Review Cats into ANOTHER PRELIM (14 of 18) after beating Lions by 38 points

Still a disadvantage to the attacking team, a guaranteed set shot in the goal square is always better than a kick inside 50.

If the rule is play the free where the ball is, players can give away legitimate free kicks to gain an advantage which will just be abused from players at key moments that umpires have to pay even if they know it's against the spirit of the game.
As the rule currently is, it only falls down when there is umpire error.

As far as rules go you'd always rather it be an issue of umpire error than deliberate abuse of loopholes by players. Take the rushed behind rule, what's worse, Hawthorn rushing 12 behinds in a game or the risk that once or twice a year a side gets a dodgy rushed behind free kick that maybe wasn't there?

Sorry, I'm an umpire.
Yeah I can see your point and appreciate your perspective on the potential for professional frees. But I don't think that is as big a problem as the inequity in the penalty that is applied for a free that occurs at one end or the other to where the ball is.

I think the rule probably made sense at a time when there was no advantage rule, because as you say there is potential to disadvantage an attacking side by using a foul forward of the ball. But there'd be no such issue if the advantage rule was used to ensure that an attacking side isn't disadvantaged by a free kick for.

It is stated on another site that Rayner stood on O'Connor's toe before the incident. If so he is a dog.

The game is useless if they are going to pay frees of that nature that far away from the ball. The AFL must make a statement. The free was universally criticised.
From what I remember he was the main Lion cheating on his partner in Vegas last year? He doesn't seem to make great choices on or off the field. Funny though a cousin of mine when to a Lions function a few years back and Rayner was on stage absolutely raving about the Cats, how good we are and how much he has always loved Hawkins and Selwood. Apparently the Lions supporters were getting really annoyed at his Geelong admiration.

In a way, I am not surprised then that Rayner was extra stupid against us with diving twice and then mocking the Geelong crowd when he scored in the 3rd qtr. He clearly is in awe of the Cats and was trying not to be swallowed up by us. Ironically, he got the Geelong crowd up and about in a way I literally have never heard before which did absolutely rattle some of the Lions.

I loved hearing the Geelong crowd! Well done to everyone there!

You know the umpiring is crazy when Nathan Buckley is saying he's angry for Geelong, Garry Lyon who was very pro-Brisbane pre-game is on our side, and even that flog Jordan Lewis was making pro-Geelong comments at half time. Crazy.

Anyway I love when ours boys go out there and pick on the Lions in a final. It will never get old.

Umpires shouldn't give free kicks when players flop period. And if they are being coached too their coach should be sacked. It's like nrl players lying down when they are fine to get the bunker involved. It's a rort.
Totally agree, Raynor spent three quarters running backwards to make contact with O'Connor
  • he was looing for contact, and there was an obvious tactic from the start
  • happy if the afl pay pay every contact to the back of every player

- how can the afl umpires correctly govern a game where one umpire spent a majority of the game looking at 2 players, seriously the afl is so weak

This is a horrible take.

Blitz was a big part of why we were able to dominate clearances. I thought he was significantly more impactful than Fort and one of the keys to our win.
Anyone less than enamoured with Blicavs performance last night has zero feel for the game. It went beyond the stats sheet but 20 disposals, 6 clearances, 5 tackles, 9 score involvements ticked off those boxes. He used the ball well and made smart decisions all night. Defensive work was great. Blocked up their space all night. Then was a weapon when we had the ball. I'm not sure what else you'd want from a mobile ruckman.

From what I remember he was the main Lion cheating on his partner in Vegas last year? He doesn't seem to make great choices on or off the field. Funny though a cousin of mine when to a Lions function a few years back and Rayner was on stage absolutely raving about the Cats, how good we are and how much he has always loved Hawkins and Selwood. Apparently the Lions supporters were getting really annoyed at his Geelong admiration.

In a way, I am not surprised then that Rayner was extra stupid against us with diving twice and then mocking the Geelong crowd when he scored in the 3rd qtr. He clearly is in awe of the Cats and was trying not to be swallowed up by us. Ironically, he got the Geelong crowd up and about in a way I literally have never heard before which did absolutely rattle some of the Lions.

I loved hearing the Geelong crowd! Well done to everyone there!

You know the umpiring is crazy when Nathan Buckley is saying he's angry for Geelong, Garry Lyon who was very pro-Brisbane pre-game is on our side, and even that flog Jordan Lewis was making pro-Geelong comments at half time. Crazy.

Anyway I love when ours boys go out there and pick on the Lions in a final. It will never get old.
After the Rayner goals, the crowd was about as noisy and antsy as I’ve ever heard a Geelong crowd. We are usually much too nice to get feral. It was good fun. Very pantomime villain stuff!

I get what you mean but very bad take. The free kick should always be at the place of greatest advantage, either where the ball is or where the free kick occurred. Otherwise, say there's a quick break and you have some defender outnumbered in the goalsquare...you just grab an opponent's jumper and force a free kick where the ball is 60 metres out from goal rather than ten metres out where the infringement took place. This would actually disadvantage the attacking team.

The rule is fine, the umpiring was poor in this instance and outside the spirit of the game. The key thing is once you pay something you have to be consistent in your application, and with something like the Raynor dive it encourages similar poor behaviour.

Perhaps the position of the free kick could be based on which team had possession of the ball. So in this case Stengle would have to hand the ball to the nearest opposition player. Or in your scenario pay the free kick at the position of the offence.

I felt the issue with Scratcher is that he is now confused as to how to insert himself physically.

