Richmond hate explained?

I have no knowledge of the 70's or early 80's other than what I know from history.
The Richmond I have supported since I was 7 has been down and stomped on.

I can only speak from what I perceive and that is from a media point of view:
Richmond being down sells papers, the emotion and passion of long suffering fans and the inevitable board spill or coach sacking, pathetic drafting and recruiting, all creates sensation, sensation sells. Journos love(d) Richmond, it meant easy articles. The brief moments over the last 30 years Richmond have been up, it's been about the long suffering fans, almost setting them up for the inevitable heart-break that was coming.

From an opposition perception:
Richmond being the down and out "super power" of the VFL / AFL, the in-fighting, the instability, the coaching merry-go-round, the long suffering of the massive army of Tiger supporters makes others feel good about their own clubs position. Richmond being up and winning and playing decent football and being stable and having some form of a plan, suddenly the comfort zone of saying "well, at least we're not Richmond" is gone. The go to security blanket isn't so downtrodden at the moment, but be assured one loss, and it'll start up again.

For mine, this is a different Richmond to last year and 2015. The intensity level in 2017 is unrecognisable. We'll lose games, but last night was a game we drop our bundle and lose by 6 goals. I'm just happy we are playing for the f***ing jumper again and it's the kids who are getting it done right.

Humility goes a long way. You've beaten an injury depleted Melbourne. And beaten Carlton, Brisbane and Collingwood and West Coast who struggle at the MCG. Nothing to write home about yet according to your supporters you are going to win the GF.
i was just thinking this last night when the commentators were rabbiting on about the 5-0 start and thought back to their opponents so far. You can only defeat your fixtured opposition (and the Swans lost to two of the common opponents), but they're hardly premiership contenders. Let's see how they go against Bulldogs, Giants, Geelong, Adelaide, etc. i'd guarantee 5-4 if they were their next 4 opponents.

Hate? if they manage to scrape into the finals they'll be everyone's sentimental favourites, just like the other 5 times in the last 30 years.

Even if when they do make finals, it's generally still humorous,
  • Losing to North in finals, when everyone beats them by 10 goals.
  • Losing to 9th.
  • Winning the toss and kicking in to the wind and being 7 goals down in an instant.

At the moment we're just missing the lol's, but still predicting it will come.

Hate? :p

I'm old enough to remember when Richmond were a powerhouse but I've never really hated them (extreme dislike of Kevin Bartlett notwithstanding).

In the last 25 years I have found them incredibly amusing because of the extreme frustration and disappointment they invariably invoke in their own supporters. Within games, seasons and across generations. I know this is cruel but it's the clockwork regularity that has made it comical. It's reached the point where I fully expect them to get to 9-0 and then miss finals this season (see North 2016). But they won't, they'll do something more unexpected and even funnier.

If anything, they're one of my favourite things about modern football.
Hard to argue with this haha... It is amazing.

This thing about Richmond supporters thinking we will win the flag... absolute rubbish.
Not one thinks that.
If any supporters are gun shy of getting ahead of themselves it's Richmonds.
The hate...
it's because despite how ridiculously shit we have been we somehow retain an enormous amount of passion and support.
We have remained extremely relevant when everything says that we shouldn't have, whilst other teams have been outrageously successful in the period where we have been at times embarrassing and yet they don't get anywhere near the same amount of support, attention and oppprtunities.
Of course it pisses them off.
It's envy. And yet we are the worst performed club in that period.
If we ever become successful again, and I do remember when we were... well then you'll see hate I promise.

This thing about Richmond supporters thinking we will win the flag... absolute rubbish.
Not one thinks that.
The hate...
it's because despite how ridiculously shit we have been we somehow retain an enormous amount of passion and support.
We have remained extremely relevant when everything says that we shouldn't have, whilst other teams have been outrageously successful in the period where we have been at times embarrassing and yet they don't get anywhere near the same amount of support, attention and oppprtunities.
Of course it pisses them off.
It's envy. And yet we are the worst performed club in that period.
If we ever become successful again, and I do remember when we were... well then you'll see hate I promise.

Every other team has made a grand final in the thirty years but Richmond are stronger than ever as a football club,the Tiger Army,untouched as a supporter base.

Imagine if we won back to back! (hypothetical,not getting ahead of myself).

I think they would need an extra deck on Richmond Paddock to fit all the members.

i was just thinking this last night when the commentators were rabbiting on about the 5-0 start and thought back to their opponents so far. You can only defeat your fixtured opposition (and the Swans lost to two of the common opponents), but they're hardly premiership contenders. Let's see how they go against Bulldogs, Giants, Geelong, Adelaide, etc. i'd guarantee 5-4 if they were their next 4 opponents.

AFL is all about hype, the AFL is a shameless hype machine out for mass money.

