Autopsy Hawks: 30 minutes not enough for 4 points...

Why is it that most times we play these pricks do we come away with multiple players suspended/reported?

Why do they get under our players skin so much, that we have to react in this fashion? It doesn’t seem to happen regularly against other clubs.

but we need guys attacking with their run to make it work

We'd been seriously down on rotations for a couple of weeks. I'd wondered pre-game if it might affect us.

North just played like millionaires running forward. We didn't repay that compliment back the other way till it was 75-18.

Can't help but think there might have been some extra miles in the legs from the previous two rounds.

After a little cool down time I figured it’s ok to post...
What an insipid half of football! That is all I will say on that as I was genuinely inspired by the fight back & thought we could win.

James ****ing Sicily is a ****ing idiot! Is this a Twilight Zone come back or does he actually think he is Dermott....???? Idiot! Play football, you are good at it & pull your head out of yours or Dermott arse; I’m not sure who’s....

TOB, I cannot bang your drum any longer. I have been a defender of the athletic & skilful rannga but you can sit at box him until you kick a bag of 5 & have at least 1 mark.
From Melbourne to that is dead set shit.

Impey... love what he brings to the club! Agree with a former post for him to show respect on a chase down & simply move on with the game; by all means rub his nose in it as you get up but don’t keep it going.

Breust won’t be getting traded by me at the end of the season. I thought that it was his best game for 2 years. He played as a leader & has, for me, set a new benchmark for himself.

Cousins was rewarded but not required unfortunately. Another selection blunder with a midfield swollen with inside mids. Lewis could have been given the same reward & feed up a fumbly Rough to roam or Worps could have had a crack as the pressure forward/mid & kept Henderson on a wing where he has played well this year IMO.

Chip & Gibson are having the same final season.... he is a second tall, Stratts is a third.

Burton coming back should have had Mirra back at Box hill or not bring back Burton off a 1 week “get back to form” & bring in Brand, Worps or Lewis... same selection ??? As above

Why the **** is our game plan the long bomb?
Bartell, in the pre game said the hawks use pinpoint passes into the 50! Who has he been watching????

I guess for me looking forward I would like to see better selections that are more in line with my view! Lol

Fantastic bump by Ryan Burton! I loved it!!! Fair as the day is long & Michael Christiansen is a ****ing legend for explaining the incident for what it was... awesome!

Higgins getting hurt was unfortunate but it is a contact sport. I hope he is ok. He shouldn’t have played or Scott should have told him to stay with his family. I was amazed in the pre game that he showed up. Baffling & his lack of sleep probably contributed to his awareness not being where it should have been before being bumped.

The bump is not dead!!!

The afl media are all a bunch of flogs who have either never dished out a sweeeet bump or been on the end of one. They are an art that is almost extinct & Burto’s hit has dragged it from the clutches of death himself.
Gone are the days of the Byron Picket blind side hits that were almost a case of manslaughter but please please look at the Burton hit to educate players of what & how a bump is supposed to be done.

We'd been seriously down on rotations for a couple of weeks. I'd wondered pre-game if it might affect us.

North just played like millionaires running forward. We didn't repay that compliment back the other way till it was 75-18.

Can't help but think there might have been some extra miles in the legs from the previous two rounds.

Never considered the carry over affect of our rotations from previous games.

That first half was so hard to watch. Effort was the most disappointing thing for me. There was none, bar a small minority, until after half time when the game was over. Burgoyne would have been handy to throw in the centre to stop the rot, or Cyril for that matter, but alas they aren't going be around forever to help us out.

Goldy killed us early, but once McEvoy had worn Goldy down we started to get on top around the contests, but was way too late. Umpires weren’t helping either, although I’m starting to think that I’m just living in the 80’s and want to see the game umpired liked it used to be. Friday night was so bad, I switched over and watched the Darts, hahaha.

