News Noble confirmed as North HC

It's possible to wish someone well because he's done a good job with us while also being disappointed that he left the club. Many people are able to have mixed feelings on things.

And quit with the "apologists" and "band wagoner" name calling rubbish you insist on pulling out. Gatekeeping on support of a sports club is pathetic.

I'm surprised to hear this attitude towards Noble given how voluminous you are in your praise of ex-Lions players with other clubs. You'd rather fringe players do well at other clubs but not someone who, as you point out, was one of the biggest contributors in turning our club around from a basket case and did more for the club than any of the players.
I'm surprised that you are surprised.

Yet you've failed to be humble and thank him for the great work he's done for the club, or wish him the best for the future, but I suppose that just proves once again what type of character you really are, hope like hell we don't get the likes of you at the club anytime soon.
I am sure Noble reads BigFooty.

Don't worry, I sent David a Hallmark congratulatory card expressing my humbleness and well wishes.

Just didn't think it was worth expressing how ecstatic I was on here that he moved on knowing full well what a disaster its going to be and the number of players that will follow him to Arden Street in the coming years.

As for the type of character I am, no doubt, no different to Greg Swann.

Don't worry, I sent David a Hallmark congratulatory card expressing my humbleness and well wishes.

Just didn't think it was worth expressing how ecstatic I was on here that he moved on knowing full well what a disaster its going to be and the number of players that will follow him to Arden Street in the coming years.

Don't sell yourself short you've got Swann covered by a mile.

I’m not quite sure who you’re mad with:

A) Noble for leaving
B) Swann for not stepping aside so Noble could take over and stay
C) Fagan for having the tenacity to stay in his job that he’s succeeded in rather than voluntarily leave for Noble to take over
D) The host of players who apparently now are going to change their minds entirely about staying in Brisbane just because of Nobes leaving
E) The rest of us for not sharing your outrage

I get that you’re upset by the news, but it seems to be flying in all directions at the moment.

It’s gutting news from a club PoV no doubt. Nobody is denying it.

But if the culture Noble has helped create is so weak as to crumble the moment he walks out the door, then maybe he isn’t as good at the job as he seemed.

Also, only two players followed Noble from the Crows. Charlie was coming before Nobes joined the club - he wanted to live in QLD. And CEY got more job security here. That’s despite Adelaide falling off a cliff while we climbed the ladder - even in those circumstances, no players really ‘followed’ him up here.

Noble has been a super important part of our build. But most of his work of establishing a new culture is done. Andrew Ireland was the great administrator we had before Nobes, and he left in 2001 after the bulk of the foundational work had been done too.

I wonder if we have a successor for Nobes from within ?

Would be unlike him to leave without giving the club a few ideas about how he would hand over.

I’m not quite sure who you’re mad with:

A) Noble for leaving
B) Swann for not stepping aside so Noble could take over and stay
C) Fagan for having the tenacity to stay in his job that he’s succeeded in rather than voluntarily leave for Noble to take over
D) The host of players who apparently now are going to change their minds entirely about staying in Brisbane just because of Nobes leaving
E) The rest of us for not sharing your outrage

I get that you’re upset by the news, but it seems to be flying in all directions at the moment.

But if the culture Noble has helped create is so weak as to crumble the moment he walks out the door, then maybe he isn’t as good at the job as he seemed.

Also, only two players followed Noble from the Crows. Charlie was coming before Nobes joined the club - he wanted to live in QLD. And CEY got more job security here. That’s despite Adelaide falling off a cliff while we climbed the ladder - even in those circumstances, no players really ‘followed’ him up here.

Noble has been a super important part of our build. But most of his work of establishing a new culture is done. Andrew Ireland was the great administrator we had before Nobes, and he left in 2001 after the bulk of the foundational work had been done too.
Speaking of Swanny, did the Broncos find their new CEO?
Or is there still a possibility that he may leave as well?
And therefore Noble would have walked straight into his role anyway.

This feels like when one of your staff leaves for a better opportunity at another workplace. Sure there is disappointment because of the value they bring to your team but you want to be known as an organisation/team that develops people and helps them achieve their career goals which are rarely realised by staying in one institution. You just hope that future recruitment prospects see the continuous progression your staff make and that helps you continue to build a strong team based on a strong culture. No good team remains static forever and change can also be a positive driver a no matter who you lose. But wow with Swann and Fagan he's been just go good for us over 4 years. Best of luck to Nobes, he thoroughly deserves this opportunity. Go Lions!

You're right - seeing as we've signed so many brilliant key players from Adelaide in the last 4 years. Keidan Coleman and Rhys Mathieson will look great in Blue and white in 3 years time.

Remember the days back on the cotton plantation when you could own people for life.

*wistful sigh*
Ahh, the good old days.

