Review Hey Dimma, dissect this:

Liverpool
If you give us another autopsy of the most recent game and talk about our work at stoppages, l'll spew up. What we want to know is this:

1. Why is it, 6 rounds in, the match committee - led by you - still dont know what our best 22 is?
  2. Why has our skill development and our fitness deteriorated since 2012?
  3. Why does the match committee - led by you - continue to persevere with a 3 man tall forward line, making our inside 50 look slow, congested and clunky?
  4. Why does our match day set-up / structures look as if your coaching a game that was played last year?
  5. When was the decision made by the match committee's - led by you - to change your philosophy on the use of rookies? What impact has your decision to play rookies ahead of senior players had on blokes that are seen as not fit for purpose?
  6. Which of our players are responsible for on-field leadership to govern and direct players to the appropriate areas at different times of the game - and why have these players underperformed so markedly in the first 6 rounds?
  7. At what stage, will the match committee - led by you - admit that the dropping of Shane Tuck was an error... again?
  8. What style of football is the Richmond Football Club trying brand itself on? Where are the players at in being able to articulate what the RFC stands for?
  9. I applaud the match commitee - led by you - for your re-invigoration of Luke McGuane (l honestly am proud to see the way he has approached his footy this year). However, are the match committee - led by you - working on how to improve yourselves on game day to ensure key players are not missing for long periods of time.
You will notice that this has quite purposefully (NOT) been categorised as a "Roast"... its more of an understanding from a keen member on what he would like you to disect on a Wednesday arfternoon than the usual week-to-week run of the mill stuff.

Yours,
WM

Agree mate - that's not often the case either - but the game has moved on and it looks as though we're trying to win games on improving on how we played as if the competition is going to go play exactly the same way they playes last year. Its bonkers... hence why l ask the question "what is OUR brand of football?".

Isn't our brand of footy high posesion, breakneck quick ball movement?
(I'm not totally convinced.... Prefer hard, solid, traditional footy myself)

Been saying since pre-season that 3 talls doesn't work, we let the ball out our F50 too easy and how often have we crumbed a goal this season?

Have to say i reckon our fwd line looked better with just the two talls last year whilst Ty was injured. Our mods rested fwd and kicked multiples.

I would also be keen for Dimma to dissect why we need to have five or six handballs across the half backs to players under pressure only to eventually bomb it fwd. How do our three fwds know when to lead out when this rapid possession game goes on. By the time they sort themselves out down back and go fwd our structure is all wrong and opposition defenders get back and fill the space.

Just my 2c

Have to say i reckon our fwd line looked better with just the two talls last year whilst Ty was injured. Our mods rested fwd and kicked multiples.

I would also be keen for Dimma to dissect why we need to have five or six handballs across the half backs to players under pressure only to eventually bomb it fwd. How do our three fwds know when to lead out when this rapid possession game goes on. By the time they sort themselves out down back and go fwd our structure is all wrong and opposition defenders get back and fill the space.

Just my 2c
which one of our mods? equus, tugga, coletrain?

Yeah, we were so dangerous last year with Martin and Cotchin isolated deep. With 3 talls we haven't been able to do that this year and it's been a noticeable difference. Martin played deep a bit against the Cats and kicked 2 goals. Vickery/McGuane kick 2 goals in a whole game deep and we applaud them. I'm not complaining because it is obviously important to have talls for structural reasons and 2 goals a game is solid output, but I do think we are missing a great opportunity to exploit our best midfielders' strengths as forwards by playing 3 tall forwards.

Been saying since pre-season that 3 talls doesn't work, we let the ball out our F50 too easy and how often have we crumbed a goal this season?

Agree. It forces the opposition to throw an extra man in defence immediately and prevents us in creating any space. The bullshit theory that one (or two) of Jack, Ty and Luke are used as decoys is rubbish, because automatically there are more defenders dropping back to fill holes knowing that if 2 of our forwards are leading to pockets and we go to them, then its going to be counter-productive.

Last year, (some of) our midfielders came of age because they had freedom to run into space and kick goals - Grigg was handier last year for this very reason. Now, clubs are crowding our F50 arc and saying you can kick it to your tall forwards and well played if they clunk it, but the %'s are with us. They're also saying that you're welcome to kick over the arc and take a shot from 55-60 out, but you only have one bloke with the skill to do that... (Lids) and if we prevent him near the arc, then again the %'s are with us.

We have become so predictable and easy to read in the way we are strcuturing ourselves. This isnt a rant mind, its just an observation that doesn't look to be front of mind with out match committee - led by Dimma.

:(

Agree. It forces the opposition to throw an extra man in defence immediately and prevents us in creating any space. The bullshit theory that one (or two) of Jack, Ty and Luke are used as decoys is rubbish, because automatically there are more defenders dropping back to fill holes knowing that if 2 of our forwards are leading to pockets and we go to them, then its going to be counter-productive.