Tom Lynch should be priority 1, McGovern would also be handy, as would another inside mid, even though Brian Taylor, Jimmy Bartel and that ex-Bulldog idiot thought we had recruited Dylan Shiel on Sunday…. FFS, these blokes are paid huge dollars to commentate on the footy, learn the freakin players names. It’s not like Liam Shiels is new to the game either. He has 3 Premierships!!

I thought our depth was looking ok, but when you break it down there really aren’t many certainties in that list. Lack of high draft picks hurting for sure;

Impey: Has surprised me. Looks good but more outside.
Dan Howe isn’t up to it. Brain is way too slow. Takes too long to decide what to do with the footy the few times he does get it. First instinct son.
Cousins may be a good one in time.
Morrison looks good, but is more outside than inside. Has shirked a couple of contests so far this year. Like him though, think he makes it.
Burton, not sure what to make of his start this year. Too much bath water perhaps?
Worpel needs a run, and against Saints would be ideal time.
Duryea frustrates me no end: Hard as nails but has no awareness and decision making is awful. Run down by Majak..Not just his fault, more talk clearly required, and possibly an obvious forward target so he doesn't have to take so long to work out where to kick it! Turnover merchant, but then he does something where you jump out of your seat yelling 'Yes, well done Doc!'
Glass: Not convinced. Shows flashes, but that probably sums up most Irish recruits.
O’Rourke: Need to test him out. Been in Box Hill’s best the past two weeks. 36 touches on Saturday. Likely to break down though.
O’Brien has all the pieces, but isn’t interested, and doesn’t impact the contest at all often enough.
Birchall: Can’t get him back soon enough. Missing him big time.
Langford circa 2014 would be nice, but unlikely.
Don’t know much about Dylan Moore, Jackson Ross, Harrison Jones or Ollie Hanrahan (small forward I think).

A good reminder that we are simply a 7-14 placed side in 2018, not a contender. Having said that, there also aren't any teams playing consistently apart from Tigers at this stage. Season is very open, and will come down to who finds form later in the year and has some luck with injury.

Watching at the ground.... it was our game plan during the first 50 minutes that failed.

1. Having possession of the ball in our back 50 was a liability. There was no option to kick to, and no movement up the field. It was like the players had their boots nailed to the ground, waiting for the long bomb. (This has occurred in every game this year).

2. Half way through the 2nd quarter we went one-on-one across the ground.... and the contest evened up.

3. After half time our game plan had changed again... don't know exactly to what.

I wouldn't blame the players for this loss (even if North had more intensity).

I think it shows that Cyril and Poppy are more than goal kicking super pressure small forwards -

When we don't have the ball they (along with Breust and lesser extent Impey cos he plays more midfield) they are leading up beyond our 50 to get the ball to deliver in

This is also something that Schoey does well but never gets any credit for

What we always do the following week, learn from the week before. I expect Hawthorn people to stand up and realise that you cannot perform miracles every day of the week.
And I have to say a Collingwood person commenting on Hawthorn has mentioned how bad some Hawks get when the team falls off the pace in a given game.
He/she was right, some of us Hawks just hammer everything and fold up and say idiotic things about Poppy and Cyril like this "until they are back playing it'll be like yesterday, every week? What absolute crap!
They don't do the same thing next week either, they learn , they tried to come back, they ran into North who are looking better than anyone thought, and I had a niggly feeling about North all week.
Our journey this year is a work in progress, our young players and older ones have to get used to each other until its all natural , It'll happen, nothing takes 5 minutes.
But you better believe that HAWTHORN LEARN QUICKER THAN ANY ONE ELSE.
So before you whingers start up, DON'T!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We are on our way. Good on North , I didn't see the game but I heard that the umps weren't that hot. anyone ?

Go Hawks.

PS every team has to develop, if you rubbish the hell out of our club don't follow us!

