Preview Changes vs Pies

• Thread starter Thread starter Bren

The annoying thing is that our supporters have no flipping idea. That's what is annoying.

FWIW either get Foxtel IQ or binoculars so that you can watch the game and/or the replay because blindness and a lack of understanding is all i'm reading in your posts.

Kicked a nice goal from outside 50 too unless you thought that was Petrie.

No need to get nasty, pal. I see and understand well enough. We're all entitled to our opinions on this forum without being attacked. I stand by what I said about Hansen. If you were happy with his performance then fine. Don't say supporters have no idea just because they don't agree with you.

Out:
Grima - I still love him but seems bereft of confidence atm. All the required talls deserve to be there ahead of him right at this moment
McKinley - poor guy shouldn't have been picked
Pratt - he's a good footballer but he's just too slow right now as a small defender

In:
Delaney - Give him the job on Cloke with Spud as the helper.
Campbell - Have missed this guy, if he still has his zip he'll be very handy for us, needs to get a feel this week in preparation for Dogs game.
Atley - very harsh on Speight but Atley's got to play when he can.

Keep Pederson at CHB, he's shown to be agile enough and competes very well in the air, plus his skills are very underrated - need him out of defence. Hansen obviously goes to CHF as a result, we need contested marking around the ground.

Out: 26 ( don't know his name seeing as 2 games zero possessions doesn't help me find him on a stat sheet ). Pratt/Grima.

In: Flash, Speight/Atley

Drop both defenders if Delaney is ok

Right now we do not have a list of players that slot straight back into the side.

By that I mean we have some genuinely talented footballers that take a few weeks to run into form.

An expample of this is Narni, he is quality. reads the play brilliantly and if he can be our true thrid in defender with Keys FB and Taz/Hansen at CFB he will go along way to making our back line solid and offensive because it allows Hunter to be the attacking half back.

The problem is, as witnessed at the start of the year it takes Narni 3,4 games of footy to get to the level. Pratt is very similar in this regard.

The changes this weekend will be for team balance. As frustrating as the saints loss was, this is the only reason I see people being dropped.

Out: Pratt, McKinley

In: Atley, Delaney

Need some pace and agility and McKinley was always going to need a huge game to stay in the side which he unfortunately didnt deliver.

Not a Pratt basher but dont understand why he is considered part of the best 22. He should be a fill in player only (which I would say he was for Delaney although not exactly like for like)

Not going to happen!

Yeah I know it aint going to happen, but imagine just for sec.....

North get beat and the peanuts can't blame Thomas & Hansen!! Although they could still blame Thomas cause had he kicked straight, he wouldn't have been dropped and he could have beaten the Pies by himself:p

Just got back from a long weekend in the big smoke. Took the kids to their first game which was an interesting experience in itself...

Anyways my observations.

Outs:
Grima. He has been poor for much of the year. I guess the lack of pre-season has hurt him, but seriously why keep picking him?

McKinley. Not up to AFL level.

Pratt. Honestly its hard to see what he offers these days. He tries hard, but the game is too fast for him now. I would rather give the spot to a young guy with some potential.

Ins:

Tarrant / Delaney. If Delaney is not ready, give Tarrant a run. He has been dominant at times in the VFL and surely deserves a shot.

Atley. God we missed his evasive skills and run.

Speight/Campbell. Either one. I would possibly move Anthony into the 21 and bring Campbell on as the sub. Could be a real spark late in the game when things open up.

^^^^^^

Re Atley, Shifter Sheehan was on AFL Insider tonight and he likened some gun recruit for this year's draft as having the Shaun Atley 'quickstep'.

He also said we should be looking at a Tasmanian key forward who kicked multiple goals in the u/18 championships or whatever they were. Kicked 6-6-6-7-4 and 3 or something. A late starter to footy, having just picked footy ahead of cricket.

^^^^^^

Re Atley, Shifter Sheehan was on AFL Insider tonight and he likened some gun recruit for this year's draft as having the Shaun Atley 'quickstep'.

He also said we should be looking at a Tasmanian key forward who kicked multiple goals in the u/18 championships or whatever they were. Kicked 6-6-6-7-4 and 3 or something. A late starter to footy, having just picked footy ahead of cricket.

Dzoboz or something like that?

Edit: it's Dobosz. Played footy seriously for a year. Maybe a top aged but kicks bags regularly in the National champs. Natural FF by all accounts.

Dzoboz or something like that?

Edit: it's Dobosz. Played footy seriously for a year. Maybe a top aged but kicks bags regularly in the National champs. Natural FF by all accounts.

