How bad is Tambling?

Being honest about Tambling and not just having a stir I would say he does not back himself. As my wife follows Richmond I watch quite a few of their games and it is amazing how many times Tambling is in the picture but not in the play. He always seems to be a second or two late or not in the right position. Whether it is confidence ie not backing himself to hit the pack hard, inability to read the play properly or laziness I don't know.

He just seems half a step of the action most of the time.

and a footnote, why does richmond and tambling cop all the crap? if i remember correctly the bulldogs took ryan griffen a pick ahead of tambling. why are they escaping the torch? griffen is a solid player but no star. imagine the dogs with buddy in the goal square this year??
A point missed by most.;)

^ You must be joking!

He was terrible last night. I dont have stats in front of me, but did he have one effective possession??? His decision making is shocking. What good is having pace when the only time you use it is to run around in circles like a headless chook?

I along with others feel sorry that he was placed under so much pressure early on. He definately needs to change clubs.

Being honest about Tambling and not just having a stir I would say he does not back himself. As my wife follows Richmond I watch quite a few of their games and it is amazing how many times Tambling is in the picture but not in the play. He always seems to be a second or two late or not in the right position. Whether it is confidence ie not backing himself to hit the pack hard, inability to read the play properly or laziness I don't know.

He just seems half a step of the action most of the time.
His best game last year was off a half back flank.Thats where i believe he will make more of a valuable contribution to the team.

We're all geniuses now after the fact.

Everyone thought Tambling was gonna be a superstar with krypton for blood.

Now,everyone's getting on their high horse and saying"I told you so".

A great point Sausage,Hawthorn DID NOT pick Franklin first up.

Noone knows really the potential of any player until they get work experience in the big stuff.

Having said that,Tambling seems to get in the spotlight more than other players because he was in the same draft as Franklin so everyone compares him.

LOLZ.

and a footnote, why does richmond and tambling cop all the crap? if i remember correctly the bulldogs took ryan griffen a pick ahead of tambling. why are they escaping the torch? griffen is a solid player but no star. imagine the dogs with buddy in the goal square this year??

Disagree with you here, Griffen is an absolute star and will dominate many games for the Doggies in the future. As one poster said earlier, if you put Tambling on the market, I don't think that many clubs would be interested. If the Dogs put Griffen on the market, clubs would be falling over each other trying to get his signature.

The guy is so highly rated through his high draft pick that everyone expects so much of him. In terms of that, he's definitely failed. If he was picked at 40+, no one would really comment, but given the 'waste' of a trade at pick 4, you would expect more. But he hasnt delivered since, and i doubt he will this year too.

I think if he doesnt do anything this year, he should be looked at for trade bait. I really wouldnt be suprised though that if he gets offloaded to another team he might actually lifts his game.

He may well never match his lofty draft status, and he won't be Robinson Crusoe there.

However, there is no excuse for sqibbing it like he did last night.

He didnt squib he got called out of the contest, you could see the collingwood guy behind him call him to leave it he thought it was a team mate calling.

Didnt look good but I am more then comfortable with his commitment at the footy. He isnt fully match fit and has been on reduced training schedule due to injury for most of the pre-season.

And Walls is an idiot if you are listening to him you probably think Varcoe is a good player

The beauty of this game is you DON'T have to have the best skills to get a game, just put your body on the line and show a bit of ticker. Look at past players like Scott Burns, Glen Archer or Paul Kelly these guys were the first names on the team sheets for their clubs despite not being overly blessed with natural ability because they put their heads over the ball. There is no reason why Tambling cannot put his body on the line! It comes down to how badly you want get the footy, and when it comes down to it Tambling does not want it. Say what you like but the boy has the tools, the only thing holding him back is himself. Until he learns to relish the contest he will always be much maligned and a total waste of a player.

This is pretty harsh on the kid and on Richmond. Tambling was a Peter Matera type gun in juniors, and had we not had a policy of taking talls with our 2 picks, we probably would have taken him. Drafting and recruitment is immensely unpredictable. Buddy could have easily turned into Damien Cupido, and Roughead could have become courtney johns. You can never be sure.

At least Deledio is a gun though. What a grab he took last night

Good to see some balanced Hawthorn posts on this subject :thumbsu:

I think one thing that is overlooked is Richmond's culpability in player development. IMO its is not so much that Richmond got the pick wrong as they have completely wrecked the confidence of a highly talented player with the way in which they have developed him. If there responsilibyt lies anywhere, its with the footy department, not Tambling.

I still maintain that if Tambling had gone to WC, say, he would be a very, very good player, even if he wasn't quite elite.

I thin k it is time for the snag to bring some sense this debate.

Firstly, Terry wallace didn't pick anyone-the recruiting managers are repsonsible for that, along with Greg" Wayne carey made me look good" Miller. He has since been sacked.

Secondly, both hawthorn and Bulldogs ignored Franklin and choose other players ahead of him. So three clubs made the same error of initially overlooking Franklin.

Thirdly, I, and most richmond supporters agree, he has been disappointing. I don't think he is as bad as some say but nonetheless, disappointing. To compare with Franklin is a little unfair.

