Preview Changes vs Crows

• Thread starter Thread starter TommyD13

Trengove is our best matchup for Walker. Wood and Cordy should be able to handle Fogarty and Lynch when needed. Young is a solid aerial sweeper.

Dickson out hurts. He’s good for a goal or two most weeks. Hopefully a few of the smalls that got a feed in front of goal last week stay hungry.

Trengove and Cordy both not playing... don’t want to risk their bodies pending imminent trades to Hawks to play alongside their great mate Jonno Patton. I also expect Sam Power to be a late in, and play a role on Keath... that of the list manager signing up a player in-game - its all the rage in competitions o/s donchano... 😉

Cordy become the BF whipping boy (unfairly IMO). Really can't see him being dropped a week out from finals (if we make it).
Have to agree Cordy not going anywhere.
I believe against the Crows we could play 3 tall defender's Cordy is mobile enough to do some offensive running

I’m generally pretty conservative/pessimistic about us heading into games (save for 2016 when I legit felt we were going to win going into every final), but I do feel very very confident this week.

Adelaide look and sound like a team that’s checked out and just wants it to end.

Conversely, we look like we’re running on top of the ground, and the boys are having fun.

I hope I’m right.

I’m generally pretty conservative/pessimistic about us heading into games (save for 2016 when I legit felt we were going to win going into every final), but I do feel very very confident this week.

Adelaide look and sound like a team that’s checked out and just wants it to end.

Conversely, we look like we’re running on top of the ground, and the boys are having fun.

I hope I’m right.

They're still picking blokes retiring/getting traded/delisted at the end of this year. They must think they're still a chance of playing finals which is a bit worrying. I'd almost hoped they'd put up a white flag and just picked the kids to make it a bit easier for us.

If they post a decent win they will sneak into 8th spot.
Our boys need to be switched on as it won't be a walkover.

I can see a few of the younger players getting ahead of themselves and be mentally checked out this week and be already thinking about finals. Too much talk like we've already made it for my liking when really we've had two good wins over two injury ravaged sides, a good win over Freo and a fair effort against Brisbane. Just before that we lost to the Saints and had a narrow win over Melbourne. Sort of like how we had two good wins to start the year and somehow lost to Goldy. Call me a pessimist and I am but I'm not buying that we're as good as some people are saying. I hope the players aren't either (or they are and want to prove it).

Experienced heads like Duryea and Suckling will be massive to stabilise the group, plus Young should be desperately trying to hold his spot. Plus Dunkley seems to play like a man on a mission no matter who the opponent is. I think this will be closer than some people expect.

I think this is going to be a hard fought game, playing in Ballarat evens the contest up against the fast track Marvel.

Gee I hope Trengrove plays, the ideal match up for Walker yet being on the bench means Bevo favours him out of the side over Cordy/Young. Yet I'll wait for the official team. Can't see Bevo going in tall though.

I'm excited by bloody nervous already!

It would be pretty rough for Trengove to get dropped after a late minute change from his best position against a ruck that has some pretty significant size on him.
He's been really good lately. I hope he stays in.

Its not a matter of a player being dropped.
Its rotation of players to suit matchups and conditions.
IMO if they don't replace a forward like for like.West being obvious or (Cavarra would have been a stretch) maybe.
Then they are robbing themselves of symmetry.
A tall must go for English whoever it may be....

In all sincerity, I'm tipping the final bench to be

Suckers, Lipinski, Hayes, Roarke.

That's correct, Trengove out for Roarke Smith and Roarke Smith preferred over West.

Let's see if I'm correct. He's a good player, Roarke.

English for Dickson would be my only change, with Cordy or Young going forward & Llllloooooyyyyyydddddddd not playing up the ground as much as he does when Dickson plays closer to goal

I am cautiously very optimistic this week. I just have to plan my Lucky Meal for Sunday. I'm thinking a bagel with cream cheese, smoked salmon, capers and caviar as a special brunch since I'm going to Woolies Sunday morning. I wish I could get a real New York Kosher dill pickle to go with it. Maybe I'll stop by Ferguson Plarre for a chocolate eclair for added good luck.

In all sincerity, I'm tipping the final bench to be

Suckers, Lipinski, Hayes, Roarke.

That's correct, Trengove out for Roarke Smith and Roarke Smith preferred over West.

