Certified Legendary Thread China History in the Making Part 2

Lol. The game is more than four months away. Revisit in three months.

People need to know if it’s going ahead way more than a month in advance to organise all of their bookings and visas. International flights especially are generally best value 3-6 months out but once you get within 3 months they get incrementally more expensive as you get closer to departure (due to the perception that people booking overseas flights late have less flexibility).

They really need to make the call in the next few weeks.

Why don't the AFL simply do what all sensible travellers are urged to do? Look at the Smart Traveller website. At one stage the AFL were 'working closely with the Australian Government' but now they are waiting for the World Health Organisation. The two are not necessarily congruous.

The WHO are unlikely to rush into anything for fear of repeating the mistakes of 2009 when they declared novel H1N1 a pandemic only to find out it was a variant of common influenza. Meanwhile a dangerous situation exists in China.

On the positive side...

• The majority of people who have contracted the coronavirus have recovered.
  • The higher proportion of the dead are people who were suffering from respiratory problems.
  • Scientists in Melbourne have managed to successfully grow the corona virus and it is hoped this will lead to a vaccine. The thinking is if you can grow it then safely inhibit that growth you may have the basis for vaccine.
All is not lost and the game in Shanghai may go ahead BUT the clock is ticking.

The first two points you make sound like the flu which knocks off people here every year - it's quite interesting the amount of work they are doing to stop it, it does seem on the outset like just another flu, do they know more than we know or are they just being cautious?

I think the thing that has the experts worried is this is a corona virus and the same family as the SARS bug. They got on top of SARS so there is no reason not to expect them to get on top of this virus. The question is of course how long will it take?

One other positive is that the Chinese have been far more open about Wuhan coronavirus than they were about SARS. The first reported case of SARS was in November 2002 but the Chinese did not notify the WHO that they had a problem until February 2003. This time around the response has been earlier and more open so that may help. The Chinese are not ******* about, I had a chuckle at the sight of all those excavators going flat out to construct two 1,000 bed emergency hospitals on the outskirts of Wuhan. The Chinese reckon they will have these hospitals up and running in ten days. It would take Aussie pollies ten days to decide what colour the door knobs should be.

1580263163221.png

As far as the Shanghai game goes, to flew or not to flew, that is the question.

People need to know if it’s going ahead way more than a month in advance to organise all of their bookings and visas. International flights especially are generally best value 3-6 months out but once you get within 3 months they get incrementally more expensive as you get closer to departure (due to the perception that people booking overseas flights late have less flexibility).

They really need to make the call in the next few weeks.

The point is, it's way too early to make that call. That's just bad luck for those wanting to travel for the game.

Too hard basket for me this year. It's a pity, love going over.

Then we’ll have to be content with playing in front of a mostly empty stadium. If people aren’t given sufficient notice then they just won’t bother.
While ticket sales to people traveling from Australia certainly helps it is not the financial driver for this game.

i think the best thing to do is show even greater interest. we drink their tea, we eat their food, we have their viruses. we want their money don't we? show solidarity with our chinese bretherin

Is it you?

Hah, no, just a fan. It is however seemingly physically impossible for a Crows supporter to actually be funny when having a crack at Port though, so the Adelaide Mail piece was a swing and a miss.

Haha Schulzenfest just sitting at home in the dark on his laptop posting on Big Footy and listening to podcasts of himself.

Gotta do something while we wait for Macca19 FishingRick04 and Butters Made Me Do It to get their s**t together.

Hah, no, just a fan. It is however seemingly physically impossible for a Crows supporter to actually be funny when having a crack at Port though, so the Adelaide Mail piece was a swing and a miss.
Adelaide fans 'humour' usually doesn't go beyond pretending our history doesn't exist or calling us bogans / ferals.

That article had potential, if it'd stuck at we've still got Hinkley. If it'd been:

1. Adelaide have a new Coach.
But Port still have Hinkley.

2. Adelaide has worse depth.

3. Adelaide also ditched one of their half Captains.

A bit of self-depreciating humour and a dig at Port, but beyond them.

Now if there was ever an Adelaide fan who could see us as the enemy, without turning into a frothing Gra Gra clone, they could form the People's Front of Karparkistan, with nods to Monty Python.

PFK Leader - to be known as REG: Port have bled us white, the bastards. They've taken everything we had, and not just from us, from our fathers, and from our fathers' fathers.

LORETTA: And from our fathers' fathers' fathers.

REG: Yeah.

LORETTA: And from our fathers' fathers' fathers' fathers.

REG: Yeah. All right, Stan. Don't labour the point. And what have they ever given us in return?!

XERXES: A club?

REG: What?

XERXES: A club.

REG: Oh. Yeah, yeah. They did give us that. Uh, that's true. Yeah.

COMMANDO #3: And better sanitation at Adelaide Oval.

LORETTA: Oh, yeah, the sanitation, Reg. Remember what Football Park toilets used to be like?

REG: Yeah. All right. I'll grant you the club and the sanitation are two things that Port have done.

MATTHIAS: And Adelaide Oval.

REG: Well, yeah. Obviously Adelaide Oval. I mean, Adelaide Oval goes without saying, don't they? But apart from the sanitation, the club, and Adelaide Oval--

COMMANDO: More food outlets at the footy?.

XERXES: Our own license.

COMMANDOS: Huh? Heh? Huh...

COMMANDO #2: More Members from moving to AO.

COMMANDOS: Ohh...

REG: Yeah, yeah. All right. Fair enough.

COMMANDO #1: And the Showdowns.

COMMANDOS: Oh, yes. Yeah...

FRANCIS: Yeah. Yeah, that's something we'd really miss, Reg, if the Power left. Huh.

COMMANDO: The Footbridge.

LORETTA: And they took on the SANFL , Reg.

FRANCIS: Yeah, they certainly know how to take on the SANFL. Let's face it. They're the only ones who could in a place like this.

COMMANDOS: Hehh, heh. Heh heh heh heh heh heh heh.

REG: All right, but apart from the sanitation, our own license, the footbridge, more food outlets, taking on the SANFL, Adelaide oval, Showdowns, and more Members, what have the Power ever done for us?

XERXES: Given us head coaches.

REG: Oh. Head coaches? Shut up!

The game won't happen I don't think.It may take the Chinese 6 months to get the virus totally under control and clear it.
As for the money St Kilda will be able to sell another home game to it's members and with catering etc. the afl should be able to at least make sure the clubs are looked after financially from it.
On field we always don't look the same for the rest of the year after the china game.
So it might help our win/loss ratio