Changes vs West Coast

Seriously? o_O
Your mob are third with the 4th-best Points-For, playing the team which is 11th on Ladder and in Points-For, down on confidence, playing poorly but getting back some strong players (who will nevertheless be under match-fitness).
Don't get me wrong; I'd love for us to win, but your comment shows some serious pessimism.

I think after today the pessimism was warranted, albeit we did actually manage to kick straighter than I thought we would.

Well done, Crows. You knuckled down and exposed our soft underbelly. Hope the win kickstarts your season, because we are mentally shot right now.

I think after today the pessimism was warranted, albeit we did actually manage to kick straighter than I thought we would.
Well done, Crows. You knuckled down and exposed our soft underbelly. Hope the win kickstarts your season, because we are mentally shot right now.
Very gracious, kudos :thumbsu:.
It's funny, isn't it, how just one quarter can have so much impact? :huh:

Very gracious, kudos :thumbsu:.
It's funny, isn't it, how just one quarter can have so much impact? :huh:

You say funny, I say heartbreaking. For years now West Coast have shown that they'll roll over like the dogs they are if you just dig in and apply pressure. Once you got the run-on we all pretty much knew that was it, and thats the saddest part of all.

I'm saying that they shouldn't even be in the same conversation.

It's like saying Aaron Keating played in a flag and so did Wayne Carey, therefore they're comparable.

That's just you being bias, they are all pure outside players and are hence comparable.

In fact, Gaff is a very fair comparison to Atkins seeing he's at the likely peak for the role he and Atkins play.

The discussion wasn’t about the other side of the ledger, it was about Rat not being about to contest.

He is less uncontested than those other guys.

He definitely has a solid inside game (for the role), but that's not his main issues currently.

It's his offensive game has just fallen apart, and defensively he is useless (which is a very outside midfielder thing, but something that does need to be rectified to round him out; not make or break though). If his offensive game comes back, his lack of defensive can be comfortably carried.

We won't make finals. Even if we do we aren't going anywhere when we get there.
Like the fools we are, we will push to finish 9th and miss the players we really want in the draft.

If we were smart we would be doing what West Coast do so well. When going well, push for top 4, when going crap look to finish as low as possible. West Coast are very, very good at doing this.

I don't like quoting myself, but here it is - its happening. With the draw remaining, we will not make the finals. Just won't.

League

In – Lynch

Out – Mackay Inj

F Gallucci Jenkins Fogarty

HF Douglas Walker Lynch

C Seedsman M Crouch Kelly

HB Laird Talia Milera

B Doedee Hartigan Brown

Ruck

Jacobs

Gibbs

Sloane

Inter – Greenwood, Hampton, Poholke, Cheney

SANFL

In - Gibson, Knight

Out - McPherson Inj, Edwards Inj

F Davis McMahon Hadden

HF Knight Himmelberg Jarman

C Signorello Gibson Murphy

HB Davey Keath Venning

B Leigh Loneragan Theraldsen

Ruck

Auckland

Wilson
Atkins

Inter – Irlam, Launer, Marini

You say funny, I say heartbreaking. For years now West Coast have shown that they'll roll over like the dogs they are if you just dig in and apply pressure. Once you got the run-on we all pretty much knew that was it, and thats the saddest part of all.
That sounds like the Crows to me. Adelaide has had seasons where they've dominated the comp only to get rolled by some mediocre team just because they were willing to actually bring some pressure.

I just hope that we come out with something a bit out of the box on Friday night. Our gameplan was found out when teams started doing things differently. If we rock up to the MCG wanting to play our game itll be a waste of time.

Aren’t you a happy little Chappy.
NO. No I'm not. I don't want us to flog ourselves to finish in no-mans land (9th-11th) which is exactly where we will end up. I understand the 'want' to win, but long term, it is dumb from a strategy point of view.

WC were playing without your two best forwards. I always felt that you would find it hard to kick a winning score. You should have had us in the third when you kicked away. But we had basically a lot of things that piled on to help get us over you in the 4th. We had just been through a horror patch of footy where we were dreadful and the chance to put that to bed was going to be motivating. We finally got some senior players back and although many of our guys were underdone, that was a huge boost mentally for our guys to see blokes like Sloane and Laird running around again. And not least, we finally got rid of our Criminal Minds program (it was criminal that we did it in the first place). It wasnt just the players that had this boost, but the crowd too. With all of these things giving us a boost, we were always a chance to come home over the top if we were close enough. I think you guys shouldn't be too worried about coming over to our home ground and only just losing given you will have those players back before finals.

I think you are still in trouble in the short term though, at least until you get back your key forwards. You could easily drop the next three games in my opinion. But you will still be as good as you were in the first half of the season going into finals, which is when it matters. Top 4 could slip away in the next few games. I think GWS will have you to start.

The highlighted bits are very true unfortunately.

Darling hasn't been seen on the training track, and we don't expect to see JK for a few more weeks. Add to the fact that LeCras is having wrist surgery and Ryan looks to be likely going on mental health leave, and our forward line is in deep poo.

Top 4 is basically gone we think. Too many other teams around us with better runs home, and we wont have the firepower available to see off other Top 8 hopefuls in the coming weeks. At this stage we're pessimistic about snagging the 3 required wins to secure finals.

As an aside, I reckon it will almost be a certainty that questions will be asked at the end of the year about the suitability of Optus for footy. It was said before the season started that the ground was too hard to play on, and the wear-and-tear suffered by West Coast and opposition players will certainly raise question marks about that. We are interested to see if it gets addressed during the off-season.