Autopsy Geelong lose to WC by 9 points at Optus

Are people really only starting to see the imbalance in our defence now?

We desperately need to recruit some classy ball users off half back who have a bit of run. I guess that's why they're trying Cooper Stephens there for the time being. Kolodjashni needs to go and Henry need to go back to the role he played when he first entered the side ... the one he looked comfortable playing.

Blicavs isn't a ruckman and his ball use isn't good enought to be playing as a pure mid.

We simply can't have Blicavs, Henry, Kolo, Taylor and Henderson in that backline. Two of those players simply can't play and tough calls need to be made.

Offer a ruckman from another club more money that they're getting now (someone like Draper maybe) and move heaven and earth to recruit Zac Williams. Let Taylor retire, trade Kolo and move on Henderson. That allows Henry to play as an intercept defender where he's more comfortable.

Then draft some kids who are good under pressure and use the ball well ... Zane Trew.

Where are people getting this "first round draft pick" thing from? He wasn't a first round draft pick. He was taken in a part of the draft that was starting to get speculative. What pumped up his tyres was his first year form not his selection order.

I don't know if he's going to make it or not but last night he played like a kid who has played midfield in the 2s for two years and was dropped into the forward line to cover an injury.

I think people are getting confused between Fog being our first selection and being a first round pick & use them interchangeably even though they aren't the same thing

It's frustrating because he was taken pick 22, so we need to remember he was a 2nd round pick, and he's only 21 who has also been battling injury issues over the past 2 years; his last game in his first season was August 11 (round 21) and he only had 2 AFL games last year along with a few VFL games. So it's not like he's had a solid 2 years of football under his belt prior to his selection this past fortnight

Jeesh people are irrational sooks sometimes. After emotions aside i am relatively pleased with the outcome.

No selwood no dalhaus no ablett NO first ruck... Forced to ruck our full back which caused issues against a tall forward line of west coast.

All they had out was mcgovern and redden who has played shit all year anyway And wasnt a loss.

Add onto this the fact we played on their home deck at perth... And the advantages at the moment of that are enormous as instead of using professional services we are using a bloody resort gym facilities.... While west coast are using their own facilities... Recall when west coast had to be in a hotel in queensland?? They where the worst side in the comp just about.

Given everything we only just lost by 9 points and led for 3 qtrs of the game and only lost it in the last two minutes.

I didnt walk away from the collingwood game thinking we are better but i do feel confident off last nights game that we can beat them at our best on neutral ground.

I think people are getting confused between Fog being our first selection and being a first round pick & use them interchangeably even though they aren't the same thing

It's frustrating because he was taken pick 22, and we need to remember he was a 2nd round pick, and he's only 21 also been battling injury issues over the past 2 years; his last game in his first season was August 11 (round 21) and he only had 2 AFL games last year along with a few VFL games. So it's not like he's had a solid 2 years of football under his belt prior to his selection this past fortnight

Has missed two pre seasons which is very damaging for a young player. Needs to build a large fitness base

I know this may be an unpopular view to all accept Vdubs but let's give Parsons a few games at half back because let's face it, he isn't a forward or a true midfielder. We have nothing to lose.

I'd still like an explanation as to why Constable wasnt paid a free kick for head high contact 20 out or why Danger wasn't paid a holding free even closer to goal than that. That would have shut the door.
No free in the Charlie one,two players going for the ball Duggan got there a split second before Constable who then decided to apply a tackle and collided with Duggan's hip who was still over the ball trying to gain possession.

It's frustrating because he was taken pick 22, and we need to remember he was a 2nd round pick, and he's only 21 also been battling injury issues over the past 2 years; his last game in his first season was August 11 (round 21) and he only had 2 AFL games last year along with a few VFL games. So it's not like he's had a solid 2 years of football under his belt prior to his selection this past fortnight
I'd actually persist with him for a while longer and let him build some experience. It's the only way we'll find out if he's going to make it. He wasn't that bad pressure wise and he's not a natural forward so let him build a bit.

No free in the Charlie one,two players going for the ball Duggan got there a split second before Constable who then decided to apply a tackle and collided with Duggan's hip who was still over the ball trying to gain possession.
Going for the ball or not is irrelevant. He was taken HIGH. It's a free kick accidental or not.

Are people really only starting to see the imbalance in our defence now?

We desperately need to recruit some classy ball users off half back who have a bit of run. I guess that's why they're trying Cooper Stephens there for the time being. Kolodjashni needs to go and Henry need to go back to the role he played when he first entered the side ... the one he looked comfortable playing.

Blicavs isn't a ruckman and his ball use isn't good enought to be playing as a pure mid.

