PSD & Rookie draft

Peter HARDY, 07/09/88, 186 77, Leopold

Batsanis is a ripper. Very, very well skilled and an absolute ball magnet. I would have thought he would have been picked up at either pick 1 or 2 in the rookie draft.

Grose has good height but as people have said, he is quite raw not Westhoff raw but he's not a tank yet.

Cockshell & Lee seem like they both could become big gorilla forwards (moreso Cockshell).

Just spoke to Batsi's (like the name) aunty and here are a few snippets >

One of the first phone calls he got was from Robbie Gray, apparently they are great mates and are thrilled to be re-united

Port Adelaide was one of the more professional clubs - other clubs *achem - Richmond* promised to pick him up earlier and didn’t, thus when he wasn't picked up earlier he started to panic. Hawthorn were also good and informed him that they wouldn’t be selecting him in the PSD. Was surprised they picked Thurgood as he was never part of discussions.

Whole family was white with fear just before he was picked up. Once the name was called out by Port Adelaide everyone broke down. Even when she was describing it she teared up. They are a very close knit Greek family, his mother hasn’t yet come to terms with her son leaving.

He called his aunty almost straight away and was delirious with joy. Thrilled to be going to an AFL club.

Apparently he is good looking and a bit of a lady killer, but sorry girls he has a girlfriend, she will be staying in VIC though as she got a very good VCE score.

He knows nothing of Port Adelaide’s history other than in the AFL.

Leaves on Thursday to join pre-season training but will be coming home for Xmas.

Aunty describes him as a wonderfully balanced footballer with skills on both sides. Long, penetrating kick. Needs to work on getting his own ball, however his role at Oakleigh did not facilitate this.

Is staying with a host family, no details as yet but would like to be close with, or even stay with the same family as Robert Gray.

Nice to see some KPPs but realistically will any of them solve our long term problems? History suggests that probably one of the rookies will make it. It would be nice to be proved wrong! Cockshell is an interesting gamble. Given that he has been at the game for only 2 years maybe he will make it. Still doesn't change my mind about the national draft and our priorities. But if Boak can be a replacement for Roger James in the long run I'll be content.

From Inside Football's draft previews;

Adam Cockshell - Norwood DOB 20yo Ht 198cm Wt 100kg
Best of the rest rating by IF
"Adam plays centre half forward and is a very good mover for his size. A strong mark he's just a genuine centre half forward. Being a big fella he's some chance to go," said Norwood development maanger David Oatey.

Alex Lee - Tall forward, Danedong Stingrays DOB 24/9/88 Ht 193cm Wt 87
Top 75 rating by IF
"Alex had a patella tendon injury and didn't start playing until Round 7 and by the end of the year was hitting his straps. He's a surperb athlete, a good sized kid, a good runner, very strong and ready to play," said Dandenong Stingrays regional manager Darren Flanagan. Another one of those AIS-AFL graduate - 2005.

Gavin Grose - Tall defender, Mt Gravatt, DOB 2/9/88 Ht 193 Wt 85kg
Top 75 rating by IF
"Gavin has come on really well later in the year. He was a bit shaky at the start of the year at full back but he found his touch as time went on. He's a monster of a left foot kick who can hoist it 60 metres without even trying. A good sized lad who returned after the nationals to play some good footy with Mt Gravatt," said Qld under 18 coach Craig McRae

Nathan Batsanis - Oakleigh Chargers, DOB 18/3/88 Ht 180 Wt 78
Best of the Rest rating by IF
"Nathan played in the centre in the grand final and had 38 possessions, 12 inside 50's and kicked three goals. A great user of the footy, kicks it 55 metres with both feet and is very well balanced," said Oakleigh Chargers coach Rohan Welsh.

Peter Hardy wasn't rated by IF.

You can take these comments with a grain of salt or make of them what you wish, but good luck to all these young men.

I feel a bit sorry for Ezard. Still reckon Rischbieth was worth preserving with for a further year on the rookie list as his athletic ability was outstanding. Might have made a good run with player if given the time to develop his footy skills.

Craig Bird wasn't drafted. I wonder if we will offer him a NSW scholarship. If Syney offer him one, and he has the chance to move from Nelson Bay to Sydney, and we do as well, it will be interesting to see which one he chooses.

