Changes for Brisbane

• Thread starter Thread starter toenail11

Drum to be dropped?? are you serious?? He was one of only a few Dockers players to actually put on a shepard to help out a team mate. Crowley made him look bad when he tried to gather his handball with one hand which resulted in a goal.

I thought Drummy did pretty well on Westhoff. Our midfielders didn't make it any easier for him either.

I'm with you JTD. My immediate reaction from watching game live was Drum had been good but after reading all the comments here I watched the replay (forced myself) to see why others hadn't rated his game I still don't see it. Sure he gave Westhoff a bit of space but his closing and spoiling is good. He works hard in the clinches and when he does have it he's pretty cool, calm collected and generally uses it ok. Westhoff barely sighted it in the first 3 quarters and when he did it seemed another players was trailing him. A lot worse players than Drum out there.

Im a bit bewildered that Josh Head still hasnt been given a game. I was surprised with his selection but hes been great in the WAFL. Got a great left foot on him and would provide alot more then the likes of Duffield, Thornton etc.

Out:
McManus, Schammer, Farmer, Peake, Black

In:
Murphy, Bell, Brock O'Brien, Ryley Dunn, Warnock

McManus goes out of the team and thus Matthew Pavlich is pushed into the midfield permanently for this game so we can get more drive out of the midfield. This leaves a vacancy in the forward line so Chris Tarrant will push up to CHF and Ryan Murphy will play FF.

Bring Warnock in for Farmer. This will allow us to use Kepler Bradley more in attack as well as Aaron Sandilands.

Peter Bell comes in as a straight swap for Byron Schammer.

Brett Peake and Heath Black are ommitted and in come Brock'Obrien and Ryley Dunn. Dunn has not been in blistering form for East Fremantle but whilst he's fit and getting a game lets see if he can string 4-5 AFL games together in a row and see if he's worth keeping next year.

Dunn would have to come off the rookie list.
Andrew Browne also played well for Claremont so a last roll of the dice for him isn't out of the question.Brock needs to nbe trained up as a tagger and it wouldn't hurt to play Murphy at CHB.
Take a chance and make all of the changes we have nothing to lose.

Anyone who gets beaten by Westhoff should be dropped for a week.

I seem to remember Westhoff kicking 3-4 on Darren Glass last year, he does actually have some talent. It was really only in the last quarter that Westhoff took Drum to the cleaners, possibly due to superior match fitness and height/reach (Westhoff is 199cm). Drum is the future, he would be one of the last people I'd drop. Get rid of the real passengers first.

Dunn would have to come off the rookie list.
Andrew Browne also played well for Claremont so a last roll of the dice for him isn't out of the question.Brock needs to nbe trained up as a tagger and it wouldn't hurt to play Murphy at CHB.
Take a chance and make all of the changes we have nothing to lose.

For those hammering Brock he has been still struggling a little with a groin problem, so half the reason he spent alot of the time on bench was the conditions they had to play in. Not ideal for those carrying a groin injury.

Yeah browne carved with 26 touches amongst other things. At the end of the day what have we got to lose by giving him a crack, he will throw everything he has at it to save his career, could suprise us all

I'd be surprised if Browne could go a month without having another Hamstring problem. I know it's asking alot, but it would be nice to see

Josh Head will finally get his chance this week. Harvey watched the South versus Easts derby and Heath Black said this morning he was very likely to play this week against Brisbane. Foster was also good in that game but I am still worried about his small frame getting smashed and doing his back in at AFL level.

I would like to see Thornton out for Head and the idea of leaving Pavlich in the middle for the entire game (helps with his goal kicking yips as well) by bringing in either Murphy or Kiwi sounds reasonable as well.

I don't know why anyone would be suprised by Browne playing good footy. He's been great whenever he manages to get on the park. I can understand being suprised that he made it out on the park in the first place. You almost feel that if he played 3 quarters without one of his legs falling off that a giant piece of space debris would land on his head in the 3/4 time huddle.

I seem to remember Westhoff kicking 3-4 on Darren Glass last year, he does actually have some talent. It was really only in the last quarter that Westhoff took Drum to the cleaners, possibly due to superior match fitness and height/reach (Westhoff is 199cm). Drum is the future, he would be one of the last people I'd drop. Get rid of the real passengers first.

Exactly

I've read all the posts, the tea leaves, the gum leaves, and the stars and consulted the taro reader down at the markets, and based on all the above, I think we should forfeit. We have no chance of winning and so it stops anyone getting injured.

Alternatively, just pick all the really young guys and take them to Sea World for the recovery session because they would really enjoy that.

Out - Seaworld
In - Dreamworld

Look I know Seaworld has been great over an extended period. There is certainly a lot of sentimental value there. Unfortunately, times have changed. Dreamworld is a far more versatile and more suited to youth orientated GC recovery sessions. The option to switch between Dreamworld and White Water World with a simple band on the wrist is invaluable...

I think people are being overly harsh on Thornton. He is NO worse in my eyes than Johnson.

Schammer has to go, he just never stays on his feet. That is one of the main rules in football.

OUT: Schammer + Duffield (He is just not made for AFL)
IN: Bell + Foster/Obrian/?

As for dumping Drum, that is stupid.

I think people are being overly harsh on Thornton. He is NO worse in my eyes than Johnson.

First sentence. Moron... Johnson has skill, real peace, beautiful kick, marking ability, composure, natural ability... THornton well he has a stupid haircut i guess that is a talent to put off the player kicking for goal

Second one, yes getting rid of drum would be possibly the dumbest thing we could do at this stage of fremantles existence. The only young defender showing improvement/talent and people want him dropped

Schammer has to go, he just never stays on his feet. That is one of the main rules in football.

OUT: Schammer + Duffield (He is just not made for AFL)
IN: Bell + Foster/Obrian/?

I actually agree there Tarquin on Johnson, he is only an average player but seems to get the superstar tag (in our team anyway).Think he is a little over rated, just like Peake was or still is by some people.

Schammer well, he can find the football no problems but like you say he too easily goes to ground. He is ridiculous how similar he is too mcmanus, playing style anyway.

B:
Dean Solomon, Antoni Grover, Michael Johnson
HB: David Mundy, Luke McPharlin, Marcus Drum
C: Garrick Ibbotson, Peter Bell, Brett Peake
HF: Rhys Palmer, Chris Tarrant, Kepler Bradley
F: Jeff Farmer, Matthew Pavlich, Chris Mayne
Foll: Aaron Sandilands, Ryan Crowley, Josh Carr
I/C (from): Mark Johnson, Scott Thornton, Heath Black, Byron Schammer, Josh Head, Shaun McManus, Robert Warnock

In: Ma. Johnson, Bell, Head, Warnock
Out: Paul Duffield

B:
I/C (from): Mark Johnson, Scott Thornton, Heath Black, Byron Schammer, Josh Head, Shaun McManus, Robert Warnock

Interesting.....mmm..... me better not say anything more....
fair dinkum freo.

B:

Holy crap... :mad:

Where is Andrew Foster?????????????????? :mad: :mad: :mad:

From that list of interchange players, I'd go see ya later to McManus, Mark Johnson and Thornton.

But where the feck is the player who racked 'em up on the weekend, kicked goals, set them up, won clearances???

Fossie better be in the team next week or I'll be spewing. :mad:

Holy crap... :mad:

Where is Andrew Foster?????????????????? :mad: :mad: :mad:

From that list of interchange players, I'd go see ya later to McManus, Mark Johnson and Thornton.

So in saying that the interchange will be McManus, Thornton, Mark Johnson and Schammer :)