He copped a week for a non event, yet De Goey and Keane were fined from worse offences
The issue with this stupid AFL and even more stupid Dill is the woke game is too confusing for players

Time for Andy Dill to go

There's no better way to enjoy a weekend than this. It's sunny outside, I've got my cup of coffee, and reading post-game analysis knowing Geelong's already into the prelim.

Agree, enjoyed two replays already, much calmer. . Reward for all those days knee deep supporting, sweating on a top four finish, watching percentage and barracking for other teams. Even Brisbane will be relieved at a second chance, Raynor practicing flopping.on a trampoline as we speak.

I had a very busy night with the QF and my daughters basketball prelim final (they lost, season over :( ), so only now really sitting down and watching the game properly, so I won't comment much about the game other than how ****ing good is our club!?
Spoiled some would say, rewarded for living through some very frustrating years some of the old timers might add, regardless this is the best run club in the comp and has been for close to 25 years now.
With younger guys running around dominating like Smith, Miers, Stengle, Close, Holmes, Dempsey, COS, Humphries, Neale etc, we are set for continued sustained success.
**** I love this club.

The problem isn’t that rule. The problem is that O’Connor made unnecessary contact, Rayner flopped and the ump gave it.
The problem is not the “unnecessary contact” as you put it.

Contact like that happens hundreds of times a game. Rayner and O’Connor contacted each other plenty of other times throughout the game.

The problem is that the contact clearly, objectively and inarguably did not warrant a free kick, let alone a free kick in the goalsquare 120m off the ball that completely changed the momentum of the game.

Umpiring requires, perhaps above all else, a modicum of common sense. And umpire #33 failed dismally on that score last night, which is why he should not be trusted with umpiring another final.

After the Rayner goals, the crowd was about as noisy and antsy as I’ve ever heard a Geelong crowd. We are usually much too nice to get feral. It was good fun. Very pantomime villain stuff!

Was pretty loud even before the Rayner carry-on.

Just got even better after that.

There were alot of Geelong fans making up that 86k.

Agreed even though Neale got absolutely pantsed he never put his head down and kept trying.

He was eventually rewarded and didn't he love it.

Hawkins had a chat with him earlier in the year and gave him some advice about how you just need to keep competing and eventually you will get your moment and when you do make sure you take it.(probably some of the same advice Moons gave Hawkins in the 2011 GF before Tommy went nuts.
Shannon has always been a confidence player, we have seen him blossom this year as his confidence rose. I think that last night he was down a bit after his ridiculous suspension and wasn't sure how hard he should go. In the last q, he actually used his huge body to push Andrews around a couple of times and it paid off, with 1 goal 1 (which he would normally kick). Let's see how he goes next game!

I wonder if Dad Terry would of ripped his Son a new one last night after that performance?

Umpire 33 is Brent Wallace.

He might have enjoyed it actually. Terry was sitting in the coaches box for the Tigers when we demolished them by 157 points back in '07.

I had a very busy night with the QF and my daughters basketball prelim final (they lost, season over :( ), so only now really sitting down and watching the game properly, so I won't comment much about the game other than how ****ing good is our club!?
Spoiled some would say, rewarded for living through some very frustrating years some of the old timers might add, regardless this is the best run club in the comp and has been for close to 25 years now.
With younger guys running around dominating like Smith, Miers, Stengle, Close, Holmes, Dempsey, COS, Humphries, Neale etc, we are set for continued sustained success.
**** I love this club.
Verified old timer here.

My earliest Geelong memory is finishing on top of the ladder in 1980 and then losing the prelim to Collingwood by less than a kick… and then losing the 1981 prelim to the same club by a similar margin. 😢

The rest of the 80s sucked. Average teams with a merry-go-round of coaches (Devine, Haley, etc) who couldn’t seem to get us on track.

Then the ‘89-‘97 era was thrilling - who wouldn’t want to go to the footy every week when Gaz Snr is doing what he did - but ultimately heartbreaking. I remember sitting in the stands in ‘95 off a total destroyation of Essendon the week before, hoping against hope that 4th time would be a charm… and then realising early in the first after seeing Buddha trying to whack someone for the 2nd or 3rd time in a few minutes that that great Carlton team were going to do a number on us. 😢

Then things were a bit lean again from ‘98-‘03…

But my goodness hasn’t it been a privilege since then? We’ve had more than two decades now of sustained excellence.

My favourite ever moment at the footy is still just after half time in the 2007 GF, when Moons marked near the boundary line almost 50 out at the city end. I was directly behind that kick and watched it sail through from the perfect angle… and that was the moment I knew I was about to see my first ever flag. Of course you could say we had it won before then, but I didn’t let myself believe it until that moment.

So lucky, so grateful.

But not in the least bit ready for it to be over yet… there’s a 2025 flag to be won! Let’s go Cats!!

Sounded great on TV
Collingwood esque!

Thought you were going to tear the joint apart

Quiz time...

- What do Charlie Cameron & Jhye Clark have in common?

Both players finished the qualifying final with only 1 kick... Clark from 2% TOG and Cameron 78%
By that reasoning Clark would’ve ended up with D50. That should silence the pre game unbelievers..

Congrats Cats, really dug in to play a commanding game there.

I think there was a few of our previous squads that would have gone to shit after the late Q2 debacle.

We continued to dig in and play a strong, mature game.

If we can continue this approach throughout the finals, I genuinely believe we can be premiers.

But I'm not about to get too excited or cocky, there is still work to be done. Hopefully enjoyable work!

Review Cats into ANOTHER PRELIM (14 of 18) after beating Lions by 38 points