Premier Lg EPL Matchday 7 - On Optus Sport

Premier League Football

What about the Diaz thing?

Unless it was found to be due to corruption the result will stand. The two VAR officials might never have that role again and could possibly be stood down as refs. I reckon PGMOL will have already distributed a new communication protocol around offsides. All they have to do is change the advice to the ref to something like "Check complete. Onside/offside". At some point they will probably move to releasing the audio every time.

Do what they do in the NHL. They said no goal or good goal.

So turns out it was just a cockup after all, welcome to the club Liverpool.

Of course that's on the presumption that no-one will find out Webb deleted all the reference to Mansour, dirhams and Rodri handball from the audio.

The transcript has been released.

• Referee: Simon Hooper
  • Assistant Referee: Adrian Holmes
  • Assistant Referee: Simon Long
  • Fourth Official: Michael Oliver
  • VAR: Darren England
  • AVAR: Dan Cook
  • VAR Hub Operations executive: Oli Kohout

VAR: Possible offside Diaz

Assistant referee 1: Coming back for the offside mate

Assistant referee 2: Give it

VAR: Just checking the offside. Delay, delay

VAR: Give the kick point, let's go. Kick point please

Referee: Yeah no worries mate

Replay operator: So here we are

Referee: Wait ok

Replay operator: Just get a tight angle

VAR: Yeah give me a 2D line ready after this one for frame two after that

Replay operator: So frame two there?

VAR: That's fine

VAR: Perfect yeah

VAR: 2D line on left boot

Replay operator: Let me just switch angles

VAR: Romero I think it is?

Replay operator: I think it might be this angle better? Happy with this angle?

VAR: Yep

Replay operator: 2D line on the boot. Yep ok.

VAR: And stop.

VAR: Check complete, check complete. That's fine, perfect.

Referee: Cheers mate

VAR: Thank you mate

Referee. Well done boys. Good process (game restarts with a free-kick)

Replay operator: Wait, wait, wait, wait. The on-field decision was offside. Are you happy with this?

Assistant VAR: Yeah

Replay operator: Are you happy with this?

Assistant VAR: Offside goal yeah. That's wrong Daz.

VAR: What?

Replay operator: On-field decision was offside. Are you happy with this image? Yeah it's onside. The image that we gave them is onside.

Assistant VAR: He's played him. He's gone offside.

VAR: Oh [expletive]

Replay operative: Delay delay. Oli [PGMOL Hub Ops] saying to delay. Oli's saying to delay.

VAR: Pardon.

Replay operator: Oli's calling in to say delay the game. The decision is onside

VAR: Can't do anything

Replay operator: Oli's saying to delay. Oli's saying to delay

VAR: Oli?

Fourth official: Yeah

Replay operative: Delay the game, to delay the game? Stop the game.

VAR: They've restarted the game

VAR: Can't do anything, can't do anything.

Assistant VAR: Yeah, they've restarted. Yeah

VAR: Can't do anything.

Assistant VAR: no

VAR: I can't do anything. I can't do anything.

VAR: [expletive]

You can hear the audio here.

Amazing how fast they lined up the replay including the kick point.
Then it was just 5 people on different pages.

If pool have been screwed it's because of all those moaners who whinge and complain about how long reviews take.

The transcript has been released.

• Referee: Simon Hooper
  • Assistant Referee: Adrian Holmes
  • Assistant Referee: Simon Long
  • Fourth Official: Michael Oliver
  • VAR: Darren England
  • AVAR: Dan Cook
  • VAR Hub Operations executive: Oli Kohout

VAR: Possible offside Diaz

Assistant referee 1: Coming back for the offside mate

Assistant referee 2: Give it

VAR: Just checking the offside. Delay, delay

VAR: Give the kick point, let's go. Kick point please

Referee: Yeah no worries mate

Replay operator: So here we are

Referee: Wait ok

Replay operator: Just get a tight angle

VAR: Yeah give me a 2D line ready after this one for frame two after that

Replay operator: So frame two there?

VAR: That's fine

VAR: Perfect yeah

VAR: 2D line on left boot

Replay operator: Let me just switch angles

VAR: Romero I think it is?

Replay operator: I think it might be this angle better? Happy with this angle?

VAR: Yep

Replay operator: 2D line on the boot. Yep ok.

VAR: And stop.

VAR: Check complete, check complete. That's fine, perfect.

Referee: Cheers mate

VAR: Thank you mate

Referee. Well done boys. Good process (game restarts with a free-kick)

Replay operator: Wait, wait, wait, wait. The on-field decision was offside. Are you happy with this?

Assistant VAR: Yeah

Replay operator: Are you happy with this?

Assistant VAR: Offside goal yeah. That's wrong Daz.

VAR: What?

Replay operator: On-field decision was offside. Are you happy with this image? Yeah it's onside. The image that we gave them is onside.

Assistant VAR: He's played him. He's gone offside.

VAR: Oh [expletive]

Replay operative: Delay delay. Oli [PGMOL Hub Ops] saying to delay. Oli's saying to delay.

VAR: Pardon.

Replay operator: Oli's calling in to say delay the game. The decision is onside

VAR: Can't do anything

Replay operator: Oli's saying to delay. Oli's saying to delay

VAR: Oli?

Fourth official: Yeah

Replay operative: Delay the game, to delay the game? Stop the game.

VAR: They've restarted the game

VAR: Can't do anything, can't do anything.

Assistant VAR: Yeah, they've restarted. Yeah

VAR: Can't do anything.

Assistant VAR: no

VAR: I can't do anything. I can't do anything.

VAR: [expletive]
So there was no audio of Daniel Levy offering the group a club shop voucher and a 50% off offer for the dare skywalk?

Replay operator one of these two?
thierry henry GIF by Krowd9

It's just not difficult to be careful with your words is all. The term "victim mentality" is heavily linked with Hillsborough and it's just best not to use when talking about Liverpool or their fans. Just dont use it. It's not really that hard.

This whole mess from Zidane and everyone else egging him on in this thread was silly.

I'm not even bothered about losing the game. We had some iffy card situations that went against us, that happens to every club every weekend. Could Jones not have been sent off? Yeah probably. Could Jota's first yellow not have been a yellow? Yeah, probably. Was he dumb to dive in a minute later? Absolutely.

Was it then going to be very tough to hold out for a draw away from home against a good side with 9 men? Absolutely. In the end we didnt manage it.

Im not bothered about the game personally. I'm confident we are a very good side and sure losing was a setback but I think we can challenge for everything this season and we go again mid-week.

What does bother me and what was lost in this thread amongst all the tribalism was the state of refereeing in England and how they can make such mistakes like the Diaz goal. It absolutely needs to be scrutinized and hopefully something good can come from it in the future. The Diaz one is the biggest and worst of all the VAR mistakes but it's certainly not the first and we are certainly not the only club to be disadvantaged by it.

But that all just got lost in the s**t fight in this thread. But then again, that's just classic BigFooty I guess haha.
If he wasn't such a nuffy and coud let things go rather than having to back and reply to literally every single comment, and insist he was right and everyone else was wrong things might be a little different.