Dane Swan
Tom Scully
Alipaty Carlisle
Taylor Walker
Andrew Walker
Beau Waters

seem the likely candidates to me.

Good summation and got the calibre of players pretty close I reckon. Heard that Swans contract negotiations were under discussion at the moment but I guess we'll see what happens soon.

I dont reckon Swan will go. He will be kindly reminded that he owes the Collingwood Football Club. Thomas could go but has great ties with the Gippsland area so may not wish to move too far from that. Pendlebury (also a Gippslander) may be the one but in the case of all three, its hard to see them want to leave a team that still has improvement in them and an upside for possibly the next 3 seasons.

On the other hand, its a once in a career/lifetime opportunity and you need to make hay whilst the sun shines.

Rich and Murphy wont be leaving either.

I agree with a couple of the other posters, Gold Coast only got Gaz due to the fact he had fallen out with Bomber, and he could probably see that the cats were probably on the wrong side of the scale, age-wise.

To attempt to poach Scully or Cotchin or players in their situation would reek more than Carlton's tainted Premiership.

I dont think they will get anyone of any significance.

If they're (GWS) going to throw a huge pay rise at him for the next 3-4 years I don't think that'll matter too much.
As it shouldn't.

Good summation and got the calibre of players pretty close I reckon. Heard that Swans contract negotiations were under discussion at the moment but I guess we'll see what happens soon.

The wildcards are Sydney players. I haven't really heard any names mentioned but GWS would surely be targetting players wwho already have a name in the Sydney footy scene.

I reckon GWS's dream player would be Keiran Jack or Adam Goodes but Goodes is too old for 2012 and beyond and i can't see Sydney losing Jack.

Any Sydney fans want to weigh in on any possible players? What is the contract situ at Sydney?

The wildcards are Sydney players. I haven't really heard any names mentioned but GWS would surely be targetting players wwho already have a name in the Sydney footy scene.

I reckon GWS's dream player would be Keiran Jack or Adam Goodes but Goodes is too old for 2012 and beyond and i can't see Sydney losing Jack.

That's the reason they've looked at bringing Hally back for a year, has a big Sydney profile.

Jack would have been the dream signing but he's locked down tight at the Swans.

Don't know where McVeigh's contract is at, pretty sure he re-signed, and is in line for Co-Captaincy.

Nightmares thinking Sheeds will go after Spike McVeigh :eek:

Might have a shot at Hayes in 2012

There was a report on the Carlton board that Howard Leigh, who hosts a late night program on SEN, was talking to John Murphy (Marc's dad) at a recent domestic 20/20 game at the MCG. John Murphy confirmed that Marc going to GWS was rubbish. Time will tell I guess.

Any Sydney fans want to weigh in on any possible players? What is the contract situ at Sydney?

Thankfully most Sydney players have their heads screwed on straight and are contracted to ride out the GWS storm. Most likely poachable targets are guys like Richards and Bevan... not people Sydney would be too concerned about losing.

don't worry we have signed all our good players without cheating the salary cap:D

They'll invariably grab one or two absolute top shelf players.

One might be a Magpie.

That's life.

Agree with this.

To get a top shelfer, GC17 had to pay $1.9m a season to Ablett and promise to draft his brother, and they could then only manage to scrape up some handy players, Bock, Brennan, Rischa and some duds, Krakouer, Fraser and Brown.

GWS will have to pay one guy a huge amount to be interested and then get a few disgruntled players looking for an extra 100k or so a season.

Don't forget though, GWS has an extra year to sign up out of contract players, so they might not take a lot of players first time around.

Apparently GC coming into the league has given other players the confidence to at least have a chat with WS about offers. Heard that WS were getting phone calls from players managers that they were not even expecting...

That came from an interview by someone working with WS though so take it with a grain of salt...

Whatever the case it's fair to assume that we'll know who they are by June/July.

All of the rumoured players to be signing with the Gold Coast were all correct so I can't imagine why it'd be any different this time around.

If you start hearing rumours about a player from your club leaving from a whole range of different sources, then they probably are.

spot on. we'll have a very good idea by mid season who the signings are

right now, dees and blues fans should be sweating the most. the drums are beating the loudest re scully and murphy

why on earth would scully postpone contract discussions with the dees? the offical line from his management is that he wants to concentrate on playing. what a load of crap. the kid is coming off a stellar debut season and is widely recognised as one of the budding superstars of the comp. his bargaining power is at its highest point right now and will not increase regardless of how well he starts the year. he can only lose by having a dip in form. he's signed a heads of agreement and will be going to GWS, no doubt

the murphy rumours have been circulating since about november. he too has nothing to gain by delaying contract discussions. he is an established star at carlton and is seen as an integral part of their future. he's probably also signed a heads of agreement reading between the lines

swan won't be going to GWS. his management have commenced contract extension discussions with coll and you can expect an announcement on that front before the season proper commences. expect a 2 year deal to the end of 2013

You would expect:

1 marquee player in the Ablett category.

3-4 very good players, like Rischitelli, Brennan, Bock.

Then a whole bunch of also rans.

There's no way GWS has signed anyone. They might have offered Swan 43 million a season, but if he has two knee recos in 2011 (not that I'd wish it) they'll quickly move to the next big name.

There's a big difference between a signing and a chasing. They'll chase more names than have been mentioned in this thread. I doubt even GWS know who the biggest signing is that they'll get.

I can't quite grasp how stupid you'd have to be to make a comment like this. How you can get something so arse backwards astounds me

I fixed it for you. You might wanna check you got everything in the right order before falling over yourself to make fun of someone's post.

Settle down pal.

Besides the obvious reasons, in my opinion, a bloke like ablett doesnt walk way from a club like Geelong, and where they were at, just for money.

His falling out with Thompson had massive bearing on his decision. If it was just about the money he would have made the call far earlier, imho.

5 players already signed by GWS