Hang on, maybe the AFL can bring a club administrators trade week. I reckon we can ask for North's first rounder for sure and give Nobes fifty lashes of the whip on the way out for good measure.;)

You had me fooled that anyone is gutted given all of the positive comments on both the North board from so many Lions fans and this board and Swann's BS email he sent out. There aren't too many posts expressing disappointment or what impact his departure is going to have on the club either, but I'm hardly surprised by that either. Obviously we should just be grateful that he was even here in the first place.

Anyway, if the club is so gutted as you say with your inside knowledge, why hasn't it done more to ensure Noble sticks around be it as a successor to either Fagan or Swann either immediately or in 12 months time? I am hardly surprised Swann hasn't fought hard to retain Noble given what he is trying to protect.

All up, the 2020 off-season has been unmitigated disaster with the manner it shoved Martin and Witherden out the door, desperately brought in a couple of broken down plodders that has played, what 17 out of 130 + games between them in the past 3 years and now Noble's departure despite comments as recent as a fortnight ago that he wasn't going anywhere.

Very poor patterns are again clearly emerging at the club, but no one should be surprised given the club's past track record.

All up, the 2020 off-season has been unmitigated disaster with the manner it shoved Martin and Witherden out the door, desperately brought in a couple of broken down plodders that has played, what 17 out of 130 + games between them in the past 3 years...
The man ultimately responsible for ticking off each of these decisions has left the club.

You had me fooled that anyone is gutted given all of the positive comments on both the North board from so many Lions fans and this board and Swann's BS email he sent out. There aren't too many posts expressing disappointment or what impact his departure is going to have on the club either, but I'm hardly surprised by that either. Obviously we should just be grateful that he was even here in the first place.

Anyway, if the club is so gutted as you say with your inside knowledge, why hasn't it done more to ensure Noble sticks around be it as a successor to either Fagan or Swann either immediately or in 12 months time? I am hardly surprised Swann hasn't fought hard to retain Noble given what he is trying to protect.

All up, the 2020 off-season has been unmitigated disaster with the manner it shoved Martin and Witherden out the door, desperately brought in a couple of broken down plodders that has played, what 17 out of 130 + games between them in the past 3 years and now Noble's departure despite comments as recent as a fortnight ago that he wasn't going anywhere.

Very poor patterns are again clearly emerging at the club, but no one should be surprised given the club's past track record.

Alright so after 10+ years of reading big footy without posting I have finally decided to post, the crap you come out with is a disgrace to lions supporters. You are negative towards everything the club does in fact I’m quite convinced you must be a troll. Deadset I hope I never have to sit next to someone like you at a lions game that call themselves a lion supporter. I’m not saying you can’t be negative a hold the club to account but it’s beyond that nearly every post you make is negative towards the club.

Speaking of Swanny, did the Broncos find their new CEO?
Looks like it will be Dave Donaghy from the Melbourne Storm. He has a non compete clause in his contract which ends in January, and he has advised that he will not be extending his stay at the Storm after this. Broncos can't announce until after his current contract expires.

I wonder if we have a successor for Nobes from within ?

Would be unlike him to leave without giving the club a few ideas about how he would hand over.
As long as we steer well clear of Dan Richardson who has just left Essendon.

I wonder if we will look at poaching a GM of football from another club. Graham Wright from Hawthorn is one I'd be making a phone call to.

Can anyone produce a list of GMs from the other 17 clubs?

Dylan, i really feel for you sometimes that your world is so dark whenever you seem to look at things happening @ The Lions. In some of the above I do think you have some basis to your thoughts but really mate....Noble leaving is Noble's choice and nobody (including Swanny) pushed him to take the Norf job. I firmly believe it's going to be a big mistake for Nobes and his impatience will cost him. I do (like other Lions Supporters) wish him all the best but at Brisbane he is leaving an elite group of football people bordering on the ultimate prize....going to another one who has an almost terminal disease. YES, he will be missed enormously but I am sure that the club will find a suitable replacement & wont let his absence have any dramatic negative effect on their performance.

As for the handling of some now past players, it could/should have been handled better...100% agree.

As for the 2 new recruits, way too early to be calling them "broken down plodders" although the pressure will be on them both at the start of season 2021. Fingers crossed they both have an injury free pre-season & line up Round 1 to put on a show that makes us all believe the decision to bring them to our club was the right one.

There are no very poor patterns emerging at the club. All players, coach's, administration & most supporters are excited about what 2021 should bring & there is no reason for you to think the sky is falling just because one person has decided to take a challenge on elsewhere.

Richardson was Richmond’s footy gm from 2013 until 2017. I don’t believe he was the issue at Essendon. I believe he was made to look like the issue.

Can anyone produce a list of GMs from the other 17 clubs?

This role is often filled by past coaches or assistant coaches. There is currently a glut of these types around given recent reductions in the soft cap due to Covid. Many of these types have been taking on part time coaching roles at local football level in Melbourne.

Our role is suddenly very attractive, with an exciting list of young players. Covid in Melbourne has been pretty depressing (trust me I’m still living it) & move away is a golden ticket. I will be stunned if there is not a strong queue to fill our vacant role.