Last year, (some of) our midfielders came of age because they had freedom to run into space and kick goals - Grigg was handier last year for this very reason. Now, clubs are crowding our F50 arc and saying you can kick it to your tall forwards and well played if they clunk it, but the %'s are with us. They're also saying that you're welcome to kick over the arc and take a shot from 55-60 out, but you only have one bloke with the skill to do that... (Lids) and if we prevent him near the arc, then again the %'s are with us.

We have become so predictable and easy to read in the way we are strcuturing ourselves. This isnt a rant mind, its just an observation that doesn't look to be front of mind with out match committee - led by Dimma.

:(
The opposition have identified we have certain players who don't work hard enough defensively and they are the same players who don't hurt the opposition with their disposals . Hence why the opposition is quick to spread from clearances, move the ball quickly through the midfield and run forward of the ball as often as possible.
Funny you should mention Tuck and Grigg .

Im not a big fan of three talls. In a perfect world we would have two effective key forwards in jr and TV playing well ea rather than 1 in 4 ...med forwards in knights, smalls in king and resting mids in martin....we lack mobility with the three talls...not sure why we have seen fit to kill off nahas career , offers far more than whitey

Played Collingwood and Geelong - both in another class compared to us
Went to Freo and lost by 1 point. Me, I'm not worried.....

Shall we lose to Port, which the bookies seem to think we will...then I'll fully endorse this thread.

I think you're grasping at straws in regards to point 5. Most teams have a rookie who bobs up (no pun intended) Petterd has done well IMO but will be squeezed out by Batch or Dea this week.

If you give us another autopsy of the most recent game and talk about our work at stoppages, l'll spew up. What we want to know is this:

1. Why is it, 6 rounds in, the match committee - led by you - still dont know what our best 22 is?
  2. Why has our skill development and our fitness deteriorated since 2012?
  3. Why does the match committee - led by you - continue to persevere with a 3 man tall forward line, making our inside 50 look slow, congested and clunky?
  4. Why does our match day set-up / structures look as if your coaching a game that was played last year?
  5. When was the decision made by the match committee's - led by you - to change your philosophy on the use of rookies? What impact has your decision to play rookies ahead of senior players had on blokes that are seen as not fit for purpose?
  6. Which of our players are responsible for on-field leadership to govern and direct players to the appropriate areas at different times of the game - and why have these players underperformed so markedly in the first 6 rounds?
  7. At what stage, will the match committee - led by you - admit that the dropping of Shane Tuck was an error... again?
  8. What style of football is the Richmond Football Club trying brand itself on? Where are the players at in being able to articulate what the RFC stands for?
  9. I applaud the match commitee - led by you - for your re-invigoration of Luke McGuane (l honestly am proud to see the way he has approached his footy this year). However, are the match committee - led by you - working on how to improve yourselves on game day to ensure key players are not missing for long periods of time.
You will notice that this has quite purposefully (NOT) been categorised as a "Roast"... its more of an understanding from a keen member on what he would like you to disect on a Wednesday arfternoon than the usual week-to-week run of the mill stuff.

Yours,
WM
If I may I'd like to address a couple of the questions.
1. Can't select the best 22 when all of the best 22 aren't available.
3. Where was this concern when our 3 tall forward line led us to a 3-0 start?
5. Was mentioned in the off season that we wanted mature depth this year to cover for injuries/form at present Petterd is the only rookie playing and it could be argued that his form has been better than Batchelor who is the other option down back.
7. Tuck is averaging fewer disposals, fewer contested possessions, more clangers, fewer marks, fewer clearances, fewer centre clearances & fewer tackles compared to last year. In certain areas the difference is significant compared to last year. How long do you carry a player who is performing far below their best form before you make a call?

I agree and I have never been a fan of employing ex AFL coaches .
Gee thats from left field, look up near top of the ladder and check how ESS , Coll and hawthorn are faring with ex senior coaches in their ranks, sounds more like a strange quirk than anything with a base for claims

I agree and I have never been a fan of employing ex AFL coaches .

At times the link-up play is so hard to watch... it's done without a sense of certainty and direction. Last year it seemed a lot more smoother.
Backline worked so well with Houli, Batchelor, Rance, Morris all at the top of their game.
Grigg was excellent last year on the wing... this year he just hasn't had that impact. This may be because with Tuck, Foley and Conca out, the play through the middle is not as clean.
A good point was raised about the tall forward line. We are pretty hopeless with keeping the ball inside the 50. It's all well and good that we got talls that can crash the pack and bring the ball to ground for the smaller guys like Edwards and King, but when it doesn't go to plan the ball is out of our 50 in the blink of an eye.
Nahas needs to pull his finger out, he is important to our forward line. At the moment there is a clear void there.

The team has a lot of work to do.

Gee thats from left field, look up near top of the ladder and check how ESS , Coll and hawthorn are faring with ex senior coaches in their ranks, sounds more like a strange quirk than anything with a base for claims
Fair point still don't like the idea .
I admitt to being a left field sort of dude .