Changes For Next Week

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

I guess this would explain why King was only average:
At half-time, the Tigers were down two men and Jake King was carrying such a bad cork he should not have got back on the ground.

Yet he got out there and played the role asked of him so that others wouldn't have to sacrifice their roles. I know you don't like King as a player Barnzy but sometimes you just have to put personal bias aside and look at the role a player plays. King is never going to win a B&F or be considered amongst the elite of the competition but like every good side he will be a player that you can count on to give everything he has and play the role required.

Yes.

Live and then on replay as I recorded it on IQ.
Live at the ground?

Okay. Who was worse on our team?
Nahas was far worse. Apart from his mark and goal Astbury had less impact. Collins was awful. I'm no King fan but if you can't see what he brings to the team you've got blinkers on. Who would you 'get games into'? Fact is there's no alternative at the moment. Either you replace him with a guy like Polo who won't be there either and has none of King's good qualities or a kid who isn't ready yet.

Banging on about bad decision-making and skill errors is a cop-out without supporting evidence. besides, many of our players butchered the ball and made poor decisions. Was it King's poor decision-making that saw Martin miss him by 20 metres and kick the ball out of bounds when King was 50 metres in the clear? Was it King's fault Webberley called for a long kick down the line then left King to try to contest against McPhee and another Docker in the air? Or countless players bomb it long straight to McPhee? Whose poor decision-making penalises King for breathing on an opponent while allowing them to rip his head off and bury him in the turf?

King's giving good value as a defensive forward, and has reduced the output of a few attacking half-backs recently. He has his limitations but he is playing the way the coach wants. He'll be replaced in time but meanwhile he is giving his teammates more than any available alternative can.

Live at the ground?

Yes.

Nahas was far worse. Apart from his mark and goal Astbury had less impact. Collins was awful. I'm no King fan but if you can't see what he brings to the team you've got blinkers on. Who would you 'get games into'? Fact is there's no alternative at the moment. Either you replace him with a guy like Polo who won't be there either and has none of King's good qualities or a kid who isn't ready yet.

King brings 100% effort but not much else. As I said he's a bit player/role player who is easily upgraded and won't be around over the next few years as we improve and challenge. Astbury wasn't bad, just okay but he's a kid yet to play 15 games so he can be excused. Already stated I want Nahas dropped, he was poor. Collins had a poor first half but lifted in the 2nd and kicked 2 important goals. So we have deducted he was in the 2 worst players for us excluding the injured players.

Banging on about bad decision-making and skill errors is a cop-out without supporting evidence. besides, many of our players butchered the ball and made poor decisions. Was it King's poor decision-making that saw Martin miss him by 20 metres and kick the ball out of bounds when King was 50 metres in the clear? Was it King's fault Webberley called for a long kick down the line then left King to try to contest against McPhee and another Docker in the air? Or countless players bomb it long straight to McPhee? Whose poor decision-making penalises King for breathing on an opponent while allowing them to rip his head off and bury him in the turf?

Again, you're targeting kids in the first year of their career. King has been around for a few years now, has played around 50 games and still has the same flaws. Besides, Martin and Webberly were both more
valuable on then night than him.

King's giving good value as a defensive forward, and has reduced the output of a few attacking half-backs recently. He has his limitations but he is playing the way the coach wants. He'll be replaced in time but meanwhile he is giving his teammates more than any available alternative can.

Agreed. He will be replaced in time. Sick of talking about him to be honest but it amuses me how suddenly people love to stick up for these duds. I 100% gurantee you if we lost everyone would be calling for his head. Since we won it glossed over his poor performance and everyone is happy.

So we have deducted he was in the 2 worst players for us excluding the injured players.
No, you have. I said he was better than Nahas, Collins and Astbury. And has been pointed out, King was one of the injured players too.

Again, you're targeting kids in the first year of their career.
There's only one person targeting anyone here.

Sick of talking about him to be honest
STFU about him then. And don't pretend to speak for 'everyone'.

No, you have. I said he was better than Nahas, Collins and Astbury. And has been pointed out, King was one of the injured players too.

So he was in your 4 worst players and one of them is a kid who has played 11 games but is holding down a KP spot and doing well and won't be dropped, the other has played 20 games, had a good 2nd half and finished with 18 touches and 2 goals and won't be dropped. Nahas I agree. Compelling argument.

STFU about him then. And don't pretend to speak for 'everyone'.

In case you haven't realised I just listed my ins and outs and reasoning's for them. People replied, I responded. Not that hard to work out.

You bang on about him every week, just like you bang on about Tambling, Jackson, 'decision-making' and 'getting games into the kids' while tanking.

I'm not calling for anyone but Nahas to be dropped. I thought we had 21 contributors. Your dogma fails to mask your true lack of understanding or insight.

Well you are 100% off the money again. I have my views on them but I don't bang on about Tambling or Jackson. Maybe you should just stop whinging about what I post. That sounds like a plan.

EDIT: Nice edit. Now you're just getting angry and cracking the sads. Go have a lie down mate.

King started on Hill not Ballantyne and then after he was getting slaughtered and Hill was dominating us he got moved off him. He was played as a midfielder who roamed forward and after Hill it seemed like he moved on Pearce and others who he just rotated onto at stoppages. Ballaytne played up forward and was minded at times by Farmer, Moore and others. They had a couple of incidents where they met in the middle but they played at opposition ends of the ground so thus he can't take any credit for shutting him down.

King giving away a free in the middle by whacking Ballantyne while Connors was lining up for goal nearly cost us the match. Was very undisciplined tonight and he got little of the ball, when did (besides one high kick to the top of the square that set up a goal with Riewoldt taking a massive pack mark) he made poor decisions and butchered it. Has to be dropped. Was easily the worst player in our team if you exclude the injuries to the 2 kids and people who defend him are probably just doing it because the win glossed over his performance.

