All Divisions General NFNL Discussion Thread

I won’t disagree with your passion but the truth is from a very reliable source that the bulls are far from fine . The comment was made “ we are really struggling “ .. just hope we get answers soon
You had reliable sources last about a player walk out including Dennis you were certain about? yes Bundoora and a lot of clubs are trying to figure out finances if the season goes ahead. That’s 100% of clubs and the exact reason nothing has been decided.

Im with West and they are concerned about the season going ahead aswell in regards to money. So not sure the bulls are in any different position to most clubs

You had reliable sources last about a player walk out including Dennis you were certain about? yes Bundoora and a lot of clubs are trying to figure out finances if the season goes ahead. That’s 100% of clubs and the exact reason nothing has been decided.
And honestly I don’t regret saying that either .. you just said bundoora we’re fine now they are trying to figure out finances ? Look I’m not disagreeing with anything you said I’m just relaying what I’ve been told by a very reliable source within the club and let me say it’s not having a go at them at all ok

You don’t regret saying a rumour that was lies from a reliable source? Anyway ofcourse they are figuring out there finances like 100% of clubs right now.

I reckon reading the lines that crowds would be considered seperate to the number of players and volunteers required to operate game day. If so would 100 spectators that are separated from players officials and Clubrooms generate a minimum cost season? I reckon it would be close
100 spectators outside players & officials would not cut it at least at D1 level. With no income from bar/canteen or severely restricted how do you cover costs re. player salaries i.e. $50k for 9 games.

Call the thing off.

Who really knows at this stage. All that's been said on something somewhat relevant, is you can have 20 people at your place, but if you have 5 family members you can only have 15 visitors.
There are still many problems to be solved before play can commence and so many of those problems are still unknown.
However, if you call it a funeral you can have 50.

They’ve already said bars and canteen will not be allowed open if play resumes , so could be 5000 people there, yhey can’t spend a cent. And we are still forgetting the fact players can’t touch each other? How’s that work?

No canteens may be the satus quo now, but in all honesty that can and will most likely change.

Tell me the difference between serving food from a canteen or beer from a bar is any different from a cafes currently doing takeaway food and/or coffee. Same principles apply Re hygiene and social distancing.

No canteens may be the satus quo now, but in all honesty that can and will most likely change.

Tell me the difference between serving food from a canteen or beer from a bar is any different from a cafes currently doing takeaway food and/or coffee. Same principles apply Re hygiene and social distancing.
I’m agreeing with you, I’m not the one that has said it, AFL Vic has come out and said it. I’d love for footy to go ahead, but with all these rules and protocols to follow, I find it very hard!

100 spectators outside players & officials would not cut it at least at D1 level. With no income from bar/canteen or severely restricted how do you cover costs re. player salaries i.e. $50k for 9 games.

Call the thing off.
66 active cases in Victoria at present. AFL talking about potential crowds later in the year starting at 5,000 and ultimately 30,000 for the GF. Everything is moving very quickly and there seems to be a much more positive outlook heading into June.

to try and pay 50k that your club can’t forecast or budget is ultimately negligible and extremely poor management. Drop the ego and pay what you can afford and don’t live outside your means.

Regardless if the season ultimately goes ahead or not, right now it is way to early just to say call it off.

The NFNL almost need a President represtative similar to Dangerfield for the players.

The clubs need to outline their needs for a season. No point everyone keen and the league say “No worries lads, $20,000 league fees, no crowds and no social room access”

Would there be punishments for reserves forfeiting? I mean there are clubs who already struggle.

The NFNL almost need a President represtative similar to Dangerfield for the players.

The clubs need to outline their needs for a season. No point everyone keen and the league say “No worries lads, $20,000 league fees, no crowds and no social room access”

Would there be punishments for reserves forfeiting? I mean there are clubs who already struggle.
Everything is dependant on crowds. If the exemption for crowds gets up a season will take place it looks

Wouldnt read much into this league. 6 team comp that doesn’t have reserves.
So what's your reasoning there?
Wouldn't it be easier with only 6 teams and no reserves for them to get things organised and play.
As well there have only been 6 covid-19 cases up there in a huge area.

Wouldn't it be easier with only 6 teams and no reserves for them to get things organised and play.
That league is reportedly battling already in regards to numbers and are extremely vulnerable. Leagues that rely on players travelling from out of town on decent money always going to struggle with less revenue options.
Sounds like the 6 metro leagues are 50/50 on playing or calling it off with EDFL and 2 others wanting to play and the remaining 3 not wanting a season.

I’d guess most sides would have a lot of blokes driving up from Melbourne. I’m guessing those blokes aren’t keen for less pay and it’s just an impossible situation.

I know the vafa and edfl are under big pressure financially so are pushing for a season.

NFNL seem to be assessing the long term impacts sensibly, not just play at all costs.

I believe they’ll call off the senior season shortly and hopefully get the juniors running.

Hearing all Div 1 clubs were ask yesterday if they wanted play to resume and 8 out of 10 said NO!
I’ve been saying this for weeks 😆 and I’m a pessimist!

I commend the NFNL for their approach of club feedback because other leagues seem hell bent on getting a season going for $$$$$

What about player feedback?
If I have a contract & ‘want to play’ but my club doesn’t want too , So my league decides not too..
Is my contract torn up & im free to move on to another league to play?
Football to 80% of players is about more than money...Especially young blokes with little financial responsibilities...
No use saying one in all in , by asking individual clubs the question , that theory is tight out the door..

What about player feedback?
If I have a contract & ‘want to play’ but my club doesn’t want too , So my league decides not too..
Is my contract torn up & im free to move on to another league to play?
Football to 80% of players is about more than money...Especially young blokes with little financial responsibilities...
No use saying one in all in , by asking individual clubs the question , that theory is tight out the door..
I’m sure 90 % of players would want the season to go ahead absolutely. But paying players is only a minute part of why it’s hard for them to go ahead. Pretty sure it will be a blanket decision on all leagues. The biggest issues with all leagues is the safety protocols around starting and the council ticking it off. And ofcourse if they did start up they would need canteens, bars and social rooms to be open for them to Survive. I think clubs would also need 4-6 weeks notice at least before the season is to kick off to prepare. I presume that’s why the final decision will be made on June 5th one way or another

You watch the exodus of players flock to VAFA or EDFL