Opinion Changes v Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter Kram

Sorry but you'll find almost all of the players gave him a bit of a "hair ruffle" It was definately more than 12 i was watching it carefully and they came up in twos and threes. Rather than as one big group as you might have noticed we were 12 goals down. The commentators didn't really notice ( at then got it wrong) as Roos was prattling on about nothing as usual.
Yeah I don't know what Dunstall was going on about as I saw heaps of the guys get around Deluca. I would have said at least 10 of the boys pat him on the head.

Yeah, enjoyed watching him run through the midfield in the second half. I know he relished the opportunity too.
Was a little disappointing not many of the lads got around him when he kicked his first goal though. Should have done enough to play out the year which is great.

DollaDollaBeal - just a personal question about Josh and it's not meant to offend, so feel free to ignore.

How does he see himself fitting into the AFL environment long term? From the outside, most would say he's a battler. Does he see himself as going that next level and becoming a regular? Does he see himself as one of those blokes who will always be fringe? Is he simply hoping to extend his contract.

You always hear 200+ gamers say they were just happy to get that first game.

Was it a surprise for him to even get to where he has?

Just genuinely interested.

Hardie and co. on 6PR were terrible as well. Minutes would go by whilst they would crap on about stuff knows and I could only gather by the crowd noise that a goal had been kicked, to which one of them would make a passing comment like "another goal to Sydney". They sparked up briefly when the 100 pt deficit was on the cards but it was very hard to follow.

DollaDollaBeal - just a personal question about Josh and it's not meant to offend, so feel free to ignore.

How does he see himself fitting into the AFL environment long term? From the outside, most would say he's a battler. Does he see himself as going that next level and becoming a regular? Does he see himself as one of those blokes who will always be fringe? Is he simply hoping to extend his contract.

You always hear 200+ gamers say they were just happy to get that first game.

Was it a surprise for him to even get to where he has?

Just genuinely interested.

Happy to answer as best I can. He has fitted in extremely well down at Fremantle. He's certainly well liked amongst his peers at the club and is so eager to learn and develop at the highest level.
In terms of feeling like a "battler", i know he went through a period last year where he was playing some really great footy at Peel but just couldnt get an opportunity and it was getting to him. Credit to him though, he got through his first full AFL pre season this year and worked his ass off to get a crack. The previous 2 pre seasons were ruined with injury.
He absolutely wants to be a regular. Hes a very modest kid but hes highly driven. He wants to cement a spot on the roster, and with the potential clean out of "old stock" at the end of the year, hes got a good chance to do that now I reckon.
Its a must that he finishes the season strong. I think he showed plenty against Geelong before turning his ankle. The Hawks game was pretty average but when he got some run in the midfield against Sydney I think he was serviceable too. His attack and aggression on the footy, along with his agility are crucial to his game. Theres plenty of elements of his game that he can improve but he wants this more than anything.
Personally, if he didnt miss the U18s state carnival before the '14 draft, I reckon he would have been picked up a lot earlier and possibly not even have made it to Freo.

Happy to answer as best I can. He has fitted in extremely well down at Fremantle. He's certainly well liked amongst his peers at the club and is so eager to learn and develop at the highest level.
In terms of feeling like a "battler", i know he went through a period last year where he was playing some really great footy at Peel but just couldnt get an opportunity and it was getting to him. Credit to him though, he got through his first full AFL pre season this year and worked his ass off to get a crack. The previous 2 pre seasons were ruined with injury.
He absolutely wants to be a regular. Hes a very modest kid but hes highly driven. He wants to cement a spot on the roster, and with the potential clean out of "old stock" at the end of the year, hes got a good chance to do that now I reckon.
Its a must that he finishes the season strong. I think he showed plenty against Geelong before turning his ankle. The Hawks game was pretty average but when he got some run in the midfield against Sydney I think he was serviceable too. His attack and aggression on the footy, along with his agility are crucial to his game. Theres plenty of elements of his game that he can improve but he wants this more than anything.
Personally, if he didnt miss the U18s state carnival before the '14 draft, I reckon he would have been picked up a lot earlier and possibly not even have made it to Freo.

Much appreciated mate. Very aware of the injuries, but the timing of them sucks and it can be a cutthroat industry, especially when trying to make a start.

I always enjoy reading or hearing about how players start up.

Much appreciated.

I was worried he'd do himself a disservice coming back from the ankle too quickly but he seems back to his best now. Being a lefty is advantageous and should see him kept beyond this season.

I'm not sure it's fair to label him a battler. He's been injured a lot, but seems to be over that now. He should be able to cement a spot on the main list for 2018 and hopefully the best 22 within 12 months. He's got scope to be one of the best 15 at the club, but needs to tidy up his disposal. Ceiling of a Puopolo or Bruest who can play some midfield minutes.

I was worried he'd do himself a disservice coming back from the ankle too quickly but he seems back to his best now. Being a lefty is advantageous and should see him kept beyond this season.

I'm not sure it's fair to label him a battler. He's been injured a lot, but seems to be over that now. He should be able to cement a spot on the main list for 2018 and hopefully the best 22 within 12 months. He's got scope to be one of the best 15 at the club, but needs to tidy up his disposal. Ceiling of a Puopolo or Bruest who can play some midfield minutes.

