Daniel Menzel will be a star

Re: Menzel- Will be a STAR

Is going to be inconsistent this year and come in and out of games, but showed some great signs today. Far too early to say will be a star, anything could happen.

Daniel Menzel, tonight, showed he will be a star. Varcoe, Dunc and Menzel. top notch!!

Yes Tom....MEnzel looked great tonight....very good hands! He will be inconsistent I expect but the signs are very good. Looks like he WANTS to be an AFL player. Mitch Duncan was a little quieter tonight....but Varcoe was electric..22 possies and cut them up particularly in the second quarter.

Good signs so far mate!!

Jesus this kid destroyed us tonight! was lethal around goals with his hands and feet

He had a good game but he also made a few crappy mistakes as well. Still has a way to go but it is good to see a young player who looks like he wants to be playing in the Seniors.

The word on him has been pretty strong coming out of the club. Both he and Motlop are extremely highly regarded. I reckon we saw exactly why last night. Brilliant hands, composed under pressure and a simply beautiful kick. Could have had 5-6.

Menzel and Duncan will be stars - rather be us than someone like St Kilda.

Throw in T Hunt, Guthrie, Christensen (who I thought played well too last night) and blokes like Gillies, Brown, Motlop - well.... future looks bright too. Just need a good ruckman or two and I will be happy

Yes. last night was impressive. I had been worried Menzel was a little on the vanilla side - a bit like Hogan.
He showed he has at least two very potent weapons last night. Strong hands and ..sigh.. a very very good kick for goal.

Moved beautifully last night. I think I have read some queries about his pace, but he looked to have plenty in the tank from what I saw. And he really seems to be composed with the ball. Really nice signs from him and Duncan the first two weeks. All hail Wells!

Agree with others he just looks like he wants to be out there and take the big shots. A touch of Stevie J mixed with Brendan Goddard in out boy Menzel. We are very lucky, 2009 is the new 2001.

Throw in T Hunt, Guthrie, Christensen (who I thought played well too last night) and blokes like Gillies, Brown, Motlop - well.... future looks bright too. Just need a good ruckman or two and I will be happy

I didn't think Guthrie or Christensen did a hell of a lot, but at least they didn't make any obvious mistakes. Probably weren't able to with the jobs they were given.

Important to get them used to that sort of pressure as well. Would love to see Motlop/Cowan/Brown in there in these types of games as well.

Taylor Hunt was impressive to me, he looks like he really belongs. Didnt do anything spectacular, but tried his guts out and kept up with the pace.

Duncan is classy, will probably take over from chappy eventually in a mid/fwd rotation. Hopefully can develop his defensive game a bit more.

Future looks okay, but a lot hangs on Hawkins and Brown coming on.

Gillies has done nothing to impress me as yet. I cannot see him shaping up as a KP defender and I think that he would get slaughtered at AFL level. I would not put him (at this time) in the same class as Poodle, Duncan and Menzel. He has a long way to go.

Looking good but then again he probably should be showing signs like this. He was our first pick in the 09 draft (pretty sure he was anyway) and looked handy as early as last year. I am really happy with the way all 5 of our younger players looked last night. Wells is still killing it in the drafts for us.

l really hope mez will be a star,he probably will be a little inconstant because he's a young up and comer and the position he plays as flashy forward.but the signs are good,also really liking Duncan start to the season...go young cats.

The thing that stands out for me is Menz loves a goal and is willing to create opportunities for himself (Stevie J anyone) buy also has the basics in his artillery such as defensive pressure, contested ball, good hand/footskills. Seems like an able replacement for someone like Paul Chapman in a few years and can also go back in defence. In our new footy environment where being 6"2 and 'versatile' is flavor of the month, he will be a valuable asset.

l really hope mez will be a star,he probably will be a little inconstant because he's a young up and comer and the position he plays as flashy forward.but the signs are good,also really liking Duncan start to the season...go young cats.

do you mean kittens? :P

carn the kittens!

I like him playing right next to Varcoe. Keep Varcoe on fire, and Menzel doesn't have a choice but to play strong!

He reminds me a little bit of ex-cat Jason Snell.

Though I am hoping he can develop into a player like Sydney’s Ryan O’Keefe.