Changes vs. Essendon

• Thread starter Thread starter Headless

Fingers crossed :thumbsu:

Unfortunately that probably means Strauss won't get a gig, I can't see them making 5 changes... It's a shame because we NEED some good footskills and decision making out of our back half.

Unless Scully is given an extra week to recover...
I think Scully and/or Bartram will get the extra week. Not sure on the mail on Howe and Gawn, but pretty confident on Strauss coming in. Kid deserves it. Hope Nicholson stays though. Evans probably has to go though, 4 players with combined experience of 2.25 games is a bit scary. Sounds like Warnock lives for another week.

Hopefully Blease is kept in the midfield at Casey and taught to win the ball and use his pace both defensively and in attack from the midfield. Teaching him to be a defender is useless. His main trick is to run at speed and pump it long (similar to Wojo from the cats) and therefore is best utilised on the wing/midfield not half back.

I hate making multiple changes (>4) because I think it unsettles the side, but right now we are hardly settled due to the number of injuries so I think we'll have to rely on work rate and intensity to make up for a lack of cohesion.

It would be good to see Gawn get a run - he would work in tandem with Martin I presume?

We really need to win the clearances on Friday. Hopefully Sculls is back and Beamer is ready to rip the Bombers a new one. I cannot wait for this one!! Gotta love the footy!! :thumbsu:

Howe and Gawn to debut

hi all
was at the club today and was told these two boys will play this friday night
the playing group had a light training session today..
i don't know if it was the 22 + emergencies if so scully was training and dunn wasn't

Re: Howe and Gawn to debut

Thanks mate. The earlier mail was on the money then. Can't wait to see Gawn in action

Awesome stuff.

Can't wait.

I wonder how long before Blease gets a run also. Not that 3 debuts in 1 week is clever.

Strauss, Trengove, Scully, Gawn, Howe in for Newton, Petterd, Bate, Warnock, Maric.

Scullllllyyyyyy!!!!!

Maric unlucky would of thought.

B: James Frawley, Jared Rivers, Joel Macdonald
HB: Tom Scully, Jack Watts, James Strauss
C: Jordan Gysberts, Brent Moloney, Jack Trengove
HF: Cale Morton, Colin Sylvia, Jeremy Howe
F: Max Gawn, Brad Green, Jamie Bennell
FOLL: Stef Martin, Nathan Jones, Jordie McKenzie
I/C: Liam Jurrah, Neville Jetta, Michael Evans, Daniel Nicholson
EMG: Matthew Bate, Tom McDonald, Sam Blease
IN: James Strauss, Jack Trengove, Tom Scully, Max Gawn, Jeremy Howe
OUT: Michael Newton (foot), Ricky Petterd, Matthew Bate, Matthew Warnock, Addam Maric
NEW: Max Gawn, Jeremy Howe

I am quite sure that this side would be younger than the GC line up this week.

I wouldn't mind for someone to check it as I am busy as shit at work too :)

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7415/newsid/115368/default.aspx

MELBOURNE has named ruckman Max Gawn and forward Jeremy Howe for their first AFL match against Essendon at the MCG on Friday night.

The duo is among five changes made by Melbourne for its round 11 clash.
Coming into the side is outstanding young midfielder Tom Scully for his first AFL match for the season.
The Demons also welcome back Jack Trengove
Defender James Strauss will also make just his third AFL appearance - and his first for 2011 - after playing two matches in rounds one and two last year.
Ricky Petterd, Matthew Bate, Matthew Warnock and Addam Maric have been omitted.

Bate has been relegated to an emergency, with yet-to-debut pair Tom McDonald and Sam Blease.

also interesting to note the bench is as follows

LJ, jetta, nicholson, evans

i would bet nicholson wont play 2 games in a row from the bench
and lj will play full game but maybe a warning, so between jetta and evans for sub

I reckon Jurrah could actualy be the sub... Hopefully that would give him a kick along, as with Watts against GC.

Can someone tell me the average age of that team? It is incredibly young. Average games played also.

I am quite sure that this side would be younger than the GC line up this week.

I wouldn't mind for someone to check it as I am busy as shit at work too :)
ure kidding right, gold coast have 12-15 first year players playing

Wouldn't be completely surprising. I think I heard something at the start of the season that the Richmond list is younger (or less experienced) than the GC list.

FB: Macdonald Frawley Strauss
HB: Trengove Rivers Bennell
C: Morton Moloney Scully
HF: Sylvia Watts Howe
FF: Jurrah Green Jetta
Foll: Martin McKenzie Jones
Int: Gawn Nicholson Gysberts
S: Evans

That's how I'd start them. I think the clear advantages Essendon have are a stable backline and the mid sized/small forwards. Crameri, Monfries, Jetta, Zaharakis are a clever unit capable of scoring goals, getting up the field and crucially forward pressure. Macdonald/Strauss and whoever else we play back there (Trengove, Bennell, Nicholson, Morton, Jones) will all have their work cut out for them. It would be nice to have just one of our top 4 options for this position (Garland, Grimes, Bartram, Tapscott) or a couple of others who could play this role (Bail, Davey).

Anyway, we've rotated a few of our forwards, but the game is won and loss in the midfield so they tell us, and whilst Jamar, Bail, Davey are missing if we can't win some ball against this Essendon midfield without Watson and Hocking then we never will.

I am not, you'll be surprised how close in age ours is when we have a full strength side.

Petterd out again?

Yeah its his fault Bailey impliments a game plan that renders our forwards useless......shame on him!

TBF he has looked lackluster at best for the past few weeks. I for one am glad that we've gone in with a shorter forward line this week - i.e. Newton, Petterd and Bate replaced by Gawn/Martin and Howe.

Petterd out again?

Yeah its his fault Bailey impliments a game plan that renders our forwards useless......shame on him!

Petterd is out because he has got lazy habits, got nothing to do with the coach. When he is switched on and competes desperately he is in our best 22. When he is not he is a liability. The problem is he seems to play one good game and then four shit ones. Hopefully the message might start getting through to him.

Does anyone else feel we're a little short down back, which might mean Watts playing there?

With Gawn in Martin might play a bit down back too