Preview Changes v GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter Kram

While I agree that Crozier has had a couple of runs before, practically every single player outside of the absolute cream takes 50+ games to actually become consistently good. You do get flashes though, for the ones who actually can be decent contributors, and I would argue Crozier has shown those flashes.

I see a few issues with abandoning Crozier as an option at the moment. Firstly, he's been sub rather a lot - 9-10 games by my count. Even this year he seems to only be getting ~60% game time. Is 30 full games enough to judge? I think no, based on my previous statement. Secondly, he's playing a pretty difficult position. We're not really a team that scores a lot even though we're obviously trying to go that way, i'm not sure we can really fault him that much for not scoring when no one else is. Also, I think that as a team which is looking to get more skilled, especially around goal, we should be persevering with a guy who is easily in the top half of kicks on the list - a couple of bad games notwithstanding (because even established elite players have them).

If you drop Crozier from the AFL team, he goes back to Peel and he plays a different position and he dominates. That's been the pattern so far. Every time i've watched him at Peel, he's played primarily as a mid. I think bouncing him between two positions, one where it is easy to get a lot of touches and one where it is not, isn't really going to help him establish any consistency.

He absolutely should be moved on from if he hasn't shown improvement by the end of the year, because there's another lot of draftees we'll need to start blooding (and it might be worth trying to pick up a pick for him. But he's not really blocking anyone's development right now, and we're not exactly going for it at the moment such that we need every single player to contribute every week.
All good points and can't argue with any of them. I guess I'd just be looking for more than 8 disposals at 50%, that's all. My general feeling was that he has/had a heap of potential. it's probably just frustrating that he seems to have gone backwards when we need players of his age stepping up.

Personally I think Crozier can become a player, but I think he struggles as a forward. Sure he has not had the ideal run of games, but he has had opportunities. I sometimes have wondered how he would go on small forwards, and as a running defender. He can tackle, has pace, reasonable kicking and a great leap. We need better skills down back.

Oh yes please. Sheridan is a piss-weak excuse for a football player. I don't know what anyone sees in him.

Last week Spurr took Betts, Sutcliffe took Lynch, so I'm not sure how he found so little of the ball. At the moment he's our 6th best defender that has 0 impact offensively.

I have been up and down on him. But his last 3 weeks have been poor and it's time for him to go back for a bit.

The more things change, the more they stay the same...

Out: Dawson? Lol, just lol.

Yeah out Dawson! Have they seen the size of those Giants forwards?? He will be one of the first picked. Collins would probably be rag dolled against this mob, wouldn't mind seeing Hughes for one of our small backs though.

Ouch....

If Ballaz isn't 100% then replace with Suban in the Forward (not midfield!)
Do we give Clarke another week…Surely we need to try Hannath for Clarke? I have no idea where Clarke is at the moment but it is far from good…is there another option somewhere?

Youngsters on notice:
Crozier (8 disposals), Sheridan (9 disposals) and Blakely (10 disposals – I hope he doesn’t turn into the next Viv mitche)

Those who are playing well in Peel that could replace them:
Suban :( , De Boer :/ and Hughes :D

Maybe there is a reason for his previous subness and limited game time. Perhaps being the sub and his limited game time contributes to his problem but he still has the same knock that he has had since juniors, he does not get involved enough . He just does not get enough of the pill. He doesn't suffer from a tag, he plays high half forward wing which usually means half way decent stats but he still hasn't managed to kill the pig. Langdon has more upside and should be in the side. Crosier probably has a few more games to show something and if he doesn't.......???

All good points and can't argue with any of them. I guess I'd just be looking for more than 8 disposals at 50%, that's all. My general feeling was that he has/had a heap of potential. it's probably just frustrating that he seems to have gone backwards when we need players of his age stepping up.

Agree with both of you.

I think the jury is still out on him though, for reasons outlined. Personally i'd like to see at least 5 games in a row from here, ideally more later in the year unless he truly contributes nothing over the next month. I think he offers more promise than a lot because of his footskills. End 2014 I remember he nailed a few field kicks that I don't actually think anyone else on our list could do sans Weller/Walters.

Salim, that is certainly the knock I agree. I just can't put my finger on what it is though. He seems to be in ripping nick, he doesn't seem to lack tank (does a fair bit of chasing in games, never heard it questioned at training/pre-season)... He isn't rapid so maybe Nick Suban disease (just a half step behind the pace)? I note he tends to throw up a lot from effort, maybe his body just won't let him do it? Dunno. If he starts sticking those marks he flies for and gets back to his usual accuracy in front of goal... does he need to get more ball?

Dawson dropped? heck this place sometimes. Jenkins kicked 2 (?), one was from a 50m penalty which was bollocks and the other a free kick on the goal line which was even worse, even Ricciuto said no free was warranted.

