Coach Alastair Clarkson - NMFC Senior Coach - Coaching & Football Discussion

For the teams confidence I absolutely agree. But watching the clip I agree wholeheartedly with Clarkson and Viney. They're building a team that will be sustainable for the long term. We've already built a strong foundation off the field, we have to be patient on the field. (One guy needs to go in the football department) but other than that I'm pretty comfortable.

Clarko throwing out 60-80 game numbers at the current performance is absolutely delusional.

The supporter base will not tolerate this level of output for another 3-4 seasons.

We're paying the price of over a decade of incompetence. Pevious attempts at building foundations, were made out of mud and straw. And they duely crumbled.

It's hard to take that we're essentially at ground zero again, but I'm confident the foundations will be concrete this time.
I went past anger a long time ago, it's largely numbness where any positivity is welcome and unexpected.
It will suck for a while longer, that's just the way it is.
It's now about identifying who's on going to be on the bus when the engines finally start running smoothly. Sheez, Warlord, Colby, Zane, Chom, Souv, X and PC are on board. Who joins them is the next question

Just quietly, if our players step up, the results will change dramatically.

Like Viney said, we could go out and beat St Kilda or we won't. Our young players could potentially put on a show for two quarters and a bit which could be enough to beat teams that aren't exactly switched on.

Wow watching that hawks vs port game - footy was better and the commentary is in a different stratosphere. I’m dejected, depressed and worried like most of us, BUT: We unequivocally have pros in charge. Shaw thought we were gonna play finals FFS. Noble probably took an hour to get his hair gelled right in the morning.

We’re awful, it’s awful to watch, but we have people who know what they’re doing. They just need time and players. Anyone calling for massive change at this point is a closet masochist.

We have no choice but to stay the course. How many of us were saying that under Noble?

It’s not that we’re losing every game

It’s the way we’re losing

It’s not sustainable and we’re probably going to lose LDU, Cam and continue to never develop a competitive or winning attitude

The presenter and Todd etc told us, as fans we need to be patient, m8 show us something, anything that we are on the upwards scale ffs, stop gaslighting us. While you sit on your hands and say "everything will improve, Its the same as when i was at hawthorn" is not good enough and is the laziest mentality to have. Sorry, but stop living in the past.

We need innovation, excitement, some unknown. Whilst you wait for us to get better, and getting paid the big bucks, the losing culture you are developing into our young players will be further entrenched the longer this goes.

Show us some SHINBONER SPIRIT

Didn’t somebody say recently we played our youngest team since 2010? If that’s the case, from memory in 2010 we were still winning games of footy with a young list. Can’t keep trotting this bullshit out for another 3 years.

Maybe. But back in 2010 we had senior players who were capable of playing their role in the team.

Not just more capable. Quite good too.

Boomer, Wells, Petrie, Edwards, Hale, McIntosh, Harding, Pratt, Firrito, LT, Rawlings, Jones, Swallow, McMahon etc.

Even our inexperienced players were partially mature age recruits or blokes with heaps of experience in state leagues. They became senior players pretty quickly.

We literally don't have the same player list quality that we did back then. Not even close. Yea our young talent is very good, but that's it. The team today would get slaughtered by 10 goals easily against the 2010 team.

Didn’t somebody say recently we played our youngest team since 2010? If that’s the case, from memory in 2010 we were still winning games of footy with a young list. Can’t keep trotting this bullshit out for another 3 years.

It’s such a cop-out, isn’t it?

“Just bear with us while we use the top level of this sport in the country as practice. Be patient and allow us to lose while we figure out what we’re doing, and please don’t ask about effort or a plan because we know where we’re at”.

👎🏼

It’s such a cop-out, isn’t it?

“Just bear with us while we use the top level of this sport in the country as practice. Be patient and allow us to lose while we figure out what we’re doing, and please don’t ask about effort or a plan because we know where we’re at”.

👎🏼
Is it a cop-out or just honesty about where we are in our development?