I reckon we have balanced up well enough with today's pickups.

After we didn't go tall/kpp with pick 5 or 23, I was happy we stayed pretty committed to continuing to pick up smalls/runners in the main draft.

Today's drafting was always going to be more speculative - less certain propositions are picked up but at a signficantly lower cost.

All up, I think we have done better than I had expected.

Batsanis could easily turn out to be a Michael Stevens or Paul Koulouriotis type, who does well enough at TAC level, but lacks tricks to make it at AFL. If so, it won't be the end of the world as we already addressed midfield nicely with Boak, Stewart and Krakoeur.

Of Cockshell, Lee and Grose, the chances of all 3 making it are very remote, but if we got one of those up to a high AFL level, we should be stoked.

Hardy, I have no idea about.

Batsanis could easily turn out to be a Michael Stevens or Paul Koulouriotis type, who does well enough at TAC level, but lacks tricks to make it at AFL.
So could Boak.

From the club's website Power adds four rookies

Power adds four rookies
11:26:52 AM Tue 12 December, 2006

Port Adelaide drafted four new players to its vacant rookie list on Tuesday morning and will be hoping this group can bring the same sort of success it has enjoyed from its rookies in recent seasons.

With Danyle Pearce, Greg Bentley and Tom Logan all coming through the Power’s rookie list in the past two years, the Power is hopeful it has again uncovered some stars in Tuesday’s group.

Here are details on the Power’s four rookies for 2007 including exclusive comments on each of them from Power Recruiting Manager Mick Moylan...

Selection 5 – Alex Lee (Dandenong Stingrays)
Born: 24 September 1988
Height: 194cm
Weight: 92kg

Mick Moylan says: Alex has recovered from a serious knee injury in the first half of this year. The previous year he played as a 17-year-old for Dandenong Stingrays, mainly as a forward. He played well enough to be included in the AIS squad at the end of 2005. This year he has come back having missed the first half of the year with no pre-season and performed fairly well as a defender so we looked at him as an option to play both ends of the ground. He has good stamina, he’s a good contested mark and a reliable left foot kick. He came here to the club and impressed us at training.

Others have said: Naturally athletic, versatile player who has had a frustrating run with injuries this year curtailing his development.

More: Lee’s AIS Profile

Selection 21 – Gavin Grose (Mt Gravatt, QLD)

Height: 192cm
Weight: 88kg

Mick Moylan says: Gavin’s represented Queensland at U16 and U18 level. He played senior footy consistently for Mount Gravatt this year as a key defender. We see him very much as a developing defender who again has impressed with his kicking. We thought he was very much worth taking to try to uncover another key position player.

Others have said: Rebounding full-back with plenty of dash and excellent left foot kick. Queensland U18 representative in 2006 and impressive for U18 Allies. Went to NAB AFL Draft Camp.

What you didn’t know: Grose is a big Power fan and has many Power posters (particularly Gavin Wanganeen) up in his bedroom.

Selection 36 – Nathan Batsanis (Oakleigh Chargers)

Born: 18 March 1988
Height: 178cm
Weight: 75kg

Mick Moylan says: Really impressed in the later half of the TAC Cup this year playing for Oakleigh Chargers. He’s a really good kick with a good blend of speed and stamina and impressed with 30-plus possessions in the TAC Cup Grand Final.

Others have said: Small midfielder with good skills. Possesses a penetrating kick. Oakleigh Chargers best and fairest for 2006 completing an outstanding year which included representing Vic Metro in U18 Championships and selection in the TAC Cup Team of the Year.

Won Oakleigh Chargers best-and-fairest and Best Finals Player. Now Power teammate Robbie Gray came second to Batsanis in Oakleigh’s best-and-fairest in 2006.

What you didn’t know: Batsanis is Peter Daicos’s nephew. His mum is Peter’s sister.

Selection 49 – Peter Hardy (Geelong Falcons)

Height: 186 cm
Weight: 77 kg

Mick Moylan says: Peter’s a late developer. It’s his first year in the TAC Cup where he played across half back for the Geelong Falcons and again we were just impressed with his general ball-winning, good speed and kicks the ball well on both sides. We think he has a skill level that is worth having a close look at for 12 months.