Every week except for Gold Coast he has done well and has taken the scalps of Boyd, Kennedy & Petrie.

Dawson is in our best 5-6 for the year people, get used to him being in the side for this year & next, after that you might get your wish.

Vote 1 ZAC DAWSON.

Agree with both of you.

I think the jury is still out on him though, for reasons outlined. Personally i'd like to see at least 5 games in a row from here, ideally more later in the year unless he truly contributes nothing over the next month. I think he offers more promise than a lot because of his footskills. End 2014 I remember he nailed a few field kicks that I don't actually think anyone else on our list could do sans Weller/Walters.

Salim, that is certainly the knock I agree. I just can't put my finger on what it is though. He seems to be in ripping nick, he doesn't seem to lack tank (does a fair bit of chasing in games, never heard it questioned at training/pre-season)... He isn't rapid so maybe Nick Suban disease (just a half step behind the pace)? I note he tends to throw up a lot from effort, maybe his body just won't let him do it? Dunno. If he starts sticking those marks he flies for and gets back to his usual accuracy in front of goal... does he need to get more ball?

The main problem with his game on Saturday were the silly mistakes he made. Maybe he has trouble focussing for every second of the game? Would explain him drifting out of the game and the mistakes he made on Saturday were just simple decision making errors.

How is 22 touches and 2 goals against Perth in the WAFL playing good for Peel? He was atrocious the game before. It took Suban many poor games before he got dropped, surely 1 'good' game isn't going to earn him a recall.

Want my 2 cents?

Ballas needs to get dropped for whatever reason the club want to state. Will he get dropped? NO
Crozier needs another game this week for whatever reason the club wishes to promote. Will he play? NO

Blakely was dead set awful. Missed handballs (which is suppose to be his strength) and generally poor. Tucker was in bang it on your boot mode too.

We're 0-6. Forget Suban, DeBoer, Mzungu. See what Yarran and Morabito have to offer. The club doesn't have time to hope.

Will take them a little while to get used to the pace of things in the big time.

Absolutely agree. It's no different to any sport across any range of abilities. A step up is a step up.

So right now the club is at that juncture. It seems like they're playing youth. I'm pumped about this as are possibly most other supporters. We can see the big picture.

A recall of our older role players would be such a massive step backwards I'd be disillusioned as to what we're trying to achieve or in what direction we're heading.

Lyon alluded to the building when he may comments about Taberner.

DeBoer, Mzungu, Suban would have to literally bang the door down to justify getting a recall. We're talking 3-4 games in a row of what they did against Perth and then we may consider giving them a game.

For what it's worth I don't even think they tore that game a new one. Bennell in one game and off little pre-season showed what the next level looks like at WAFL level.

I honestly don't think any of those guys have it in them.

Blakely Will take a bit of time.

I like him to Wallis of the bulldogs. Wallis was great inside player with poor skills and had a sluggish start to his career. But once he found the pace of the game and had quick players around him he really excelled. I think Blakely has pretty good hands too and should be able to hit the scoreboard playing half forward like Wallis does.

How is 22 touches and 2 goals against Perth in the WAFL playing good for Peel? He was atrocious the game before. It took Suban many poor games before he got dropped, surely 1 'good' game isn't going to earn him a recall.

Want my 2 cents?

Ballas needs to get dropped for whatever reason the club want to state. Will he get dropped? NO
Crozier needs another game this week for whatever reason the club wishes to promote. Will he play? NO

Blakely was dead set awful. Missed handballs (which is suppose to be his strength) and generally poor. Tucker was in bang it on your boot mode too.

We're 0-6. Forget Suban, DeBoer, Mzungu. See what Yarran and Morabito have to offer. The club doesn't have time to hope.
Normally like your posts mate, but ripping into kids in their 2nd and 1st game respectively?? And rushing back 2 injured players in Morra and Yarran reeks of desperation, and has Mark Harvey written all over it! Patience my friend, unlike Mayne, they will improve over time.

Fair call.

I wasn't talking about Yarran and Morabito this week. I understand it's a changes for GWS thread, but I honestly wrote it more in a short term view point.

With regards to Blakely and Tucker I think it's also clear on reading other posts that I'm all for them getting games and continuing to be played, but it is what it was. They weren't close to good and really showed little. It's not a write them off comment, just stating what we watched.

I think the club has actually embraced change fairly quickly. Blakely getting a game after one WAFL performance, Crozier not getting dropped, Tucker getting a couple. I think it's awesome.