I,d just add this to my comment above, 11 goal to 3 goal second half , is not the sign of a team falling backwards.
To me it’s a sign that we have amazing new players and amazing older players that are learning to do the Hawthorn shuffle precisely and together, as our club has done slowly but always surely better than most.
The younger people have to learn consistency while the experienced have to be patient and realise as time moves on the Cyril’s and the Poppy’s of the world can have their spots filled by players who will after a practical time be “in the same league” shall we say, and develop to play the Hawthorn game plan structure consistently.
Poppy and Cyril will be back, some of our young guns will work on developing into consistent role players, that know what to do and do it regularly, as we did and developed from 2005 onwards!
North were on ! Really on, to get a fast killing done . We did not cope but from what I have heard we re set-up and gave them a fightback , THAT.... is not a football side that bottoms out because two players are missing.

Learn about Aussie rules now before throwing the baby out with the bath water, Hawks are learning all the time!

That first half was so hard to watch. Effort was the most disappointing thing for me. There was none, bar a small minority, until after half time when the game was over. Burgoyne would have been handy to throw in the centre to stop the rot, or Cyril for that matter, but alas they aren't going be around forever to help us out.

Goldy killed us early, but once McEvoy had worn Goldy down we started to get on top around the contests, but was way too late. Umpires weren’t helping either, although I’m starting to think that I’m just living in the 80’s and want to see the game umpired liked it used to be. Friday night was so bad, I switched over and watched the Darts, hahaha.

Tom Lynch should be priority 1, McGovern would also be handy, as would another inside mid, even though Brian Taylor, Jimmy Bartel and that ex-Bulldog idiot thought we had recruited Dylan Shiel on Sunday…. FFS, these blokes are paid huge dollars to commentate on the footy, learn the freakin players names. It’s not like Liam Shiels is new to the game either. He has 3 Premierships!!

I thought our depth was looking ok, but when you break it down there really aren’t many certainties in that list. Lack of high draft picks hurting for sure;

Impey: Has surprised me. Looks good but more outside.
Dan Howe isn’t up to it. Brain is way too slow. Takes too long to decide what to do with the footy the few times he does get it. First instinct son.
Cousins may be a good one in time.
Morrison looks good, but is more outside than inside. Has shirked a couple of contests so far this year. Like him though, think he makes it.
Burton, not sure what to make of his start this year. Too much bath water perhaps?
Worpel needs a run, and against Saints would be ideal time.
Duryea frustrates me no end: Hard as nails but has no awareness and decision making is awful. Run down by Majak..Not just his fault, more talk clearly required, and possibly an obvious forward target so he doesn't have to take so long to work out where to kick it! Turnover merchant, but then he does something where you jump out of your seat yelling 'Yes, well done Doc!'
Glass: Not convinced. Shows flashes, but that probably sums up most Irish recruits.
O’Rourke: Need to test him out. Been in Box Hill’s best the past two weeks. 36 touches on Saturday. Likely to break down though.
O’Brien has all the pieces, but isn’t interested, and doesn’t impact the contest at all often enough.
Birchall: Can’t get him back soon enough. Missing him big time.
Langford circa 2014 would be nice, but unlikely.
Don’t know much about Dylan Moore, Jackson Ross, Harrison Jones or Ollie Hanrahan (small forward I think).

A good reminder that we are simply a 7-14 placed side in 2018, not a contender. Having said that, there also aren't any teams playing consistently apart from Tigers at this stage. Season is very open, and will come down to who finds form later in the year and has some luck with injury.

All logic and the reason that saying 7 to 14 placed is just unsayable right now.

I don,t know where the expertise comes in some people commenting, all I know is our mob “off the field” and in the grandstand I,ll say, have very short memories and apparently also have time machines to see the future ,with a bit of room to give some leeway to finishing one to seven positions differently. Hah, you know what I mean
Now if the commentator above was Alistair Clarkson I,d be migrating to another planet, because if our team and coaches gathered all that doom after4 or 5 weeks, then maybe I,d sack the lot of the coaches and Clarko would coaching netball somewhere. Trying to cope with all the injured knees that sport produces.