Battler is probably an unfair term I used as he is only young and just starting out. I probably choose the wrong term. I think he has battled to get his opportunity. Was more what I was meaning and now how does he see his next step.

Sorry but you'll find almost all of the players gave him a bit of a "hair ruffle" It was definately more than 12 i was watching it carefully and they came up in twos and threes. Rather than as one big group as you might have noticed we were 12 goals down. The commentators didn't really notice ( at then got it wrong) as Roos was prattling on about nothing as usual.

Yes agree that a few players did come up and congratulate him. I have no doubt that he is a popular player especially with his whole hearted efforts but when you cop that sort of belting the usual enthusiasm will not be there.

The commentators didn't really notice ( at then got it wrong) as Roos was prattling on about nothing as usual.

Just watched Josh's goal and the footage shows a few players congratulating him.Certainly not a tsunami of purple,then Dunstall saying only a 6 pack got around him so who knows??

About six get round him when he kicks it. If you keep watching at least another half dozen pop in for a "bum tap" in dribs and drabs. Dunstall stopped watching so he could stick the boots in about something.

All for resting MJ, but really late in the season you would think?

Cox should be tried at CHB, but he's reasonably small
Yeah, enjoyed watching him run through the midfield in the second half. I know he relished the opportunity too.
Was a little disappointing not many of the lads got around him when he kicked his first goal though. Should have done enough to play out the year which is great.
very disappointed in that. Hopefully that was sorted out after the game, in the change rooms at least.
But really impressed that De Luca got his chance in the middle, where he has been dominating for Peel in that position.

Jonno and Pearce have to go. Crozier and Nyhuis for them.

Not sure if we can promote them but I'd put Strnadica in for Cox and Duman in for Mundy who's clearly not right, if we can.

If Bennell pulls up 90%+ after today's game, put him in for Balla.
How much the club need to paid to upgrade a player?
Duman - mid season elevation
Strnadica - Sandi LTI?

I'd go full bore at Richmond as it's the last home game. Play the kids on the road against Essendon.

Plus I want us to win just to see a Reiwoldt dummy spit

Odds on.He has the potential to deliver something Ross likes,probably pure run as much as anything.
For me he's heading toward the Tabs basket where they deliver too little too often and quality performances too rarely.
Don't think either will be tossed on the delist pile though.

Tell him to go and run with Martin and snap his fend in half.:D

In: Bennell, Nyhuis, Crozier, maybe Duman.
Out: Pearce, take your pick.

Give Harley a debut in purple on our home soil then keep him over here for Round 23, don't want his calves anywhere near Etihad turf.

who are freos two best quick small/medium accountable defenders who can also provide some run.

Not sure about injuries but id go the following.

FB: Ryan - Hamling - Logue
HB: S Hill - Cox - Hughes With the number of sml fwds the tiges play could even do away with one of the talls.
C: Walters - Mundy - B Hill
R: Darcy - Fyfe - Neale
HF: Weller - McCarthy - Bennell
FF: Crozier - Taberner - Ballantyne

Int: Blakeley - Langdon - Sheridan - Tucker or a tall.

who are freos two best quick small/medium accountable defenders who can also provide some run.

Not sure about injuries but id go the following.

FB: Ryan - Hamling - Logue
HB: S Hill - Cox - Hughes With the number of sml fwds the tiges play could even do away with one of the talls.
C: Walters - Mundy - B Hill
R: Darcy - Fyfe - Neale
HF: Weller - McCarthy - Bennell
FF: Crozier - Taberner - Ballantyne

Int: Blakeley - Langdon - Sheridan - Tucker or a tall.
So when was the last time you actually watched a Freo game?

Neale might be rested for the rest of the season, has been playing sore for 5 weeks.
Bennell may play if he gets through training ok.

Neale might be rested for the rest of the season, has been playing sore for 5 weeks.
Bennell may play if he gets through training ok.

It is going to be hard to watch these last two weeks, too much of our top 10 out to be competitive.

It's all about development this year anyway. Give another young guy the chance to get some experience. But I agree last week against Sydney was hard to sit through. Bennell playing should give everyone a lift. Although it will be nerve-racking to see if he gets through ok.

Freo's defence is fairly quick. Weller, Hughes, Tucker, Hamling and Logue are all quite fast. If your forwardline relies on being quicker than the defenders you're going to have a hard time.

Not arguing against it but Harley's return will compound the reality of tired and sore youngsters(maybe some oldsters too) having their time on ground increased because you'd expect he will have reduced minutes.If Lachie Neale's an omission it compounds it further losing a big bodied ball winner.Who tries to replace him??
All probably works against Taylin getting a debut as well?
Barra was just a knee knock hopefully.
Sheridan,Croz and Nyhuis are available and good solid backups.Can't see Danyle playing.
We always had a tough end to the season and nothing has changed there.Will be a real test of the club's mettle to be competitive to the end.

A shame lachie couldn't get through the last 2 games. To keep his streak going. But long term is the best thing.

88 consecutive games playing for a team in WA is no mean feat.