Gibbs requests trade to Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter Bovo

The real reason this deal is taking so long is all the speculation increases triggy's #1 kpi - website hits, so the blues can document in their annual report that it has been a most successful year.

350k seems in the ballpark for Lyons i would have thought.

The great thing about Gibbs is that his deal was front loaded so he will be playing for between 400-500k pa for us. Probably half the reason Carlton are so pissed.

I think you will find that we will likely extend Gibbs' deal by a year. So essentially it will be a 4 year deal for him to come home.

The question though is that if he is that desperate to come home, why should we change contracts to make it better for him?

He is already on a good contract and wants to come back home. We also need to do whats best for the AFC.

Completely agree.

Selling the farm hurts us long term. I will be livid if we give up two first rounders for a 28 year old.
I agree. Time to walk away before we completely sell the farm. He had a chance to come home a few years ago. We owe this kid nothing especially not a badly lop sided deal.

If we give up 2 first rounders for a 28 year old Gibbs then we are seriously %&*&%.
Another genius at work.

We could get Gibbs, Cripps and 4 future second rounders but the melters would be all wahh 2 first round picks for Gibbs!11!!

In all likelihood swapping our first for Carlton's second in 2017 is a much better result than 13 + a second rounder but carry on. Cant help stupid i guess.

Carey was a great idea poorly executed.

It really didn't seem like we did our due diligence as he wasn't fit and wasn't interested.

He smashed his knee on a stupid SANFL traditional of a square goal post. in the first year just as he was hitting form, and then in his second year driven into the ground stuffing up the knee.

I reckon you guys have to roll the dice on Gibbs or similar.

So many guns at the right age, yes 2 first rounders would hurt a bit in 5 years but you'll be better off for the next 3. Walker, Betts, Jacobs, Sloane, Jenkins etc approaching 30 why not take the punt and watch 3 years prelims(at a minimum).

Another genius at work.

We could get Gibbs, Cripps and 4 future second rounders but the melters would be all wahh 2 first round picks for Gibbs!11!!

In all likelihood swapping our first for Carlton's second in 2017 is a much better result than 13 + a second rounder but carry on. Cant help stupid i guess.

Could be as little as a 1 pick downgrade

So many guns at the right age, yes 2 first rounders would hurt a bit in 5 years but you'll be better off for the next 3. Walker, Betts, Jacobs, Sloane, Jenkins etc approaching 30 why not take the punt and watch 3 years prelims(at a minimum).

I reckon you guys need to be smart and choose a first round pick over an old player who will poison your culture and leave you for nothing in a few years time, after convincing the best young talent to get out when they can.

Carlton gave up pick 3, Kennedy (worth a first rounder) and 30 for for Chris Judd in his prime.

We are giving up 2 first rounders (admittedly lower first rounders) for an older Gibbs.

Kennedy worth a first rounder. He was top 4 pick two years prior. Carlton gave up essentially two top 5 picks and pick 30 for Judd. We are reportedly giving up 1 st rounder and slipping down half a dozen spots at most in 2017.

Comprehension obviously not a strong point!

So when we win the flag next year and Carlton finish last, we downgrade by one pick? Why are people complaining? :cool:

Because it wouldnt be rolling the dice lol. Rolling the dice says there is a chance they come up in our favor

I reckon Kenny Rodgers has some advice for Justin Reid

Time to walk away.

Hahahah
This just reminded me of Roo caught on the Tripple M footy coverage... singing the gambler couple years back! And him repeating it tomorrow in the list management committee meeting

Kennedy worth a first rounder. He was top 4 pick two years prior. Carlton gave up essentially two top 5 picks and pick 30 for Judd. We are reportedly giving up 1 st rounder and slipping down half a dozen spots at most in 2017.

Comprehension obviously not a strong point!

You repeat exactly what i said and then say comprehension isnt my strong point... beautiful irony mate

We were never getting Gibbs for 13 only.

Never.

Well if it was apparent after week one of the trade that 2 x first rounders and nothjng else we should have walked away and stopped wasting time.

I'll be livid if we give 2 x first for Gibbs. I'll hold fire but if that eventuates I will have lost all faith in Roo for letting this get done.

Here's the way I see it:

SOS will accept some sort of deal for Gibbs before the end of the trade period. However he is a very good player and he is contracted, so Carlton doesn't want their supporters to feel like they are getting a bad deal.

Step 1: Leak to media crazy trades for Gibbs that involve very good young players from Adelaide. This establishes that Carlton aren't going to roll over for nothing

Step 2: Release statement from SOS suggesting that Carlton hasn't received an acceptable offer yet. This establishes that whatever deal Carlton accepts will be acceptable and fair value.

Step 3: Accept reasonable deal for both clubs. By previously having established that Carlton won't roll over and will only accept a good deal for their club, this ensures that whatever deal is struck is seen as the best deal.

Thus supporters see that SOS has only accepted what they think is a great deal for them

Another genius at work.

Yes and no, it depends where Adelaide and Carlton finish next year.

If we have a few injuries and finish around the same position as Carlton (say we finish 11th and Carlton finishes 10th). It would then be pick 9 (if we traded our 2nd) vs having 2 picks in the 30s (if we trade our first and receive Carlton's 2nd). Under those circumstances you would take pick 9 any day of the week.

That's the problem with speculative pick trading. At the time you think it's great, but like Collingwood found with the Treloar trade they can also turn around and bite you too.