Preview Changes: R7 v Carlton

Yeah OK :rolleyes:, absolutely technically 100% is not the right term to use. Nobody is 100% fit ie as fit as they can be. More is always possible, but jeez, pedantic. ;)
Re: Tex, I wasn't saying he should've been dropped for the GF. I was saying that his foot injury:
--- might have been better managed if he'd been rested earlier, and
--- (where we are in agreement) we have a better idea of how/where our depth players will play, now. IF Tex was unavailable for the GF, we'd probably play Fogarty (if uninjured) because he'll have some AFL under his belt by then and we know what we'll get out of him ie at least solid, contested effort.
As for his being "underdone", well, 15 goals in 5 games is very handy (even with a bad game against Collingwood), no complaints at all there. All players without a full pre-season or coming back from injury are underdone. Crouch was underdone last week. Betts will be underdone if he plays this week, too.
Underdone is not the same as uninjured. :shoutyoldman:
I'm sure you'd agree we have to stop playing injured players, senior or not. Our (now proven) depth allows us that.
You can and need to play injured players. Walker was managing foot injuries for the best part of two years and made the AA squad during that time, despite not being at his best. I am sure that you are not suggesting that he shouldn't have been playing for that entire time. The key is to manage players so that the injuries don't get worse by playing. That might mean resting players at certain times, it might mean limiting training at other times. In some cases you will be trying to fix the injury, in other cases will being trying to manage the player through the season. Every player and every injury is different so it is understandable that sometimes the club gets it wrong and a player plays who in hindsight shouldn't have.

Having Carlton's best forward out now makes this even more of a monumental struggle for the Crows.

Will be very easy for our players to look at their team on paper and switch off completely. Bank the win before they head out to play.

Then we find ourselves a goal down at three quarter time pushing shit uphill with everyone playing like garbage.

It's funny what this club has done to us. There is absolutely nothing about that Carlton side that should worry about. They are rubbish. Last week the Dogs were rubbish, but the Blues were rubbisher.
But.
Even I am reserved on our chances, that bogey game is always just one around the corner.

I know what your saying. But we already had two bogey sides. Granted, I think fitness can be attributed to the bombers loss. Similar thing happened against North Melbourne a couple of years ago. But then we made our #1 bogey side in Collingwood look like premiers. We also have quite a few new faces in the team that wont be taking their spot in the team lightly. They cant afford to switch off and look a week ahead. They have to perform every week to keep their spot. I think that is what gives me confidence that we wont drop this one.

But I can see us to going down to their level and it could be an awful game to watch.

Having Carlton's best forward out now makes this even more of a monumental struggle for the Crows.

Will be very easy for our players to look at their team on paper and switch off completely. Bank the win before they head out to play.

Then we find ourselves a goal down at three quarter time pushing shit uphill with everyone playing like garbage.
100%

For whatever reason these guys give us headaches on every occasion we've played them in recent times.

Their team on paper is Patrick Cripps, a few GWS rejects and Matt Wright. This SHOULD be a rare 100 pointer but it won't be. Luckily this time we have 6-7 guys on the edge whilst we have injuries, they need to perform.

Reckon Eddie and Gibbs will have quiet nights but others around them will step up.

OK Guys

My team

In – Eddie, Kelly, Sloane

Out – tex, Poholke, Otten

F Eddie Jenkins Gooch

HF Lynch GOV Douglas

C Seeds Sloane Atkins

HB Kelly Doedee Milera

B Brown Talia Laird

Ruck

Jacobs

Gibbs

Crouch

Inter – CEY, Greenwood, Knight, Dmac

SANFL

IN – Poholke, Otten, Cheney, Murphy

Out Rivers, Asfaha, Leigh, Launer

F Davis McMahon Hunter

HF Murphy Himmelberg Fogarty

C Jarman Edwards Hill

HB Hampton Otten Signorello

B Davey Dear Cheney

Ruck

O’Brien

Wilson

Poholke

Inter – Constanxo, Loneragan, Hadden

Need to do the "Stance" before the game.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

OK Guys

My team

F Eddie Jenkins Gooch

HF Lynch GOV Douglas

C Seeds Sloane Atkins

HB Kelly Doedee Milera

B Brown Talia Laird

Ruck

Jacobs

Gibbs

Crouch

SANFL

IN – Poholke, Otten, Cheney

Out Rivers, Asfaha, Leigh

F Davis McMahon Hunter

HF launer Himmelberg Fogarty

C Jarman Edwards Hill

B Davey Dear Cheney

Ruck

O’Brien

Wilson

Poholke

Fair effort by Kelly to play with a broken hand.. ..

OK Guys

My team

F Eddie Jenkins Gooch

HF Lynch GOV Douglas

C Seeds Sloane Atkins

HB Kelly Doedee Milera

B Brown Talia Laird

Ruck

Jacobs

Gibbs

Crouch

SANFL

IN – Poholke, Otten, Cheney

Out Rivers, Asfaha, Leigh

F Davis McMahon Hunter

HF launer Himmelberg Fogarty

C Jarman Edwards Hill

B Davey Dear Cheney

Ruck

O’Brien

Wilson

Poholke

You've left Murphy out of every team you've listed this week. He's no longer injured.

We haven't played the Blues in Adelaide for over 5 years, that's why the games between the sides have been close over recent years. They're missing key significant players and we should be romping this one in.

What gets Poholke a game ahead of a fit Murphy at this stage? Murphy is likely to miss but I don't see what Poholke has done at AFL level that gets him ahead of Murphy.

He did run through Buddy in his first game. Which is worth an extra pat on the back I’d say.

Yes I can smell that rank shitty smell of complacency wafting on the jetstream all the way from Adelaide already, or it might be the neighbours sewer backed up again. I’d better go check on that.

The key is to manage players so that the injuries don't get worse by playing.
This :thumbsu:, and we now have a better idea how Fogarty, Murphy, Gallucci, Milera, CEY, even Poholke are going to play at AFL level.
I think our depth is impressive. We have BCrouch and others to come back as well (Sloane, Hartigan, maybe Gibson). After the Richmond game some PA flog came into our board and bragged that their depth had hammered our depth in the SANFL. One of our posters said, very cleverly, "Our depth just beat last year's Premiers, mate" (forgotten who it was, but kudos). Loved that, and our depth beat Sydney 3 rounds later.

Need to do the "Stance" before the game.

The club should organise the blind fold bus to pick all the lads up from their homes and whip em into a lather, on the way to the oval.

So are both Marchbank and Curnow now out for the blues?... something has happened to the bloody tweets that are being imbedded in other posters comments... all of a sudden they aren’t showing... just get the little blue bird where the tweet is meant to be.. bloody annoying
If you're on a PC reload the page might be worth a try

Preview Changes: R7 v Carlton