A cop-out. Especially when it’s widely known that our training standards are still the most ratshit in the league.
Is it such a surprise that our training standards are poor? Geez if they were at the level or above average, and were still losing every game by a fair margin, reckon we’d have bigger issues to worry about! No the poor training standards and game day results go cap in hand. Look over history and I reckon those bottom of the ladder teams would also have poor training standards. But they do improve as teams get better.

The 2010 team didn’t go very far though did it? And the current group doesn’t have Harvey or any of the other experienced players.

And now some supporters accept it. Cool.
Do you think Clarko and Viney were born yesterday? Do you not honestly think they’re doing everything possible to change the situation behind the scenes and lift the standards across the board?? Or do you think they just want to collect a pay cheque and do nothing and walk away with their reputations in tatters?

We also had a more experienced and talented list that was playing well. Also most of our wins were close and our losses were by large margins and most of our wins were against teams below us which cant be the case at the moment.

And now some supporters accept it. Cool.
What’s the alternative? Switch brands to Collingwood? Or is it better to constantly complain to make it clear you’d rather see the team win than lose? Because, you know, we all feel the pain - posters who choose not to be negative about everything all the time aren’t having any more fun in the losing era than you are.

Tapping the sign again, what gets said on here makes zero difference to the standards that are accepted or not accepted at the club.

What’s the alternative? Switch brands to Collingwood? Or is it better to constantly complain to make it clear you’d rather see the team win than lose? Because, you know, we all feel the pain - posters who choose not to be negative about everything all the time aren’t having any more fun in the losing era than you are.

Tapping the sign again, what gets said on here makes zero difference to the standards that are accepted or not accepted at the club.

Yet we come here.
Why?
To be an echo chamber of how great everything is?

* tapping the sign *

It’s Bigfooty. It’s a place of opinions about AFL teams.

If you want to feel good about how great a bunch of kids might be one day, go watch the local U17s.

We are supporting a substandard AFL team. One that could be the worst of all time and cease to exist at this rate.

If you don’t think people from the club read forums, that’s a bit deluded. Where else do they get the sentiment from?
If you don’t think BF is at the very least a good place to vent, discuss, etc… Why be here?

Venting is good for the mind, but the footy department aren't going to change their philosophy based on an online forum.

If they did, that would certainly be a sign that they've lost the plot.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Yet we come here.
Why?

* tapping the sign *

If you want to feel good about how great a bunch of kids might be one day, go watch the local U17s.

We are supporting a substandard AFL team. One that could be the worst of all time and cease to exist at this rate.

If you don’t think people from the club read forums, that’s a bit deluded. Where else do they get the sentiment from?
If you don’t think BF is at the very least a good place to vent, discuss, etc… Why be here?
You might be best to jump ship and find a club thats not substandard and will be around for quite a long time..If that what you think..

Yet we come here.
Why?

* tapping the sign *

Sure, but there is a bit of a delusion among some people here that Big Footy is considered more important than Facebook, or Instagram, or Twitter or Reddit, or any other online platform where nuffies can express themselves.

You might be best to jump ship and find a club thats not substandard and will be around for quite a long time..If that what you think..

And this attitude shits me even more: “supporters” who think there’s an endless supply of people who want a bar of this club, who can’t wait to bob with the whole “don’t let the door hit you” comment.

Excuse anyone for calling this team what it is and suggesting improvements. You don’t recall this club almost ceasing to exist?

And you think accepting amateurish shiit for 6 years is the way through?

Hey, don’t let anyone spoil the fun of watching a Fitzroy-stench team, Hans Moleman and a tumbleweed.

Sure, but there is a bit of a delusion among some people here that Big Footy is considered more important than Facebook, or Instagram, or Twitter or Reddit, or any other online platform where nuffies can express themselves.
I highly doubt anyone on here actually thinks that anything posted here will make a meaningful difference to club decision making. It’s an online community so we can be as negative or positive as we like as long as we don’t cross the line. Right now, negativity is pretty reasonable given where we are at, and that’s perfectly fine to me.

It is actually mildly entertaining when a “fan” of a club that got 4000 people to an interstate “home match” thinks it’s funny when someone says the team sucks. Hardly a position to be proud or arrogant.