GWS - Threat or fakes

astro_toby

Intrigued to know where the majority of our supporters think they sit in regards to being a threat.

They are definitely carrying more injuries into the finals this year, however they have definitely been the 2nd best form side of the past 3 months.

Even with their injuries, due to a absolutely, utterly ridiculous silver spoon treatment from several years of raping the national draft - they still have an abundance of talent that most other teams in the 8 would die for. Their depth of talent is totally ridiculous, especially when you compare them to teams like the Cats, Swans, Power & even the Pies - who i think have done a remarkably good job of covering their injury woes.

I think we all know from the past 2 years, the Giants biggest flaw is not on their list, its that they don't have the spine & character to match it against Victorian clubs who have had to work harder fight harder & wait longer for these moments. I definitely felt that last year at the Prelim - they tried to arm wrestle us and come the 3rd quarter their wrist buckled and they folded like a picnic chair. The year before against the dogs, it was a far closer and tighter game - but looking back at where both clubs are now - gee-whiz their list was far superior & they even had the home ground advantage.

Question is - is there anything different about them this year to make us think they have grown so much that they can get over the hump especially despite all their injury woes & win a final at the MCG?

Unlucky.
Done unbelievably well considering and I thought a genuine threat about 2-3 weeks ago but they just can’t take a trick.

Potentially they're a huge threat, but until they show they can deliver in a meaningful final I wont be too concerned.

Of course, as soon as they do, they could well win it all that same year.

Threat for mine

Yes but more of a threat than last year? or less?

I think our list is far deeper this year around - but our top 4 are probably playing below their standard last year.

GWS seem to have a continually growing and rotating injury problem.

And amazingly since that Prelim last year - they have only player 1 game at the MCG which was against a Collingwood side in Round 2. GWS won that match, but Pies started the season a total shadow of the team they are today.

GWS last 12 games also need a closer look as they rarely had to venture to Melbourne to play any team of any real value. Oddly, their entire fixture is pretty much everywhere, except Melbourne.

Lost to Nth - Away - TAS
Lost to Ess - Away - VIC
Lost to Adelaide - AWAY - ADL
Beat the Suns - HOME - SYD
Beat the Lions - AWAY - BNE
Beat the Hawks - HOME - Syd
Lost to Eagles - AWAY - PER
Beat Rich - HOME - SYD
Beat Power - Away - ADL
Beat Stkilda - HOME - SYD
Beat Carlton - AWAY - Vic
Beat Crows - HOME - SYD

The last 12 the have beaten....

Hawks, Richmond, St Kilda, Crows & Suns @ Home
Lions @ the Gabba
Power @ Adelaide
Carlton @ Melbourne

3 of those wins are impressive - only 1 of those 3 were not @ Crowdless Stadium

I think we all know that GWS are a threat of some level, no one is arguing that - but what form line can we really grasp from the about of how they will play again in front of 100,000 Richmond o Collingwood fans - or even 70,000 screaming Hawks supporters @ the MCG. THAT was my biggest question of GWS last year & I am not really sure data there is to really gauge that this year.

If they miss out on a home final & have to face Geelong or Hawthorn in Victoria - do they actually have any form guide to suggest they are capable?

Personally, I am stunned they were not given a MCG match against us this year - if i were them, i'd be livid at that. A team that has made 2 prelims in a row should get a game at the MCG against a team that made the 8 at least once in that 2 year period.

They have the Dees in Round 23 @ the MCG - I guess we will get a better sense then (although Dee;s crowd are barely going to "bring it" in the same way we are speaking of above). Should be a good test for them as chances are the Dee's will be playing for everything & they for a top 4.

Yes but more of a threat than last year? or less?

I think our list is far deeper this year around - but our top 4 are probably playing below their standard last year.

GWS seem to have a continually growing and rotating injury problem.

And amazingly since that Prelim last year - they have only player 1 game at the MCG which was against a Collingwood side in Round 2. GWS won that match, but Pies started the season a total shadow of the team they are today.

GWS last 12 games also need a closer look as they rarely had to venture to Melbourne to play any team of any real value. Oddly, their entire fixture is pretty much everywhere, except Melbourne.

Lost to Nth - Away - TAS
Lost to Ess - Away - VIC
Lost to Adelaide - AWAY - ADL
Beat the Suns - HOME - SYD
Beat the Lions - AWAY - BNE
Beat the Hawks - HOME - Syd
Lost to Eagles - AWAY - PER
Beat Rich - HOME - SYD
Beat Power - Away - ADL
Beat Stkilda - HOME - SYD
Beat Carlton - AWAY - Vic
Beat Crows - Away - ADL

I think we all know that GWS are a threat of some level, no one is arguing that - but what form line can we really grasp from the about of how they will play again in front of 100,000 Richmond o Collingwood fans - or even 70,000 screaming Hawks supporters @ the MCG. THAT was my biggest question of GWS last year & I am not really sure data there is to really gauge that this year.