Commentators are told to act this way, this weeks super star is easily replaced by the next player who does a few flashes thing in a match of the round tv game.

Two weeks later when said player goes back to having an ordinary game commentators by then would have picked the next super star to rabbit on, hence keeping the interest of footy fans alive and creating this fake notion that the code has super stars on every line who are freaks of nature.

And they do the same with teams. You have to keep fans wanting to come back and Richmond after years of being shit are the fairytale story so far of 2017 and AFL fans being children first, they love fairytales. So the media is sensing a mA$$ive ca$hcow by indulging and writing chapter after chapter of the 2017 fairytale. And fans are lapping it up.

After 2016 the AFL now knws that fairytales is what the AFL fan loves, even more so if it includes a traditional victorian team.

My prediction is the tigers will dominate for a while, drop off for around 5 weeks and then com back strong and will win the flag provided thats what the AFL wants, like the bulldogs last year.

The AFL is basically WWE and there are HUGE amounts of WWE fans who are obsessed with the AFL as well.

AFL is all about hype, the AFL is a shameless hype machine out for mass money.

Commentators are told to act this way, this weeks super star is easily replaced by the next player who does a few flashes thing in a match of the round tv game.

Two weeks later when said player goes back to having an ordinary game commentators by then would have picked the next super star to rabbit on, hence keeping the interest of footy fans alive and creating this fake notion that the code has super stars on every line who are freaks of nature.

And they do the same with teams. You have to keep fans wanting to come back and Richmond after years of being shit are the fairytale story so far of 2017 and AFL fans being children first, they love fairytales. So the media is sensing a mA$$ive ca$hcow by indulging and writing chapter after chapter of the 2017 fairytale. And fans are lapping it up.

After 2016 the AFL now knws that fairytales is what the AFL fan loves, even more so if it includes a traditional victorian team.

My prediction is the tigers will dominate for a while, drop off for around 5 weeks and then com back strong and will win the flag provided thats what the AFL wants, like the bulldogs last year.

The AFL is basically WWE and there are HUGE amounts of WWE fans who are obsessed with the AFL as well.

Hahaha.

Its true though. I would love a tigers flag this year.

I just feel for the team that has to play the tigers in the GF, just like how the swans had no way of winning last year but the game needs an opponent right.

Whoever plays the tigers in the 2017 GF will be condemned to be runners up, mark my words. And that sucks.

Its true though. I would love a tigers flag this year.

I just feel for the team that has to play the tigers in the GF, just like how the swans had no way of winning last year but the game needs an opponent right.

Whoever plays the tigers in the 2017 GF will be condemned to be runners up, mark my words. And that sucks.

We have to get their first.
Giants have two squads loaded with talent,for mine the team to beat with the Crows,Doggies next in line but Adelaide will need to win in Melbourne in finals but they can avoid that with two home finals.

Guess who the AFL has lined us up with the next three games?

Anyone care to have a crack??

We have been down for so long, almost went bankrupt recently, I don't really understand it to be honest.

But no sweat if I cop all the normal stuff in here.

Genuinely interested.

Cheers.
Your fans are insufferable. The week before you choked against us was horrid for all.

Haven't seen or heard any Richmond fans thinking we'll win the premiership. Personally, I don't think we'll win one for a long time to come still. Just glad we're up and about, and the team is actually enjoying playing with each other.

It's opposition fans and the media saying we think we're gonna win the premiership or asking, a few rounds in, the stupid question of "Can the Tigers ........"

It's the year of the Crow or Giant

:'( yeah everyone is inconsolable over Richmond's 5 home & away wins, pass me the tissues please :'(

:rolleyes:

You mention the other 'big four' clubs - all of them have had more success since the formation of the AFL than Richmond. All of them. In fact the only clubs to have been less successful than Richmond are the expansion clubs, and they at least have the excuse of being soulless start-ups with only half a dozen seasons under their belts.

Congratulations. Your new, improved satire detector will be posted to you in the very near future.

Anyone care to have a crack??

We have been down for so long, almost went bankrupt recently, I don't really understand it to be honest.

But no sweat if I cop all the normal stuff in here.

Genuinely interested.

Cheers.

Ignore it, Bobby. It ain't everyone.

Look at the sooking aimed at the Dogs since the GF.

Happens to any and every winning team.

Enjoy the ride! :thumbsu:

I have to laugh at that statement, after the West Coast win I had not one but two different Richmond supporters text me immediately to inform me that they were the real deal. One went as far as to tell me to watch out round 6 when they will 'smash us on our own deck.' I know this is isolated, the overwhelming majority of Richmond supporters on here are very pragmatic about where things are at but it's the other kind that create the stereotype even though they are the minority. It's just odd that I never get that kind of attitude from people I know who support other clubs though I'm sure they exist. In any case I don't hate Richmond, all clubs have some strange supporters and I'm thoroughly looking forward to next weeks match, even more now I know the Tigers go in undefeated.

