Another Rumour - Travis Cloke - Massive offer by Fremantle

Others might call Eddie a dictator
- Does not tolerate dissent
- Eliminates anyone who opposes him
- Does not listen to anyone

Anyone could have saved Collingwood. It was the big TV rights deal that saved all the clucb that were going broke (North, Melbourne, Hawthorn).

It was also the supporters who saved the club. Eddie has been very good at taking all the credit for himself.
Thank you for your input, don't let the door slam into you on your way out

Others might call Eddie a dictator
- Does not tolerate dissent
- Eliminates anyone who opposes him
- Does not listen to anyone

Anyone could have saved Collingwood. It was the big TV rights deal that saved all the clucb that were going broke (North, Melbourne, Hawthorn).

It was also the supporters who saved the club. Eddie has been very good at taking all the credit for himself.

Yep i would like to think that i was personally responsible for saving the club.

Actually you're wrong.

David Cloke went to Richmond FIRST, and offered Richmond the chance to take all 3 sons as a 'package', but Richmond didn't want to have the first two to get to Travis last.

Collingwood was happy to take on the other two to get to Travis obviously knowing in the back of their minds that they'd be rid of the first two before Travis came good anyway.

THIS is where we're being bitten in the ass now. We treated the first two like shit, so now the Clokes are going to try and bend us over when we need them most.

Personally, I hope David goes easy given that the arsehole that treated his older sons like shit is now gone.
I don't know what might have happened in secret meetings between David Cloke and Richmond/Collingwood and I don't understanding how you do.

I do know that if Collingwood had not stolen David Cloke from Richmond in the first place (by offering too much cash and sending Collingwood broke), Travis and the other Cloke boys would not have had the option of going to the Pies under father / son rule. This is my point.

The conclusion of which is "what goes around comes around". If you think it was OK for Collingwood to take David Cloke from Richmond, don't have a sook about losing Travis to Freo or GWS.

more pics of travis cloke's sister please.

fwif, i can't see him going west. if he was to leave it would be to sheedy and gws. but yeah, i reckon he'll stay regardless of the whole free agency situation.

I don't know what might have happened in secret meetings between David Cloke and Richmond/Collingwood and I don't understanding how you do.

I do know that if Collingwood had not stolen David Cloke from Richmond in the first place (by offering too much cash and sending Collingwood broke), Travis and the other Cloke boys would not have had the option of going to the Pies under father / son rule. This is my point.

The conclusion of which is "what goes around comes around". If you think it was OK for Collingwood to take David Cloke from Richmond, don't have a sook about losing Travis to Freo or GWS.

I don't think anyone is having a sook so much.

I'm pretty sure any reasonable poster is aware that players leave clubs. It happens, life goes on.

It just seemd that your post was saying our karma is a result of something that wasn't actually our fault, but if you're more referring to the poaching of Cloke Sr, then that's a bit different.

But as I said, you guys did actually have first option on the Cloke trio.

Actually you're wrong.

David Cloke went to Richmond FIRST, and offered Richmond the chance to take all 3 sons as a 'package', but Richmond didn't want to have the first two to get to Travis last.

Collingwood was happy to take on the other two to get to Travis obviously knowing in the back of their minds that they'd be rid of the first two before Travis came good anyway.

What a load of crap. Travis was 12 at the time Jason was playing TAC cup and supposedly being shopped around as part of a package.

The HUN does it again. Some great plagiarism, but hey how else would they have got their Uni degrees.

Who knows if the rumour is correct or not. What we do know is that with free agency large amounts of cash is going to be thrown at good players by mulitiple clubs. Clearly Freo will be one of these clubs. They had a lot of money put aside for Mitch Clark before he did a gotcha handshake on them. So they will have a war chest. Brisbane is another who will have cap room. Along with GWS & GC of course.

If a club is willing to offer that much more money ($400k per year in this case) then we just can't match it and that other club is bonkers, particularly if they have any good young talent as they will fall prey to other clubs. If we lose Cloke we will be one of those other clubs.