Yep, and Shifter made the point that he "kicks accurately". Bon's response? "We'll take him!" said with a wry grin.

Dobosz has played two games for the Tassie U/18 team in the TAC cup, not the National Champs. In those two games he kicked 6.1 and 6.1. In the nationals he kicked 7.0 against Vic Country and has kicked 3's and 4's against other teams. Is regarded as over age but is younger than both Harper and Atley. Will turn 19 in November. 192 cm, 85 kgs. Can't really find much info on him or any vision so unsure of what the other aspects of his game are like. Could be a bit like Panos from SA who was a hell of a spearhead in U/18 footy but went in the rookie draft to the Dogs and is yet to debut.

I would love for us to draft a natural key forward this year and if he is around at our 3rd, 4th pick I would be very happen to get him.

Out: McKinley, Pratt.

In: Atley, Speight (sub).

I would be considering giving Urquhart a run in the seniors very shortly (his form for Werribee has been good).

And, I would be giving Campbell another run which will be a solid 'month' of VFL football before giving him a call up against the Dogs in a fortnight.

Scrap it:

Let's go with a FB theme.

Out: Hansen and Thomas.

In: Casset (who has to be Azza's old man) and Hutchison (whilst the Bunana was arsy, he can kick straight) :rolleyes:

Dobosz has played two games for the Tassie U/18 team in the TAC cup, not the National Champs. In those two games he kicked 6.1 and 6.1. In the nationals he kicked 7.0 against Vic Country and has kicked 3's and 4's against other teams. Is regarded as over age but is younger than both Harper and Atley. Will turn 19 in November. 192 cm, 85 kgs. Can't really find much info on him or any vision so unsure of what the other aspects of his game are like. Could be a bit like Panos from SA who was a hell of a spearhead in U/18 footy but went in the rookie draft to the Dogs and is yet to debut.

I would love for us to draft a natural key forward this year and if he is around at our 3rd, 4th pick I would be very happen to get him.

Can't imagine he'd last that long with given his goal kicking you mentioned above.

Nothing to fear from collingwood, their supremecy is built on the cohesiveness of the whole team and that is built upon the brilliant coaching of malthouse. Colllingwood is not built on a core of super players like Brisbane and Geelong. If u take every collignwood player out individually, none of them is the dominat of the comp. Team cohesiveness is also the easiest to disrupt where a team of a core of elite players can be predictable but to overcome it requires a much greater effort.

Is MacMillan a chance to return this week to the seniors? it was only a facial injury, so no impact on his ability to keep fit.

I would still think at least a week or two in the VFL would be the decision with him.

Quite the contrary! Couldn't do anything the first couple of weeks after the injury! Zilch.

It doesn't matter.

I'd strongly consider moving Lindsay to the backline or putting him in the seconds to pick up a cheap bag of goals and get his confidence up.

Benny McKinley is probably going to struggle if he's just in the side to play a 3rd-4th string forward role. Flash would give us better defensive pressure.

It's time to throw a few around and play a few fringe types. IMO, 2011 is shot.

Good call Caro.:thumbsu:

Been saying this for 3 months only to be laughed at. He is broken now and useless... must be played on HBF in 2's and told to deliver lazar guided bombs ala those hawk flogs that are getting lots of press.

Lindsay's field kicking is glorious and we need that further up the ground imo.
Also takes lllloooooaddds of pressure off the man who must seriously considering the westgate atm :):eek::eek::eek:

Time to inject a bit of excitement!

• Tarrant for Grima (Narni to get fitness up, Tazza big, exciting and in form - Tarrant head to head with Cloke)
  • Urquhart for Pratt (Probably a week early for Urqs, but caution to the wind, his form is building and his boot and pace could change our team. Urqs to destroy Blair)
  • Atley for McKinley (McKinley is a spud of the highest order and Atley is a future midfield dynamo who already gives us spark - easy change)
  • Campbell for Thomas. Love Matty's pace back in the forward line, Lindsay is our future, but give the guy a break and let him go tear apart some hacks in the vfl with Narni to get some confidence

McMahon plays forward and Gav plays back

B S.Thompson 16 C.Pedersen 39 G.Urquhart 14
HB B.Rawlings 3 R.Tarrant 25 L.Greenwood 24
C D.Wells 8 A.Swallow 9 B.Harvey 29
HF L.Adams 13 L.Hansen 6 A.Edwards 27
F M.Campbell 33 D.Petrie 20 S.McMahon 42
R T.Goldstein 22 J.Ziebell 7 R.Bastinac 28
I S.Atley 18 M.Firrito 11 L.Anthony 4 B.Cunnington 10

Exciting team. Get it done Brad.