Coach Josh Gibson returns - part-time specialist coaching role, assisting line coach John Blakey.

200.gif
do you even remember when he played for us?

Three-time flag star added to stellar coaching panel

Josh Gibson is the final addition to North Melbourne's 2023 coaching panel and will support assistant coach John Blakey in the role of specialist coach of defence.

Shinboner No.921 Gibson played 65 games in four years for the Kangaroos before he switched stripes to join Hawthorn at the end of 2009. He featured 160 times for the Hawks from 2010 to 2017 under now North Melbourne senior coach Alastair Clarkson.

Playing primarily as a key defender, Gibson was a crucial part of Hawthorn's three Grand Final victories across 2013-2015, underlined by his two Best and Fairest wins in 2013 and 2015.

Gibson will not only reunite with Clarkson, but with fellow three-time flag winner Liam Shiels and versatile 96-gamer Daniel Howe, who all shared time at the Hawks.

Over the past month, the Kangaroos have also welcomed to the coaching ranks development coach Emma Kearney, and part-time assistant coaches Brett Ratten and Damian Monkhorst.

They each bring their own wealth of experience to the existing panel, which includes Clarkson, Blakey, Gavin Brown, Brent Harvey, Leigh Adams, Jordan Russell and Tom Lynch.

Former Port Adelaide and St Kilda player Jarrod Lienert will fulfil a role as part-time assistant coach and player role under Lynch in the VFL program. The recently delisted mature-aged defender managed 34 games across his six-year career in the AFL.

North Melbourne's coaching panel is now one of the league's most decorated with over 2,250 games of cumulative playing experience with multiple premierships won as players, coaches and assistant coaches across all levels of football.

Former Melbourne great and experienced assistant coach and administrator Todd Viney (general manager of football), Brady Rawlings (head of football talent), Daniel Cross (reconditioning coach) and Scott Clayton (national talent scout) round out the extraordinary wealth of AFL playing experience in the football department heading into 2023.

North Melbourne 2023 coaching panel
Senior coach – Alastair Clarkson
Assistant coaches – John Blakey (defence), Jordan Russell (midfield), Leigh Adams (forwards)
VFL & development coach – Tom Lynch
Head of development – Gavin Brown
Development coaches – Brent Harvey, Emma Kearney
Part-time specialist coaches – Brett Ratten, Josh Gibson, Damian Monkhorst

Look at that coaching panel and that admin/footy department team, that’s class.

All the pieces are finally now in place, the march to No. 5 truly begins.

Also I heard during the shirt presos Clarkson said he was a bit part player for us, I don't agree with this, I think he was very good when he played for us and the difference is he joined a better team.
Agree. He was well and truly entrenched in the team after a reasonable apprenticeship. Part of the reason we were so dirty on him was exactly that, we rated him when nobody did, worked with him to get him ready to play a long term role for the team - then he up and left.

So a few people saying this is a great appointment. Out of curiosity can anyone tell me what Gibsons coaching credentials are? Has he been coaching since he retired?
Ease up he's a specialist assistant to a line coach.

Only got the 3 flags and 2 B&Fs in Premiership Years - yeah probably wouldn't add much.

Ease up he's a specialist assistant to a line coach.

Only got the 3 flags and 2 B&Fs in Premiership Years - yeah probably wouldn't add much.
Plenty of good footballers that can't coach for s**t. The guy is complete flog, no 2 ways about it. Besides, Aaron Black is better, get him to coach.

We didn't even come up with a cool nickname or devil fishism

Heath Younie = The to love one another.
I reckon whoever it was that come up with The Student pretty much nailed it.

If I want advice for Revs at 5am, this is the bloke i’d be askin.. specialist Revolver.. funny he was in a queue when playing at North and would skip the queue when at Hawthorn.. caught the campaigner in line a night before a game once. Called him out and gave him an absolute mouthful. Buddy got him out of the line and into Revs. The only night I was turned away from Revs in my life. * Josh Gibson. The board should have stepped in and said “* NO”