Preview Changes vs North

• Thread starter Thread starter timtamWB

Bevs not really been into doing dodgies. . Don't reckon we'll see Tom unfortunately.

No Boyd again?... Can someone please tell me why we signed this kid in the off season ?.... Anyone

Long term strategy. He was pretty aweful last Friday though. Went to the game with a mate who runs for Essendon VFL. They were shocked at his lack of game nouse and I watched him get beaten up front by an undersized hack in Steinberg. Better in the ruck but his game sense was average and his mobility horrid. I'm still backing him in based on some really good signs earlier in the year but he was poor. Massive offseason coming up and he needs to work his arse off.

Now everyone pile in because you only read the bad stuff :)

Z. Cordy and Hamling are light, but very long and athletic. Wood will be there too to help in the air. It's about the defensive structure which was killing teams before the Eagles game, not the 1 on 1s. Get that right and we win, with a big help due to how much running power we will have.
Jesus, people think I can get mail, but I've got nothing on this ;)

It's the first year of his 7 year contract. Think about it.
Hasn't he done his time in the 2's? Surely he deserves a chance to prove himself to get him some experience to be ready for finals footy

Fight me Mike. :p

I'm not sure. Rat's more polished, but he's totally melted even at VFL level. I'm backing the kid in 100% but it just doesn't seem to be his year.
We can make it an event. A whole card of fights. Me v Igloo and you v immortalmike . Anyone else on here need to fight? Maybe we could hold it the night before we win the GF.

Cordy is a key back. Him, Hamling and Morris should be able to hold it together.

Roughy has to play ruck.

I like what I've seen of Zaine in the VFL however you've got to remember he's still about 85kgs?

Brown,Petrie and Waite would all be 100+

He's likely to get pushed around a bit ... Will be a tough first game for him if Roughead isn't going to play much time in the backline

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-08-27/round-22-teams-announced
The Western Bulldogs are tempting fate by going up against North Melbourne big man Todd Goldstein without a recognised ruckman.

The Dogs have named Jordan Roughead for Saturday's clash at Etihad Stadium, as well as Matthew Boyd, Liam Picken, Mitch Honeychurch, Lukas Webb and defender Zaine Cordy for his debut.
:$

I really like this weeks teams selection. I wasn't at all confident this week but now feel calm and relaxed. In Bev I trust.

Don't worry about Zaine being 85kg. I've seen his VFL work. He'll give those big forwards a 5m head start, then dash over the top and spoil them at the last millisecond. The kid can play.

Doubt we'll ever see Minson in the 1sts ever again, barring catastrophic injury. I get the feeling he isn't Bev's favourite person.

He frustrates me does big Will but I've never doubted his effort. Hope he continues his career somewhere else.

We can make it an event. A whole card of fights. Me v Igloo and you v immortalmike . Anyone else on here need to fight? Maybe we could hold it the night before we win the GF.

Umm MD VS Everyone?

Funnily enough they've named Redpath in the ruck

Murphy at centre, Redpath in the ruck, Hunter and Picken as forwards......Bev just writes the players names on magnets and chucks them on his footy whiteboard, where they land they stick.

And yet the media take in as gospel. Though I have rated Redpath's ruckwork in the last few weeks, he's got a great punch forward when he gets the chance.

oh and WELCOME BACK LUKAS WEBB go get them pup. It's been a while. Too long.

Those comments about opposition teams can be found on every club forum. Apart from the stars and stand-outs for other reasons, hardly anyone can name a lot of opposition players. I am not to worried that some of our "neat and potato" players fly under the radar ;)

I didn't actually mean that North were shit, more than as a team, I just don't know any of them. With other teams you get to know players faces and who they are a lot more readily. Perhaps it's the lack of TV exposure as to why I feel this way.

Also Tory Dickson aka Deadeye is leading the AFL in goal kicking accuracy this year - it's been noted on TV & in today's paper. Amazed you have never heard of him :p

So who will present Zaine's jumper?
Greg Eppelstun is the only 100 gamer in #12, no premiership players.

I'm not sure. Maybe Williams?

Haha length is more a term used in the NBA, I can see we aren't mature enough for it here. :p

I'll just stick with tall!