Funny watching a power house like the Hawthorn Football Club have so many supporters prone to caving in after we get challenged.
Our club has survived on challenge since before 1925, and look at us.
I guess I see too much impatience and negativity from Hawthorn people on social media.

I am glad the real operating part of the club that puts players on the ground or is a player that goes onto the ground never gives up.

Because not all but a bloody lot give up every week if we lose, or expect a flag every win we have.

Not sold on the second half . Game was over when the kitchen was hot ' first half ' .
No sugar coating, Clarko needs to rip right into them, just not for this week but the rest of the year.
Clarko been asked a couple of times and he said he expects Top 4!

R Schoenmakers contesting across half forward please.
Its actually a good comment.
Lot of fans hammer Shoey but he provides a contest and brings the ball to ground, takes a big strong defender away from Roughie, great set shot, great field kicking and he knows the Hawthorn structure, etc etc.
Hawthorn kicking long to a pack has never worked. Not sure why we dont understand that and why we keep doing it. We have always been a keep possession, use our elite kicking skills and chip it around till we get a breakthrough. We won premierships like that. We have not been a long kicking to a pack team since the 80's.
Lot went wrong, Roughie looked cooked, Frawley I feel was looking good when Lake was around but seems all at sea now. He must be struggling with something because I see a big strong man giving weak efforts over and over again and its just not making sense. I still reckon Lake retired one year too early, not shit Sherlock that as soon as he retired we stopped winning.
Morrison seemed everywhere, he knows how to run into spaces thats for sure. Provides good pace and movement at least.
The umpiring was strange and I feel gave North a lot of momentum at times.
But the first half was really really bad, Punky, Impey, Smith were trying hard all the time. I guess thats what disappointed me, too many players didnt put the effort in and we just looked off from the start.
Im sick of our players being manhandled and pushed around. We looked small and I think Ceglar in our forward set up switching with Big Boy is a must. The resting ruckman would provide a good marking option in a forward set up that looks too small. Having Big Boy as a marking option up forward is good because he is such a good mark and straight kick, very under rated as a forward and one guy that would not be pushed around by anyone.
Burgers coming back will add that class that seemed to be missing.

Well pity me Bumps, I saw Hawthorn lose every game in 1950, it was the wins in those days which were few and far between. On the brighter side I have seen 13 premierships, early ones live, and later on TV, which makes the horror start to my association with the club worth every loss. We learn from our mistakes, and that's what losses are - mistakes.

We will learn from this loss to as we have the best teacher in the competition.
Wow what an inspiring post.
Thanks - you just made me feel better ( even though deep down I know that anyway) but its just great to be reminded again.

Well pity me Bumps, I saw Hawthorn lose every game in 1950, it was the wins in those days which were few and far between. On the brighter side I have seen 13 premierships, early ones live, and later on TV, which makes the horror start to my association with the club worth every loss. We learn from our mistakes, and that's what losses are - mistakes.

We will learn from this loss to as we have the best teacher in the competition.

This is the kind of philosophy that i remember being part of Hawthorn values... and which i hate to see eroded by the "success" mantra of our current President.

Disgraceful start to the game, one might question the pre-game speech from clarko/roughy. We dont want to be that side that wins against the tough opponents (geelong) and then loses to the likes of norf! Some people think they are a better side, i dont. i think we proved in the second half that we are a much stronger side even without poppy, silk and cyril.

Probably already mentioned in this thread somewhere, but I only just noticed in the stats that our team against North was all of the following:
- Shorter
- Lighter
- Younger
- Less experienced

Hard not to think that we treated this as a player development opportunity at the selection table, and got burnt for it.

Just watched the 3rd Qtr again and we were certainly in with a genuine shot to win.