Let's see if I'm correct. He's a good player, Roarke.

Nope. Trengove goes back to Walker and pinch hits for Timmy if needed. Cordy rotates forward for Dickson or depending on where the game is being one we might even see JJ slip down there. I think the only change would be Timmy in Dicko out. You don't mess with a formula that's won their last two games by so much.

I just can't see Bevo doing English for Dickson.

Goes against everything he stands for, especially factoring in wet and slippery conditions.

Either Trengrove is injured and needs a rest, or Shache will be a late out (he did cop another head knock early last week)

Nope. Trengove goes back to Walker and pinch hits for Timmy if needed. Cordy rotates forward for Dickson or depending on where the game is being one we might even see JJ slip down there. I think the only change would be Timmy in Dicko out. You don't mess with a formula that's won their last two games by so much.

I love the idea of Corders going forward again, let's see if your theory is correct. I've got my Roarke theory, you got your theory of Lewis and Trenners KPB's with inZaine going forward.

It is meant to be wet in the 'Rat Sunday arvo. Do we go for more mobility, or more bulk to handle the stacks on the mills?

I just can't see Bevo doing English for Dickson.

Goes against everything he stands for, especially factoring in wet and slippery conditions.

Either Trengrove is injured and needs a rest, or Shache will be a late out (he did cop another head knock early last week)

It's a good point, the horses for courses, but we should have enough small guys. Dicko had two kicks last week. Wee Man would be great in these conditions. We've got JJ, Hunter, Daile, Bont, Smith, Richards, Dunkley, Macrae, Lloyd, McLean, Hayes, Lipinski, then semi talls like Crozier, Duryea, Wood, Cordy, Suckling...I don't mind a small for a tall. What we lose with Dickson from last week, we well and truly pick up in the ruck.

OUT: Dickson

IN: English.

Be rude to do anything else. Let's trial Cordy up forward as he looked good when he did it in that last game he played (can't remember which it was - believe Fremantle?) and looked rejuvenated.

I think this will be the change. We're always going in with an undersized backline. The addition of Young gives us greater flexibility that we haven't had all season.

It allows us to go with a tall backline with Young, Trengove and Cordy playing as the third tall (his rightful spot)

It allows for the option of Cordy playing forward for a patch (possibly as a defensive tall on an intercept marker)

It allows Trengove to provide ruck relief and for English to rest or go forward without robbing Peter to pay Paul

Gives Schache a break as I don't think he's got the tank just yet.

Yes we are down one runner on our normal setup but we still have a VERY fit crew of mids and flankers which should make up for this along with the fact that English and Trengove both have midfield aspects to their game.

B: Wood Trengove Crozier
HB: Johanissen Cordy Suckling
C: Hunter Macrae Lipinski
HF: Dale Naughton Maclean
FF: Lloyd Schache Smith
FOL: English Bontempelli Dunkley
INT: Dureya Young Hayes Richards

I am cautiously very optimistic this week. I just have to plan my Lucky Meal for Sunday. I'm thinking a bagel with cream cheese, smoked salmon, capers and caviar as a special brunch since I'm going to Woolies Sunday morning. I wish I could get a real New York Kosher dill pickle to go with it. Maybe I'll stop by Ferguson Plarre for a chocolate eclair for added good luck.
It's not a lucky meal if you keep changing it every week Chicago. I thought the sweet and sour pork from the local Chinese did the trick before the Essendon game. I think that has to be your go to lucky meal before every game [emoji23]

And still the weather forecast continues to look more positive by the day.

Possible rain fall is now 0-1mm with a 50% chance of rain in the morning. The wind is now expected to be 15-20 km/h.

Both are slight improvements on what it was yesterday.

It's not a lucky meal if you keep changing it every week Chicago. I thought the sweet and sour pork from the local Chinese did the trick before the Essendon game. I think that has to be your go to lucky meal before every game [emoji23]
No. No. No. No. No. Since each game is different each meal should be different. It's up to the food gods(and sometimes UberEats) if I have chosen wisely. I have had a few double up meals. I know that my fish 'n chips meal(with a pickled onion) worked a couple of times. If only the UberEats Polish restaurant was open on the weekends, I'd be having potato pancakes, pierogi and cabbage rolls. I'm thinking goat curry again if we make the Finals(in honour of the Bont, of course).