More: Hardy’s Geelong Falcons’ profile

With Lee, we'd have a few Dandenong players on the list now too.

Toby, Sal and Bentley. Would know Greg as they both were at Stingrays in 2005.

Thanks REHB and full marks to the Port web manager for getting this up pronto.

Yes things have improved but they still don't get it right. This story should have been on the homepage. It was in at 11.26 and the story on Cockshell was at 12.04. This story should have been directly below Cockshell's rather than having to go to the Latest News page. It's a little thing but it should be done correctly.

Edit: I take back my criticism. I noticed that it is now on the front page.

Mark Williams has always said that his best mate at Collingwood was Dacios and they are still good friends. Do you reckon now that Batsanis at Port he might make the odd guest apperance as kicking coach? I guess it's no surprise that Nathan is given high marks for his kicking. I'm sure those kick and catch classes in the back yard with his uncle started him off on the correct track.

Nathan Batsanis, will be the steal of the rookie draft.Well done Port for picking him up.I know his father quite well.Owns a good shoe shop in Melbourne.Was best player during TAC cup Final ,picked up 38 possesions and kicked 5 goals,excellent ball skills,and will be a gun player.The reason his profile wasn't as entertaining by most clubs is that his 2006 season was not very consistent,he found form during the TAC finals and Blitzed.Loves playing under pressure and can easily find the big sticks.He would be extremely happy to be picked up by Port.He was extremely dissapointed to have missed out in the National draft.Watch a superstar emerge.

Best and Fairest, Best player in Finals in a premiership year is a pretty decent effort. Must be some reason why he wasnt drafted in the main draft

Who did I write that about Port01? Or is that an interpretation of my like of Rischbieth. Mate I will take a good blend of speed and stamina any day if it is the Shane Crawford mould, of being able to run an 800 metres in 1:51 and run all day at a similar pace.

Selection 36 – Nathan Batsanis (Oakleigh Chargers)

Born: 18 March 1988
Height: 178cm
Weight: 75kg

Mick Moylan says: Really impressed in the later half of the TAC Cup this year playing for Oakleigh Chargers. He’s a really good kick with a good blend of speed and stamina and impressed with 30-plus possessions in the TAC Cup Grand Final.

Others have said: Small midfielder with good skills. Possesses a penetrating kick. Oakleigh Chargers best and fairest for 2006 completing an outstanding year which included representing Vic Metro in U18 Championships and selection in the TAC Cup Team of the Year.

Won Oakleigh Chargers best-and-fairest and Best Finals Player. Now Power teammate Robbie Gray came second to Batsanis in Oakleigh’s best-and-fairest in 2006.

What you didn’t know: Batsanis is Peter Daicos’s nephew. His mum is Peter’s sister.
Sweet! Can't sneeze at an Uncle-Nephew pick from Peter Daicos ;)

Nathan Batsanis, will be the steal of the rookie draft.Well done Port for picking him up.I know his father quite well.Owns a good shoe shop in Melbourne.Was best player during TAC cup Final ,picked up 38 possesions and kicked 5 goals,excellent ball skills,and will be a gun player.The reason his profile wasn't as entertaining by most clubs is that his 2006 season was not very consistent,he found form during the TAC finals and Blitzed.Loves playing under pressure and can easily find the big sticks.He would be extremely happy to be picked up by Port.He was extremely dissapointed to have missed out in the National draft.Watch a superstar emerge.

With a handle name like daics cousin I assume you are related to Nathan either by blood or marriage. Inside Football rated him outside their top 75, but best of the rest, which is where he ended up. As Macca said, winning a B&F, best in finals and being BOG or second best and dominating a GF suggests the kid has talent but also he is missing something not to be rated so high. Is it consistency? Does he lack a big motor? What is it in your opinion?

If you have watched a lot of him and TAC u/18's footy, who do you reckon he is a better midfielder than, who was drafted from that comp and was picked up in the national draft? Thanks for your answer in advance.