A big name player like Cloke leaving under free agency would be a domino effect for the competition as we will then chase another clubs star and then that club will have to chase someone. It will inflate the top line players wages and depress the middle & low player wages. But when you think about it that is modern day economics, we are moving away from socialist policies.

I was listening to Eddie's radio show this morning, and he made a joke about how he might find Cloke a Visy type ambassador job.

Just curious why we couldnt do something like that? Or more to the point how is it Judd can have something like that and no one else can. Im asking as a serious question btw...

I was listening to Eddie's radio show this morning, and he made a joke about how he might find Cloke a Visy type ambassador job.

Just curious why we couldnt do something like that? Or more to the point how is it Judd can have something like that and no one else can. Im asking as a serious question btw...

I agree its a good question , why is it ok for one but not the other?

What a load of crap. Travis was 12 at the time Jason was playing TAC cup and supposedly being shopped around as part of a package.

Id' say they would have been shooped around in 2001 which would put Travis at yeah 13 or 14.

Not sure how that's so unimaginable.

Collingwood (amongst other sides) have been watching 13 and 14 year old future prospects for years.

I think he would make a good ambassador for Emirates!

IMHO, football should be about the clubs, the players, and the coaches (in that order) not the Presidents.

As it is however, no-one makes more money out of the Collingwood football club than Eddie. I understand he make millions (yes millions) a year from his media jobs. IMO, he only has those jobs because he has used the CFC to leverage his own profile to his own advantage. Would he have those jobs if he had not used the club to increase his personal profile? Does the club see any of that cash? I don't think so but I would like to know the details and form a considered opinion. Perhaps the members could ask Eddie for a bit more disclosure.

DeeKaay - how old are you? You sound like you're about 13. Either that, or you have a very clouded memory. Eddie was a high-profile media personality (hosting the Footy Show and as a reporter) well before he became the Collingwood President.

The amount of work that he does for the club is huge, not to mention the amount of crap that he receives, sometimes from his own doing, but on behalf of the club nonetheless. And all of this is non-paid. In fact, I would suggest that he uses his media career to benefit the club, more than the reverse.

So to suggest that he only has his media jobs because he is the Collingwood President is obsurd. He has those jobs because he does his jobs well. You may not like him, but to be honest, I couldn't give a stuff if the Queen didn't like him... as long as he keeps our club financially successful, and gives the football department the tools to produce a competitive team year after year, then he's the best man for the job.

Why the obsession with our club anyway? Hasn't your club provided you with enough honourable losses to keep you busy for a while?

wouldnt it be great if Travis was wheeled out onto the Footy Show tonight and announces a 4 year deal with the Pies.

Instead it will be that slug Damian Barratt making up some more Pie trash.

Then again, I'm jamming with my mates and won't be watching.

IQing 360 tho.

:cool:

No more Judd/Visy deals are allowed. His curent Visy deal finishes this year.

Don't be surprised if Ed is shopping around for employment outside Collingwood via his contacts (not associated with Collingwood financially) for Travis to help subsidise his footy and ASA wages.

Ie. MMM offer Travis $100,000? per year to talk twice a week on a weekly show. Totally unrelated to Collingwood and outside Salary cap.

Don't be surprised if Ed is shopping around for employment outside Collingwood via his contacts (not associated with Collingwood financially) for Travis to help subsidise his footy and ASA wages.

Ie. MMM offer Travis $100,000? per year to talk twice a week on a weekly show. Totally unrelated to Collingwood and outside Salary cap.

What you're suggesting sounds remarkably similar to what Dale Thomas has going with NOVA.....

Ok, so the limiting factor is that the employer cannot be directly associated with the club, e.g. as a sponsor.

In that case, as you said, you'd think Eddie could sort something out.

Ok, so the limiting factor is that the employer cannot be directly associated with the club, e.g. as a sponsor.

In that case, as you said, you'd think Eddie could sort something out.
I'll employ him. As long as someone gives me the $300k per year to pay for his services!

I think he would make a good ambassador for Emirates!

