Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.

Don’t worry. Apparently AFL have been talking about giving him an Ambassadorial role, just like they offered Buddy if he went to GWS. How can that even be legal??? But the AFL just make the rules as they please. Cockroaches.
Good he can have an Ambassadorial role in Tazzie, after all the AFL said it could apply to anyone regardless of team.

I’m with Jeff that afl money spent overseas is a waste if it isn’t done in a systematic way and continuous

Too often the os stuff has been a junket

As they say in Japanese culture: "If we all agree it will make it true."

The other CEO's know it's like the little boy and the emperors new clothes. It just takes one person to be honest and the house of cards comes tumbling down.

I’m with Jeff that afl money spent overseas is a waste if it isn’t done in a systematic way and continuous

Too often the os stuff has been a junket
As someone who gets to take advantage of said junket, Gil doesn't see a problem here.

Something that always irks me, and has come up today with Kochie having a go at us, is the using our 'family club' moniker against us when it comes to poker machines. To me, the family club has always meant to mean the Hawthorn family. We haven't called ourselves the ethical club, or the community club or the charity club. It's also not the family friendly club - the family club relates to our own.

I am not defending the pokies and I have stated previously that while I have no major quandary making money from legal avenues that I also support looking for alternative revenue streams that don't have as much of a negative societal impact. People taking swipes at us on the family club motto (particularly Caro, who while I respect she passionately follows a club that makes money from poker machines also) and linking it to the poker machine revenue are barking up the wrong tree for mine.

Apparently taking revenue from Pokies is the lowest thing possible.
Revenue from the AFL which is of course revenue from other gaming and bookmaking companies being passed on....that's not as bad.
Taking money from Tasmania for a sponsorship and playing games there, again a really low thing.

...but of course, taking hundreds of thousands of dollars from a third world country, with zero intention of growing the game there... that's just fine.

children01.jpg

Apparently taking revenue from Pokies is the lowest thing possible.
Revenue from the AFL which is of course revenue from other gaming and bookmaking companies being passed on....that's not as bad.
Taking money from Tasmania for a sponsorship and playing games there, again a really low thing.

...but of course, taking hundreds of thousands of dollars from a third world country, with zero intention of growing the game there... that's just fine.

children01.jpg

I thought Jeff said the Hawks weren't going to India.

Something that always irks me, and has come up today with Kochie having a go at us, is the using our 'family club' moniker against us when it comes to poker machines. To me, the family club has always meant to mean the Hawthorn family. We haven't called ourselves the ethical club, or the community club or the charity club. It's also not the family friendly club - the family club relates to our own.

I am not defending the pokies and I have stated previously that while I have no major quandary making money from legal avenues that I also support looking for alternative revenue streams that don't have as much of a negative societal impact. People taking swipes at us on the family club motto (particularly Caro, who while I respect she passionately follows a club that makes money from poker machines also) and linking it to the poker machine revenue are barking up the wrong tree for mine.
I never want us to struggle financially or go broke ('96) ever again. lf that means keeping the pokies indefinitely then so be it. lt's hard enough
competing for dollars in the afl but we are fighting tooth and nail against all national sports who require and chase sponsorships to survive.

Under Koch's presidency, the Power have run and derived revenue from two pokies venues and have had a prominent sponsorship arrangement with an online betting agency. Hypocrisy - thy name is Koch.

I'm not a Kennett fan but on this score, he's spot on. The AFL is simply wasting time and money that would be more profitably spent on grass roots footy by supporting the pushes into China and India. They'll go nowhere and simply be a drain on resources. I also have no qualms with Kennett publicly calling out the AFL on this, because the AFL only cares about its public image.

Rather than just cheap shots at Hawthorn ("your terrible club rips families apart through your exploitation of problem gamblers"), it does not take much searching to find additional information that is worth factoring in to the bigger picture...

AFL very happy to be involved in other forms of gambling.

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/afl...enistic-and-hypocritical-20180311-p4z3xe.html

Alot of clubs with their hands in the pokies cookie jar - Hawthorn own two of the most lucrative venues.

http://www.pokiesplayyou.org.au/afl_fact_sheet

The Victorian Government very happy to grab a fair slice of tax revenue from pokies - if you dont mind umpire!