He had 12 touches (not a great night) at 83% (Pretty good if you ask me)

INTERESTING selection this week:

Giffiths is a definite out and I'm sure he'll be replaced by a big man in either Gourdis or Post.
I see Gourdis getting the nod and going down back and Astbury going forward again.
Nahas out for Tambling would appear likely. Nahas was so-so, neither great nor particularly bad, but as a replacement he'll make way.
I'm sure Cousins will get a game also at the expense of jackson, who'll cop a week or three!!

Its only human nature. If someone has it in for a particular player real bad like Barnzy has for Kingie, they rarely see the good things he does, but only focus on and remember the bad things.

Not a star, but far from a dud.
12 Disp 6 contested, 3 Marks, 3 Tackles, 1 Clearance, 2 inside 50s, 2 1%ers, Only 1 Clanger, Eff 83.33% (ranked 7th)

Good solid game considering he played half the game injured. No wonder Dimma loves him.

Well you are 100% off the money again. I have my views on them but I don't bang on about Tambling or Jackson. Maybe you should just stop whinging about what I post. That sounds like a plan.

EDIT: Nice edit. Now you're just getting angry and cracking the sads. Go have a lie down mate.

barnzy for me its not really about your opinion of king, right or wrong your entitled to it. For me it was just about your incorrect report of events relating to him which i believe were influenced by your opinion of him and not the facts. Without your opinions this board would be dull.

My edit came in response to yours as you well know. I'm not whinging about what you post, I'm criticising it as repetitive, blinkered and lacking in understanding. I'm not the first. You do bang on like a dunny door about the same things, week-in, week-out. Add Tuck to the list.

As for who cracked the sads, I criticised your argument, then you got insulting. I just responded. Don't worry kid, I won't be bothered from now on.

I don't see why we can't give Nason a rest, most of the other first year boys have had a break at some stage and Nason is the most lightly built of all of them (though perhaps he has the biggest tank). Copping two hits as big as he did though seems to me that it wouldn't be a bad option to leave him out.

I agree that King obviously isn't going to be a part of the team going forward, but he still brings a lot of defensive pressure to the side which is helping the young blokes and setting a good example. I'm torn as to if we should keep him in the side, he does some dumb stuff but he can win a hard ball and dish it out to our better users.

At this stage with our list I can't see someone to replace him in that aspect unfortunately. Rance potentially but both aren't great users of the ball and Hardwick may be rewarding King in a winning side and hoping Rance learns a few lessons in the 2's.

It looks to me like Griff out, Post in is the perfect option if DH is happy to leave Astbury down back. Honestly though haven't seen Post play but from what I've heard he's put on some weight and I would think that he would provide more than what Griff has been. If McGuane is fit/ Gourdis is more deserving we just throw Astbury forward.

Can't see any merit in playing Polak over either of these two.

Out: Griff, Nason, Nahas
In: Post/McGuane/Gourdis, Cousins, Tambling

Wait and see with Jacko.

I agree that King obviously isn't going to be a part of the team going forward,

Cant understand why so many insist King isnt part of our future. If that was the case he would be back at Coburg and another player in, learning the offensive stopping/tagging role. Ever since he has returned from his multiple suspension, he has had one of the tougher gigs in our team, and week in week out has performed them superbly.

Its a team game, and he has played the team role as good as any other. When you look at the players he has stopped/held back, he is one player who has been as instrumental as any other of our best 22 in our mini rebirth.

Bazzar seriously stick the Kick Eff % where the sun don't shine!!! Its credibility is pathetic when you look at the % of elite kicks compared with your Thursfields Nathan Grimas of the world. I always see you popping it in as a stat line so just letting you know it means squat.

Its not a kicking efficiency stat, but efficiency of every time you touch the ball. If it was a crock, why would teams want Champion Data to persist with it?

Well I don't know bottom line is it's a CROCK!! How about the fact that Supercoach is now an AFL phenomenon and is based on DE% so they wouldn't cut it would they. Seriously Bazzar ball in Cotchins Martins or Lids hands or Kings???? We know what DE% says but not 1 person on this board would say King.

I would bring in Post for Griffiths.
If Jackson is out, then Cuz comes in.
If Gus is out then Broiwne comes in.
Thursfield has done nothing wrong so if McGuane is back he may have to come back via the twos. Same goes for Tambling.
Nice conundrum to have for a change.

Seriously Bazzar ball in Cotchins Martins or Lids hands or Kings???? We know what DE% says but not 1 person on this board would say King.

Well at this stage Cotch and Kingy are on par with their real world eff this year. Cotch is 50 times the player of Kingy, but his disposal this year hasnt been as good as the games he played last year.

Well genius when you get the ball in the clinches with 8 bodies around you at a clearance often only choice is a quick kick and commonly he is doing this with hands on him.

Thats obvious, everyone knows that. Both Cotch and King are in that same position because they both play inside contested footy in different roles. 50% of Kings possessions were contested on Saturday, yet when King makes a mistake the whole world bags him, yet when Cotch does they make excuses.

I would bring in Post for Griffiths.
If Jackson is out, then Cuz comes in.
If Gus is out then Broiwne comes in.
Thursfield has done nothing wrong so if McGuane is back he may have to come back via the twos. Same goes for Tambling.
Nice conundrum to have for a change.

give him a good rest for the one we really want tugg. Our backline doesnt need to be top heavy against the roos. ****, we now have the luxury to pick horses for courses. ;)