DeeKaay - how old are you? You sound like you're about 13. Either that, or you have a very clouded memory. Eddie was a high-profile media personality (hosting the Footy Show and as a reporter) well before he became the Collingwood President.

The amount of work that he does for the club is huge, not to mention the amount of crap that he receives, sometimes from his own doing, but on behalf of the club nonetheless. And all of this is non-paid. In fact, I would suggest that he uses his media career to benefit the club, more than the reverse.

So to suggest that he only has his media jobs because he is the Collingwood President is obsurd. He has those jobs because he does his jobs well. You may not like him, but to be honest, I couldn't give a stuff if the Queen didn't like him... as long as he keeps our club financially successful, and gives the football department the tools to produce a competitive team year after year, then he's the best man for the job.

Why the obsession with our club anyway? Hasn't your club provided you with enough honourable losses to keep you busy for a while?

OneEyed35, You have raised a number of interesting points, most of which I agree with. I would be pleased to respond to the other points. It’s a bit off the thread of the Travis Cloke story but you did ask. You may like to start a new thread.

Regarding my age, I am over 50 so I can remember what Collingwood was like before Eddie.

Since Eddie has been in charge, a lot has changed at all the clubs. When Eddie was voted in by the Collingwood members nearly 20 years ago, in 1994, most of the Melbourne based clubs were in financial trouble. South Melbourne had already moved to Sydney years before. Richmond was saved by the “Save Our Skins” campaign in 1990 (thanks Kevin Sheedy, Tom Hafey and others). In 1996, Fitzroy and North Melbourne were looking at a merger with Fitzroy eventually being forced to move to Brisbane in 1996. Also in 1996, Melbourne and Hawthorn very nearly merged and probably would have if not for the efforts to stop it by Don Scott and Dermott Brereton. St Kilda and Footscray also had their financial troubles. Carlton had John Elliott and Dick Pratt to save it.

In the end, what saved ALL the clubs was the introduction of PayTV in Australia and the huge increase in revenue for the AFL from TV broadcast rights. Eddie just happened to be in the right place at the right time. All the clubs, including Collingwood made it to this point with the efforts of a small number of inspirational leaders (Eddie being one of them) and, more importantly, their members and supporters. Out of all the people involved at all the clubs, Eddie is the only one who perpetuates the myth that he alone saved his club. It’s just propaganda.

Regarding Eddie’s work effort, I agree he loves the club and puts in a massive effort. So he should - he’s the President. It’s privilege and you need to keep earning it.

Every President, player, official and staff member at every club does the same – there’s nothing special about Eddie. The other Presidents quietly get on with the job of dealing with the administration, finding sponsors and helping their clubs in other ways.

What I have observed during Eddie’s reign is a destructive change in the culture of the club and the impact this has had on my family and friends who are Collingwood supporters. I speak for them because they are too afraid to speak for themselves. They want change but they don’t want to get a whack from Eddie in the process. “You’re just one of the haters” would be a typical response from Eddie to any fair criticism.

The most destructive change to the Collingwood culture is the celebration of the “It’s us versus them” slogan. It is aggressive, finger pointing and divisive. It invites conflict. No other club does this. It is a classic propaganda technique used in warfare for centuries and is unhealthy. A psychologist I know says it appeals to the “victim” in supporters and forces them to be on guard at all times. For many supporters (in my experience, most supporters), it’s not fun anymore to barrack for Collingwood. The Collingwood supporters I know do not want to be victims, they just want to enjoy their footy. They love Collingwood as much as anyone and could never considering leaving - and they want their club back. This can only happen when Eddie steps down. Eventually he will, but how long do they have to wait?

The problem is, there are so many conflicts of interest between Eddie’s business interests and his Club Presidency it is impossible for anyone to unravel them and, in my opinion, impossible for Eddie to see them. Someone needs to tap Eddie on the shoulder and say, ”Thanks mate, you’ve done a great job, but it’s time to go”.

Eddie was president for a premiership.. and will be president for at least one more deekaay.

