Autopsy Autopsy vs WCE

I'm not tripping, Ferbs. Anyone else with the array of football talent we have would absolutely pants that West Coast side. We had to come back and take advantage of their butchered opportunities to do so. There's a reason the atmosphere in here wasn't joyful the way it was after the Melbourne loss, and that's because that result yesterday illuminated our fragility more than our strengths.

Are you going to tell me you think, off the back of yesterday, that steady linear growth will occur in this group until we're at the contending stage? We've been hearing 'hope for the future' bullshit since 2021. Yes, there are significant reasons for that, but at some point you stop biting on the bait, especially when the game played out like.... whatever that was.

Bank the win, of course, but concerns were not allayed in the slightest by proceedings yesterday
I'm of a similar mind.

I want to believe, and there are signs there, we have been better in games, and our best is at the level we need it to be if we want to contend (of course it is not often enough). When the wins don't come, we try and hold on to 'trust the process, we are in games for longer, etc'. I'm not sure if I hold on to these because of trust or hope.

If we do trust/hope in the process, yesterday should have been a pay off. Yes, we got the win, but there were more worrying signs than good signs, undermining any trust in process. Parking the bus (is that the right strategy), relying on WC outs and inaccuracy, etc did not paint a pretty picture. It was fantastic that Parker and the younger players were keys to the comeback, and even Cam kicking a goal when it mattered. But one good quarter (and three quarters of sh1te) still casts doubts over whether that process is really working.

It's a very similar feeling to the Richmond game. It's a relief we won, and I'll take it, but the bad bits (and a small wining margin) really make we wonder how much the process is working.

Anyone know the average age of the two teams?

Please and thank you
Average Attributes​
North MelbourneAttributeWest Coast
186.2cmHeight189.5cm
83.8kgWeight86.3kg
25yr 1mthAge24yr 8mth
100.2Games80.8
Total Players By Games​
North MelbourneGamesWest Coast
8Less than 5012
650 to 992
4100 to 1495
1150 to 2003
4200 or more1

Last piss and moan from me but I think it’s fair to say we all expected to be further ahead than we are. We’ve been damn patient, with the previous administrations (plural) and now with Clarko and co. We’ve fallen over the line against both Richmond and West Coast and while you could argue that on the other hand maybe we a deserved a win against the Dons, Power or Lions none of those games were particularly positive either (Port game was almost unwatchable from both sides).

Another year like this and the previous 10 just can’t be tolerated by those in charge. It certainly won’t be by those of us that pay the bills.

How did you get tickets to the game? I tried to enquire earlier in the year and was told the only way to guarantee them was to buy the WA membership, which for a family wasn't cheap, given I already pay for the family Social Club membership in Victoria. Was just hoping to buy tickets for one of the two games
I did the ~$170 WA membership upgrade as I decided to come quite late in the piece and this was the only way I could guarantee getting into the Bunbury game.

Thinking ahead to next year I'd probably try for GA tickets when they get released as a first step - and then if that did not come off I'd have the fallback of getting the WA member upgrade again. The club were still selling the WA upgrades (inclusive of Bunbury match entry) long after GA tickets for yesterday's game had sold out.

Great corner of the country, and huge choice of microbreweries and tap houses, eagle bay just down the road from you is a ripper.
Love it - will give Eagle Bay a crack tomorrow. Drove past the sign to it tonight after a walk around the Cape Naturaliste trails (which were stunning).

I always look for the positives, no point repeating the negatives as they are pretty obvious and I will leave them to the coaches to digest.