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-05-...rian-government-is-funding-its-budget/8493280

Unless the government is planning to ban pokies completely (VERY UNLIKELY), then not having AFL clubs involved in the industry will simply mean that the portion of revenue they used to obtain will simply flow to other private interests, many of whom are not likely to be interested in redirecting those funds towards any sporting or community minded activity at all. The pokies will still roll on merrily, and the state government (with either side of politics involved) will be just as "dependent" as anyone else.

Can our journos have a mature discussion about it - please? Until an alternative source of funds is identified and captured, the clubs involved in pokies can, and will, take advantage of the opportunity to build up their balance sheets and hopefully develop other business interests that can take over from pokies in the long run. The best they can do to compensate for their involvement in an industry that has some negative effects on the community is try and balance that out by encouraging responsible gambling at their venues.

Is this true?
I found this link to Kennett's wishes to spread the AFL into other countries ie to grow the game internationally

Surely Kennett wouldn't be promoting taking the AFL into other countries
And ...
.... criticising other who want to take the game into other countries?

Am I missing something ? Or is this the ultimate foot in mouth hypocrisy?

"HAWTHORN has entered the New Zealand market, launching a new community-based program called 'HANZ-UP! AFL Program' and securing its first Kiwi international scholarship player Kurt Heatherley.

The Hawks announced an initial three-year deal with an option to extend the partnership until the end of 2018. The program is the brainchild of Hawthorn player personnel and strategy manager Chris Pelchen and is the result of 18 months research and planning.

HANZ-UP! was launched by president Jeff Kennett, AFL national community manager community development manager Dean Warren and Kiwi-born Hawks Trent Croad, Brent Renouf and Shane Savage at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

Kennett said Hawthorn's entry into New Zealand would help grow the game and the Hawks' profile and talent pool long-term.

"Today we plant an acorn, from which will grow a mighty force, the Tasman Triangle," he said.

"The partnership between Hawthorn Football Club in Victoria, with New Zealand and Tasmania, will offer and develop the Australian football code, giving young people the choice to play the game, from which talented players might find a professional career."

Hawthorn has joined with AFLNZ to promote HANZ-UP! through programs such as KiwiKick (a New Zealand version of Auskick), the Hawks Cup (a year-nine and year-10 schools competition) and the Trent Croad Scholarship Scheme (AFL international scholarships). Annual skills clinics will also be held throughout New Zealand featuring Hawthorn players.

KiwiKick will see all participants receiving kits branded with the Hawks and HANZ-UP! logos, while Hawks Cup players will be given exclusive Hawthorn merchandise.

The Hawks have already set-up a national talent identification network on the north and south islands, which will identify young sportsmen suitable to be listed under the AFL international scholarship scheme.

Heatherley, from Tauranga, 220km south-east of Auckland, will be the first Kiwi to sign with the Hawks under the Trent Croad Scholarship Scheme, which targets New Zealanders aged between 15 and 23 years.

He is already one of New Zealand's top young sportsmen, starring for his country in the recent under-16 Australian basketball championships while also being a member of the national cricket and rugby union talent squads.

The soon-to-be 15-year-old will undertake specialist training and coaching with the Hawks in New Zealand and Australia over the next four years.

He will also participate in AFLNZ programs at under-16 and under-18 level in the Oceania region before being eligible to be listed as a senior player in 2013.

In other developments, AFLNZ teams participating from under-16 to senior level will play under the NZ Hawks banner and a 'Hawks Kids' TV program will be produced for the New Zealand market.

AFL national community manager community development manager Dean Warren said the program was an exciting part of the AFL's international vision to promote the game.

"AFL clubs and their players are Australian football's biggest promotional assets and to have one of the AFL's most recognised and successful clubs supporting AFL New Zealand and the growth and development of the game in New Zealand is very exciting," he said.

"The AFL is delighted that Hawthorn Football Club shares our international vision."

Is this true?
I found this link to Kennett's wishes to spread the AFL into other countries ie to grow the game internationally

And ...

"HAWTHORN has entered the New Zealand market, launching a new community-based program called 'HANZ-UP! AFL Program' and securing its first Kiwi international scholarship player Kurt Heatherley.

The Hawks announced an initial three-year deal with an option to extend the partnership until the end of 2018. The program is the brainchild of Hawthorn player personnel and strategy manager Chris Pelchen and is the result of 18 months research and planning.