We were 27 points down with about 2 mins to go but there were 4 to 5 instances where we things went against us:

- Roughy dropped a sitter about 40 out.
- Roughy fumbled about 50 out
- Brown got a very soft free in the middle of the ground.
- Umpire decided against a 50/50 for a push out against Breust about 20 out.
- Gunston missed a shot from 50

There were a few more I can't remember but if a few went our way then it could easily have been a 3 goal margin with a quarter to go and Nth being a few rotations down.

We still lost and Nth clearly deserved the win but there are still signs that we can be a very good side this year.

Poor games against Rich and Nth yet we were still thereabouts.
The way we flicked the switch was incredible. We just don't have the talent across the park (especially with Burger, Cyril, Puopolo, Rioli and Birchall out) to let ourselves get that far behind.

The dropped mark by Roughy was the confidence killer I reckon. Missed set shots are something we're okay with, we seem to get a bit excited when the opposition has a kick in.

They kicked 75 points in the first half - but then couldn't crack the tonne by the end of the game. I don't know how that happens. Brown and Waite slicing us to ribbons then we just completely block them.

Not only that, we started short kicking into the forward line, which is when Breust got a couple, Gunston got on the lead a few times, etc. So our forward entries improved and our defence clammed up. It was such a shift.

So we're still finding our groove - our best is totally miserly and scoring ticks over nicely and our worst we get split open. It happened last year in the first six weeks too - except we couldn't turn games in the middle. The last half of the year we just built on defence. Teams just couldn't score over 100 points against us even when they beat us (Richmond excepted).

The first half against north was awful. But I'm still pretty damn excited with what I see.

Thank COJ. Nobody likes losing, and losses hurt, but sometimes we can lose our perspective. Fortunately, we have the best coach in the business to get us back on track. There will be more setbacks like the north game as we build into a solid core once again.

The way we flicked the switch was incredible. We just don't have the talent across the park (especially with Burger, Cyril, Puopolo, Rioli and Birchall out) to let ourselves get that far behind.

The dropped mark by Roughy was the confidence killer I reckon. Missed set shots are something we're okay with, we seem to get a bit excited when the opposition has a kick in.

They kicked 75 points in the first half - but then couldn't crack the tonne by the end of the game. I don't know how that happens. Brown and Waite slicing us to ribbons then we just completely block them.

Not only that, we started short kicking into the forward line, which is when Breust got a couple, Gunston got on the lead a few times, etc. So our forward entries improved and our defence clammed up. It was such a shift.

So we're still finding our groove - our best is totally miserly and scoring ticks over nicely and our worst we get split open. It happened last year in the first six weeks too - except we couldn't turn games in the middle. The last half of the year we just built on defence. Teams just couldn't score over 100 points against us even when they beat us (Richmond excepted).

The first half against north was awful. But I'm still pretty damn excited with what I see.
It's easy to forget that we had a HUGE stinker against Port last year. Id argue even worse than last week considering we at least showed a fair bit for a little bit.

That port game was horrendous... yet we still looked fantastic in the back half.

I can still see a few quarters or halves reflective of last week but I think as the year rolls on we will see far more 3rd Quarter-type performances more often across more games.

We are clearly heading down an exciting direction.

It's easy to forget that we had a HUGE stinker against Port last year. Id argue even worse than last week considering we at least showed a fair bit for a little bit.

That port game was horrendous... yet we still looked fantastic in the back half.

I can still see a few quarters or halves reflective of last week but I think as the year rolls on we will see far more 3rd Quarter-type performances more often across more games.

We are clearly heading down an exciting direction.
Imagine if we just bottled up that 3rd quarter effort and rocked up with that effort week after week. I'm glad our 3rd quarters this year have improved, I think last year for the first half of the season we were tracking last in scorers for the 3rd quarter, so good to see the team has corrected that.

It's the Stewey Dew premiership quarter, the most important quarter of the game.

Sent from my RNE-L02 using Tapatalk

Autopsy Hawks: 30 minutes not enough for 4 points...