If they miss out on a home final & have to face Geelong or Hawthorn in Victoria - do they actually have any form guide to suggest they are capable?

Personally, I am stunned they were not given a MCG match against us this year - if i were them, i'd be livid at that. A team that has made 2 prelims in a row should get a game at the MCG against a team that made the 8 at least the year before.

They have the Dees in Round 23 @ the MCG - I guess we will get a better sense then (although Dee;s crowd are barely going to "bring it" in the same way we are speaking of above). Should be a good test for them as chances are the Dee's will be playing for everything & they for a top 4.

Like you said there depth is actually off the charts and they seem to be covering the injuries fine , and some of there lower ranked players are playing really well , they have a great midfield inside and outside and I thik the two pre lim losses in a row should hold them in good stead mentally and having the hunger to win , they have experience now of playing at the G in a final against 95,000 supporting Richmond fans so Wouldn’t be such a shock this time around .
I said it an earlier post if we get to 2017 form then no one is a threat but whether that happens remains to be seen .

Like you said there depth is actually off the charts and they seem to be covering the injuries fine , and some of there lower ranked players are playing really well , they have a great midfield inside and outside and I thik the two pre lim losses in a row should hold them in good stead mentally and having the hunger to win , they have experience now of playing at the G in a final against 95,000 supporting Richmond fans so Wouldn’t be such a shock this time around .
I said it an earlier post if we get to 2017 form then no one is a threat but whether that happens remains to be seen .

I honestly think 85% of our team is playing equal or better than our 2017 form - Grimes, Toby, Edwards, Riewoldt, Grigg, Cotchin, Prestia, Castagna, Caddy, Astbury, Broad, Lambert - they all are playing comparable to last year. Add into that Short & Higgins & i'd say we are in front overall with that group.

Unfortunately the 15% that are not just happen to be our most important players - & that is Rance, Martin Houli, Rioli & to a lesser role B.Ellis & maybe Vlaustin. 2 of those have had interrupted years - but the others we need to see a spark from this week. Its a dream match up for them to do it, so lets cross those fingers and toes.

if we're tackling well we flog them, if we're tackling badly they will prob beat us

they are like essendong but more skilled. mostly coast to coast downhill skier type goals. once you start beating them up a bit townsend style and shutting them down in their defensive 50 they're screwed

Rance is becoming criminally underrated by our own. Never thought I’d see that!

Talent there no doubt,we played poor last month there and butched so many shots at goal yet lost by a single figures.Still reckon when the whips get cracking they go missing and don't like the defence side of the game.Besides Ward and Green and Coniglio alot of them don't like to run both ways.Key for us is don't give them space and time and tackle and pressure.

They have a very good midfield , that Hopper has improved to playing good footy .

I would rate GWS as the 3rd best team ATM.
They will probably end up with a similar H&A record to last year.

Goal kicking accuracy hurts them at times.
Injuries lately to Simpson, Shaw, Green are going to hurt them.
In the last 10 weeks they should have lost to us, StK, but should have beaten WC.
Still inconsistent from week to week. Good defense seems to worry them.
Would not be surprised if Melb beat them in round 23.
I think we would have them covered at the G.

They have a significant amount of talent on their list
They are well coached
Last season and this they have a long injury lists and still sat / sit high on the ladder
Being from Canberra I have seen a bit of them both live and on tv
They are a threat but injuries they have now will weaken that threat level for this year
I have a gut feel this year has galvanized them as a playing group
And they will be a big threat for next year

He is well down on previous years
I reckon that’s rubbish. People are just setting him impossible standards now.
The first thing I notice at games is how much ground he’s been covering this season and it’s nigh on unbelievable. For me I reckon he’s probably never been better.

Any side with that sort of talent is some sort of threat but I think they have a soft underbelly. We have them covered imo, they were a better side last year and we beat them in a canter then - I think we’d torch them now at the G
This...+1

Massive threat.
If they don't win it this year, I'll be backing them to win it next year.

I thought we had it sewn up for the next decade? :(

I reckon that up until now GWS have been struggling to find their feet as a team. Every now and then you get to see what they might look like when it all falls into place and it's pretty scary. I think they could eventually show the same sort of dominance as the Brissy three-peat team who repeatedly brushed oppo teams off the park like they were nothing. I don't reckon they're there yet, but it could happen at any moment. Or, realistically, it might not happen at all.

Right at the moment, I'd back us to beat them, though.

So, yes, they're a threat, but not an insurmountable one.