I'd troll ur president... if i knew who that was :(

OneEyed35, You have raised a number of interesting points, most of which I agree with. I would be pleased to respond to the other points. It’s a bit off the thread of the Travis Cloke story but you did ask. You may like to start a new thread.

Regarding my age, I am over 50 so I can remember what Collingwood was like before Eddie.

Since Eddie has been in charge, a lot has changed at all the clubs. When Eddie was voted in by the Collingwood members nearly 20 years ago, in 1994, most of the Melbourne based clubs were in financial trouble. South Melbourne had already moved to Sydney years before. Richmond was saved by the “Save Our Skins” campaign in 1990 (thanks Kevin Sheedy, Tom Hafey and others). In 1996, Fitzroy and North Melbourne were looking at a merger with Fitzroy eventually being forced to move to Brisbane in 1996. Also in 1996, Melbourne and Hawthorn very nearly merged and probably would have if not for the efforts to stop it by Don Scott and Dermott Brereton. St Kilda and Footscray also had their financial troubles. Carlton had John Elliott and Dick Pratt to save it.

In the end, what saved ALL the clubs was the introduction of PayTV in Australia and the huge increase in revenue for the AFL from TV broadcast rights. Eddie just happened to be in the right place at the right time. All the clubs, including Collingwood made it to this point with the efforts of a small number of inspirational leaders (Eddie being one of them) and, more importantly, their members and supporters. Out of all the people involved at all the clubs, Eddie is the only one who perpetuates the myth that he alone saved his club. It’s just propaganda.

Regarding Eddie’s work effort, I agree he loves the club and puts in a massive effort. So he should - he’s the President. It’s privilege and you need to keep earning it.

Every President, player, official and staff member at every club does the same – there’s nothing special about Eddie. The other Presidents quietly get on with the job of dealing with the administration, finding sponsors and helping their clubs in other ways.

What I have observed during Eddie’s reign is a destructive change in the culture of the club and the impact this has had on my family and friends who are Collingwood supporters. I speak for them because they are too afraid to speak for themselves. They want change but they don’t want to get a whack from Eddie in the process. “You’re just one of the haters” would be a typical response from Eddie to any fair criticism.

The most destructive change to the Collingwood culture is the celebration of the “It’s us versus them” slogan. It is aggressive, finger pointing and divisive. It invites conflict. No other club does this. It is a classic propaganda technique used in warfare for centuries and is unhealthy. A psychologist I know says it appeals to the “victim” in supporters and forces them to be on guard at all times. For many supporters (in my experience, most supporters), it’s not fun anymore to barrack for Collingwood. The Collingwood supporters I know do not want to be victims, they just want to enjoy their footy. They love Collingwood as much as anyone and could never considering leaving - and they want their club back. This can only happen when Eddie steps down. Eventually he will, but how long do they have to wait?

The problem is, there are so many conflicts of interest between Eddie’s business interests and his Club Presidency it is impossible for anyone to unravel them and, in my opinion, impossible for Eddie to see them. Someone needs to tap Eddie on the shoulder and say, ”Thanks mate, you’ve done a great job, but it’s time to go”.

Well, your memory is definitely letting you down - Eddie became president in 1998, not 1994.

I find it very hard to believe that any Collingwood supporter would want to go back to the way it was before Eddie stepped in. We were an absolute rabble, both on field and off field.

So, as an actual Collingwood support and member, not just the friend of a friend's cousin's butcher, I can tell you that I want Eddie to remain our President.

I am still a little concerned about the fact that you seem more interested in the things happening at our club than your own. Are you sure you don't harbour some secret love for the Pies? Come on... admit it.

Really?

I speak for them because they are too afraid to speak for themselves. They want change but they don’t want to get a whack from Eddie in the process.

I can see them cowering in the cupboard, Eddie marauding around the kitchen in his jackboots.
You could enter stage left and offer them a choice, take the red pill and live like this forever, or take the blue pill and see Eddie for what he really is....

You need to see your psychologist friend.

IF you don't like Eddie just say so.
No-one else seems to find it necessary to create a fantasy dystopia to justify their dislike.

ps. What are the odds Robbo will pick u on this?