Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 6

WA in my opinion had the best possible scenario in terms of being able to prepare their health system for what’s to come. Imagine having months to prepare and still struggling. Mind boggling.

Yep with a massive surplus as well, and whilst they love him now, opening up might change their opinions of him when shite hits the fan, as the health system their has been under stress without Covid. The heat on him will go up a fair bit.

Not saying that your views are wrong, but you might want to look into Dr John Campbell a bit further in order to glean whether he is a reliable source. Firstly he’s no epidemiologist, so why he is out there spruiking his views on a subject not within his field I don’t know. Secondly he has more than once got himself into hot water through spreading misinformation about COVID. He is however a bit of an anti-vac hero.

He doesn't. He attempts to intrepret information coming from epidemiologists indifferent countries. I think he would trash his reputation if he started to pretend he was an expert. He tends to give his opinion but in most occasions he says it is his opinion on the data he has just wxplained.

But I agree, that everyone needs to take extreme caution in anything on Youtube. Even factual information can be misinterpreted for whatever ends.

i have found him to be better than most, but that does not mean he is 100% correct. As like almost every person on earth, I am ignorant of virology and try to get information on what I believe is, on the whole, truthful and hopefully reliable.

Like everyone, I want this pandemic to end. So does what Campbell is reporting fit my eagerness and bias? Probably.

Don't think Campbell is a crackpot as one describe him. he seems to draw conclusions from a range of other experts and what they have published from a range a countries.

but with misinformation rife on this subject, I think your post is a pretty well founded warning.

Interesting that he is an anti vac hero when he is completely and utterly pro vax. He has had vids on Ivermectin and believes that is one of the drugs that may treat it, but as he has said, he is greedy, and wants vaccines, and any other drug that will save lives and negate serious illness.

Yep with a massive surplus as well, and whilst they love him now, opening up might change their opinions of him when sh*te hits the fan, as the health system their has been under stress without Covid. The heat on him will go up a fair bit.
Friend is a health worker in WA. They are in overload without covid, they are worried to death.

Reckon we’ll ever learn?

No, because the rich, self-serving campaigners that run the show can tap into what they need, when they need it.

Very few politicians operate outside of the bounds of self-interest. Certainly not enough of them to make a material difference.

Either be filthy rich or ride your luck and hope you don't get critically ill.

He doesn't. He attempts to intrepret information coming from epidemiologists indifferent countries. I think he would trash his reputation if he started to pretend he was an expert. He tends to give his opinion but in most occasions he says it is his opinion on the data he has just wxplained.

But I agree, that everyone needs to take extreme caution in anything on Youtube. Even factual information can be misinterpreted for whatever ends.

i have found him to be better than most, but that does not mean he is 100% correct. As like almost every person on earth, I am ignorant of virology and try to get information on what I believe is, on the whole, truthful and hopefully reliable.

Like everyone, I want this pandemic to end. So does what Campbell is reporting fit my eagerness and bias? Probably.

Don't think Campbell is a crackpot as one describe him. he seems to draw conclusions from a range of other experts and what they have published from a range a countries.

but with misinformation rife on this subject, I think your post is a pretty well founded warning.

Interesting that he is an anti vac hero when he is completely and utterly pro vax. He has had vids on Ivermectin and believes that is one of the drugs that may treat it, but as he has said, he is greedy, and wants vaccines, and any other drug that will save lives and negate serious illness.
Yes to all that. I’m not sure why anti vaccination people like this guy either, unless they are like many extremists that grasp selective information to confirm their POV? I’m not sure. They are a strange mob that seem to come at their stance from a multitude of different angles.

They’ll lockdown again at the sign of multiple new cases. Way too obvious.

The opening date for me will be a claytons opening, you have to get a G2G ( passport) to go there, which they have to approve, at this point in time about 3 weeks out before opening you cannot apply, i see them knocking people back without explanation.

No, because the rich, self-serving campaigners that run the show can tap into what they need, when they need it.

Very few politicians operate outside of the bounds of self-interest. Certainly not enough of them to make a material difference.

Either be filthy rich or ride your luck and hope you don't get critically ill.

Bold, never a truer word spoken in relation to all politicians in this country.

Friend is a health worker in WA. They are in overload without covid, they are worried to death.

It will be a claytons opening, the pass system they have to get into the state is not allowing applications 3 weeks out from opening date, most people have to plan a trip around time off work and price, not opening this until the day will hit the pause button for a lot of people.

I would love to get back to see family, but i'm going to wait and see what happens and how they react once Covid takes off before making plans.

By doing what sensible people are doing, keeping our of risky situations.

Or would you suggest omicron parties, to ‘get to over with’
I thought you were pushing for further government intervention?

People being cautious if thats what they choose to do is sensible, people attending parties designed specifically to catch Omicron is not. Being triple vaxxed and getting about your daily life without a huge abundance of caution is another option, thats the one I’m taking.

I thought you were pushing for further government intervention?

People being cautious if thats what they choose to do is sensible, people attending parties designed specifically to catch Omicron is not. Being triple vaxxed and getting about your daily life without a huge abundance of caution is another option, thats the one I’m taking.

I’m not across it, but if people are largely self regulating, there’s not the need for imposition and the array of shonky fines etc

Beware of anyone who thinks Dr Campbell is a RWNJ. If politics is on a spectrum they are pretty far left.

there is that word mild again

What's your definition of mild?
Death-rate of Chicken pox amongst aborigines was 25%. That is virulent.

Delta strain of Covid 15%, in unvaccinated South Africa

Delta strain fatality rate around 3.4%

Spanish flu was approx 2.5%

Omicron is about 0.3%

Increased levels of immunity through vaccinations has clearly reduced the fatality rate of Covid-19.

Nevertheless no time for complacency. Hospitalisations in the US are at a record high, meaning that more people are now being treated for serious COVID than at any point in the pandemic. We are still several weeks from this juncture.

I am assuming Morrison is hoping the pandemic will transition into an endemic. COVID-19 will continue to circulate, but people will have gained enough immunity to it from vaccinations and natural infection (via the relatively mild Omicron strain) that there would be significantly less transmission.