Prediction Changes v Hawks in Tassie

When did VDM become one of Bevos boys?
He’s an obvious favourite IMO, has always been quick to come back and usually holds his spot over the past few years.

I like VDM, he’s seriously good defensively and I hope he can find his feet offensively, which he’s shown glimpses of in the past - but geez his last few weeks have been very very bad, and tbf most of his form previously has been quite poor for some time now, and he was dragged back into the seniors too quick this time around.

Has absolutely zero right to be in the 18 ahead of West, and not sure why he’s gone ahead of Garcia on form.

He’s an obvious favourite IMO, has always been quick to come back and usually holds his spot over the past few years.

I like VDM, he’s seriously good defensively and I hope he can find his feet offensively, which he’s shown glimpses of in the past - but geez his last few weeks have been very very bad, and tbf most of his form previously has been quite poor for some time now, and he was dragged back into the seniors too quick this time around.

Has absolutely zero right to be in the 18 ahead of West, and not sure why he’s gone ahead of Garcia on form.
Eh, I reckon we save the melts for when the team is actually selected. VDM being in or not in is really not relevant to the end result. I like what he brings, even if he doesn't fill up the stat sheet. He's certainly not a favorite though - that much I'll disagree with. He's played just as many VFL games as he has AFL games.

McComb - who undoubtedly is one of Bevos boys has played just 4 VFL games this year and 13 in the seniors. If Vandermeer had those numbers I'd be inclined to agree.

Eh, I reckon we save the melts for when the team is actually selected. VDM being in or not in is really not relevant to the end result. I like what he brings, even if he doesn't fill up the stat sheet. He's certainly not a favorite though - that much I'll disagree with. He's played just as many VFL games as he has AFL games.

McComb - who undoubtedly is one of Bevos boys has played just 4 VFL games this year and 13 in the seniors. If Vandermeer had those numbers I'd be inclined to agree.

Has he played much VFL footy? Only four games in the past two years according to this website

Didn’t he start out as a running defender? Maybe he needs the Ed Richards treatment and return to his original/natural position.
Could be worth a shot as a lockdown small defender. Got aggressive and pace to go with small forwards competent aerially. Has decent length on his kicks reckon it worth having a trial to see if can make it as a defender

My guess is the bench is Duryea, Hunter, West and Williams with McComb or Roarke as the sub.

Surprised they are going back with Bruce, I doubt the week off would’ve freshened him too much.
Where is Scache in all of these discussions, if he is not a better footballer than Cordy, I give up, they are going nowhere playing Cordy, the first goal for GWS, was a perfect example of his problems, lack of speed/agility, not forgetting his two games with negative metres gained in the last 20 games. Have a look at the win/loss ratios when Cordy plays over the last 2 seasons, including winning the first 5 game without him.

I really don’t get the all out hatred for McComb.
He’s only played 13? games, his VFL form at least suggests there is something there. Expecting him to be an instant star seems a bit much?

Is this a usual thing, pick a player and everyone goes all out hysterically attacking him?
Have other players been attacked before and now it’s his turn, or is this a first?

Will be absolutely hilarious if O'Brien is picked just based on the fact he happened to have a career game against us at this ground last year.

Fingers crossed the most logical move known to man is made this week. Duryea back and Treloar to replace McNeil. Bont/Dunks to spend more time forward to allow Treloar time in the guts.

Fingers crossed Hawks pick Max Lynch. Means Darcy has a ruckman to sit on all day and not someone who can burn him on the lead

He’s only played 13? games, his VFL form at least suggests there is something there. Expecting him to be an instant star seems a bit muck?

Is this a usual thing, pick a player and everyone goes all out hysterically attacking him?
Have other players been attacked before and now it’s his turn, or is this a first?
I would rather 'bag' Cordy

He’s only played 13? games, his VFL form at least suggests there is something there. Expecting him to be an instant star seems a bit much?

He’s 27 years old. You don’t draft 27 year olds and ‘wait’ for them to come good.