Who did I write that about Port01? Or is that an interpretation of my like of Rischbieth. Mate I will take a good blend of speed and stamina any day if it is the Shane Crawford mould, of being able to run an 800 metres in 1:51 and run all day at a similar pace.

Think it was Moylan's comment on Batsanis. Nothing against you, it just sounds eerily similar to the clubs comments about Michael Stevens when he was drafted (which many people here are still coming to terms with).

Just spoke to a good mate of mine who is on the Redlegs Board and he described Cockshell as a young 198 cm key forward with good hands and a HUGE heart. He indicated that "Cocky" is pretty mobile for a big guy, courageous but needs to improve his kicking for goal.

Looks like he has the main essential requirements to develope into a reasonable footballer.

. Inside Football rated him outside their top 75, but best of the rest, which is where he ended up. .

Just to let you know Inside footballs best 75 were those that went to draft camp, the others were those that got invites to state screening.

Batsanis initially missed out on a screening invite but he was added to the screening list based on his late season form.

just for interest below is mojo's profile for Lee before the 2006 season started.

"21) Alex Lee

Key Forward

192cms and 86kgs
24/9/88
Dandenong Stingrays

Did not play the first 6 games of the TAC cup then burst onto the scene after that. Showed great form up forward and made the original squad for Vic Metro for the U18 Championships. Was disappointing in the trial game playing out of the square as the go to man up forward and missed the final cut for the Champs.
He seemed to lose confidence after that and did not really return to form. The players also seemed to bypass him a lot for Dandenong and aim for Brad Horaczko (who played forward a lot and rucked less) and Aaron Murray who seemed to be the 2 key forwards and Lee was left with the scraps.

Lee moves well and is very athletic. A good size already and would guess he is a fair but heavier and maybe taller than his measurements at the start of 2005 (192 and 86).
He leads well and works hard in games to present as an option. Not a great kick for goal and needs to work on that. Takes a contested mark and uses his body well and to me seems suited for the half forward flank/CHF rather than deep forward.
Has a good leap but is not really explosive enough for full forward or a good enough converter at this stage. A good physical edge to his game and even though his confidence was down towards the end of the season he still tried hard and did not lose his discipline and work ethic.

Only turned 17 at the end of last season and overall had a good first up year in the TAC. With some likely growth he should turn into a quality KPP. I would like to see him play a few games down back as well to see how he handles that this year."

Guys he loves the big games,will take him a little while to settle but yes batsanis has got a big motor.Is a very dangerous player around goals,can and will win games off his own boot.Similar to a very young , raw ,aker,backs himself and will fit in perfectly with your midfield.Had a frustrating year in 2006 lost alittle confidence but found form during the big games and ripped them to pieces .Was best afield during TAC grand final,that's when the talent scouts started giving him a bit of a look.He was devestated that no one picked him up in the national draft,but he is very excited to be part of port power.At least choco saw the value in him.He is peter daicos's cousin,so get ready port,he will be a very good pick up and you will see for yourselves,in a year or two when he develops at AFL level.Batsanis ,Boak, pearce and co here come the Power.I was hoping the pies would pick him up but malthouse is a peanut.

Due to our increased popularity, the server is too busy at the moment. Please try again in a few minutes.

You can avoid all busy messages like this one by joining the BigFooty Supporters Club. It's the best deal in town!

I keep getting this message even though I have paid.

I have tried to post profiles a few times today and this is why I haven't posted them and whilst I keep receiving this message they will not get posted

sorry guys but it is driving me into a rage.

maybe TP is right

Due to our increased popularity, the server is too busy at the moment. Please try again in a few minutes.

You can avoid all busy messages like this one by joining the BigFooty Supporters Club. It's the best deal in town!

I keep getting this message even though I have paid.

I have tried to post profiles a few times today and this is why I haven't posted them and whilst I keep receiving this message they will not get posted

sorry guys but it is driving me into a rage.

maybe TP is right

It happened to me a couple of times this morning but has been fine this afternoon.........

There is a thread (Why am I getting so many "server busy" messages?) on the suggestions board which shows the problem is being looked into and I'll let you know as soon as we know more as it will be something to do with changes made at the Bigsoccer site which we hang off of server wise.

PSD & Rookie draft