Preview Changes vs Cats in the Semi Final

I was going to post this in the elimination final thread, but decided to post it here on the basis that it underlines the massive jump in quality of opponent that we will be facing this week.

Essendon were truly, truly shocking last week. Their lack of effort, skill and toughness just goes on and on in this vid. Looking back, it really was a less than ideal tune up for a do or die away final against the No.1 finisher.

No i dont agree Joe.We have the possibility of three games on the road.I think it was essential we had an easy kill last week without burning too much energy.NN , JK and Barass all had little confidence boosters whereas Geelong got the s##t kicked out of them and injuries to boot.Im quite happy with the way it panned out.

Plus Simmo saying we held Nic Nat back which means he can go another gear.

A good positive vibe around the club at the moment where as in Geelong its been all about injuries and them playing away from home two weeks in a row.

Our players love playing at the G and have a good record there.

Its on boys!

Point taken on the physical side of things, although Essendon hitting more of their targets and making us more accountable doesn't necessarily mean we are getting banged up and fatigued.

We just can't let last week's performance go to our heads. Happens every year when the triumphant EF side comes up against the losing QF side. Granted, that's more of a supporter/media view, but the players do see all of that.

Stewart's kicking stats are inflated because he regularly plays on from kick-ins, and he takes most of them as far as I can tell. Hard to stop that. But this does show that they clearly want him with ball in hand, he's pretty quick too. Would be great to shut him down somehow.

Not sure that Hutchings is going to be able to play the sort of role where he makes Stewart accountable in the air though, which is what I'd be most worried about.

Could say the same about Hurn but he's not even our #1 player for kicks let alone miles ahead of anyone else. The next highest differential in rebound 50s in the comp is GWS with Heath Shaw 149 and Zac Williams 91. Stewart 184 with Tuohy next on 60 is remarkable. I knew Stewart got plenty of the ball but I didn't realise he had such a high utilisation rate compared to his back 6 teammates.

Hutchings is only 6 foot and can't compete with Stewart in the air but we don't need him to. If we are relying on a forward to compete with a defender in the air we won't win. What we want Hutchings to do is follow him around and be a nuisance so he doesn't get easy ball inside defensive 50. I'm happy for Stewart to focus on what Kennedy and Darling are doing and try and be an extra man at the contest if it means Hutchings is free inside 50. He's more than capable of marking the ball and kicking goals if he is left alone.

Could say the same about Hurn but he's not even our #1 player for kicks let alone miles ahead of anyone else. The next highest differential in rebound 50s in the comp is GWS with Heath Shaw 149 and Zac Williams 91. Stewart 184 with Tuohy next on 60 is remarkable. I knew Stewart got plenty of the ball but I didn't realise he had such a high utilisation rate compared to his back 6 teammates.

Hutchings is only 6 foot and can't compete with Stewart in the air but we don't need him to. If we are relying on a forward to compete with a defender in the air we won't win. What we want Hutchings to do is follow him around and be a nuisance so he doesn't get easy ball inside defensive 50. I'm happy for Stewart to focus on what Kennedy and Darling are doing and try and be an extra man at the contest if it means Hutchings is free inside 50. He's more than capable of marking the ball and kicking goals if he is left alone.

Wonder if we could use Waterman in a negating role on Stuart? Similar to what a few teams do with Gov and Barrass. Could work in theory but then i feel it might take away Watermans role up the ground which has allowed JK and Darling to stay in the goal square.

Waterman definitely has the work rate but is pretty young and hasn't played defensive roles before. Was important last week with 10 marks and 16 touches.

So, our club is sitting relatively injury free.

We have our match winner back and firing up making oppositions nervous (hello Parfitt)

We have embraced the MCG and even train on a replica oval while the opposition coach is still crying “not fair”

None of our top stars are threatening to leave to make another flag contender stronger

Our best player is not doing interviews trying to convince the public all is fine

Our captain is not playing poorly and impersonating the invisible man

Our coach is not bitching about the location of the game each and every week

Our supporters are not bitching that it will be difficult to get home from work on Friday to watch the game

Our coach is not having to defend a match committee that has underperformed for over a month

Our coach is not staring a 3-11 finals win loss record since our last flag

Time to get comfortable. Time to hunt. Time to rub the Pussies noses in it. Time to repeat the feats of 1992 and 1994.

I was going to post this in the elimination final thread, but decided to post it here on the basis that it underlines the massive jump in quality of opponent that we will be facing this week.

Essendon were truly, truly shocking last week. Their lack of effort, skill and toughness just goes on and on in this vid. Looking back, it really was a less than ideal tune up for a do or die away final against the No.1 finisher.

Sheesh you're not wrong. At the ground i noticed a handful of stupid turnovers, but nothing like that. It makes for damning viewing.

How bad is Shiel, Parish and Bellchambers, honestly.

We have our match winner back and firing up making oppositions nervous (hello Parfitt)

We have embraced the MCG and even train on a replica oval while the opposition coach is still crying “not fair”

None of our top stars are threatening to leave to make another flag contender stronger

Our best player is not doing interviews trying to convince the public all is fine

Our supporters are not bitching that it will be difficult to get home from work on Friday to watch the game

Our coach is not having to defend a match committee that has underperformed for over a month

Time to get comfortable. Time to hunt. Time to rub the Pussies noses in it. Time to repeat the feats of 1992 and 1994.
We will win this with ease campaigners
Another 40+ win coming up.

Be afraid Richmond you flogs. We're coming...

I'm more nervous for this game than the possibility of Richmond. We had Richmond on the ropes a few weeks ago, whereas the Cat's spanked us back to last decade.

Get past the Cat's and I'm booking the flights.

True but last time we played them we had no: Nic Nat, Redden, Rioli & Barrass..... AND that was at ABC stadium where we never win.

We got this.

True but last time we played them we had no: Nic Nat, Redden, Rioli & Barrass..... AND that was at ABC stadium where we never win.

We got this.

I feel like we cant look any further than Friday night. Heaps of pressure on the cats, they will come out breathing fire.... 100% focus this Friday then what will be will be post that

You just made me very nervous.

Dunno

Aussie bar, maybe Oscar. Wherever there is more eye candy.

And good screens...And I can hear the game. Hopefully some WCE supporters in there too.

Then onto tiger and then illuzion
Can't go wrong wherever you go there.
Funny story,
My mate went there Years ago when his 2 boys were younger.
His eldest was about 10 yr old and they took a walk along Bangla rd in the evening.
After about 5 mins his son said..
"Geez dad, they really like their table tennis here" :D:D

BTW you may already know this but just in case and for others, if you don't want to be hassled to buy stuff just say "Mee Oww" Sort of like a cat but a pause in the middle.

Preview Changes vs Cats in the Semi Final