Lastly, Morra and Yarran aren't injured. Freo wouldn't let them play for Peel if this was the case. They might not be match fit, but this is also professional sport. They are part of the Fremantle Football Club and paid to be a part of this club. If they got the tap on their shoulder for this week, then lets see them in action. It's not desperation it's opportunity.

Blakely Will take a bit of time.

I like him to Wallis of the bulldogs. Wallis was great inside player with poor skills and had a sluggish start to his career. But once he found the pace of the game and had quick players around him he really excelled. I think Blakely has pretty good hands too and should be able to hit the scoreboard playing half forward like Wallis does.

Have a good feeling about Blakley, looks like a natural footy player at training who makes the smart decisions. It will take time for him to get up to speed at AFL level but it will happen and it will be worth it.

Crozier is an interesting one. He has xfactor and potential. I said a few times last year he should've got Maynes spot for a few weeks while Mayne goes back to the WAFL for a few. Croz kept getting a game as a sub, sub, full game, sub then dropped. He had no continuity which dealt his confidence a blow. I'd honesty give Crozier til round 10 unless he's utterly useless to show us something.

Blakely and Tucker need a few more games, and against GWS might suit them a bit better as they still are slightly underdeveloped compared to the midfields of Geelong or Hawks or Roos. I'd say Ballas needs a spell, he is clearly struggling with some niggles. For me the changes should be:
IN: IBBO
OUT: Ballas (inj)

Just put Crozier in Ballas spot or Maynes spot, give Ibbo Mundys role and let Mundy control the midfield. We need Ibbo back for his intercept marking and reading of play. Only other change I'd suggest is possibly Hughes or Langdon for Griffin and go smaller and faster, however they have a bit of height so just the one change might be necessary. I'd possibly look at giving Sutcliffe a job as a winger and bring Brady Grey back to do his job on Stevie J. I reckon he'd go alright and get a few frees with Stevie losing his cool.

FWIW I'd also get in Rory Lobbs ear and tell him he can come to us with Macarthy next year, we could give them Clarke or Mayne and some picks. Long shot but he'd be a great get for us if Clarke left and Sandi breaks down next year with Hannath more then likely being delisted and Griffin another year old.

Crozier is an interesting one. He has xfactor and potential. I said a few times last year he should've got Maynes spot for a few weeks while Mayne goes back to the WAFL for a few. Croz kept getting a game as a sub, sub, full game, sub then dropped. He had no continuity which dealt his confidence a blow. I'd honesty give Crozier til round 10 unless he's utterly useless to show us something.

Blakely and Tucker need a few more games, and against GWS might suit them a bit better as they still are slightly underdeveloped compared to the midfields of Geelong or Hawks or Roos. I'd say Ballas needs a spell, he is clearly struggling with some niggles. For me the changes should be:
IN: IBBO
OUT: Ballas (inj)

Just put Crozier in Ballas spot or Maynes spot, give Ibbo Mundys role and let Mundy control the midfield. We need Ibbo back for his intercept marking and reading of play. Only other change I'd suggest is possibly Hughes or Langdon for Griffin and go smaller and faster, however they have a bit of height so just the one change might be necessary. I'd possibly look at giving Sutcliffe a job as a winger and bring Brady Grey back to do his job on Stevie J. I reckon he'd go alright and get a few frees with Stevie losing his cool.

FWIW I'd also get in Rory Lobbs ear and tell him he can come to us with Macarthy next year, we could give them Clarke or Mayne and some picks. Long shot but he'd be a great get for us if Clarke left and Sandi breaks down next year with Hannath more then likely being delisted and Griffin another year old.

A legit question and I'm not being a smart arse but can you tell me what this x factor is that Crosier possesses . In the 4 years he has played firstly at E Perth, then Peel and Freo I haven't caught a glimpse of it . If its the mark he took in under eighteens fair enough but since then he has produced nada.

I think this week we are going to get taught a lesson in the way football is heading. GWS will make us look like we are walking they are that quick and skilful it is ridiculous. ohhhhh to have the talent and all of the handouts they were given!

A legit question and I'm not being a smart arse but can you tell me what this x factor is that Crosier possesses . In the 4 years he has played firstly at E Perth, then Peel and Freo I haven't caught a glimpse of it . If its the mark he took in under eighteens fair enough but since then he has produced nada.
To say he has produced nothing is a bit silly, has kicked plenty of classy goals both at Peel and for Freo. I think he has a natural goal sense and is capable of being a good player given the opportunities. The neverending trend of Peel, Sub, Peel, Sub surely didn't do Croz's career any favours either.

I think this week we are going to get taught a lesson in the way football is heading. GWS will make us look like we are walking they are that quick and skilful it is ridiculous. ohhhhh to have the talent and all of the handouts they were given!

Same was said in the lead up to the Adelaide game which we effectively kicked ourselves out of.