We simply can't have Blicavs, Henry, Kolo, Taylor and Henderson in that backline. Two of those players simply can't play and tough calls need to be made.

Offer a ruckman from another club more money that they're getting now (someone like Draper maybe) and move heaven and earth to recruit Zac Williams. Let Taylor retire, trade Kolo and move on Henderson. That allows Henry to play as an intercept defender where he's more comfortable.

Then draft some kids who are good under pressure and use the ball well ... Zane Trew.
I've read that they've been trying Cooper at half back in the praccy matches as well. Honestly wouldn't mind seeing how he goes there sooner rather than later in place of Kolo. We've got more than enough dour defensive types - getting one out of the side wouldn't effect us in the slightest defensively. A 'James Kelly type' in the back half would be invaluable at the minute. Reckon with the short breaks coming up and the inevitable squad rotation, that's a position they should be trying to fill - might even be someone from left-field.

I know this may be an unpopular view to all accept Vdubs but let's give Parsons a few games at half back because let's face it, he isn't a forward or a true midfielder. We have nothing to lose.

We have games to lose. And Parsons shows nothing that suggests he would work in that role.

I've read that they've been trying Cooper at half back in the praccy matches as well. Honestly wouldn't mind seeing how he goes there sooner rather than later in place of Kolo. We've got more than enough dour defensive types - getting one out of the side wouldn't effect us in the slightest defensively. A 'James Kelly type' in the back half would be invaluable at the minute. Reckon with the short breaks coming up and the inevitable squad rotation, that's a position they should be trying to fill - might even be someone from left-field.
I wouldn't be against playing Cocky there either.

We have games to lose. And Parsons shows nothing that suggests he would work in that role.
Mate if you think we're actually a chance of winning the premiership you need to reevaluate your thought patterns. I'd prefer the future over a few meaningless wins in 2020.

Whether you or I think that way is irrelevant because the club doesn't agree and they are the ones making the decisions so it won't happen.

OUT: Constable, Fogarty, Simpson, Kolo, Henderson
IN: Sel, Cocky, Stanley, Kreuger, Narkle

We'll be in 8th after this round finishes, after starting in 3rd. No more time for mucking around. Blood Kreuger against the Roos and see what he's got. Bring Cocky in, as we can't just keep waiting forever - there's only 8 rounds left lol. Stanley in to ruck, Rata gets one more week then Jenkins in if he has another poor showing/needs a rest. Sel the obvious replacement for a concussed Constable off a 4 day break (probs would have been omitted for Sel anyway).

We need to win the next 3, as our run home should be pretty good. I always expected to lose last night, and was proud we got as close as we did and protected our %.

Our squad has more depth than previous years, which is pleasing. Time to see if we can go deep this year, or if we're just making up the numbers.

Bring. It. On.

Whether you or I think that way is irrelevant because the club doesn't agree and they are the ones making the decisions so it won't happen.
I'm well aware of that ... it's why a lot of supporters are critical. I'm only a couch mug and can still see that our current set-up will never work. How our coaches don't (and they're experts) is bewildering.

I wouldn't be against playing Cocky there either.
Rather than shoehorning the young blokes coming into the side in a forward pocket, I'd rather give them spells off half-back and see how they fare. Get some easy ball for confidence and maybe just find someone capable of distributing back there effectively. Who'd have thought that little bloke for the Bulldogs in Caleb Daniel would become their prime mover out of the back half when he first started up? It sounds stupid but we've got too many 'defenders' playing down back, and it stifles us something chronic.

Neither player could have done anything different in the circumstances except squib it,well played by both and play on,that's footy.
You're still missing one thing ... it was still HIGH. Getting taken high is and always has been a free kick.

Have wanted that for ages. Someone who can just maybe make something happen.
We're full of blokes down there who are good most of the time at stopping things from happening but nothing the other way.
2E's going good this year though. But still not really a line breaker.

Rather than shoehorning the young blokes coming into the side in a forward pocket, I'd rather give them spells off half-back and see how they fare. Get some easy ball for confidence and maybe just find someone capable of distributing back there effectively. Who'd have thought that little bloke for the Bulldogs in Caleb Daniel would become their prime mover out of the back half when he first started up? It sounds stupid but we've got too many 'defenders' playing down back, and it stifles us something chronic.
Yep it's the easiest spot to play. Why fill it full of guys who couldn't make it as forwards.

I'd actually persist with him for a while longer and let him build some experience. It's the only way we'll find out if he's going to make it. He wasn't that bad pressure wise and he's not a natural forward so let him build a bit.
I'd advocate that we only persist with him as a mid and stop using him as a stop gap forward.

I think he has potential but he was still way off last night