I would rather 'bag' Cordy
Lol, fair enough.
I’m not a big ‘bagger’, my sporting career is now over and I’m happy enough with what I achieved.

I’m surprised though that our alleged generational midfield aren’t the ones coping it. It’s the big name and big money players that win and lose you games, McComb is just a role player at this point.

But yeah, Cordy can sometimes struggle, and is experienced enough now.

I will be ropeable if West is dropped, BUT he has had a real quiet month, he would be on the fringe.

He’s 27 years old. You don’t draft 27 year olds and ‘wait’ for them to come good.
Could still give him a chance to gain some experience and find his feet.
And I don’t really think he’s our major problem, he seems a scapegoat type,

Did we have a player everyone hated last year, even though we made the GF? Genuine question, I’m new and every section I read seems kind of angry about something or other.

I don't hate McComb, it's the MC that pick him, he doesn't pick himself. But IMO Garcia is a far better player, as is West, and that seems who he is competing against for a spot. I also think VDM is inferior to both West and Garcia, and McNeil is inferior to West/Garcia but superior to McComb and VDM.

The coach and MC seem to often disagree with me - obviously they are wrong! :laughing:

In answer to your last sentence, BF in general across all team boards thrives on scapegoating players from their own teams. I'm not sure why, as even the worst players to take the field in the history of every club have played at least one more game than virtually every poster on here.

Has he played much VFL footy? Only four games in the past two years according to this website
You are correct. I was looking at the wrong website my mistake.

I can't fall over my logic now, maybe he is a Bevo boy.

Still doesn't feel like he is though, at least compared to other examples like McComb, R. Smith etc.

Could still give him a chance to gain some experience and find his feet.
And I don’t really think he’s our major problem, he seems a scapegoat type,

Did we have a player everyone hated last year, even though we made the GF? Genuine question, I’m new and every section I read seems kind of angry about something or other.

Ben Harrison, Gia at times, Wade Skipper, Josh Hill, Daniel Bandy - just some of the historical scapegoats on here. Never mind that they were good enough to eke out careers across multiple seasons. Players often get called soft on here - which is funny when the insult is made from a keyboard on an anonymous forum. Human nature, eh?

If the hawks kick a big score with their forward line that’s selected - I’ll be demanding answers from the club.

This stinks of a Callow or a Lynch out of nowhere kicking 5-6.

I don't hate McComb, it's the MC that pick him, he doesn't pick himself. But IMO Garcia is a far better player, as is West, and that seems who he is competing against for a spot. I also think VDM is inferior to both West and Garcia, and McNeil is inferior to West/Garcia but superior to McComb and VDM.

The coach and MC seem to often disagree with me - obviously they are wrong! :laughing:

In answer to your last sentence, BF in general across all team boards thrives on scapegoating players from their own teams. I'm not sure why, as even the worst players to take the field in the history of every club have played at least one more game than virtually every poster on here.
Unfortunately for us you are 100% right.

Yeah I really like Garcia as well. I’m guessing he’s not doing the small things that coaches ask of the 14-22 types, the stuff we can’t hear and don’t know about. He’ll learn hopefully, a nice prospect.

As for abusing people who are actually talented enough to play professionally, and I don’t mean constructive criticism, I mean all out abuse, I actually joined more for the cricket page originally. OMG..Test cricketers called crabs FFS. People even saying they could do better. I played some Grade cricket, and im not sure some people realise how good you have to be as you climb each rung of the ladder on the way up, in all sport.

Hysteria should be something we growl at our kids about as we teach them, not something adults should partake in. Internet or not.

Ben Harrison, Gia at times, Wade Skipper, Josh Hill, Daniel Bandy - just some of the historical scapegoats on here. Never mind that they were good enough to eke out careers across multiple seasons. Players often get called soft on here - which is funny when the insult is made from a keyboard on an anonymous forum. Human nature, eh?
Yeah, the soft thing I never get. If a player was soft, for a start they’d realise they may be hospitalised during the game, and therefore wouldn’t even take to the field.

Maybe people think it’s local footy.

Prediction Changes v Hawks in Tassie