Positves:

Xerri - yet another proof that we have at worst a top 3 ruck in the comp. I still pinch myself that we've got him, when he didn't look like it for years
The midfield finally clicked into gear in the last 15 minutes - we can hope that it could be the penny dropping type of moment.
Character to come back and win after so many players had a dirty day - we haven't done this much if at all for years
McKercher - last few weeks he's been a different player
FOS - best game so far and yet another proof we've got a player there
Zurhaar - much maligned, but if he wasn't playing yesterday or vs Richmond, we don't win
Curtis - oozes class. Even when rusty and playing on quarter rat power
As much as I was sad and angry when we missed out on Reid in those circumstances - I don't think I could stand that brat playing for us. Is a bogan of the highest order who thinks his shit doesn't stink. If he's traded anywhere, it's got to be Essendon. Would fit right in
Pick 1 is the most overrated thing in footy imo. There was a good run between 2000-2006 where everyone played at least 250 games and had careers ranging from good to great.
But before and after that, there have more underwhelming careers than not. Some of the busts have excuses around injury or mental health, but it seems that it adds an extra layer of expectation most of the lads can't handle.

Harley plays like he has the weight of the world on his shoulders and has to be the man every week. He'll get to 200 games on natural ability, but I doubt he fulfills his potential. Being pick 1 is a curse not all can handle.

A very interesting analysis. It makes clear some of the changes Clarko is making to the way the team plays. When the pressure dropped off, it worked very well.
If the gameplan only flourishes under no pressure, we’re downright ****ed.

I disagree with this. I get where you and alot of other people are coming from tho.

But ... so many times it's when people are sick of being patient with a situation that they most need to be patient with the situation.

Its the difference between losing composure and not losing composure ... and we've seen how shit that is onfield for years.

I know people hate hearing this but we are in the first year of Clarkson coaching us with no bullshit on the sidelines. The very thing he said we needed when he came back to the club.

Since he's signed we've had JHF leave, TT situation, and worst of all he's had the racism scandal hanging over his head. Like it or not he would not have been able to give coaching his full attention under those circumstances. Especially with the details of Cyril saying he'd be interested in working with him coming out. I'll bet no one on here could have dealt with that and stayed solely focused on coaching.

All that aside this could be the first year since LDU was drafted that he's had the same coach two full seasons in a row. Hasn't happened yet tho. It would be the second time for Larkey, Zurhaar and JY. The first time was their first two seasons. We haven't had a stable, normal season since Maj tried to kill himself. The AFL has ****ed us at every opportunity.

That's where we are at. Every before 2023 was of our own making but since then its been outside stuff that has hurt us. Its like the universe is doing everything it can to **** us up.

I get its frustrating but this is the first year since 2018 that things haven't been completely ****ed in multiple ways and we're already performing better that we have at the midway point of any season since 2019. The first game after the bye and we already have more premiership points than any season since 2021 and we look like improving on that. If we hadn't copped that stupid suspension on Curtis its very likely we'd already have them.

Even yesterday was our best comeback win since 2008. And a big part of it was the efforts of a bunch of 20 year olds.
100% stability is important.
Don’t discount any of that.

This group is just playing with fire with its form and overall performance.

There is no doubt there has been small wins so far.
Our percentage for one is an indicator of that.
The draw against Brisbane and taking it to the Pies for a half is something to hold onto.

But **** me, we’re also 3 kicks away from having 1 win for the season and being on a 10 week loss streak again. We’re sitting on a knife’s edge re results.

Thankfully we’ve got 14 points banked away and taken care of business when expected to.

The next 4 weeks will give us a fair idea of where we’re at.
Freo and Carlton have been inconsistent so far but considering how we took it up to Brisbane and Collingwood, we should give both these sides a crack.
Hawks and Dogs to follow is even tougher.

Our percentage is 80.
In a months time if it remains above 80, then that speaks volumes that we’re on the right track.

Yesterday’s game was the first time since Round 5 2008 against Collingwood that North won a game after being 3 goals or more down during the last quarter. Josh Fraser put Collingwood 21 points in front 11 minutes into the last quarter, we ran over the top of them. Perhaps better remembered for one of our goals coming from a wayward centre bounce that triggered the bounce recall rule.

Near miss: Round 3 2014 vs Port (we were 16 points down early in the last).
That's a long time ago. I think the bounce went straight to Simmo that day? Little did i know that it'll be 17 years before we comeback again like that.

It was a beautiful bounce. Probably the greatest bounce in VFL/AFL history. You can't make that stuff up. The bounce was the best bounce ever.

Adam Simpson (2008)

Autopsy Autopsy vs WCE