[QUOT="Ron The Bear, post: 49892449, member: 27506"]So what came first, the hate or Richmond's arrogance?

As Graeme Richmond famously said after the 1974 GF: "It was Richmond against the world today - and we won."

The club thrived on being hated.
This Is what I was referring to. Richmond created this us against the world thing under G Richmond and Caros father and the supporters of the time went with it to the extreme. My family are Richmond supporters and were insufferable through that era. ( I met Graeme Richmond a couple of times and he was a nice bloke )[/QUOTE]
And let it be said, i remain insufferable!

Ignore it, Bobby. It ain't everyone.

Look at the sooking aimed at the Dogs since the GF.

Happens to any and every winning team.

Enjoy the ride! :thumbsu:

Classy post mate.

We have to get their first.
Giants have two squads loaded with talent,for mine the team to beat with the Crows.

So salty,it's like we have won four flags in a row when Richmond win games.
Oppos feel sorry for themselves and say why me,Swans who have won plenty of flags in the modern era mind you.

GWS couldnt even beat a 7th placed side who had a 60 year draught. A 7th placed side who hadnt won a flag in 60 odd years.

Imagine if the 50 was paid at the end of the game to GWS, but it didnt and well the dogs are premiers after a week of fairytales and bob murphys knee and then on the day had 3 umpires who also blinked their eyes and gushed at the bulldog fairytale.

Its a farce but i can see why the AFL do it.

Tinfoil time: The AFL is just getting all these traditional teams to win flags ASAP and get that out of the way so then they can a long period of GWS dominance without losing the traditional heartland supporters whos teams have been starved of success. If its not the tigers, then its the Saints. By 2020 GWS can be allowed to dominate.

Hate is such a strong word. Truth be told I have a soft spot for the Tiges, I have since I was a kid. Have a look at my avatar, hard not to follow another team with a Tiger as their moniker without some interest/investment.
My comments yesterday were purely about the game against Melbourne 'in isolation'. I really did expect Richmond to absolutely kill this game given the talk about them recently and Jack Reiwoldts start to the game.
But then it didn't happen, and to my mind the Tiges only really just got home, against a team that isn't there yet and had some telling injuries.

It's like when my team Freo scraped up a couple of wins in the last few weeks. Sure I was happy but those wins needed to be looked at after a bit of a stop and a think.

I think the same about yesterdays game with Richmond and Melb. Sure it's good to get a win, but I'd be asking a lot of questions about how it was so close and what can be improved on.

I think what really didn't help was the collective floggery of the Commentators. Really jumping on board with the hype. A Richmond team jumping around like they'd won a flag, a stadium full of fans reacting much the same, and a team of commentators with no effing idea.

For what it's worth, if Richmond lose next week I won't be shitting on them, and I'll certainly congratulate them if they win. There's every chance this is the start of something big for Richmond and good luck if it is.

Just not sure I'd be doing cartwheels and handstands over beating a depleted Melbourne who nearly had the game.

Hate is such a strong word. Truth be told I have a soft spot for the Tiges, I have since I was a kid. Have a look at my avatar, hard not to follow another team with a Tiger as their moniker without some interest/investment.
My comments yesterday were purely about the game against Melbourne 'in isolation'. I really did expect Richmond to absolutely kill this game given the talk about them recently and Jack Reiwoldts start to the game.
But then it didn't happen, and to my mind the Tiges only really just got home, against a team that isn't there yet and had some telling injuries.

It's like when my team Freo scraped up a couple of wins in the last few weeks. Sure I was happy but those wins needed to be looked at after a bit of a stop and a think.

I think the same about yesterdays game with Richmond and Melb. Sure it's good to get a win, but I'd be asking a lot of questions about how it was so close and what can be improved on.

I think what really didn't help was the collective floggery of the Commentators. Really jumping on board with the hype. A Richmond team jumping around like they'd won a flag, a stadium full of fans reacting much the same, and a team of commentators with no effing idea.

For what it's worth, if Richmond lose next week I won't be shitting on them, and I'll certainly congratulate them if they win. There's every chance this is the start of something big for Richmond and good luck if it is.

Just not sure I'd be doing cartwheels and handstands over beating a depleted Melbourne who nearly had the game.

Freo did the full repotoire of gym work winning last week against North,cmon mate.

Nobody hates Richmond really. They're a bit of a joke. Get all excited, the crowd, the roar, yellow and black...and when they make the finals they just lose. It's great to see them up and about because we all know how it'll end. It's so inevitable but the poor fanbois can't see it.