Agree that Meyer and pattison were poor choices. Meyer delisted and Pattison can't get a game.

Actually Hawthorn wanted both Roughead and Franklin equally.

We knew the Bulldogs would take Griffen no matter what, even if they had the number 1 pick. Hawthorn knew that Richmond had invited Roughead to their draft day BBQ so if we left him to 5 we would miss out and also knew that Richmond rated Tambling close to Deleido so if they couldn't get Roughead they would take Tambling not Franklin. So basically the Hawks knew if we took Franklin at 2 we would miss out on Roughead and end up with Franklin and Tambling. That is why clubs should keep their mouths shut in the lead up to the draft.

Tambling was actually pretty good tonight. I think this is a very harsh thread to be putting up after last nights match. And for those who reckon he doesn't have good skills clearly know SFA.

The problem with Tambling is tha for so long it looks like he has played with no confidance. However, I think alot of Richmond supporters are now thinking that it's less a confidence this and more a "lack of heart" type thing.

Is this a joke? I have not laughed so hard in a long time!
He was woeful. He could not hit the side of a barn from 10 yards!

Some people have no clue what so ever, Tambling was a gun under 18 player, yet for some reason cant step it up to become a gun afl player which is what Richmond thought he would become. To me he is a good footballer that has no confidence. Recruiters see players for what they are in juniors and for what they hopefully will become. Jarred Oakley Nicholls, now there is a player I dont know why they went for him... Tambling I can understand... But why JON... I guess though once again recruiters saw his ability against same age kids.. Im quiet sure if Buddy Franklin went out in under 18 carnival and kicked 10 goals and showed his pure magic Richmond would of considered him ahead of Bling. But hey these things happen and people have o suck it up..

The draft is a lottery some win some dont.. Every team in the league could argue why didnt we tak player A before player B, its called chance.

Adam Goodes (dual brownlow medallist) taken pick 43 1997 draft, Hawthorne took Mathew Dennis ahead of him (Who is Mathew Dennis) but hey once again is chance..

So Richmond made a blunder, every team does.. Stop paying them out over it..

This is pretty harsh on the kid

Unfortunately for Tambling/Richmond, this is his fifth season.

He is like Didak...he looks good when he has the ball on his own but you won't see him getting a hard ball or sticking the arms in the air to take a mark when someone is approaching from behind. Both shirkers and they should have been playing on each other last night to make themselves feel safe.

You sure can pick them, with Ray and McMahon offloaded in recent times.

Some people have no clue what so ever, Tambling was a gun under 18 player, yet for some reason cant step it up to become a gun afl player which is what Richmond thought he would become. To me he is a good footballer that has no confidence. Recruiters see players for what they are in juniors and for what they hopefully will become. Jarred Oakley Nicholls, now there is a player I dont know why they went for him... Tambling I can understand... But why JON... I guess though once again recruiters saw his ability against same age kids.. Im quiet sure if Buddy Franklin went out in under 18 carnival and kicked 10 goals and showed his pure magic Richmond would of considered him ahead of Bling. But hey these things happen and people have o suck it up..

The draft is a lottery some win some dont.. Every team in the league could argue why didnt we tak player A before player B, its called chance.

Adam Goodes (dual brownlow medallist) taken pick 43 1997 draft, Hawthorne took Mathew Dennis ahead of him (Who is Mathew Dennis) but hey once again is chance..

So Richmond made a blunder, every team does.. Stop paying them out over it..

Was he a gun Under 18 player?
He didn't play in an Under 18 comp.
He played for NT in Division 2, it's a lot easier to stand out in Div 2.

Good to see some balanced Hawthorn posts on this subject :thumbsu:

I think one thing that is overlooked is Richmond's culpability in player development. IMO its is not so much that Richmond got the pick wrong as they have completely wrecked the confidence of a highly talented player with the way in which they have developed him. If there responsilibyt lies anywhere, its with the footy department, not Tambling.

I still maintain that if Tambling had gone to WC, say, he would be a very, very good player, even if he wasn't quite elite.

I think this is bang on the money, it's not just a Richmond problem though, the league is littered with "star" juniors who for one reason or another don't live up to expectations.

Bingo. Richmond have to take their share of the blame in this. Player development is an important part of team success and Richmond seem to have failed in the case of Tambling. However, the question is how much of the blame to you put on Richmond and how much do you put on Tambling?

Tambling is the sort of bloke who'd be a best friend after a convo.

Nice guys finish last in this world of warts.

Don't worry about the naysayers mate.

Keep your head up.
That's all well and good, but Footballers are judged on their onfield pursuits, not their personality.

Otherwise Johnny Barker would've won 5 Brownlows.

That's all well and good, but Footballers are judged on their onfield pursuits, not their personality.

Otherwise Johnny Barker would've won 5 Brownlows.

To be fair, this was a practice match and he has had a reduced pre season with OP/groin problems.
Save your criticism till at least round five of the regular season and it will have a lot more weight behind it.

I agree, however, that he is running out of time to prove himself. I guess, in his favour, is the fact that Leon Davis and even Michael Long played their best football after 22 years of age.