HANZ-UP! was launched by president Jeff Kennett, AFL national community manager community development manager Dean Warren and Kiwi-born Hawks Trent Croad, Brent Renouf and Shane Savage at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

Kennett said Hawthorn's entry into New Zealand would help grow the game and the Hawks' profile and talent pool long-term.

"Today we plant an acorn, from which will grow a mighty force, the Tasman Triangle," he said.

"The partnership between Hawthorn Football Club in Victoria, with New Zealand and Tasmania, will offer and develop the Australian football code, giving young people the choice to play the game, from which talented players might find a professional career."

Hawthorn has joined with AFLNZ to promote HANZ-UP! through programs such as KiwiKick (a New Zealand version of Auskick), the Hawks Cup (a year-nine and year-10 schools competition) and the Trent Croad Scholarship Scheme (AFL international scholarships). Annual skills clinics will also be held throughout New Zealand featuring Hawthorn players.

KiwiKick will see all participants receiving kits branded with the Hawks and HANZ-UP! logos, while Hawks Cup players will be given exclusive Hawthorn merchandise.

The Hawks have already set-up a national talent identification network on the north and south islands, which will identify young sportsmen suitable to be listed under the AFL international scholarship scheme.

Heatherley, from Tauranga, 220km south-east of Auckland, will be the first Kiwi to sign with the Hawks under the Trent Croad Scholarship Scheme, which targets New Zealanders aged between 15 and 23 years.

He is already one of New Zealand's top young sportsmen, starring for his country in the recent under-16 Australian basketball championships while also being a member of the national cricket and rugby union talent squads.

The soon-to-be 15-year-old will undertake specialist training and coaching with the Hawks in New Zealand and Australia over the next four years.

He will also participate in AFLNZ programs at under-16 and under-18 level in the Oceania region before being eligible to be listed as a senior player in 2013.

In other developments, AFLNZ teams participating from under-16 to senior level will play under the NZ Hawks banner and a 'Hawks Kids' TV program will be produced for the New Zealand market.

AFL national community manager community development manager Dean Warren said the program was an exciting part of the AFL's international vision to promote the game.

"AFL clubs and their players are Australian football's biggest promotional assets and to have one of the AFL's most recognised and successful clubs supporting AFL New Zealand and the growth and development of the game in New Zealand is very exciting," he said.

"The AFL is delighted that Hawthorn Football Club shares our international vision."

Been there done that got the tshirt

5268B199-39B1-4AA0-ABD2-571BDCF8C00F.jpeg
6D090191-63D4-4D32-A8AE-1DCCB95318B4.jpeg

Is this true?

And ...

Kennett was opposing the plans to move into China and India.

Nice attempt at a troll, though, mate!

Is this true?

And ...

Make sure you guys pack the tarps this year so those awkward gaping gaps in the crowd don’t look so bad.

Maybe Kennett thinks overseas expansion is a waste of money based on the Hawks attempt to expand into New Zealand? I mean surely he couldn't have formed his current view based on past experience.....

Hey Pedro59

You can play on the moon if you want. Not an issue. Just don’t use AFL funds to bank roll your experiment. That is the point you port supporters are missing. Sending a few staff to NZ at your own expense as the Hawks did is not the same as waiting for someone else to pay for 100 people to fly over, hire and set up a ground. For every AFL dollar that your club takes from AFL coffers in doing so means you are being subsidised for your experiment.

And as the latest means of equalisation stands, for every dollar you lose you recover from the AFL in higher payment/ distribution compared to other clubs. Almost an insurance policy if you like. Once you get your head around this, you will better understand why Jeff says it is a waste of money.

Hey Pedro59

You can play on the moon if you want. Not an issue. Just don’t use AFL funds to bank roll your experiment. That is the point you port supporters are missing. Sending a few staff to NZ at your own expense as the Hawks did is not the same as waiting for someone else to pay for 100 people to fly over, hire and set up a ground. For every AFL dollar that your club takes from AFL coffers in doing so means you are being subsidised for your experiment.

And as the latest means of equalisation stands, for every dollar you lose you recover from the AFL in higher payment/ distribution compared to other clubs. Almost an insurance policy if you like. Once you get your head around this, you will better understand why Jeff says it is a waste of money.
Umm
If you read your own press releases it was about more than sending a few staff over to NZ
It is about trying to kick off AFL in another country ( like Port) with the AFL paying for the bills
As I said what a hypocrite